Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Westerly Lake Fishing And Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > York > Westerly Lake Fishing And Caravan Park Reviews

Westerly Lake Fishing And Caravan Park
Main Street
Wheldrake
York
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO19 6AH
Tel: 01904 448500
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 20
Open: 29/03/2021 to 02/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 73 Reviews
                9/10 from 73 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (20)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  73 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: October 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Christ 2 reviews from this member

 Great location close to York or Pocklington, quiet and peaceful well kept site.

Owner were very obliging,

The fishing Pond was well kept and stocked, all type of fishing to suit all.

Village 0.7 miles to local Pub and shop.

Will return soon. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Sal58 1 review from this member

 This was our first time staying here in a motorhome. We stayed for 2 nights to visit family in the village, and hadn't ever realised the site was here even though we had been visiting Wheldrake for many years, which shows how tucked away and quiet it is.

The pitches are well spaced out, we had one at the back by the tall hedge, so not directly overlooking the water. I can't comment on the fishing as we didn't do any, but plenty of the campers (mostly caravanners) were quietly getting on with it.

There is a small toilet and shower block which was basic, but clean and comfortable with plenty of hot water.

Wheldrake is a pleasant village with a general shop and a pub, the Wenlock Arms, where we had a lovely Sunday lunch. There are regular but not frequent buses into York.

The site owners, Barbara and Geoff, were very friendly and helpful. I would certainly visit again. 


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Vince1 1 review from this member

 Enjoyed my 7 nights stay at Westerly lake,

Great place to relax and go fishing or shopping in York.

Going to book 2 weeks next time

Would recommend this caravan site. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Traceyp66 1 review from this member

 This is a beautiful place

Owners fantastic

Covid19 very good well put into place

Off back in 2 weeks for a peaceful stay again

A beautiful site and great fishing too

Would highly recommend 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Michae 1 review from this member

 Brilliant site in a stunning location. Fabulous views from our caravan over the lake made for a very relaxing week. Excellent fishing ( caught a couple of beauties).

Good facilities which were kept clean at all times. Only a short walk to the village with pub and shop.

Excellent value for money Booked up for October and will definitely be become a regular visitor to this little piece of heaven. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Cawhitt 1 review from this member

 First trip since lockdown great to return to our favourite place.

Site is very well kept thanks to the efforts of the owners Geoff and Barbara.

Good water for fishing carp, bream and roache.

Facilities are very good, especially the recently

Refurbished shower block. Can't wait for our next visit. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jonny Jeeps 1 review from this member

 Absolutely brilliant Adults Only site. Very peaceful and well maintained.  

Toilet and shower block is extremely clean and spotless. Barbara and Geoff are a charming couple, and always smiling and happy to help.

I cannot recommend this site enough to all who are looking for a peaceful and relaxing weekend / week (or longer. )

Oh, and the fishing is good too. I've watched many fishers pull in some whoppers. Though I've tried it myself a few times I've not managed a whopper yet 

What you waiting for? Book your next caravan weekend away now. You will not regret it. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: SP10 1 review from this member

 Just had another peaceful and relaxing break at Westerly Lake, the site is set in a quiet village perfectly located for visiting York, as well as access to the other larger roads to visit other areas of Yorkshire.

This is a beautiful, clean and well-kept lakeside site.

The owners Barbara and Geoff are a pleasant, friendly and a very helpful couple, ie. I was fishing when a large carp decided to take my pole which disappeared under the water, Geoff spent ages trawling for it.

Westerly Lake is well stocked with quality carp, roach and bream; they put a bend in your rod.

We took a short walk to the village pub the Whenlock Arms, had a great evening including a superb meal.

Well worth a visit a highly recommended site.

We will be going back for a few days fishing. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Neville956 1 review from this member

 Had a wonderful stay

very peaceful

loads of wildlife and fishing was superb

barbara and geoff are very friendly and helpful

would definitely go again well recommended. 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Fish4Fun 1 review from this member

 Wonderful site, very peaceful, lots of wildlife, lovely clean facilities, superb fishing, nice village with pub and shop.

We have stayed here on numerous occasions over the years and it is always a pleasure,

Geoff and Barbara work very hard to keep it immaculate.

Rick & Irene 


Previous     73 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Westerly Lake Fishing And Caravan Park child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Westerly Lake Fishing And Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Westerly Lake Fishing And Caravan Park dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near York      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet New Forest Caravan & Motorhome Show 21/05 to 25/03
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4239 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement