Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Marlbank Inn

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Worcestershire > Malvern > The Marlbank Inn Reviews

The Marlbank Inn
Marlbank Road
Welland
Malvern
Worcestershire   (Browse area)
WR13 6NA
Tel: 01684 310603
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 22
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 63 Reviews
                8/10 from 63 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  63 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Weevle21 3 reviews from this member

 This was our first and last visit to the site. The website makes it sound really nice but that was not the case. The chickens are a pain when you have a dog but not all their fault as they roam from next door.

The site itself was incomplete. You are camped in the back garden of the pub with 5 hardstanding. We only had a choice of 3 as the two next to the pub were to be used to put up a marquee for a party on the Saturday night. Over the phone they told us about this but said it wouldn't really interfere with us as it was not near, it was in fact about 10 feet away. The 2 lorry containers at the end of the campsite were a bit of an eyesore but nothing compared to the building rubble strewn in front of them.

The shower was nice and big and very warm but the toilets are shared with pub goers so if those in a tent go in to brush their teeth they are made to feel very uncomfortable and a bit weird, also the toilets got messy during the evening.

Went in the pub on one night only but they didn't really talk to you. Food in the evening is only served between 6 and 8 so we didn't have any tea on the first night.

I have never known a campsite where so many people just wander in and out (not connected to any campers)

The water was an outside tap with a hose that was being used by the builder and had to keep wiping off dried cement. Grey waste was just a drain hole in the ground that you emptied in front of the smokers cabin so you may feel very uncomfortable if done during pub opening hours. There was no elsan point so couldn't use our own loo and no washing facilities.

A good location for the malvern hills and no real road noise but overall very disappointed 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: RIMMER 190 reviews from this member

 First time here to this campsite next to the pub, basically a medium sized field with limited hard standing and electric.

Looks like the new toilet block is about complete and I found the single shower modern, free and hot. The toilets similar but hot water out the sink tap a problem, the building rubble remains though.

Yes there was some road noise but never found it a problem and heard no noise from the pub, though with music nights on Sat this could present a problem and notice there is a forthcoming music / beer festival end of May.

Found the pub ok, a proper pub and not one of those gross gastro pubs with real locals, good pub grub (from 6 pm) and locally sourced real ales.

Nice views of The Malverns and walked up there in the afternoon via part road and public footpath to the picturesque Malvern Hills hotel. There is a bus service every half hour but never used it.

Thought the hens which ran around only added to the rural feel for the place. Paid 12.50 for one with ehu for one night. 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Puppypower 2 reviews from this member

 This was my second visit to this site as I thought it would be finished by now but it was not. The showers and toilets were a mess, that is if you could get in them, there was a long line of campers for the one shower from 8am till 10am

As others have said the bar staff just ignored us when we went to book in. It's such a shame as this site has so much potential, 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Uglow 11 reviews from this member

 What a brilliant site, it was quiet despite being at the side of the pub. It is an ideal location to visit the Malvern hills as well as the town. Facilities were adequate and we could see that the new facilities that were being built looked like they will be a great improvement to the site.

It is a small campsite which is ideal our pitch was level and spacious enough room for our 4x4 to park by the side of our awning with still enough room to pass by.

The pub itself looked ok but must be said that the staff were more inclined to serving the regulars than us. We only used the pub once for a drink and I found the cider to be off, when I informed the barman ( landladys son) that my cider was not drinkable he tried it and thought it was ok. But fortunately for me a local tried it and said it was a duff barrel it was only then did the barman replace my drink, so I decided not to have another drink in the pub.

The other downside for us when we came to pay the price had increased since we had booked the site, there was no apology for the increase.

Apart from that it was a fantastic site and we are planning on stopping again later in 2010, however if the price increases without prior notice & I find out on arrival I will leave the site and find another. 


Date of Visit: October 2009 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Flookes 2 reviews from this member

 Having booked this site in advance based on the location and recent good reviews, we arrived one Saturday afternoon in October ready for a rest, relax and some good food.

On checking in, we were directed to the only hard standing pitch with power available. Unfortunately this was at the back of the beer garden next to the entrance to it with a stream of people going back and forth. To the side of us was a pile of rubble, building materials and general rubbish. I visited the toilets, which were clean and tidy, certain areas are yet to be finished off. As already mentioned the shower and toilets are shared with the pub

The far area of the campsite suitable for tents looked OK and far enough away from the pub to forget where you were, but the majority of people seemed to be there for its very close proximity to the pub 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Joannedell 5 reviews from this member

 Perfect location for access to the Malvern Hills. Not really walkable to the top as access is limited from this side but a short (5 min) drive to the nearest path and well worth it.

It's a real shame that you cannot see the hills from the site due to the conifers which could do with lopping.

The sites are a decent size and we coudl easily park our large caravan, 4x4, awning and a table and chairs with plenty of room to move.

A neighbour has chickens which escape frequently and wander onto the pitches. This was a real pain as our dog went berserk and we had to lock him away a lot.

Access to walks is good.

The pub is small but nice.

The washing facilities show promise but lack quality. They look like they have been under construction for quite some time as they already show signs of wear but the building is not complete. They are functional and modern. Cleanliness was good but could be improved by having a mop available in the showers.

Pitch was fairly level with only a small amount of ramp required.

You're pretty much left to yourself to get pitched and to vacate which feels slightly impersonal but does not have a negative effect. It did mean however that when we arrived there was still somebody on our pitch and we had to wait for them to vacate.

I like the small number of pitches (6 caravan pitches plus a tent field. It has that perfect size to be personal.

Overall I would recommend it. I would use it again. 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mked 2 reviews from this member

 Had a brilliant time here. Ideal site for visiting this beautiful area. The facilities are first class for a small site of this type. There was extensive building work in progress whilst we were there but it did not cause us any great problems (if the site is to be improved, it has to be done some time!).

The local bus can be hailed outside the pub and runs to Worcester and Great Malvern. There are many attractions for visitors within a 20mile radius - Elgar's grave and his birthplace museum, the Malvern Hills with stunning views and the Morgan car factory (10 for a tour but for anyone interested in cars, well worth every penny) and many more.

Staff and locals very friendly and we were lucky that the entertainment in the pub on the Saturday evening was just our style (Irish folk).

Would definitely recommend.

Cannot rate this highly enough for value for money. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Evansabove 1 review from this member

 Our first impressions were that this was a nice, value-for-money campsite. The site itself, run by the owners of the pub to which the field is connected, was very quiet, but the road that runs alongside the field certainly wasn't! Being rural, you can forgive the noisy tractors, but we did encounter motorcycles that must've thought they were racing in the TT!

The facilities were very nice: Ladies and Gents bathrooms and a shower room that have recently been refurbished, although some building work was still being undertaken around the entrance to these when we were there. The pub also looked very nice, however we catered for ourselves during our stay so can't comment on the food.

The only downside to the facilities is that there was no washing-up area; not too much of a problem if you have a washing-up bowl and something to heat water in, but would have been nice.

We would certainly go again, but might take some earplugs because of the road! 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jarvis9 10 reviews from this member

 Within easy reach of lots of lovely places and ideal for the Malverns. The pub is lively, friendly and welcoming with good reports about the food. As for the site and its facilities these were both very disappointing. It's directly off a noisy road and access isn't easy turning in from the East with nothing to indicate the site entrance. When we arrived we had to wait for the pub to open at midday to get to our pitch. Because of the building work our view was largely that of rubble and assorted debris which was a shame as it does have the potential to be pretty. Hopefully they will sort this in time. We agree with previous comments about noise as we seemed to be surrounded by large groups of late-night revellers. Everyone was v friendly so this wasn't all bad but there seems no guarantee of peace and tranquillity. Also as previously mentioned there is only one shower with sporadic fluctuations in temperature and quite bad condensation. Toilets are shared with the pub and we found them not brilliantly clean. Very inconvenient to have no dishwashing facilities. We were ok in our 'van but felt sorry for the tenters. Although they are making efforts with new facilities the standard of workmanship may let them down in the long run. If the owners can address the points in our and other's reviews this has the potential to be a good little site. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Amy+Tess 1 review from this member

 We just spent a very enjoyable first camping trip here.

The small, friendly campsite is well maintained & clean. The pitches are nice, flat and well spaced out. The toilets and the shower are still being finished off but having said that, it's only the decorating that's pending - they are fully functional whatsmore they are also kept very clean.

We treated ourselves to a hearty breakfast on our last morning and have to say this was yummy & very reasonably priced. Even the dogs, who were welcomed into the pub all weekend, were treated to a complimentary Gravy Bone each!

Although they are available, we didn't use an electric hook-up but only being there for 2 nights there wasn't really a need. (and there is a hairdryer in the ladies anyway!)

The only downside I can mention (hence the 7/10 for location), is that it's close to a road, which at night isn't busy, during the day it is a little busier, however, it didn't spoil our fun or prevent us from sleeping!

All in all a nice, friendly, welcoming site - a 'got all you need' place to stay!

This is a site I'd definitely use again.

The surrounding area is lovely. Plenty of walks with spectacular views. Great Malvern is nice to wander around. 


Previous     63 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is The Marlbank Inn child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Marlbank Inn?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is The Marlbank Inn dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Malvern      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Worcestershire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4384 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement