Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Westerly Lake Fishing And Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > York > Westerly Lake Fishing And Caravan Park Reviews

Westerly Lake Fishing And Caravan Park
Main Street
Wheldrake
York
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO19 6AH
Tel: 01904 448500
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 20
Open: 1st March To 2nd December

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 69 Reviews
                9/10 from 69 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (20)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  69 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Michae124859iva 1 review from this member

 Brilliant site in a stunning location. Fabulous views from our caravan over the lake made for a very relaxing week. Excellent fishing ( caught a couple of beauties).

Good facilities which were kept clean at all times. Only a short walk to the village with pub and shop.

Excellent value for money Booked up for October and will definitely be become a regular visitor to this little piece of heaven. 


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Cawhitt 1 review from this member

 First trip since lockdown great to return to our favourite place.

Site is very well kept thanks to the efforts of the owners Geoff and Barbara.

Good water for fishing carp, bream and roache.

Facilities are very good, especially the recently

Refurbished shower block. Can't wait for our next visit. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jonny Jeeps 1 review from this member

 Absolutely brilliant Adults Only site. Very peaceful and well maintained.  

Toilet and shower block is extremely clean and spotless. Barbara and Geoff are a charming couple, and always smiling and happy to help.

I cannot recommend this site enough to all who are looking for a peaceful and relaxing weekend / week (or longer. )

Oh, and the fishing is good too. I've watched many fishers pull in some whoppers. Though I've tried it myself a few times I've not managed a whopper yet 

What you waiting for? Book your next caravan weekend away now. You will not regret it. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: SP10 1 review from this member

 Just had another peaceful and relaxing break at Westerly Lake, the site is set in a quiet village perfectly located for visiting York, as well as access to the other larger roads to visit other areas of Yorkshire.

This is a beautiful, clean and well-kept lakeside site.

The owners Barbara and Geoff are a pleasant, friendly and a very helpful couple, ie. I was fishing when a large carp decided to take my pole which disappeared under the water, Geoff spent ages trawling for it.

Westerly Lake is well stocked with quality carp, roach and bream; they put a bend in your rod.

We took a short walk to the village pub the Whenlock Arms, had a great evening including a superb meal.

Well worth a visit a highly recommended site.

We will be going back for a few days fishing. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Neville956 1 review from this member

 Had a wonderful stay

very peaceful

loads of wildlife and fishing was superb

barbara and geoff are very friendly and helpful

would definitely go again well recommended. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Fish4Fun 1 review from this member

 Wonderful site, very peaceful, lots of wildlife, lovely clean facilities, superb fishing, nice village with pub and shop.

We have stayed here on numerous occasions over the years and it is always a pleasure,

Geoff and Barbara work very hard to keep it immaculate.

Rick & Irene 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Berth 1 review from this member

 This site is a little Gem

Its in a beautiful setting the facilities are second to none. The lake is a fishermans dream. It is a site that you can stay on aĺl your stay. Its full of wildlife. Geoff and Barbara are wonderful owners of this little piece of tranquility.

I would highly recommend this site. We cannot wait to return. Paul and Corina. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Moosh62 1 review from this member

 This is a wonderful site, my husband thoroughly enjoyed the fishing, caught plenty, site very peaceful, full of wildlife, the hosts Barbara and Geoff so so helpful,

Nice walk into the friendliest village I have ever been too, Cafe a little expensive but quality, pub up the road very good, the shower, toilet and facilities very clean,

I would and my husband would also agree, will definitely be returning very soon, thank you Barbara and Geoff 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Peppaanderson 1 review from this member

 This is a lovely place to stay. Lake is full of fish. My partner normally has to put up with poor toilets and other facilities when I am fishing but not here it is a clean well kept site.

Facilities are very clean, fresh flowers in the shower block. Even has some bits and bobs in case you forget your shampoo! Geoff and Barbara are really nice people who are happy to help, I even saw Barbara helping a chap putting his awning away.

Will definitely be back. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Reuben 14 reviews from this member

 We stayed for a week from 17/3 & enjoyed it. As the previous reviewer said, it was very wet but the weather has been pretty dreadful. The site has very good facilities with free showers & loads of hot water. They are of a decent size too & provide plastic boxes to keep your stuff dry as well as hooks behind the door. A decent washing area with loads if info on the local area plus a small library of books.

Geoff & Barbara are constantly out checking the site & lake & are very friendly. The fishing is first class, I caught every day whether it was snowing, raining or sunny. Caught roach, bream & a solitary carp all in fine condition.

Ten mins walk to the village with a good pub & shop that caters for all needs. Bus from the village into York is very handy but I hear that the service is being cancelled in May which is a shame.

At £22 a night including awning & EHU it’s very good value for money. We’ve stayed in many places paying a lot more for less.

A great week had during some iffy weather but we’ll certainly return.

The ‘gunshots’ mentioned by the previous reviewer are propane bird scarers in adjacent fields. 


Previous     69 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Westerly Lake Fishing And Caravan Park child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Westerly Lake Fishing And Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Westerly Lake Fishing And Caravan Park dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near York      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5429 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement