Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Gairloch Caravan & Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Gairloch > Gairloch Caravan & Camping Site Reviews

Gairloch Caravan & Camping Site
Strath
Gairloch
Highlands   (Browse area)
IV21 2BX
Tel: 01445 712373
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 80
Open: 01/04/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 76 Reviews
                9/10 from 76 Reviews

Photos (20)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming On Site   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  76 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: MaryKin 9 reviews from this member

 First let me say that I hate leaving negative reviews about any site, but I feel so sad about what has happened to this one that I would feel bad not to say something.

This site has just about the perfect location - views to die for of Gairloch Bay, and the stunning mountains and islands beyond, together with a close proximity to myriad attractions - at the site entrance a village store, quirky Hillbillies bookshop and Mountain Coffee shop, restaurants, pub, fish and chip shop, award winning butchers and lovely gift shop; ten minutes walk to more shops, Gairloch Museum, Tourist Centre, other eateries, walks of every description from a scenic stroll to the harbour to the best hillwalking, and of course just a short drive to Inverewe Gardens. All that before the delights of scenic drives further afield.

The grounds are very well kept and we were fortunate to get a perfectly level front row pitch with the best of the views.

So what's not to like? Sadly the dated facilities mentioned in many of this site's reviews have changed into a disaster for the 2018 season. After booking in with the welcoming warden and paying for three nights we then explored the site and after visiting the portacabin in which this year's temporary facilities are sited we went back to our van and spoke seriously about asking for a refund as we were so taken aback. Whilst the men still have the use of the old toilet block, the ladies toilet comprises two cubicles with washhand basins with the added bonus of a couple of urinals. Spotlessly clean almost all of the time but basic in the extreme. And then the showers. There is a notice advising that men can use the showers on the odd hours whilst ladies can use them on even hours. Inside is an open plan changing area with hooks and benches along one wall, and on the opposite wall four tiny shower trays with curtains and electric showers. We decided that we would stay since we were already set up and would make use of our van's own shower. In the three days we were there I saw only two people venturing inside - not many people are willing to risk baring all to complete strangers I think. We have been on other sites with temporary showers but they always offered privacy - this unit was more suited to communal showering for a rugby club. We spoke to a few other visitors, some from overseas, who told us the site didn't match up to others they had stayed in and most only stayed one night.

We did see workmen at the old toilet block who were clearly working on the renovations but it seemed it would be some time until the new block would be ready, so my advice to anyone thinking of going is be prepared to use your own facilities unless you don't mind communal showering. For the price we paid (£21. 50 a night) we would expect something better. It would be a fabulous CS/CL if the price were to be lowered for the season but at the moment it doesn't compare well with other sites in the area. We noticed that the two club sites in the area were nearly full - neither of them has such an idyllic location as this site which had just a trickle of visitors. It's a pity as it has unbelievable potential. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: ChampersCrean 8 reviews from this member

 Friendly staff on arrival. Great pitch with beautiful view. Shower facilities so so but could always use those on board. Ideally situated for Gairloch with all its facilities. Delicious 'home made' meals in local shop. Great fish and chip shop too. I would definitely recommend this site. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Graham Haddow 18 reviews from this member

 Probably our favourite site to visit and spend a few days here each summer. If you want super modern toilets/showers then go elsewhere. If you want well maintained, clean facilities, spectacular location/views, a friendly welcome, a beautiful area to visit with loads of things to do and see. Then this is a must. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Alanterri 54 reviews from this member

 Smack bang in the middle of Gairloch Town. Panoramic views of Loch Gairloch.

Very clean toilets but dated by caravan club standards but quite acceptable. Usually we go the Sands Up the road. This site is just as good but in the middle of town. The hotel next door is rundown but clean, good food and comfortable. Give it a go and enjoy. The best place to eat and drink is The Old Inn about a mile from site.

This is a very good location. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Billandirene 2 reviews from this member

 Sat here on a sunny day on a gem of a site. Had not planned the visit albeit I had seen older reviews of the site. Shops, cafe, chippy, pub and restaurant within two minutes walk. If your in the area don't miss the opportunity to spend a couple of days. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Regajd 6 reviews from this member

 A great location overlooking the bay and with a chippie just 100 yards away. The toilets and showers are old but kept clean. The toilet cubicle in the ladies was so narrow that the big white round loo roll holder knocked my shoulder while sat on the loo. I'm average size, so it would be awful for anyone on the large side. The welcome was friendly helpful and efficient, including being escorted to our nice large grass pitch. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tinribs86 1 review from this member

 As others have said previously the older shower block is a little dated however the facilities are very clean and there are proper shower taps with plenty of hot water - all at no extra charge. The site is in the middle of the village of Strath which is the real center of Gailroch and as such has everything from the local shops to restaurants within a few yards of the entrance. The views are beautiful especially from the front pitch's however this also means the site is a little exposed on windy days. The staff are very helpful and have a laid back attitude which made us feel very welcome. While we didn't make use of it there was a laundry on site with dryers & clothes lines. I would certainly recommend this site to any one. Free wifi was an added bonus. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Nikko136 48 reviews from this member

 Wow, a campsite with space and freedom! Unless you want one of the few super-pitches with hard-standing you pitch where you want for your type of unit within reach of the power outlets scattered around the areas of mown grassy dunes - there are no marked pitches or rules about which way round to park. Of course this relies on subsequent arrivals respecting your space.

The campsite is a couple of miles beyond Gairloch town, so the well-stocked shop at reception is a welcome facility. The toilets and showers were generally clean, although there seemed to be a management problem with the timing of cleaners’ visits - invariably a young lady wanted to clean at the busiest time of the morning, around 8 a. M. ! They did make other visits during the day as well. Hot water was not always available in the evenings for dishwashing, and the separation of the specific sinks for dishes and clothes was not as clear as it should be.

The on-site restaurant was really good and the prices are reasonable. We could take our dog into the newly-opened extension whereas dogs aren’t allowed in the original rustic area. Good views out of the patio door windows. There’s a fenced dog-walking field of reasonable size with a mown track round its perimeter - saw an osprey sitting on a post there at dusk one evening when walking our dog.

The large beach is huge when the tide goes out and there are rock pools for children to investigate.

Overall a very good site which we would recommend to considerate campers - please don't try to squeeze between other units and observe the 7-metre rule. 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Photo4x4 16 reviews from this member

 We stayed at Gairloch on a Saturday prior to a visit to the gardens at Inverewe. The site is easy to find and is in a great location. We were on a hard-standing pitch at the font of the site and had spectacular panoramic views across the bay to the mountains beyond.

The pitch was large and easy to reverse into - we have a ‘u’ shaped lounge so always point the rear at the view!

Reception was welcoming and simple as we had pre-booked so our pitch was already allocated to us. The fresh water point is near the entrance so it was easy to fill up the tank on our arrival. They have also provided long hose so we did not have to unpack our own f/w hose – a thoughtful addition.

The grey water waste disposal point also was easy access for a motorhome with a very convenient ‘gutter pipe’ provided to divert the waste into the drain. Another very helpful point. The Elsan disposal is at the rear of one of the shower blocks but we did not need to use this.

There are two shower and toilet blocks which were clean and tidy, I think that there were three showers in all but we did not have to queue.

There are shops, café and a hotel and restaurant near to the entrance of the site, which is very convenient.

The site was quiet at night and very peaceful – no rowdy campers. All the dogs we saw were on leads and the owners ‘picked-up’.

During our visit I spotted a static-tourer that had the water pump constantly running. I pointed this out to the site owner Colin who immediately checked it out and filled the water tank for the absent owner so that the pump did not burn out.

All in all a nice site which we will visit again and would recommend to others. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Pamcel 9 reviews from this member

 A very nice site, close to all amenities of Gairloch. Welcoming pub on the corner of the site, overlooking the loch. The views of Skye are beautiful. Great walks along the beach for the dog, with a spectacular climb over the hill from another amazing beach to the pier where glass bottomed boat trips can be taken, and crabs can be fished for amongst huge jellyfish and a plethora of seaweed in the harbour. A very friendly welcome was enjoyed from the site owner, and we appreciated the wifi. Gorgeous views from our pitch across the loch to the mountains. So many people spent ages taking photos. I would highly recommend this site. I've stayed in Sands too, and this one is just more pleasant overall. We will be back as soon as possible. 


Previous     76 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Gairloch Caravan & Camping Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Gairloch Caravan & Camping Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Gairloch Caravan & Camping Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Gairloch      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Highlands

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest W Midlands and Wales 03/07 to 04/07
Exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5350 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement