Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Gairloch Caravan & Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Gairloch > Gairloch Caravan & Camping Site Reviews

Gairloch Caravan & Camping Site
Strath
Gairloch
Highlands   (Browse area)
IV21 2BX
Tel: 01445 712373
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 80
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 55 Reviews
                9/10 from 55 Reviews

Photos (5)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   Wild Swimming On Site   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring 1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  55 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: MARJUJONES 8 reviews from this member

Lovely welcome from very friendly wardens. They even looked after our dog the following day while we went whale watching.

The site is reasonably open for the breeze which certainly helps with the midgies.

Beautiful area.

Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: CALUM1 3 reviews from this member

Loved out trip to this campsite this year. It has had a large extension and refurbishment since our last visit two years ago. Also had a new and improved warden!

The facilities now match the location which is second to none. Would highly recommend.

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Jemcollie 14 reviews from this member

Fantastic location with views right over the loch and beyond. There is a mixture of hardstanding and grass pitches and if you book early enough you can get a pitch at the front of the site (no awnings) with views from your van!

The owners are very helpful, friendly and hard-working. There is a new toilet block and showers which are kept spotlessly clean.

In the village of Strath, there is a shop, cafe/bookshop, fish and chip shop (eat in or takeaway) - all a 3 minute walk from the site.

In Gairloch itself, there are more shops and a fuel station. There is a small beach within 10 minute walking distance of the site and further beaches a short drive away.

The harbour has a car park with good motorhome spaces. From here, there are boat trips, a lovely walk to the beach with views of The Hebrides and a pub over the road.

This is a great site and, yes, we would definitely return.

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Nc500 3 reviews from this member

Absolutely amazing site. One of the cleanest and best sites we found on our trip.

Shower block was spotless and the owners were so friendly and helpful. Wish we had stayed here longer.

Definitely recommend this place
via mobile

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Fierymac 7 reviews from this member

The view from this campsite is amazing, especially if you choose one of the 8 pitches at the edge of the site which have an elevated position looking over Gairloch Bay and the Torridon hills. Be aware though that no awnings or structures needing guy lines are allowed on these pitches.

The upgraded facilities are great although I wonder how busy they'll be during peak times. (3 x toilet cubicles and 3 x shower cubicles in the gents). Nice big pitches and reasonable charges which I think are irrespective of the unit you have - 9 per adult and 4 hook-up.

Overall I've never used this site before, always preferring Sands site 2. 5miles further out of Gairloch. If I were staying with kids I'd still go there for the great beach location, but as a couple, being within easy reach of pubs/hotels this site worked better.

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Geoff Corker 3 reviews from this member

Don't be put off by some of the reviews! This is a great little site with views to die for. Facilities are very clean, plenty of space between pitches. Warden [Marion] very friendly & helpful.

On elevated site in centre of village, hence handy for shops/restaurants etc. Excellent chippy just around the corner [eat in/takeaway]. Nearest for 60 miles. Also, an excellent museum & a new TIC/Cafe slightly further away.

Called in for 2 nights as part of a month long tour of Scotlands' West Coast in a VW Campervan. Look forward to returning on the next leg of my tour. Geoff [Oxfordshire]

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Graham Haddow 11 reviews from this member

Just back from a few nights at this site and I'll certainly be back again. A recent critical review about the process of upgrading toilet/shower facilities is baffling because this is a temporary measure in an effort to improve facilities.

The site has the most amazing views with spacious pitches for caravans and great for camping. Whilst at the site my dog became very unwell during the night and at 2am I called on Colin the warden to give me contact details for a vet. Despite being awakened from his slumber he was extremely helpful, supportive and understanding. Not only a friendly welcome but also a 24 hour service!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kittybeldie 6 reviews from this member

Nicely positioned site. With great vies over the loch. Dated facilities. WiFi was fine apart from mornings as you have to wait for someone to go into the office to reset the system. Probably wouldn't go back.

Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Itsyum 110 reviews from this member

A very well situated site being elevated above the the small town and has stunning views over the Loch and surrounding area, there are a handful of hardstandings and plenty of grass pitches, the facilities blocks are a little basic and small though. All in all a nice little site

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: MaryKin 9 reviews from this member

First let me say that I hate leaving negative reviews about any site, but I feel so sad about what has happened to this one that I would feel bad not to say something.

This site has just about the perfect location - views to die for of Gairloch Bay, and the stunning mountains and islands beyond, together with a close proximity to myriad attractions - at the site entrance a village store, quirky Hillbillies bookshop and Mountain Coffee shop, restaurants, pub, fish and chip shop, award winning butchers and lovely gift shop; ten minutes walk to more shops, Gairloch Museum, Tourist Centre, other eateries, walks of every description from a scenic stroll to the harbour to the best hillwalking, and of course just a short drive to Inverewe Gardens. All that before the delights of scenic drives further afield.

The grounds are very well kept and we were fortunate to get a perfectly level front row pitch with the best of the views.

So what's not to like? Sadly the dated facilities mentioned in many of this site's reviews have changed into a disaster for the 2018 season. After booking in with the welcoming warden and paying for three nights we then explored the site and after visiting the portacabin in which this year's temporary facilities are sited we went back to our van and spoke seriously about asking for a refund as we were so taken aback. Whilst the men still have the use of the old toilet block, the ladies toilet comprises two cubicles with washhand basins with the added bonus of a couple of urinals. Spotlessly clean almost all of the time but basic in the extreme. And then the showers. There is a notice advising that men can use the showers on the odd hours whilst ladies can use them on even hours. Inside is an open plan changing area with hooks and benches along one wall, and on the opposite wall four tiny shower trays with curtains and electric showers. We decided that we would stay since we were already set up and would make use of our van's own shower. In the three days we were there I saw only two people venturing inside - not many people are willing to risk baring all to complete strangers I think. We have been on other sites with temporary showers but they always offered privacy - this unit was more suited to communal showering for a rugby club. We spoke to a few other visitors, some from overseas, who told us the site didn't match up to others they had stayed in and most only stayed one night.

We did see workmen at the old toilet block who were clearly working on the renovations but it seemed it would be some time until the new block would be ready, so my advice to anyone thinking of going is be prepared to use your own facilities unless you don't mind communal showering. For the price we paid (21. 50 a night) we would expect something better. It would be a fabulous CS/CL if the price were to be lowered for the season but at the moment it doesn't compare well with other sites in the area. We noticed that the two club sites in the area were nearly full - neither of them has such an idyllic location as this site which had just a trickle of visitors. It's a pity as it has unbelievable potential.

Previous     55 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Gairloch      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Highlands

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2642 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019