Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Coxford Meadow Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (East) > Bude > Coxford Meadow Campsite Reviews

Coxford Meadow Campsite
Coxford Meadow
St Gennys
Bude
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
EX23 0NS
Tel: 01840 230707
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 25
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 59 Reviews
                9/10 from 59 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  59 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Tible 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed here in 'high' season, in a folding camper with my two children, ages 7 & 9, also with my parents in another folding camper.

Pitches were a good size, big play area in middle of field, a wooded area with swings etc, and a playroom with a pool table.

Good location with easy enough access to many places. Weather was up and down but the site and facilities coped fine.

Owners, Rodney and Ann, were friendly and helpful without ever being intrusive.

Two showers and two (quite small) toilets for the ladies, and I believe the same for the men. Kept clean throughout the day, by Ann or Rodney popping in and out when neccesary.

Sea view from the pitches where we were (closest to the house), lovely sunsets in the clearer evenings, only down side to these pitches is that you are right next to the rubbish bins, which other campers use at all time of day and NIGHT, by just dropping in glass bottles, and letting bin lid bang down, which unfortunately did disturb the kids at times, and us also. So not really a fault of the site, just other campers not really thinking about the noise they are making right next to somebodys bed!

No shop on site, but we don't mind this, very few pitches, which again we don't mind in fact we look for that in a site. But there is a garage, with a shop and another little shop next to it, about 5mins from the site.

We would return to this site, and would recommend it to others who want a nice small quiet site with friendly owners. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Memz 2 reviews from this member

 Pro's

Permanent free hot water. Ladies showers good, mens adequate and always hot. Good fridge/freezer. Plus use of free microwave and the washing machine and tumble-dryer at a small cost. Flat pitches, plenty of EHU's AND we were lent an extension lead by the owners. Friendly owners on hand to check all is well.

Fabulous little beach down in Crackington Haven with life guards, our son learnt to body board and we all loved the rock pools. Get there early by car if you want a parking space.

Great base for exploring North East Cornwall.

Con's

Ladies loos a bit on the tired side, never dirty but the left one always whiffed a bit and the right one only had a window with slatted shutters between you and the people outside washing up!

If you book late (as we did, so our fault) you could end up in 'The Woods'. Not the best place for socializing and THE place for the kids to play who don't mind running around your tent and actually using the wooded area as their personal urinal!

Overall, we would visit again and recommend this cosy little site but would ask not to be put in 'The Woods'. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lewingtons 1 review from this member

 We loved this small site. We are a family of 5 with children from 9 to 4 and it suited us perfectly. There were lots of children who all played together thanks to the football pitch in the middle of the site and the small play area & woods at the side. The toilet block & showers were always clean and there was permanently hot water. The owners are delightful and work very hard to make sure the site runs smoothly and everyone is OK. There's a microwave & a fridge for general use and a small room with a pool table & TV for the children. Crackington Haven is a lovely little beach but too far to walk with all paraphernalia we take to the beach; you have to pay to park. We'll definitely be visiting again. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jollyjojo 4 reviews from this member

 What a fabulous little site. We were greeted like old friends by Anne and Rodney the campsite owners. They personally showed us to our pitch and told us to give them a shout if we needed anything.

There are various size pitches around the outside of the field and a good sized football area in the middle. This was made use of the whole time that we were there.

The site is immaculately clean, and well cared for. The toilets, showers and washing up area were being cleaned and checked throughout the day.

Crackington Haven beach is a five minute max drive away, but a very steep hill. We did walk down a few times, but it is no fun walking back with children and all the beach paraphernalia that we take with us. There is a bus that passed the end of the site every couple and hours, so we did make use of that. There is a pay and display car park too.

Bude is a 10 min drive away which has a large Morrisions for stocking up.

Anne and Rodney are the friendliest owners that we have ever experienced and nothing is too much of a problem for them. They had the answer to all of our questions and if they didn't know Anne would soon be back with the answer after looking it up on the internet.

I think it is also worth mentioning the en-suite room that they also have available. This was great for us as, some of our family wanted to spend the week with us, but did not want to camp. They spent the day with us at the tent and then retired to a 'proper bed' at night.

The only downside that we found over the whole fortnight was the fact that the washing up station is directly outside the ladies loos, and that can be very off putting when you are sat contemplating, listening to other campers chatting about their day (though interesting too!)

A fab site, we would definitely visit again. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Morj17 1 review from this member

 Had an excellent six nights on this lovely site at end of June with two children (4 yrs and 1 yr) in a relatively large tent.

Lovely welcome at reception and were shown to a choice of pitches. As the children are young we chose the pitch nearest the basic but adequate play area. Very well maintained pitch on a slight slope. There is also plenty of room for the kids to play at the centre of the field with a small football goal and a basketball net.

Throughout the stay the owners, Rodney and Anne, could not do enough to help. This was our first family camping holiday and Rodney was quick to help us when he saw us struggling with our new tent.

The site is small with pitches around the edge of a single field, but with large pitches, some with electric and water. There are limited facilities, but those facilities that are available (WCs, showers etc) are all well looked after and very clean. Also free hairdryer in the women's showers and washing machine only 2 a wash.

The location is excellent, being only 2 minutes drive from Crackington Haven beach and less than 10 miles from Bude. We also liked the fact that the site was well away from the A39 Atlantic Highway and the only traffic noise was off the surrounding country lanes.

We will definitely be returning, especially as our 4 year old said he preferred this holiday to our previous year's package holiday in Majorca! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Devon Dumpling1 1 review from this member

 He site was very clean, tidy and peaceful. Well placed for days out. Although small play area for children by then the wooded area there is a play area in the middle of the site so easy to keep an eye on children. The site is ideal for adults who want peace and quiet. Would like to have seen facilities for recycling, ie bottle bank, paper bank. Washing up area straight outside ladies loo, bit off putting hearing people having a chat about their day when you want to do what you have to do, if you can hear them, can they hear you ?? Would stay there again for short break. Would suggest more local knowledge from the owners would be useful for people who do not know the area very well. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Granville45 7 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a weeks camping at Coxford Meadow and couldn't be more pleased with our choice.

The owners Rodney and Anne were the nicest most helpful people you could wish to meet, from showing us the pitch and facilities,(good clean shower block, toilets, washing and drying areas, Etc) to supplying tent pegs as we had inadvertently not packed enough!

The site is what camping should be, decent sized pitches around the perimeter of a field. The children could play in the small playground area or in the middle of the field, and you felt that they were safe and sound.

Rodney and Anne would make sure that everyone was ok by checking at least once a day that all was well and obviously take a pride in being hands on.

Noise levels tailed off at around 9.30 to 10ish. What made it just that little bit more special was that on the last day some enterprising person organised a rounders match that almost everyone took part in, our little 5 year old thought it was fantastic (and scored 2 'rounders'!)

The site is well placed for exploring this stunning part of the world, with Bude, Wadebridge and the Camel Trail etc (as a tip if you hire bikes book them beforehand as it's very busy!)

Overall we would highly recommend the site to anyone who enjoys a straightforward, well run and personable campsite 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cyclekitty 13 reviews from this member

 We cycled through here on bikes on our way from Lands End to Bristol. Nice enough campsite, in a good location near the coast but there was no shops or pubs nearby unless you were willing to cycle up and down the hill into Crackington. So not much to do for us.

The campsite was surrounded by hedges but was still exposed to the wind in some areas.

The facilities were good, nice showers, laundry, washing etc. Owners were friendly. Price was pretty standard. 


Date of Visit: October 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: NAttwood 1 review from this member

 Wow.What a fantastic spot to camp. Lovely warm welcome, great showers and toilets, and use of a microwave, washing machine and tumble drier,what more could you want, maybe some warmer weather, but it was October.

Easy to reach not too far off the A39, with a good local pub, shop and garage. The pub serves good food and also has a take away. At the bottom of the hill you come into Crackington Haven, nice spot for a beach visit, or surf.

Would recommend the site to anyone looking for a peaceful environment. Will be visiting again in Spring. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Awhiley 4 reviews from this member

 We spent 9 nights at Coxford Meadow during the wettest August ever! But what a fab site!

The owners were really friendly and were always walking round the field checking that all we were all happy campers, and even helping people put up tents.

The site was pretty full for our whole stay but the toilets, showers, washing up area and laundry room were always clean and tidy - no mean feat with the amount of mud and rain!

This was just our kind of site - no noisy bar, just a big field with room for the kids to kick a football round (there is a set of goal posts in the middle of the field and a basketball hoop too), a great little play area and even a little woodland for the kids to run around in!

The site is well placed for sight seeing - Bude is about a 15 minute drive away, and Tintagel and Boscastle are only a few miles - we did use the car everyday but as one of our boys is only 3 we couldn't do much walking!

We went to the beach at Summerleaze, which allows dogs on leads even during the summer months and we loved it. The closest beach is at Crackington Haven and was lovely but doesn't allow dogs so we didn't spend too much time there.

There is a very busy Morrisons in Bude which we used for our 'big' shop but there is a small shop about a mile or so from the site.

We will definitely be going back again - hoping for better weather! 


Previous     59 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Coxford Meadow Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Coxford Meadow Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Coxford Meadow Campsite dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bude      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (East)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome & Campervan Show, Peterborough 11/06 to 13/06
Browse new and used motorhomes for sale from a huge range of local and national dealers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4895 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement