Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Coxford Meadow Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (East) > Bude > Coxford Meadow Campsite Reviews

Coxford Meadow Campsite
Coxford Meadow
St Gennys
Bude
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
EX23 0NS
Tel: 01840 230707
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 25
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 59 Reviews
                9/10 from 59 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  59 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Harrodsfree 4 reviews from this member

 A campsite that has a stained glass window in the men's shower is noteworthy. But what we especially liked about this site was its simplicity and the helpfulness and care of the owners. If you want peace and quite, clean but simple, a nice bit of space and a great location then consider this site carefully.

It is not really possible to walk to the beach (Crackington Haven) with all your clobber. We did walk, but only as a 'walk' and not for a day on the beach. Besides, the nicest walk is via 'Mineshop' and through the wooded valley - don't go via the road which is a bit scary with little ones.

We used to be Wooda fans (and still are, its a well-sorted campsite in Bude if you don't know it), but now we've moved away from the mega-site with everything available and prefer the quite life with a bit of intimacy with nature. Coxford Meadow is rather basic (no shop, outdoor washup facilities) but is all clean and has everything you need (hot, free showers, fridge-freezer, microwave, pool table for the kids).

One word of advice though, this was the first year we've done Tintagel. What a horrible touristy dump! And don't buy the Ice Cream there. Best Ice Cream in North Cornwall is next to the canal in Bude. £1.10 for a proper cornish ice. Great. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Snowballfilm 1 review from this member

 This is a charming little site and well worth a visit.

We stayed (me and wife & 2 kids,5&7) in a tent early august, and altouhgh the weather wasn't the best, we still had a good time. The tent pitches are set around the field with the centre used as a football pitch ( small goals either end), basketball and general play area, and is well drained.

Just behind this is an enclosed wood area with small swings & slide and playhouses. The kids really had fun using both these areas, especially the wooded bit where hide and seek could be played with anyone who cared to join in. There's also a clean small games room with a pool table, toys and tv.

The facilities- showers,wc's, dishwashing areas (open air!)-are small but very clean and seemingly always available. There's also a dry room which has a fridge / microwave / sink / washing machine which can accommodate baby bathing. Most of the pitches have hook ups and there's ample standpipes plus a waste and recycling area.

The nearest supermarkets (sainsburys or morissons) are about 10 miles away in Bude, but there's a post office and petrol station about a mile away which serve the daily essentials. At a price. There's also a pub beside the post office, which didn't feel exactly welcoming when we visited, but it did serve alcohol.

It's a good base to explore the beaches - crackington haven (quite small) and widcombe (large with good sandy areas) are both good for rock pools as well as sunbathing - and sights of Cornwall. Bude also has a large sandy beach, but be prepared to bring your helmets to all the beaches to protect you from the ubiquitous surfers.

The owners are really friendly (Rodney & Anne),and on hand for any help or advice.

All in all, I can't think of any downside to this site - except the weather of course - and recommend it wholeheartly, especially for families. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Teaguey 2 reviews from this member

 Spent a week of mixed weather at this campsite. Beautiful view of the bay at Crackington Haven from the campsite, we watched some beautiful sunsets.

The owners were very helpful and friendly and were constantly checking we were okay, even helped but the tent up with us in a strong wind, something we wouldn't have managed to do without him.

Beautifully clean site and facilities, in an excellent location for exploring North Cornwall, small and friendly and no noise at night.

All in all a fantastic family orientated campsite we will definitely be going back to. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jreuben 1 review from this member

 We (myself, husband and two boys 7 and 5) have just got back from a great week at Coxford Meadow, a little gem of a site. We really liked it and couldn't find any negatives at all apart from the weather! The boys had a great time every evening playing football, the owner even erected the football goals when we arrived. The play area is great, very safe and enclosed. The boys also enjoyed the pool and football tables.

Extremely clean facilities and no queues at all. Use of fridge/freezer and microwave very useful. Crackington Haven - lovely when the sun was shining and the beach is great for rock pooling when the tide is out. Lots to do within easy driving distance.

A really lovely site with fantastic owners - we will definitely be back! 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hsheff 3 reviews from this member

 Lovely campsite, with good and clean facilities. The use of a fridge and freezer was a real bonus.

The site was fairly quiet and the owners friendly and helpful.

There are lots of walking opportunities on the coastal path either from the campsite or a short drive away. Crackington Haven a 30 min walk has a beach and cafe with excellent cream teas.

A good base for exploring the coast - Boscastle, Tintagel, Port Isaac.

I would definitely visit again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Beetlebum 7 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for 4 nights and had a lovely time, site was quiet when we arrived on the Friday but filled up over the weekend. There were 2 showers and 2 toilets for the ladies and same for the men and even though the site did get busy we never had to queue for either. Both were very clean and showers are free to use.

Washing up facilities were outside and bowls / liquid provided, which helped because we forgot both! Free use of fridge / freezer and washing machine /tumbledryer for a small charge. A microwave was also available.

There is no shop on site which would have been handy for the usual ie milk, eggs etc however there is a Post Office that is quite well stocked at the top of the road a few minutes in the car.

Not far to Bude where Morrisons came in handy (to replace yet another leaky airbed!)there was also a Sainsburys. The owners were always visible walking around the site making sure everybody was happy and always ready with a weather forecast!

Play area for the children was excellent and very safe and enclosed. Crackington Haven beach was very nice, bar/ cafe/ toilets and plenty of parking. Have recommended this site to friends and hope to return very soon. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Becall 12 reviews from this member

 Just got back from a lovely weeks holiday on this beautiful site. Very well kept with exceptionally clean toilets/showers. Really peaceful site close to Crackington Haven's lovely beach. Will certainly go back when in this area and recommend to all.

The owners are really friendly and always on hand to help, our hook up was not long enough and they lent us one. There is a TV room with a pool table and plenty of local information.

A fridge/freezer is available plus washing machine, hair dryer in the showers, all you need really. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Witsey 1 review from this member

 This is a site I would definitely return to. Great setting.I was initially concerned at the number of facilities on offer ie 2 toilets/ showers. However I can honestly say that I never saw anyone else in the showers when I was in there-good for peak time August. There is no shop however the store on the main road as your turn towards the site is fully stocked and as reasonable as Sainsburys and Morrisons in Bude town-avoid petrol station shop has inflated prices. A little muddy at times, Owners very helpful walking site a couple of times daily knowledgeable about local amenities and weather! The site is set on high ground and it can be a little windy we used additional storm straps as a hurricane aftermath had blown in the week we were there! Good playground and wooded area with secure trails for children-checked and maintained daily by owners. Our kids couldn't wait to get back to the site each day to enjoy the play area.Ample space in field for kick a round. Made use of free fridge and freezer.Washing machine and dryer available. Free pool table and television room also available. Good beach at Crackington Haven (beware no dogs allowed during certain months read signs carefully along this coast as hefty fines can be incurred) Good crab sandwiches and cream teas at cafe! 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Josiefozz 1 review from this member

 This is a wonderful little site. Ideal for families as it's so safe and you're never far from the facilities. Toilets cleaned several times a day. Plenty of loo roll and soap. Showers hot and free with plenty of room to get changed and dry. Washing up sinks outside but bowls and washing up liquid provided.There's a small play area and free pool table for the kids. A mile to the beach at Crackington Haven - lovely. Shop about a mile away but well stocked. The owners are always on hand to help but they don't get in the way. They are very helpful and welcoming. The site is very good value for money. Anyone heading to Cornwall should look them up. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: HookerOne 3 reviews from this member

 What a great site in a lovely setting, only 30 odd pitches so even when fully booked it didn’t feel overcrowded. We were personally welcomed and showed to our pitch by the owners who were always on hand if you needed anything.

The pitches are quite large and there is plenty of electric hook ups available if required. There is a maze and small play area for the smaller children. Our son had a great time playing here and we could keep an eye on him at all times from our tent. The older children and more athletic parents can make use of the small football goal or basketball hoop which are both in the centre of the site.

The facilities were spot on, with adequate hot water provided throughout the day. There is a washing machine and tumble dryer for a small fee, the added bonus of free use of a fridge freezer and microwave was very useful. The showers and toilets were always kept very clean.

The walk to the nearest pub in Crackington Haven takes about 20 minutes and is worth it for the views in the evening, the walk back is up hill but it didn’t seem too much trouble after a couple of Cornish ‘Rattlers’.

We had a great holiday and were well looked after, we will be returning to this wonderful site. 


Previous     59 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Coxford Meadow Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Coxford Meadow Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Coxford Meadow Campsite dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bude      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (East)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet UK Monster Truck Nationals 21/08 to 22/08
Camping available with Monster Truck rides, drag racing, wrestling, plus live music ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3077 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement