Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Acorn Wood Camping Caravanning Glamping Fishing

Campsite Search > UK > East Anglia England > Lincolnshire > Scunthorpe > Acorn Wood Camping Caravanning Glamping Fishing > Reviews

Acorn Wood Camping Caravanning Glamping Fishing
Darby Road
Burton Upon Stather
Scunthorpe
Lincolnshire   (Browse area)
DN15 9EB
Tel: 07816874205  or  07734717803
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 12 caravan/Mhome pitches & tents, space permitting
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 90 Reviews
                10/10 from 90 Reviews


Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (29)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  90 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ellers52 5 reviews from this member

 A perfect small site, nothing really could be better.

The whole site, all the facilities and the small toilet block are as good if not better than many full size club or commercial sites.

Heather and Martin are perfect hosts, helpful but not intrusive and offer very good value for money.

There is a wooden lodge overlooking the fishing lake, and in the village there are a couple of pubs a small shop and a takeaway. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Paddy01 12 reviews from this member

 In 1 word excellent, the best small site that we have been to.

Owners very friendly and helpful, this is a gem of a site and that does not include the fishing - caught more fish in 2 1/2 days than all of last year ; )

Washrooms very good and the cleanest in 4 years of camping. All waste bins provided, including recycling.

Really nice log cabin which wife and kids enjoyed their hot chocs before bedtime.

We give this site a 9 out of 10, the only reason that it is not a 10 is the lack of a play area for younger children

Taking into account all of the above we would definitely return. 


Date of Visit: March 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Chontelle 2 reviews from this member

 Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here, lovely quiet little site just a short walk from the village. The Sheffield Arms is a welcoming pub and allows dogs.

The site is very tidy and toilet and showers are immaculate, plenty of hot water.

A very pretty little lake with a fishermans lodge with tea/ coffee making facilities and tables and chairs around the lake. My husband fished a couple of days and for the time of year it was good sport.

Heather and Martin are very helpful and friendly and we look forward to returning again. 


Date of Visit: March 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Pazzachel 4 reviews from this member

 Having just returned from a long weekend visit I waste no time in leaving this review!

We were 2 adults, 1 child and a dog. X3 Nights.

Cost: £12.00 per night with EHU.

From the booking to arrival, the stay and departure, Heather was a pleasure to deal with and meet.

This site now has hardstandings (not present in the pictures on here). The whole site is lovely and it easy to see that although a business, this is a labour of love for the owners- It really shows in the care and attention given to the site.

Facilities: excellent

The Amenities Block: Consists of x2 Self contained shower rooms inclusive of lavatory and wash basin. These are either side on entry to the dishwash area. And the showers are free!

Although small in quantity they are lovely quality. Hot, powerful showers, central heating- Clean and tidy always!

The Pond & Log Cabin:

Although my husband didn't fish, he will do when we visit again. The pond, although not huge is very picturesque with seating sited around it. The cabin has a beautiful veranda overlooking the pond with outdoor seating and tables. Inside are books, information and a sofa and chairs with a table. Very welcoming and cosy.

In fact, this is where our 13 year old son disappeared to having found a good book!

We sampled the Chinese Takeaway in the village one evening. The food was pretty good but it seemed to be a meeting point inside for the local kids.

There are plenty of supermarkets within easy reach as you are around 4-5 miles from Scunthorpe. There is a Tesco Extra, Morrisons, Sainsburys and Asda.

Overall:

This site is a little gem and we thoroughly enjoyed everything about it. Despite being relatively local to the area it is somewhere that we are looking forward to returning to for long weekends of rest and relaxation.

NOTE: NO ball games, frisbees etc. Are permitted so might not be ideal with kids that want to play ball all of the time. This is done as Heather explained, to prevent damage to caravans, motorhomes etc. As it is a small site with no open play areas.

This is not a site to visit if you want clubhouses and entertaining. However, if you can make your own entertainment and enjoy the surroundings then this is definitely one to consider! 


Date of Visit: October 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Campalots 16 reviews from this member

 Fantastic site despite having heavy rain when we arrived and left, the site drained really quickly. Martin and Heather were perfect hosts really friendly and welcoming, always around if you needed them but never intrusive, the pond is clearly Martin's pride and joy and quite rightly so,

the fishing was great and the cabin overlooking the pond with drinks making facilities, fridge, tv and book and magazines was a really thoughtful addition which makes this site stand out from the rest.

Extremely reasonably priced even with electric hook-up. The two toilets and shower(free) were housed close to pitching with hot water washing up facilities. All in all a great site which we would definitely recommend and will be visiting again.

Also the chinese take away in the village close by was lovely. A little gem of a site. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Michaelw 1 review from this member

 Well kept very tidy site excellent new toilets and showers with washing up area in new purpose built building.Fishing pond and log cabin adjacent to site ideal for the fishers amongst or just for a nice stroll around on a sunny afternoon.Short walk to village with post office / shop, chinese takeaway, excellent new tea room home made cakes and reasonable prices well worth a visit.

Local pub / restaurant the Sheffield Arms good value meals and even offer two for a tenner main course before 6.30pm. Good home cooked food nice people in the pub

Large supermarket very close about 4 miles.

Lots of local attractions not visited just went to chill and we did will definitely visit again,

No children on site when we visited but children welcome. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ja.sy 2 reviews from this member

 Just back from a weekend break at that site.

The best campsite I've ever been ! And at a very reasonable price too!

Shower clean, with good water pressure.

Site quiet.

Very friendly welcome by owners.

There's electric hookups (but didn't use, so can't comment on that).

Home grown vegetable available to buy.

Village very close to walk to (with a nice pub).

There's area for fishmen, but even though we don't do fishing, it's a very pleasant place to sit.

The only down is that there's only 2 toilet/shower, and sometime had to queue (a extra toilet-only would be good).

We will come again, with no doubt, if staying in the area again. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: The warbies 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely site, a real credit to the very friendly, helpful owners. Excellent shower, toilet and wash up facilities, good size and spacious pitches. The private fishing was enjoyed by many of the campers. Lovely lodge with refreshment making facilities, a lovely added touch. Only a 10 min walk into village for news papers or basic requirements,we will try the pub and Chinese takeaway on our next visit which we booked before we left. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Corni 17 reviews from this member

 Just back from 3 days at Acorn Wood and I have to say it's a fantastic little site.

The best thing I can say about this site is I couldn't think of anything I would change on this site.

The price is right.

The site, toilets, showers are spotless,

Electric never goes off,

Fishing is great,

Summer house next to pond with telly,kettle, coffe & tea making facilities, fridge, books, easy chairs, settee, barbie, veranda with table & chairs so you can sit outside and have a barbie.

Ideal for kids & adults to sit & watch telly.

Martin & Heather can't do enough for you, but never get in the way.

There are some great walks along the Trent & Humber.

Alkborough is worth a visit. The views alone at Julians Bower and the Alkboro flats are worth the visit.

Great little site.  


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: DandA Lancs 2 reviews from this member

 My first review and first time at Acorn Wood but I will most certainly be back. We arrived as strangers but soon made friends with owners, Martin and Heather, who gave us a choice of pitch and showed us the shower block (it is spotless and warm).

Even though the site was full at weekend there is plenty of space and never a queue for the two showers or pot washing facilities.

The fishing lake is in a lovely setting with mature trees all around. Seats and benches are provided around the lake with a large fishing lodge at one end that we made good use of, sitting in the sun and watching the wild life. We also managed to catch some carp the best was over 8lbs.

The site is in a good location with plenty of places of interest nearby and Scunthorpe is only a few miles south for any shopping therapy.

This site is a credit to the hard work that Martin and Heather put in. As I said we will be back if you leave us a pitch and donít all rush at once. 


Previous     90 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Acorn Wood Camping Caravanning Glamping Fishing child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Acorn Wood Camping Caravanning Glamping Fishing?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Acorn Wood Camping Caravanning Glamping Fishing dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Scunthorpe      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lincolnshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


9921 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement