Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Acorn Wood Camping Caravanning Glamping Fishing

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Lincolnshire > Scunthorpe > Acorn Wood Camping Caravanning Glamping Fishing Reviews

Acorn Wood Camping Caravanning Glamping Fishing
Darby Road
Burton Upon Stather
Scunthorpe
Lincolnshire   (Browse area)
DN15 9EB
Tel: 07816874205  or  01724 721682
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 12 caravan/Mhome pitches & tents, space permitting
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 78 Reviews
                10/10 from 78 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  78 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Sue n Al 3 reviews from this member

 Superb site, very neat and well kept, unisex loos and showers but hot and very clean, lovely welcome from Heather, excellent value all in price. Short 10 minute walk to village pub and shops, bus stop close by. 


Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Red Mick 28 reviews from this member

 What a wonderful spot! Small and friendly, short walk to shops/pub

Wonderful area around the fishing pond, log cabin equipped with tea and coffee making, comfy chairs, books and magazines. Verandah with tables and chairs.

Two toilets and showers with lots of hot water and so clean too.

Access easy, easy to find site with good directions.

We will be back for sure. 


Date of Visit: November 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Two Terriers 20 reviews from this member

 Last minute booking for a 2 night winter break not far from home. What a little gem! Super hardstanding, spacious pitches, well laid out with so many extra touches like the pots with shrubs in. Super shower block, what a surprise on a CS. Conveniently located on outskirts of Burton upon Stather though didn't use any of the facilities there. Very warm welcome, even on a very chilly day, from Heather. Did a great walk along the Cliff to Alkborough & back along the road, about 6 miles total.

If you're into fishing the facilities here must be second to none. 


Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Trishswaby 12 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a weekend away in our pop up caravan at this beautiful site. Heather & Martin are both lovely & friendly, arrived to a bowl of freshly picked plums, which were delicious. The whole site was really pretty. The toilets were warm & spotless. The flowers put a smile on my face. The other campers were friendly as well. The log cabin by the fishing lake has every thing you need if you don't want to join in with the fishing people! The site is level & the grass is short. Either hard standing or grass pitch with ehu, or with out. So peaceful except for the cockoo who just loved sitting by our pop up! But that's why I love the country side! The Sheffield Arms pub in the village do lovely meals & filled my hubby up. Well worth a trip too. Will be returning soon 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Christine10 24 reviews from this member

 Was recommended to this site by a friend and what a gem of a site it is. We were greeted by Heather who is very friendly and always happy to help. Heather showed us to our pitch which was hard standing and was so flat that we didn't have to level the van. The site is very pretty with lots of colorful flowers and well cut grass with seats around. The toilet block is the best one we have ever been to, there are 2 toilets with powerful showers with hand wash, towels and air freshener. There is also an area to wash the pots with washing up liquid, sponges and cloths. The fishing pond is very picturesque with loads of fish, my partner lost count of how many he caught. There are seats around and a wood cabin with settees, chairs, books, magazines and coffee & tea making facilities with decking outside where you can sit at small patio tables. There is a shop, post office and pub about 10 minuets walk away. There is a retail park about 10 minutes drive away. This was our first visit and will definitely not be the last. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Wolfitman 11 reviews from this member

 Folding Camper!

Just returned from three nights and what a delight even though 'Bertha' hit us for the day on Sunday.

Spotless facilities with quality power showers. Nice flat pitches and no major flooding when the heavens did open!

Nice friendly owners and a wonderful small fishing lake which is like a little oasis.

We will be back but this time with fishing tackle at the ready!

Perfect. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: CherylnAndy 4 reviews from this member

 Have just returned from this camp site today.

What can I say? This campsite is a gem. The peace and tranquility came in bucket fulls! First of all we were welcomed by Heather on our arrival - she was pleasant and is friendly and made us feel very welcome. The pitch was perfect. The facilities were absolutely spotless and the showers to die for!I am OCD when it comes to cleanliness and these facilities were perfect for me. The surrounding area is divine and the local village very pretty. We ate in the local pub (Sheffield Arms) on the second night and ate lovely home cooked food served by lovely staff.

The fishing pond was on site. Apart from the fishing area there was also a lovely summer house complete with tea/coffee facilities, magazines and books! It was extremely beautiful and peaceful.

Value for money is amazing - 15 per night is excellent.

I would not hesitate to recommend this site to anyone, though probably people with young children would find it very quiet, though this is pointed out on the website.

Thank you Heather and Martin for a lovely break. If I could give you more than 10 I would! 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Wellington80 1 review from this member

 Stayed at this small site for 4 nights during July. The site is immaculate, with hard standings for 5 vans, surrounded by trees and hedges that provide shelter from the wind. There is a small toilet block consisting of two separate rooms containing toilet, shower and wash hand basin, just like your bathroom at home and spotlessly clean. In the same building are dish washing facilities.

Attached to the site, and a short walk through a small plantation, is a secluded fishing pond with a summer house where you can sit and chill if you don't want to fish. The fishing was good, I caught lots of small fish, mainly carp up to about 3lb. The site was ideal for us, but if you have children there is little for them to do unless they like fishing and in this respect the pond is good for beginners. The site is maintained to a very high standard by the owners, who are helpful and friendly. We had a great time and would certainly recommend this site. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Andycapp 3 reviews from this member

 My family and I spent 8 days here in July. This is most definitely one gem of a site. Spotless well kept and the owners were very friendly and so down to earth. I must say a big thank you to the owner for the time he spent with my grandson, helping him with his first fishing poll.

As has been said before this not a site for small children, only because there is nothing on site for them. At 15 per night you cant beat it, they could charge 20 per night and it would still be a bargain.

Will be back this year if we can, if not we will be there next summer.

All the best,

Andy 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Xtrailman 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed 4nights at this great little site, the owners Hieather & Martin could not do enough to make our stay memorable. Toilet block very good. Great fishing pond lovely setting. Village close by 10 min walk, shop, Chinese chippy, pub Will definitely be going back. Great location for getting around the area. Supermarkets in scunthorpe 


Previous     78 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Acorn Wood Camping Caravanning Glamping Fishing child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Acorn Wood Camping Caravanning Glamping Fishing?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Acorn Wood Camping Caravanning Glamping Fishing dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Scunthorpe      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lincolnshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest W Midlands and Wales 03/07 to 04/07
Exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4658 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement