Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Westerly Lake Fishing And Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > York > Westerly Lake Fishing And Caravan Park Reviews

Westerly Lake Fishing And Caravan Park
Main Street
Wheldrake
York
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO19 6AH
Tel: 01904 448500
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 20
Open: 1st March To 2nd December

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 63 Reviews
                9/10 from 63 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (20)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  63 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Berth 1 review from this member

This site is a little Gem

Its in a beautiful setting the facilities are second to none. The lake is a fishermans dream. It is a site that you can stay on aĺl your stay. Its full of wildlife. Geoff and Barbara are wonderful owners of this little piece of tranquility.

I would highly recommend this site. We cannot wait to return. Paul and Corina.
via mobile

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Moosh62 1 review from this member

This is a wonderful site, my husband thoroughly enjoyed the fishing, caught plenty, site very peaceful, full of wildlife, the hosts Barbara and Geoff so so helpful,

Nice walk into the friendliest village I have ever been too, Cafe a little expensive but quality, pub up the road very good, the shower, toilet and facilities very clean,

I would and my husband would also agree, will definitely be returning very soon, thank you Barbara and Geoff

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Peppaanderson 1 review from this member

This is a lovely place to stay. Lake is full of fish. My partner normally has to put up with poor toilets and other facilities when I am fishing but not here it is a clean well kept site.

Facilities are very clean, fresh flowers in the shower block. Even has some bits and bobs in case you forget your shampoo! Geoff and Barbara are really nice people who are happy to help, I even saw Barbara helping a chap putting his awning away.

Will definitely be back.
via mobile

Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Reuben 14 reviews from this member

We stayed for a week from 17/3 & enjoyed it. As the previous reviewer said, it was very wet but the weather has been pretty dreadful. The site has very good facilities with free showers & loads of hot water. They are of a decent size too & provide plastic boxes to keep your stuff dry as well as hooks behind the door. A decent washing area with loads if info on the local area plus a small library of books.

Geoff & Barbara are constantly out checking the site & lake & are very friendly. The fishing is first class, I caught every day whether it was snowing, raining or sunny. Caught roach, bream & a solitary carp all in fine condition.

Ten mins walk to the village with a good pub & shop that caters for all needs. Bus from the village into York is very handy but I hear that the service is being cancelled in May which is a shame.

At £22 a night including awning & EHU it’s very good value for money. We’ve stayed in many places paying a lot more for less.

A great week had during some iffy weather but we’ll certainly return.

The ‘gunshots’ mentioned by the previous reviewer are propane bird scarers in adjacent fields.

Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Carol and andy 3 reviews from this member

Just having acquired a new caravan we just wanted to try out for 1 night. As andy fishes this would be ideal for a visit. We found the camp site to be very boggy and had to have our car towed off the pitch.

When we parked it was difficult to stick to the hardstanding as it had grassed over but to be fair to the owners, we had recently had snow and rain before we went, so it would be unfair to mark the site down because of this.

Andy found the fishing to be excellent (must have been as he sat there in the pouring rain for hours). The shower and toilet block was quite cold but the showers were nice and hot and very clean and fresh smelling. We would visit again but would like to see the site in the summer.

Just 1 little gripe, dunno what it was, but 6. 45 am gun shots firing constantly through the day, which was annoying

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Angiesluck 4 reviews from this member

Its a nice size lake, quiet and laid out ok and the owners seem nice and friendly but the facilities are much to be desired.

As a camper I expect to have nice clean facilities after all you wouldn't go in a B&B or hotel and think it was ok to have them in the state they were when we were there. The toilet block needs a lot of TLC as they obviously only get a quick flick over but that's about it as you can see from my pictures. If a bit more time and effort was put in to update and clean them to a satisfactory state I would give more stars.

Why not a 5 star, well it seems from our experience they are biased against tents and even trailer tents as they wont place you near the lake to fish they obviously prefer caravans or motor homes it seems. What makes me say that, well when the owner tells you that the available ones nearest to the lake on our arrival are season holder pitches so not able to be put on them but later they put caravans there and then only to find out after speaking to the caravan owners that they themselves are not season holders just people who come a couple of times a year then you wonder why a tent or a trailer tent wasn't allowed to go there when they were vacant on arrival and so should be first come first choice cos after all they said they 'don't save' pitches for anyone! well I beg to differ on that one or they are just biased like I said regards tents. Would we go back, humm probably not.

Management response: The lakeside pitches are hard standing and not suitable for tents, but we do allow touring trailer tents on the lakeside. None of the lakeside pitches are occupied by seasonal visitors, we have only eight seasonal pitches and these are all at the back of the site.

Like the majority of popular caravan parks we have a pitch booking system and a bookings diary, our lakeside pitches are purely touring pitches and allocated when a booking is made, regardless of whether a visitor is new to the site or a regular visitor. Therefore a pitch may be empty when somebody arrives but already booked from the following day by somebody else.It would be chaos to allow visitors to pick any vacant pitch that they liked on arrival!

Barbara and I do our best with the toilet facilities, and they are checked regularly throughout the day. Unfortunately sometimes they are left in a 'less than satisfactory state' and the only way to deal with this would be to check the toilets after every use, which is not possible.

Fortunately the majority of our visitors let us know if there is something that needs attention, and we always deal with it straight away.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Gbillson 1 review from this member

What a wonderful site. Very welcoming from the phone call to book, on arrival and throughout the weekend. We arrived on the Friday night and after being shown to our pitch which was nice and level we hooked up and walked to the local pub in the village about a 10 minute walk, there is also a shop in the same village too.

Had a nice meal in the pub and walked back.

Saturday we had a great day pleasure fishing, my wife doesn't fish but we had a good time and she caught more than me!

On the Sunday we drove the motorhome about 15 minutes to Yorkshire outlet where they have a designated coach area and you are allowed to park your motorhome and then it was only £2. 90 for a return bus to York.

Overall a great place to visit with local amenities in walking distance and nearby parking for the local city.

We booked our next stay while we were there :)

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Happyfisherman 9 reviews from this member

Westerly Lake is a lovely lakeside site set in a quiet village not far from York and all major services and roads. Excellent facilities and large pitches, ours actually overlooked the well stocked lake which gave the feeling of real tranquillity and peace.

The owners Geoff. And Barbara are a pleasant helpful couple who were friendly towards all the campers/clients. We unfortunately had to leave a week early due to a bereavement and found Barbara and Geoff to be very sympathetic to our loss. We really enjoyed what transpired to be a short stay but will be returning. Highly recommended also for the fishing.

Paul and Christine Hurley

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Tinwolf 6 reviews from this member

This is a really nice site, we have camped here before but we took our new motorhome this time.

It`s very quiet and there`s a nice view across the lake for most pitches on this small site.

Plenty of hot water in the nice clean toilet block.

We met Geoff on arrival who led us to our pitch. We had booked a hard standing but unfortunately the hard standings have been grassed over and there is no hard access to the hard standing from the access road. There had been a lot of rain in the days before we arrived so we got stuck trying to get onto our 'hard' standing. Geoff straight away got his little tractor to help us. He also had to tow us off the pitch at the end but he was there as we were packing up in case we needed this service so very helpful.

The hard standing is quite small so we were walking through muddy grass when moving around our pitch, also there are no paths to the toilet block so again we were walking through muddy grass to go for a shower etc.

Geoff did say he`s looking at creating hard access onto the pitches.

It`s about a 30 minute bike ride to the local park and ride to York along a quiet road but then there`s a mile to go on the A19 which can be quite busy and there`s no path to ride on although the A19 is quite wide. Also it`s a short ride to the Yorkshire air museum at Elvington which was right up my street.

As I say a really nice, quiet site but a problem if it`s wet.

Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Twolees 12 reviews from this member

Just returned after a 8 day stay at this adult only caravan site, was met on arrival by Barbara the owner lovely lady, was shown to our pitch which was right next to the pond, my hubby was made up he could get brews and beers without much effort,

toilets and showers were very clean, plenty of hot water anytime during the day and night, loads of information on places to see and do in the utility room, the site was not that far from York we had a day out there one day, hubby enjoyed the fishing and caught plenty of fish, met some nice people and everybody was friendly on site easy to find,

there was a shop and a pub a short walk from the site, a lovely quiet site really enjoyed our stay and will definitely be going back,

Previous     63 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over £205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2924 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019