Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Gairloch Caravan & Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Gairloch > Gairloch Caravan & Camping Site Reviews

Gairloch Caravan & Camping Site
Strath
Gairloch
Highlands   (Browse area)
IV21 2BX
Tel: 01445 712373
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 80
Open: 01/04/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 76 Reviews
                9/10 from 76 Reviews

Photos (20)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming On Site   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  76 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Brian-A 10 reviews from this member

 Well-kept site with lovely views and handy for beaches, walks and pubs/cafes/restaurants in the area.

Two adjacent facilities blocks that are getting on a little bit but still serviceable and very clean. Nice large (mostly grass) pitches. Good wifi (small charge). Helpful owner.

Good dog walks a few minutes car drive away. 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Salsapembs 17 reviews from this member

 My family & I stayed for one night in a motorhome on our 10 day tour around Scotland during the Easter holidays. What a great location with electric hard standing pitches overlooking the Isle Of Skye! Having experienced a number of different caravan parks over the years we found this one to be lovely. The site was spotlessly clean & well laid out with all the motorhome facilities you would need with a friendly warden (Colin) & reasonably priced pitches. The wi-fi signal was excellent too! The toilet & shower block was a little dated but clean & functional with plenty of hot water. A highly recommended site, one which we would return to in the future. Thank-you Colin! 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Katem264 2 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a weeks camping on this beautiful site in Gairloch. The views from this site are stunning!

It was windy and raining when we arrived and the warden gave us a choice of pitches. Due to the views there is not much protection from the elements but our tent managed to stand up to it once up. The grass was easy to pitch on and despite the rain and wind there wasn't a soggy patch in sight.

There are 2 toilet blocks, 1 heated and a lot newer than the other. The older one has 3 toilets, 3 sinks and 1 shower which was quite spacious. The newer one had 1 toilet, 2 sinks and 2 showers, which were a little on the smaller side.

There is a covered potwash area, launderette and washing line available, along with a couple of drinking water points.

The warden was very helpful and has a book in his office that has previous visitor comments on what to, where to go. There are local shops and restaurants within walking distance and the harbour and shops are just a short drive away. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Divvyxj 5 reviews from this member

 Got here on friday 3rd and stayed for three nights,

The warden was very helpful as he was interested in the hills that I intended to walk over the weekend, he even gave me a loan of his munroe books for a quick reference,

The site is centrally situated with a hotel beside the camp site, a grocer next door and a chip shop next to that, with a coffee cum book store across the road and a butchers round the corner because I had my motorbike,

The warden let me park my bike on the hard standing, just in case the side stand sunk into the grass,

The toilets were spotless, the showers were fine, there is two shower rooms with toilets and a separate toilet block, plenty of things for me to do,

The beach is a two minute walk, a 20 min walk takes you round the cove to the gairloch harbour where there is plenty of pleasure cruise ships for sightseeing whales and seals, there is a glass bottomed boat that takes you round the harbour,

Across the road there is an old inn, a trekking stables and a half hour walk to the waterfalls, just remember this is midgy country,

Overall I would give this site 10 out of 10 because the warden was very helpful 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Geddes 8 reviews from this member

 Spent 7 days at the Gairloch Caravan & Camping site, and it didn't disappoint. What a beautiful setting, with the site being located in 'Strath', and just off the little main square.

Everything about this site is just so convenient. Shops, post office, Millcroft Hotel for drinks or a meal all just seconds away.

On driving onto the site, it struck me as being very neat and tidy and welcoming, with little bits of garden and flowers dotted around, and with a good tarmac forecourt at the Reception.

We were met by Marion. The warden, and she was very helpful and friendly, and led us to our pitch which was level and we were able to drive on to it with no bother.

The facilities on site were absolutely fine, with older fashioned toilet blocks, but kept spotlessly clean and nice and bright (white walls). We were also lucky to be blessed with really good weather and the views from the site were just stunning.

All in all a great place to visit. Will most definitely be back next year. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Duane and Shirley 1 review from this member

 We're due to leave Gairloch tomorrow and we've really enjoyed our stay. Marion and Colin do a great job looking after the place and their visitors (and pets). With the shops and beach nearby and the picture perfect view the site is well worth a visit and Gairloch overall should meet the needs of all.

I'm sure we'll return and will recommend the site to anyone.

The local shops are way better than they used to be when I lived here 28years ago and I'm pleased to report their not over charging, the prices were as good as any shops near us at home.

Enjoy your stay. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Saracen1 3 reviews from this member

 We had 5 days here the second week of june

Sadly we manged to break two of our tent poles trying to put the tent up in high winds which was highly amusing

Thanks to the owners who helped us rescue the poles with new pieces they kindly donated and then advised us to use extra lashing ropes ( which we always carry as seasoned campers )

We eventually got sorted

They also lent us extra long hook up extentions again at no extra cost talk about the extra mile for customers

We also got the Wifi and it is only 5 for the week not daily as has been previously mentioned and moaned at

Grounds, facilities, and owners are 1st class and the scenery is outstanding what more does a camper want

The only issue we had was the sea fishing by the light housewas rather interuped by seals on one occasion and a sea otter on another not much chance of fish being caught but the company and photo experience they gave was out of this world

We even caught a quick look at a Minky whale at the same place

We will be back and its looking for the Sea Eagles for us next time

Thanks for a great break and see you next year 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Lumatrix 5 reviews from this member

 'An amazing view over Loch Gairloch' - it has but only if you are in the front 8 or 9 pitches, so it's well worth trying hard to get one of these pitches especially if you plan a long stay. WiFi was available - did not check out children's facilities.

Very good, clean and new shower and toilet blocks. One thing I particularly like about this site though is the placement of facilities. On checking IN OR OUT, Water, Grey water and Black water are all together so servicing your vehicle is the easiest thing. As it says there are a large range of local amenities available with weird and wonderful souvenir shops. Staff helpful but not often available when we were there as there only appeared to be one guy. Perhaps other staff were on a camping holiday somewhere? They have to sometimes. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Tamaraw 2 reviews from this member

 Spent two thoroughly enjoyable nights at Gairloch and can't speak highly enough of the site!

The wardens couldn't be any more helpful (really went above and beyond sorting out my wifi problem) and the site is kept in excellent condition. The toilets and showers were always spotlessly clean, as was the dishwash area.

I had a grass pitch and was lucky enough to not have anyone right in front of me on one of the hard standings to spoil the view out over the loch - when I go back (and I definitely will!), I'll be going for a pitch with a guaranteed view!

Location is great too - minutes from well stocked shops and a great base to explore the north west highlands. 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Wsseaman 67 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for one night. Cost was 20 for 2 adults, 2 dogs and electric which we felt was a little high considering we were staying late Sept.

Wi-Fi was an eye-watering 5 a day, which needless to say we did not take advantage of! A nice friendly site, pitches are grass and hardstanding and all level.

We were lucky to be located at the front of the site which gave us a lovely view of Gairloch beach.

The few shops in Gairloch are easily walked to from the site.

We would definitely stay here again.  
Management response: The cost per night of your stay was 18. 50 not the stated 20. You paid 18. 50 on another Camping Park in late September yet made no comment about it so I believe you may have muddled our prices with another park. For information you could have stayed for 14 however you had a hard standing (2) and electricity (2. 50). We have this menu of charges to ensure our tent guests do not pay for facilities they cannot use.

Wi-Fi is not 5 per day it is 5 per stay. For the majority of our guests this is the fairest and cheapest way to contribute towards the cost of running our system.

Hopefully we will see you again in the future for a little longer (and maybe we will sort out some free Wi-Fi for you).


Previous     76 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Gairloch Caravan & Camping Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Gairloch Caravan & Camping Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Gairloch Caravan & Camping Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Gairloch      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Highlands

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest W Midlands and Wales 03/07 to 04/07
Exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4584 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement