Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Breckland Meadows Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > East Anglia England > Norfolk > Swaffham > Breckland Meadows Touring Park > Reviews

Breckland Meadows Touring Park
Lynn Road
Swaffham
Norfolk   (Browse area)
PE37 7PT
Tel: 01760 721246
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 45
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 91 Reviews
                9/10 from 91 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  91 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Caravan Jack 1 review from this member

 We spent probably the best week of our caravan holiday this year at Breckland Meadows, the fine weather helped. The friendly site owners keep the whole place immaculate and are always on hand - and willing - to help.

The town of Swaffham is a typical Norfolk market town, albeit a little run down (like most small towns these days), with plenty of good places to eat. There are 3 supermarkets (Asda, Co-op and Waitrose) all within a 20 minute walk of the site.

Over the August Bank Holiday weekend we visited the Swaffham Free Music Festival set in the market square - superb.

Will definitely return. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Darrylwebb 40 reviews from this member

 Well situated for a stroll into the pleasant market town of Swaffham. I always like sites where you can wander into the town.

We were welcomed by an extremely pleasant chap who couldn't have been more helpful and genuinely friendly.

At £14. 50 a night for a pitch with EHU, the value is outstanding, and free Wi-Fi is available. You'll struggle to beat that anywhere else. Plenty of other folks seem to agree as there was barely a free pitch mid-week.

The office has a range of local produce (jams, etc. )to tempt you, and we found it very useful for a load of flyers for local attractions.

The pitches are a tad small, and I'd describe the toilets as functional. But I'd not hold it against this site as everything else clearly demonstrates the owner is keen to welcome visitors to the area. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Shearings 8 reviews from this member

 Just had 5 lovely days at this site, yes the sunshine does help but this is a well run site. Andy is on site and always there to help if needed. Most are hardstanding and the owner was there with wood to do any levelling. A 10-15 minute walk takes you to the town of Swaffham with buses that will take you from Peterborough to Lowestoft! Asda is even closer for the things you need.

Ladies showers were lovely and hot and toilets clean and well provided. Men's are in need of refurbishing but hopefully that is in the pipeline as it is the only bad point of this site. It's not a huge site and everyone was very friendly. Hook up excellent and even digital aerial was provided if you need it.

Might need a torch as no lights at night if you are walking about. Will definitely return hopefully soon. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Barrie B 4 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for 1st time, 6th to 9th May 2013, on a last minute booking, for the Bank Holiday, the site was Full, but nothing was to much for the owners, a real friendly site that is kept immaculate. I Visit this area a couple of times a year, and this is now one of my Top sites for the area. Will be back either later this year or Early next year. I'm not a great walker but there is a disused railway track that has been made into a path that goes to the town and is a nice 10 minute walk, shops, supermarket etc. And town centre is 1/2 mile away from campsite 


Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: D blades 1 review from this member

 Just had 2 days on breckland meadows adult only caravan park. On arrival owner met us very nice and helpful cant say enough about him small shop on site, they will deliver you a paper if you want one the site itself very clean and well looked after.

hard standing and a good size for our motorhome ( 19 FT) tv signal ok but also aerial point free, site has wi fi. Will be going to this site again 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jackast 9 reviews from this member

 We had a 2 night stay on the wettest weekend so far this year. Our outing was to try out our new van and to visit family. We know the area quiet well, the town is just a few minutes away by car and on a dry day you could walk. Some nice places to eat, did not try the local pubs.

The site is on a main road but we didn't notice any noise.

Some of the pitches did look a little water logged after so much rain, so choose your pitch carefully.

The shower and toilet block are basic but clean. The owner is very nice and laid back.

All in all a nice little site, and we will return 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Magiceye 10 reviews from this member

 We used this site on our first excursion in our first motorhome, so we were totally new to all this. On arrival we could not have been treated better the owner helped chock us and showed us around, we explained this was our first time out and he could not have been more helpful. Although it is a small site it is well proportioned with your own space. We had our two dogs with us and just outside the site was plenty of walking opportunities along the old disused railway line. We ventured to Kings Lynne and Yarmouth for days out and on our return was always asked if we needed any help, by day three we were seasoned, all through our first helpful experience at this great site, not sure why we have not been back but we will soon. The toilets are clean and showers nice and warm, without long treks to them, the rest of the facilities are good, no on site bar when we were there so it was a walk into town, about five minutes. Thank you for all your help, we now have a bigger MH and will be descending on you soon. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Pelmetman 3 reviews from this member

 We stopped at Breckland Meadows for a week and enjoyed our stay although the pitches are quite small. The toilets were OK. There is a good long walk for dogs and it is a 20 minute walk to Waitrose and only 10 minutes to Asda. Town is very run down which is a shame although market on Saturday is good. We had an excellent meal at the newly opened restaurant, can't remember the name but it is the only smart place there so you can't miss it. The warden is very friendly and helpful. Would probably visit again. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Mick S. 37 reviews from this member

 On arriving at this site, the owner was very helpful; showing us to the pitch, providing a tv co-ax for the site aerial, pointing out places of interest and eateries. The shop/reception had loads of local info and a decent supply of ‘essentials’ for the site – including gas.

On first impression, the site – which appears to have a sprinkling of seasonal ‘vans, looks neat and orderly, but when you look closer it seems there's little maintenance being done, with large weeds growing everywhere; and its not just outside that corners are being cut.

The modern shower/loo block also looks impressive, but the fact is that the gents half smells strongly of urine, with the walls and woodwork grubby at lower levels. The filthy mop bucket of water in there, which didn’t ever appear to change, probably had a lot to to do with this.

The showers, again only in the gents, were lacking a curtain, which led to your things getting wet along with you if you wernt very careful.

This said, the actual shower was as good as you will get anywhere; plenty of free hot water, which wasn’t affected by someone else flushing a loo or using a tap, which can be a regular occurrence on camp sites.

There is also a laundry room and pots area, which looked clean enough from the outside.

Being in-between two roads – one a bypass, there is a lot of traffic noise most of the day/night, so take note if this is something that would bother you.

I would also say there are too many pitches shoe-horned into too small a space the site occupies, but that's a matter of opinion.

The site is handy for walking into Swaffham – about 20 minutes along the road – which is busy but has a footpath. Or, along the disused railway, which takes a bit longer as it runs away from the town centre.

The town itself is a pleasant place with an array of shops, pubs and eateries, where you will find just about anything you need. We had a couple of meals at the George Hotel, where the food is excellent. The towns modest museum-cum-info centre is also worth a look-in.

Here they have an amazing collection of metal-detector finds, all by one local-living French woman, stretching back a thousand years.

One bizarre thing I have to mention about this site, is that come dusk it is over-run with rabbits.

As the light fades, the whole site resembles a scene from Watership Down. They are everywhere among the units, oblivious to folk ambling past. I can only assume they breed in the nearby railway cutting, and obviously have no predators on the camp site.

At £14 a night inc. Leccy, the ‘price is right’, but they really do need to get the hygiene aspects in the gents sorted. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: WWLL 60 reviews from this member

 We really enjoyed this quiet Adults only site.

We were able to walk into Swaffham with its variety of shops, market place, banks & pubs,we enjoyed not having to drive.

We stayed 2 nights on our tour of Norfork and this site enabled us to visit Thetford forest easily, we parked our van for free in Lynford Stag carpark in the forest and enjoyed a day walking in the woods.

The site it's self was friendly, clean and tidy with lovely hot showers and laundry room, shop and information centre.

This is a great site for adults wanting peace and quiet. 


Previous     91 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Breckland Meadows Touring Park child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Breckland Meadows Touring Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Breckland Meadows Touring Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Swaffham      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Norfolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3400 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement