Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Buckle Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > East Sussex > Seaford > Buckle Holiday Park Reviews

Buckle Holiday Park
Marine Parade
Seaford
East Sussex   (Browse area)
BN25 2QR
Tel: 01323 897 801
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 150
Open:

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 73 Reviews
                7/10 from 73 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  73 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Evilgothictwin 3 reviews from this member

Me and my partner booked to stay here for 4 nights. When we arrived we were told where to put our tent and told the rules of the site.

Unfortunately the weather was awful and pitching the tent wasn't very easy but being an ex army cadet I'm used to it and managed it fine. The toilet blocks were clean and the site was fairly empty.

We were kept awake by the weather with gailforce winds and torrential rain. This was the case the whole time we stayed so after trying to stick it out we decided to leave a day early.

We were the last people to leave as all the others decided to leave even earlier. We went and spoke to the staff on reception who were really nice and even gave us a refund for the last night despite it not being there fault we were leaving.

I would definitely return but not in that kind of weather as the site is located right next to the beach. This would be an amazing site if you have the right weather

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Unique0151 10 reviews from this member

Had a 1 night stopover here on route to France from newhaven to dieppe and found the site was easy to get to and was a good all round experience.

Right on a rocky beach good for fishing (with tackle available to hire)very handy for the ferry port, good flat pitches, and a small bar on site.

Arrival and greeting was easy and very friendly pitches clearly marked and ample water and waste facilities. Not a 5 star site by any means but no complaints at all.

Would definitely use again if ferrying from newhaven.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: The_madhouse 4 reviews from this member

Just returned from a wonderful two days stay, even though the weather was wet and windy!

The campsite is right next to the train station so perfect if you wish to pop into Brighton without the car.

We walked along the seafront into the town of Seaford to go to the local supermarket, amazing views of Seven Sisters and miles of pebble beach.

There are clean free showers and toilets on site and a lovely clubhouse. The owners are really friendly and made us feel really welcome.

We had pitch A8 which was as close to the sea as you could get (just up the ramp and there was the sea) We loved it so much we have booked to go again in a couple of weeks!

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Mastervan 3 reviews from this member

Stopped here for two nights as it was shown as right next to the station for us to go into Brighton. It did not disappoint.

The station is about a minute walk but we never heard any train noise.We were met by a very polite lad. The pitch we had was hardstanding and level and the beach was a stones throw away.

The shower/toilet block is a little dated but clean, and you don't spend forever in the shower do you! There was a small clubhouse but we never went in as we are not really drinkers. T

he site looked as if it was expanding a little with a few more pitches being put in.

The chap in the day was also very polite and helpful and we would stop again if we were in the area.

Date of Visit: February 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Fudge88 4 reviews from this member

We have just spent 2 nights at Buckle caravan park, and was very disappointed with the condition of the toilet and showers, unheated dark and grotty you really need to have your own onboard facilities. The good points are the trains that run regularly into Brighton, the park is great for the beach and dog walks

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mjrees 40 reviews from this member

My wife and I are emulating the BBC 'Coast' programmes and have begun our tour of the UK coastline. This site was brilliantly situated, right beside the beach, with great views of Newhaven harbour and surrounding countryside.

The sea wall was within 100 metres of our pitch -in fact we took great delight in taking our breakfast up onto the seats on the sea wall. The staff were friendly and helpful and gave sensible directions for places to visit in the area.

We met up with a very sociable young German couple and so our visit was made all the more enjoyable. Facilities were clean and adequate, although we were disappointed to find that the on-site bar only opened at weekends! If we make it down to the South coast again, this will be a definite to re-visit

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kezz4 4 reviews from this member

We stayed at buckle holiday park august bank holiday weekend. It was raining when we arrived and the warden said the entrance to the field was very muddy but they had put wooden planks down which helped a lot.

The site is situated between newhaven and seaford and the train station is opposite to the site which takes you straight to brighton. The toilet and shower block is ok but the showers are quite small but water is lovely and hot.

The beach is literally 2 minute walk away which the children loved.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Godwin 2 reviews from this member

We visited this site for 6 nights in a tent. There are 2 areas for tents and pitches are marked out clearly. We found the wardens to be nice and helpful. The only downside would be the toilet / shower block - it is quite old and has only 3 showers in both male & female with 4 toilets in female and 3 in male which were always well stocked with toilet roll! The shower cubicles are small with only one hook so soon learnt to take minimal stuff across! They are the push button type which can be quite annoying, but while we were there we didn't have to queue for them. There are no electrical sockets so no need to take hair dryer!

We found a lot of people on the site only stayed for one or two nights which I believe was due to the location - they were travelling on elsewhere. The location is excellent - a 20 min walk into Seaford which is a nice town, or hop on the bus and go to Brighton or Eastbourne (or anywhere in between) for just 3.60 per adult per day! It was also close to Bishopstone train station although we used the bus. You can hear the trains regularly coming into station but it was bearable.

The beach (shingle) is just over the top of a bank, so couldn't get any closer. Plenty of walking to be done locally either along beach to Seaford museum or in other direction towards Newhaven, or over the downs.

All in all a good site, excellent location for exploring Sussex - would go back.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Chykie 8 reviews from this member

We booked a group of us onto this site for Brighton Pride weekend because finding campsite on this stretch of south coast for the first weekend in August is like trying to find Rocking Horse droppings and I have to admit that on arrival my initial thoughts were 'Oh what have we let ourselves in for!'

The site itself is quite shabby looking and the staff themselves weren't incredibly happy that some of our party had let us down at the last minute due to the awful weather and I was even more dismayed to here it was gonna cost me an extra 20 quid for a key fob (refundable however) to get in and out of the site after 7pm!

Only 4 toilets, all slightly grotty, small and dark there was however plenty of toilet roll and the doors all locked. The showers were pretty grim too (all 3 of them!) one hook for all of your showering gear and clothing but again the water pressure was decent and if you managed to get in them before the rush the water was a good temperature too.

The washing up area, situated in a lean to on the front of the toilet block was also pretty dire but again it was functional and the water warm.

The pitches we were given were at the back end of the site and so off the gravel path which meant a soggy walk to the toilets in the rain but they were a decent sized pitch.

After a couple of hours shivering in our tents we decided to check out the club house. I didn't expect much but was pleasantly surprised. Lovely staff and a decent bar, plenty of tables and it was nice and clean. We spent an hour watching hits of the 80s on the TV and had a game of mini pool. The toilets were a damned sight nicer that the camp toilets too!

The main road and the trainline run directly alongside the camp, you hardly here a sound from them though and it makes getting into Brighton is a doddle even on the busiest day of the year (less that 4 quid return on the bus!)

The very best thing about this site is for a 2 minute walk you are right on the beach. We even managed a bit of snorkelling when the weather calmed down so don't forget to pack your swimming costume!

If the folks at Buckle invested a bit of money in that grotty toilet block I think I could quite happily have this place as my worst kept secret for pride weekend.

We will book again next year because of the ease of getting into Brighton and now we know what to expect it won't be such a shock. We did have a fabulous weekend and really in the end that's all that matters!

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: MrsX 10 reviews from this member

Buckle was quite busy when we visited. Weather was awful when we were there with strong wind and heavy rain, but we didn't notice any flooded pitches as mentioned by other reviewers.

Pitches are marked out, and felt quite close together.

Many people, like ourselves, were using the site as a base for visiting nearby Brighton, which was hosting Pride that weekend.

Unfortunately, this meant many of our fellow campers were in party mode, and I have never stayed on such a noisy site. No attempt by staff to quieten things down. One of our neighbours were still shouting and singing at 530am one night and another group started a BBQ at 230am.

Buckle is ideally situated for getting into Brighton, a few minutes walk from the train station, about 20 minutes ride to Brighton on a fairly frequent service.

The site is also great for the beach, which we didn't use much as the weather wasn't too good, but we did walk the promenade to Seaford one evening, a lovely, interesting walk. Visited the fish and chip restaurant in Seaford.

Buckle has a bar, which we visited once and found it pleasant enough and welcoming for the children too, with a mini pool table etc.

We were pitched near the football field, which was great for my son who made some campsite friends.

As mentioned previously, the toilets and showers leave a lot to be desired. Running hot one second then suddenly going cold. Not very clean at all with cobwebs and dirt in all the corners.

The bins at the dishwashing area were overflowing every time I went in.

Overall a nice site, things that could be improved - size of pitches, shower/toilet and dishwashing area and policing the quiet time policy.

Previous     73 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Seaford      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in East Sussex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...



Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park 14/09 to 15/09, Kent
Enjoy two days access to the dog show, free parking, free evening entertainment and a campsite right next to the showground ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2994 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019