Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Gairloch Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Gairloch > Gairloch Holiday Park > Reviews

Gairloch Holiday Park
Strath
Gairloch
Highlands   (Browse area)
IV21 2BX
Tel: 01445 712373
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 55
Open: 01/04/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 119 Reviews
                9/10 from 119 Reviews

Photos (20)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  119 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Graham Haddow 20 reviews from this member

 Just back from a few nights at this site and I'll certainly be back again. A recent critical review about the process of upgrading toilet/shower facilities is baffling because this is a temporary measure in an effort to improve facilities.

The site has the most amazing views with spacious pitches for caravans and great for camping. Whilst at the site my dog became very unwell during the night and at 2am I called on Colin the warden to give me contact details for a vet. Despite being awakened from his slumber he was extremely helpful, supportive and understanding. Not only a friendly welcome but also a 24 hour service! 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Kittybeldie 6 reviews from this member

 Nicely positioned site. With great vies over the loch. Dated facilities. WiFi was fine apart from mornings as you have to wait for someone to go into the office to reset the system. Probably wouldn't go back. 


Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Itsyum 111 reviews from this member

 A very well situated site being elevated above the the small town and has stunning views over the Loch and surrounding area, there are a handful of hardstandings and plenty of grass pitches, the facilities blocks are a little basic and small though. All in all a nice little site 


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: MaryKin 13 reviews from this member

 First let me say that I hate leaving negative reviews about any site, but I feel so sad about what has happened to this one that I would feel bad not to say something.

This site has just about the perfect location - views to die for of Gairloch Bay, and the stunning mountains and islands beyond, together with a close proximity to myriad attractions - at the site entrance a village store, quirky Hillbillies bookshop and Mountain Coffee shop, restaurants, pub, fish and chip shop, award winning butchers and lovely gift shop; ten minutes walk to more shops, Gairloch Museum, Tourist Centre, other eateries, walks of every description from a scenic stroll to the harbour to the best hillwalking, and of course just a short drive to Inverewe Gardens. All that before the delights of scenic drives further afield.

The grounds are very well kept and we were fortunate to get a perfectly level front row pitch with the best of the views.

So what's not to like? Sadly the dated facilities mentioned in many of this site's reviews have changed into a disaster for the 2018 season. After booking in with the welcoming warden and paying for three nights we then explored the site and after visiting the portacabin in which this year's temporary facilities are sited we went back to our van and spoke seriously about asking for a refund as we were so taken aback. Whilst the men still have the use of the old toilet block, the ladies toilet comprises two cubicles with washhand basins with the added bonus of a couple of urinals. Spotlessly clean almost all of the time but basic in the extreme. And then the showers. There is a notice advising that men can use the showers on the odd hours whilst ladies can use them on even hours. Inside is an open plan changing area with hooks and benches along one wall, and on the opposite wall four tiny shower trays with curtains and electric showers. We decided that we would stay since we were already set up and would make use of our van's own shower. In the three days we were there I saw only two people venturing inside - not many people are willing to risk baring all to complete strangers I think. We have been on other sites with temporary showers but they always offered privacy - this unit was more suited to communal showering for a rugby club. We spoke to a few other visitors, some from overseas, who told us the site didn't match up to others they had stayed in and most only stayed one night.

We did see workmen at the old toilet block who were clearly working on the renovations but it seemed it would be some time until the new block would be ready, so my advice to anyone thinking of going is be prepared to use your own facilities unless you don't mind communal showering. For the price we paid (21. 50 a night) we would expect something better. It would be a fabulous CS/CL if the price were to be lowered for the season but at the moment it doesn't compare well with other sites in the area. We noticed that the two club sites in the area were nearly full - neither of them has such an idyllic location as this site which had just a trickle of visitors. It's a pity as it has unbelievable potential. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: ChampersCrean 8 reviews from this member

 Friendly staff on arrival. Great pitch with beautiful view. Shower facilities so so but could always use those on board. Ideally situated for Gairloch with all its facilities. Delicious 'home made' meals in local shop. Great fish and chip shop too. I would definitely recommend this site. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Graham Haddow 20 reviews from this member

 Probably our favourite site to visit and spend a few days here each summer. If you want super modern toilets/showers then go elsewhere. If you want well maintained, clean facilities, spectacular location/views, a friendly welcome, a beautiful area to visit with loads of things to do and see. Then this is a must. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Alanterri 63 reviews from this member

 Smack bang in the middle of Gairloch Town. Panoramic views of Loch Gairloch.

Very clean toilets but dated by caravan club standards but quite acceptable. Usually we go the Sands Up the road. This site is just as good but in the middle of town. The hotel next door is rundown but clean, good food and comfortable. Give it a go and enjoy. The best place to eat and drink is The Old Inn about a mile from site.

This is a very good location. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Billandirene 2 reviews from this member

 Sat here on a sunny day on a gem of a site. Had not planned the visit albeit I had seen older reviews of the site. Shops, cafe, chippy, pub and restaurant within two minutes walk. If your in the area don't miss the opportunity to spend a couple of days. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Regajd 6 reviews from this member

 A great location overlooking the bay and with a chippie just 100 yards away. The toilets and showers are old but kept clean. The toilet cubicle in the ladies was so narrow that the big white round loo roll holder knocked my shoulder while sat on the loo. I'm average size, so it would be awful for anyone on the large side. The welcome was friendly helpful and efficient, including being escorted to our nice large grass pitch. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tinribs86 1 review from this member

 As others have said previously the older shower block is a little dated however the facilities are very clean and there are proper shower taps with plenty of hot water - all at no extra charge. The site is in the middle of the village of Strath which is the real center of Gailroch and as such has everything from the local shops to restaurants within a few yards of the entrance. The views are beautiful especially from the front pitch's however this also means the site is a little exposed on windy days. The staff are very helpful and have a laid back attitude which made us feel very welcome. While we didn't make use of it there was a laundry on site with dryers & clothes lines. I would certainly recommend this site to any one. Free wifi was an added bonus. 


Previous     119 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Gairloch Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Gairloch Holiday Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Gairloch Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Gairloch      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Highlands

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


755 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement