Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Breckland Meadows Touring Park ( Adults Only Site )

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Site Reviews

Breckland Meadows Touring Park ( Adults Only Site )
Lynn Road
Swaffham
Norfolk   (Browse area)
PE37 7PT
Tel: 01760 721246
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 45
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 71 Reviews
                9/10 from 71 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Adults Only   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  71 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Caravan Jack 1 review from this member

We spent probably the best week of our caravan holiday this year at Breckland Meadows, the fine weather helped. The friendly site owners keep the whole place immaculate and are always on hand - and willing - to help.

The town of Swaffham is a typical Norfolk market town, albeit a little run down (like most small towns these days), with plenty of good places to eat. There are 3 supermarkets (Asda, Co-op and Waitrose) all within a 20 minute walk of the site.

Over the August Bank Holiday weekend we visited the Swaffham Free Music Festival set in the market square - superb.

Will definitely return.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Darrylwebb 40 reviews from this member

Well situated for a stroll into the pleasant market town of Swaffham. I always like sites where you can wander into the town.

We were welcomed by an extremely pleasant chap who couldn't have been more helpful and genuinely friendly.

At £14. 50 a night for a pitch with EHU, the value is outstanding, and free Wi-Fi is available. You'll struggle to beat that anywhere else. Plenty of other folks seem to agree as there was barely a free pitch mid-week.

The office has a range of local produce (jams, etc. )to tempt you, and we found it very useful for a load of flyers for local attractions.

The pitches are a tad small, and I'd describe the toilets as functional. But I'd not hold it against this site as everything else clearly demonstrates the owner is keen to welcome visitors to the area.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Shearings 8 reviews from this member

Just had 5 lovely days at this site, yes the sunshine does help but this is a well run site. Andy is on site and always there to help if needed. Most are hardstanding and the owner was there with wood to do any levelling. A 10-15 minute walk takes you to the town of Swaffham with buses that will take you from Peterborough to Lowestoft! Asda is even closer for the things you need.

Ladies showers were lovely and hot and toilets clean and well provided. Men's are in need of refurbishing but hopefully that is in the pipeline as it is the only bad point of this site. It's not a huge site and everyone was very friendly. Hook up excellent and even digital aerial was provided if you need it.

Might need a torch as no lights at night if you are walking about. Will definitely return hopefully soon.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Barrie B 2 reviews from this member

Stayed here for 1st time, 6th to 9th May 2013, on a last minute booking, for the Bank Holiday, the site was Full, but nothing was to much for the owners, a real friendly site that is kept immaculate. I Visit this area a couple of times a year, and this is now one of my Top sites for the area. Will be back either later this year or Early next year. I'm not a great walker but there is a disused railway track that has been made into a path that goes to the town and is a nice 10 minute walk, shops, supermarket etc. And town centre is 1/2 mile away from campsite

Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: D blades 1 review from this member

Just had 2 days on breckland meadows adult only caravan park. On arrival owner met us very nice and helpful cant say enough about him small shop on site, they will deliver you a paper if you want one the site itself very clean and well looked after.

hard standing and a good size for our motorhome ( 19 FT) tv signal ok but also aerial point free, site has wi fi. Will be going to this site again

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jackast 9 reviews from this member

We had a 2 night stay on the wettest weekend so far this year. Our outing was to try out our new van and to visit family. We know the area quiet well, the town is just a few minutes away by car and on a dry day you could walk. Some nice places to eat, did not try the local pubs.

The site is on a main road but we didn't notice any noise.

Some of the pitches did look a little water logged after so much rain, so choose your pitch carefully.

The shower and toilet block are basic but clean. The owner is very nice and laid back.

All in all a nice little site, and we will return

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Magiceye 10 reviews from this member

We used this site on our first excursion in our first motorhome, so we were totally new to all this. On arrival we could not have been treated better the owner helped chock us and showed us around, we explained this was our first time out and he could not have been more helpful. Although it is a small site it is well proportioned with your own space. We had our two dogs with us and just outside the site was plenty of walking opportunities along the old disused railway line. We ventured to Kings Lynne and Yarmouth for days out and on our return was always asked if we needed any help, by day three we were seasoned, all through our first helpful experience at this great site, not sure why we have not been back but we will soon. The toilets are clean and showers nice and warm, without long treks to them, the rest of the facilities are good, no on site bar when we were there so it was a walk into town, about five minutes. Thank you for all your help, we now have a bigger MH and will be descending on you soon.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Pelmetman 3 reviews from this member

We stopped at Breckland Meadows for a week and enjoyed our stay although the pitches are quite small. The toilets were OK. There is a good long walk for dogs and it is a 20 minute walk to Waitrose and only 10 minutes to Asda. Town is very run down which is a shame although market on Saturday is good. We had an excellent meal at the newly opened restaurant, can't remember the name but it is the only smart place there so you can't miss it. The warden is very friendly and helpful. Would probably visit again.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mick S. 27 reviews from this member

On arriving at this site, the owner was very helpful; showing us to the pitch, providing a tv co-ax for the site aerial, pointing out places of interest and eateries. The shop/reception had loads of local info and a decent supply of ‘essentials’ for the site – including gas.

On first impression, the site – which appears to have a sprinkling of seasonal ‘vans, looks neat and orderly, but when you look closer it seems there's little maintenance being done, with large weeds growing everywhere; and its not just outside that corners are being cut.

The modern shower/loo block also looks impressive, but the fact is that the gents half smells strongly of urine, with the walls and woodwork grubby at lower levels. The filthy mop bucket of water in there, which didn’t ever appear to change, probably had a lot to to do with this.

The showers, again only in the gents, were lacking a curtain, which led to your things getting wet along with you if you wernt very careful.

This said, the actual shower was as good as you will get anywhere; plenty of free hot water, which wasn’t affected by someone else flushing a loo or using a tap, which can be a regular occurrence on camp sites.

There is also a laundry room and pots area, which looked clean enough from the outside.

Being in-between two roads – one a bypass, there is a lot of traffic noise most of the day/night, so take note if this is something that would bother you.

I would also say there are too many pitches shoe-horned into too small a space the site occupies, but that's a matter of opinion.

The site is handy for walking into Swaffham – about 20 minutes along the road – which is busy but has a footpath. Or, along the disused railway, which takes a bit longer as it runs away from the town centre.

The town itself is a pleasant place with an array of shops, pubs and eateries, where you will find just about anything you need. We had a couple of meals at the George Hotel, where the food is excellent. The towns modest museum-cum-info centre is also worth a look-in.

Here they have an amazing collection of metal-detector finds, all by one local-living French woman, stretching back a thousand years.

One bizarre thing I have to mention about this site, is that come dusk it is over-run with rabbits.

As the light fades, the whole site resembles a scene from Watership Down. They are everywhere among the units, oblivious to folk ambling past. I can only assume they breed in the nearby railway cutting, and obviously have no predators on the camp site.

At £14 a night inc. Leccy, the ‘price is right’, but they really do need to get the hygiene aspects in the gents sorted.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: WWLL 60 reviews from this member

We really enjoyed this quiet Adults only site.

We were able to walk into Swaffham with its variety of shops, market place, banks & pubs,we enjoyed not having to drive.

We stayed 2 nights on our tour of Norfork and this site enabled us to visit Thetford forest easily, we parked our van for free in Lynford Stag carpark in the forest and enjoyed a day walking in the woods.

The site it's self was friendly, clean and tidy with lovely hot showers and laundry room, shop and information centre.

This is a great site for adults wanting peace and quiet.

Previous     71 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Norfolk   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


713 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019