Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Westerly Lake Fishing And Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > York > Westerly Lake Fishing And Caravan Park Reviews

Westerly Lake Fishing And Caravan Park
Main Street
Wheldrake
York
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO19 6AH
Tel: 01904 448500
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 20
Open: 29/03/2021 to 02/12/2021
           01/03/2022 to 02/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 77 Reviews
                9/10 from 77 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (20)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  77 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Wilma3 1 review from this member

 Peace and quiet. Clean, well looked after site.

Husband was Very happy with the fishing. I could do some reading ( and still be on hand to make the coffee 😁).

We liked it so much we've booked again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Barry3 3 reviews from this member

 Nothing at all bad to say.

Great little site, with fishing.

Ten minute walk to the pub/shop.

What's not to like.

Perfect.

The weather wasn't the best. But that's beyond anyone's choice.

Already booked to go later in the month. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ianarayner 21 reviews from this member

 Fourth time on this site and it just gets better. Though quite busy for a small site, it is blissfully quiet.

The scenery is ace with the lake sparking in the sun. The fishing looks good, though we come for the cycling.

The facilities are excellent with a small immaculately kept toilet and shower block.

The local pub is only a short stroll and is well worth a visit.

Friendly owners and nothing to complain about at all.

We'll definitely be back. 


Date of Visit: April 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Waynelead 1 review from this member

 This site was far beyond my expectations.

An absolute dream site. Fabulous location, really well thought out site, I managed to catch some bream, roach, and saw big carp and tench caught too.

Not a big site by any means but well presented, with a few lovely walks. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Christ 2 reviews from this member

 Great location close to York or Pocklington, quiet and peaceful well kept site.

Owner were very obliging,

The fishing Pond was well kept and stocked, all type of fishing to suit all.

Village 0.7 miles to local Pub and shop.

Will return soon. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Sal58 1 review from this member

 This was our first time staying here in a motorhome. We stayed for 2 nights to visit family in the village, and hadn't ever realised the site was here even though we had been visiting Wheldrake for many years, which shows how tucked away and quiet it is.

The pitches are well spaced out, we had one at the back by the tall hedge, so not directly overlooking the water. I can't comment on the fishing as we didn't do any, but plenty of the campers (mostly caravanners) were quietly getting on with it.

There is a small toilet and shower block which was basic, but clean and comfortable with plenty of hot water.

Wheldrake is a pleasant village with a general shop and a pub, the Wenlock Arms, where we had a lovely Sunday lunch. There are regular but not frequent buses into York.

The site owners, Barbara and Geoff, were very friendly and helpful. I would certainly visit again. 


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Vince1 1 review from this member

 Enjoyed my 7 nights stay at Westerly lake,

Great place to relax and go fishing or shopping in York.

Going to book 2 weeks next time

Would recommend this caravan site. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Traceyp66 1 review from this member

 This is a beautiful place

Owners fantastic

Covid19 very good well put into place

Off back in 2 weeks for a peaceful stay again

A beautiful site and great fishing too

Would highly recommend 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Michae 1 review from this member

 Brilliant site in a stunning location. Fabulous views from our caravan over the lake made for a very relaxing week. Excellent fishing ( caught a couple of beauties).

Good facilities which were kept clean at all times. Only a short walk to the village with pub and shop.

Excellent value for money Booked up for October and will definitely be become a regular visitor to this little piece of heaven. 


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Cawhitt 1 review from this member

 First trip since lockdown great to return to our favourite place.

Site is very well kept thanks to the efforts of the owners Geoff and Barbara.

Good water for fishing carp, bream and roache.

Facilities are very good, especially the recently

Refurbished shower block. Can't wait for our next visit. 
via mobile


Previous     77 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Westerly Lake Fishing And Caravan Park child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Westerly Lake Fishing And Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Westerly Lake Fishing And Caravan Park dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near York      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3463 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement