Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Buckle Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > East Sussex > Seaford > Buckle Holiday Park Reviews

Buckle Holiday Park
Marine Parade
Seaford
East Sussex   (Browse area)
BN25 2QR
Tel: 01323 897 801
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 150
Open:

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 55 Reviews
                7/10 from 55 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  55 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Munro844 3 reviews from this member

A very nice location with access to the shingle beach and path to Seaford town. A flat site but expensive for the facilities.

Unfortunately not a good welcome, very abrupt and unhelpful.

Toilet block very basic and little evidence of daily cleaning. Not expecting to return.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Fullmooh 1 review from this member

We stayed at this campsite for 7 nights. For the two of us and our tent (no vehicle), we paid 95 pounds only (showers included) which was really excellent value for money.

Staff are all very friendly and welcoming, and we got to choose where to pitch our tent on the hiker's field. Most of the time, we were the only people standing there, having all the blackberries growing at the sides for ourselves.

We camped right next to the train track, and it did not bother us at all! The trains are not that loud, you really get used to them and they don't ride at night.

The toilets and showers were not that busy, and perfectly fine - clean, well sheltered, spacious enough. The only thing was that the showers tended to run out of water quite often and when there was water, it was really hot.

But that's ok - it's a campsite, not a hotel! Besides, if you try the other shower block at the 'regular's' part of the camping, you will be pleasantly surprised - adjust your own temperature, plenty of running water, personal space, and even some funny kind of hairdryer that's propably been there since way before we were even born and still works!

Children really behaved and there is lots of space for them to run around. We tend to get irritated by kids quite easily but they didn't bother us at all ;)

The beach seemed to be popular with fishers, so you can even catch your own dinner if you like.

The sailing club cafe was closed to the public most of our stay since there was an event going on. However, if you walk along the beach for around 10 minutes and then cross the road, you will find the 'salts cafe' just at the outskirts of the village of Seaford, located at a sport park/playground facility. They serve a big range of breakfast/lunch items, from pastries to homemade sandwiches and cooked breakfast for reasonable prices. Good coffee!

Seaford has one great pub (as far as we figured out) which is called 'the old boot'. Beeing European, this was the perfect 'English experience' for us - packed of jolly people, great live music and the most warm and friendly atmosphere ever!

We had dinner one night at 'the shore lounge and restaurant', good value for money as it was fresh (homemade burger) and huge portion sizes.

Brighton was very easy to reach by train, and there is also busses running all over the place which stop every one or two minutes - perfect for just exploring the area and getting on and off as you feel like.

The surroundings are obviously beautiful, the most blue sea I've ever seen and spectacular landscape.

To get back to the campsite, it is perfect for us - but if you like to nag and complain about things like somebody mowing the grass in the afternoon (!) or showers occasionally running out of water, better go elsewhere (and spend twice the money. )

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Topcat19 1 review from this member

This was our first time using this site, Showers and toilets were nice and clean the site was well looked after, It was quiet, the people at the desk were friendly and very helpful. There is a nice little play field for the kids to play football. Was nice to be able leave the car on site and just walk onto the beach. Like all Breaks away its what you make it. I would 100% be returning

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pancellorum 4 reviews from this member

Not a bad site except they do not like to give tents a pitch with electricity. We like an electric pitch so that we can have our cool-box for food etc, campsites like this seem to think people with tents are different from caravans and campers for some reason!

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Collied 10 reviews from this member

If you like a site where :-

The gents showers don't work
No where to hang your clothes while in the shower
Kids running amok around the site
Kids taking it in turns to ride a moped around the site
Dogs running loose
Sunday afternoon peace and quiet ruined by maintenance man mowing the grass
Pitch bare and muddy (caravan)

Then this is the site for you

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Tribute2 6 reviews from this member

A very basic site. The lady on reception was friendly but the view from our pitch was a yard with a rusty old caravan, old digger & old jeep on one side & the sea wall on the other. The patch of ground at the side of the pitch was bare ground & patchy grass.

The toilet cubicles are really small. There is nowhere inside the shower cubicle to keep your clothes dry. The water was hot but the shower stops approximately every 12 seconds & you have to press the button again. I was half way through my shower, covered in shampoo when it gave up completely & the water just dribbled out. Eventually, after a couple of minutes, it got going again.

No recycling facilities. We were told that there was a second toilet block where we could use the toilets but the showers were out of order. The electric tripped twice the first night but did stay on ok after that.

We had to leave partway through our stay & we were told by a young man on reception that the manager would contact us later that day to see if, as a gesture of goodwill, we could receive any refund of the unused nights but, unfortunately, we did not hear from them.

The only plus side is that it is next to a large pebble beach & 5 mins walk to the train station with regular trains to Brighton & Eastbourne.

We will not be returning to this site.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Thetemples 2 reviews from this member

This was our fist visit to this site although the staff were very friendly and helpful a lot has to be said about the site itself.

My husband and I booked for 5 nights @ 25 P. N which I consider a bit steep as the facilities weren't that great, the toilet/shower block was in much need of some TLC the cubicles for them were much too small, and not very clean.

The site looked very untidy.

The electric hook-up was the worst we have experienced at only 6amp.

The road/path were full of potholes very uneven underfoot.

It was unclear of where to fill the drinking water up as the signs were faded and difficult to read.

The only bonus about this site is its location and ease of access to the beach.

We will not be returning to this site.

Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Collied 10 reviews from this member

A nice little site when you can get on it as the owners seem more focused on long term/seasonal pitches rather than tourers. Very close to the sea hence is prone to strong sea breezes and the prevailing wind. Lovely walks close by along the promenade/track to Newhaven, past the ruins of the Old Tide Mills. Huge field area for tents which seems wasted and perhaps better use for it would be the provision of more hookups for tourers. The showers are fairly clean but in need of refurbishment. Only one of the 3 showers had hot water. Only one water point and one refuse disposal on site means a long walk if you are on the perimeter of the site. Seaford town is an easy 30 minute walk and local convenience shops are even nearer. (No shop on site). Pitches are fairly flat but don't forget your rock pegs for your awning or tents as shingle is not far below the surface of the pitch. If they refurbished the run down showers and toilet block this site would be tops. We would still go back despite the shortcomings.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Sparky20006 3 reviews from this member

We called this camp site at VERY short notice (30 minutes) upon returning from a month in France in our motor home as we fancied a short break on the south coast before returning home up North. Fortunately someone had cancelled and they said they could squeeze us in. How lucky were we!

If you want a fancy, all bells, all whistles site with a pool and a sauna and. You know the sort then go somewhere else.

However - if you want a VERY relaxed well laid out site that is right on a massive beach for a bargain price get yourself to the Buckle Camp site.

Here are the cons -

1. No pool. (Didn't bother us and for what they charge I didn't expect one)

Seriously - that's it for the cons.

Here are the pros -

1. We were charged 20 quid a night for the motor home, us two and our dog and that was with a hook up. None of this silly, greedy have you got an awning? Have you got a dog? Will you want electric? etc etc, Good old fashioned value.

2. No rules everywhere stating that you can't do this and you can't do that.

3. Great big grassy pitches.

4. Literally a 1 minute walk to the pebbly beach that stretches for miles.

5. A small clubhouse with excellent prices.

6. A burger bar / chip van that will even drop the food off at your caravan / MH / tent. Once again good grub at a good price.

7. A 10 minute cycle / 20 minute walk into town, with its shops and pubs along the level sea front.

Do you remember the camp sites you used to go to with your mum and dad years ago and that were great fun before the days of giving them stars and saunas? Well the Buckle is a throwback to those days. Great value. Great atmosphere. Great pitch sizes. And you can tell by the kids playing and the atmosphere - great memories.

As for the toilets and showers they are fine trust me. If you want underfloor heating and state of the art designs then put your hands deeper in your pockets and go up market. Hot water was plentiful and toilets were cleaned regularly during our visit,

I am really choosy and picky and have visited many, many sites and we are gutted it is over 300 miles from us as it would quickly become a regular drop in for us otherwise. We liked it so much we have even mentioned using it as a stopover when we next travel down to the Channel Tunnel.

Thank you to the staff at the Buckle site - I hope you get the success you deserve. Please don't take any negative comments to heart from some posters. I know of some outstanding sites in Cornwall where they can go but they will pay nearly 3 times as much (and have to memorise a rule book).

Once again thank you and well done.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Penny1725 1 review from this member

We went for a long weekend to buckle caravan park, this was a lovely break, staff in the office and the club house were friendly, and happy to help, there are two shower blocks, one more modern than the other, but both adequate, the club was quiet when we visited, but very friendly, it has bar, sky tv, etc, pleasant to sit and chat without blaring music, and easy access to pebble beach from site, will definitely be booking again, and would recommend to others.

Previous     55 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Seaford      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in East Sussex

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4863 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019