Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Gairloch Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Gairloch > Gairloch Holiday Park > Reviews

Gairloch Holiday Park
Strath
Gairloch
Highlands   (Browse area)
IV21 2BX
Tel: 01445 712373
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 55
Open: 01/04/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 119 Reviews
                9/10 from 119 Reviews

Photos (20)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  119 in total, now showing 81 to 90                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Nikko136 53 reviews from this member

 Wow, a campsite with space and freedom! Unless you want one of the few super-pitches with hard-standing you pitch where you want for your type of unit within reach of the power outlets scattered around the areas of mown grassy dunes - there are no marked pitches or rules about which way round to park. Of course this relies on subsequent arrivals respecting your space.

The campsite is a couple of miles beyond Gairloch town, so the well-stocked shop at reception is a welcome facility. The toilets and showers were generally clean, although there seemed to be a management problem with the timing of cleaners’ visits - invariably a young lady wanted to clean at the busiest time of the morning, around 8 a. M. ! They did make other visits during the day as well. Hot water was not always available in the evenings for dishwashing, and the separation of the specific sinks for dishes and clothes was not as clear as it should be.

The on-site restaurant was really good and the prices are reasonable. We could take our dog into the newly-opened extension whereas dogs aren’t allowed in the original rustic area. Good views out of the patio door windows. There’s a fenced dog-walking field of reasonable size with a mown track round its perimeter - saw an osprey sitting on a post there at dusk one evening when walking our dog.

The large beach is huge when the tide goes out and there are rock pools for children to investigate.

Overall a very good site which we would recommend to considerate campers - please don't try to squeeze between other units and observe the 7-metre rule. 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Photo4x4 16 reviews from this member

 We stayed at Gairloch on a Saturday prior to a visit to the gardens at Inverewe. The site is easy to find and is in a great location. We were on a hard-standing pitch at the font of the site and had spectacular panoramic views across the bay to the mountains beyond.

The pitch was large and easy to reverse into - we have a ‘u’ shaped lounge so always point the rear at the view!

Reception was welcoming and simple as we had pre-booked so our pitch was already allocated to us. The fresh water point is near the entrance so it was easy to fill up the tank on our arrival. They have also provided long hose so we did not have to unpack our own f/w hose – a thoughtful addition.

The grey water waste disposal point also was easy access for a motorhome with a very convenient ‘gutter pipe’ provided to divert the waste into the drain. Another very helpful point. The Elsan disposal is at the rear of one of the shower blocks but we did not need to use this.

There are two shower and toilet blocks which were clean and tidy, I think that there were three showers in all but we did not have to queue.

There are shops, café and a hotel and restaurant near to the entrance of the site, which is very convenient.

The site was quiet at night and very peaceful – no rowdy campers. All the dogs we saw were on leads and the owners ‘picked-up’.

During our visit I spotted a static-tourer that had the water pump constantly running. I pointed this out to the site owner Colin who immediately checked it out and filled the water tank for the absent owner so that the pump did not burn out.

All in all a nice site which we will visit again and would recommend to others. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Pamcel 9 reviews from this member

 A very nice site, close to all amenities of Gairloch. Welcoming pub on the corner of the site, overlooking the loch. The views of Skye are beautiful. Great walks along the beach for the dog, with a spectacular climb over the hill from another amazing beach to the pier where glass bottomed boat trips can be taken, and crabs can be fished for amongst huge jellyfish and a plethora of seaweed in the harbour. A very friendly welcome was enjoyed from the site owner, and we appreciated the wifi. Gorgeous views from our pitch across the loch to the mountains. So many people spent ages taking photos. I would highly recommend this site. I've stayed in Sands too, and this one is just more pleasant overall. We will be back as soon as possible. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Brian-A 11 reviews from this member

 Well-kept site with lovely views and handy for beaches, walks and pubs/cafes/restaurants in the area.

Two adjacent facilities blocks that are getting on a little bit but still serviceable and very clean. Nice large (mostly grass) pitches. Good wifi (small charge). Helpful owner.

Good dog walks a few minutes car drive away. 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Salsapembs 17 reviews from this member

 My family & I stayed for one night in a motorhome on our 10 day tour around Scotland during the Easter holidays. What a great location with electric hard standing pitches overlooking the Isle Of Skye! Having experienced a number of different caravan parks over the years we found this one to be lovely. The site was spotlessly clean & well laid out with all the motorhome facilities you would need with a friendly warden (Colin) & reasonably priced pitches. The wi-fi signal was excellent too! The toilet & shower block was a little dated but clean & functional with plenty of hot water. A highly recommended site, one which we would return to in the future. Thank-you Colin! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Katem264 2 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a weeks camping on this beautiful site in Gairloch. The views from this site are stunning!

It was windy and raining when we arrived and the warden gave us a choice of pitches. Due to the views there is not much protection from the elements but our tent managed to stand up to it once up. The grass was easy to pitch on and despite the rain and wind there wasn't a soggy patch in sight.

There are 2 toilet blocks, 1 heated and a lot newer than the other. The older one has 3 toilets, 3 sinks and 1 shower which was quite spacious. The newer one had 1 toilet, 2 sinks and 2 showers, which were a little on the smaller side.

There is a covered potwash area, launderette and washing line available, along with a couple of drinking water points.

The warden was very helpful and has a book in his office that has previous visitor comments on what to, where to go. There are local shops and restaurants within walking distance and the harbour and shops are just a short drive away. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Divvyxj 5 reviews from this member

 Got here on friday 3rd and stayed for three nights,

The warden was very helpful as he was interested in the hills that I intended to walk over the weekend, he even gave me a loan of his munroe books for a quick reference,

The site is centrally situated with a hotel beside the camp site, a grocer next door and a chip shop next to that, with a coffee cum book store across the road and a butchers round the corner because I had my motorbike,

The warden let me park my bike on the hard standing, just in case the side stand sunk into the grass,

The toilets were spotless, the showers were fine, there is two shower rooms with toilets and a separate toilet block, plenty of things for me to do,

The beach is a two minute walk, a 20 min walk takes you round the cove to the gairloch harbour where there is plenty of pleasure cruise ships for sightseeing whales and seals, there is a glass bottomed boat that takes you round the harbour,

Across the road there is an old inn, a trekking stables and a half hour walk to the waterfalls, just remember this is midgy country,

Overall I would give this site 10 out of 10 because the warden was very helpful 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Geddes 8 reviews from this member

 Spent 7 days at the Gairloch Caravan & Camping site, and it didn't disappoint. What a beautiful setting, with the site being located in 'Strath', and just off the little main square.

Everything about this site is just so convenient. Shops, post office, Millcroft Hotel for drinks or a meal all just seconds away.

On driving onto the site, it struck me as being very neat and tidy and welcoming, with little bits of garden and flowers dotted around, and with a good tarmac forecourt at the Reception.

We were met by Marion. The warden, and she was very helpful and friendly, and led us to our pitch which was level and we were able to drive on to it with no bother.

The facilities on site were absolutely fine, with older fashioned toilet blocks, but kept spotlessly clean and nice and bright (white walls). We were also lucky to be blessed with really good weather and the views from the site were just stunning.

All in all a great place to visit. Will most definitely be back next year. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Duane and Shirley 1 review from this member

 We're due to leave Gairloch tomorrow and we've really enjoyed our stay. Marion and Colin do a great job looking after the place and their visitors (and pets). With the shops and beach nearby and the picture perfect view the site is well worth a visit and Gairloch overall should meet the needs of all.

I'm sure we'll return and will recommend the site to anyone.

The local shops are way better than they used to be when I lived here 28years ago and I'm pleased to report their not over charging, the prices were as good as any shops near us at home.

Enjoy your stay. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Saracen1 3 reviews from this member

 We had 5 days here the second week of june

Sadly we manged to break two of our tent poles trying to put the tent up in high winds which was highly amusing

Thanks to the owners who helped us rescue the poles with new pieces they kindly donated and then advised us to use extra lashing ropes ( which we always carry as seasoned campers )

We eventually got sorted

They also lent us extra long hook up extentions again at no extra cost talk about the extra mile for customers

We also got the Wifi and it is only £5 for the week not daily as has been previously mentioned and moaned at

Grounds, facilities, and owners are 1st class and the scenery is outstanding what more does a camper want

The only issue we had was the sea fishing by the light housewas rather interuped by seals on one occasion and a sea otter on another not much chance of fish being caught but the company and photo experience they gave was out of this world

We even caught a quick look at a Minky whale at the same place

We will be back and its looking for the Sea Eagles for us next time

Thanks for a great break and see you next year 


Previous     119 Reviews in total, now showing 81 to 90      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Gairloch Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Gairloch Holiday Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Gairloch Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Gairloch      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Highlands

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3182 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement