Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Acorn Wood Camping Caravanning Fishing

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Lincolnshire > Site Reviews

Acorn Wood Camping Caravanning Fishing
Darby Road
Burton Upon Stather
Scunthorpe
Lincolnshire   (Browse area)
DN15 9EB
Tel: 07816874205  or  01724 721682
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 10 caravan/Mhome pitches & tents, space permitting
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 66 Reviews
                10/10 from 66 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  66 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Albomatty 6 reviews from this member

What can I say, a wonderful site with lovely hosts. Had a couple of good fishing sessions caught plenty of small carp.

The glorious weather has helped. Heather came round and gave everyone on site an Easter gift as did the lady in the caravan next door.

Excellent facilities for a small site, we shall be back.
via mobile

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kmorto4 25 reviews from this member

Just arrived home from acorn woods after a 12day stay. The high winds made the trip home was very interesting. Site was clean and tidy

Toilet was spotless

Fishing was good, the first day I must of had over 30carp plus bream, it just got better as the days went on

The only issue I had was the ducks on site, over 30 ducks made fishing hard at times, made using some baits a no go.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kmorto4 25 reviews from this member

Another holiday at this great site 3rd time we have been a warm welcome from martin and heather fishing was good

Weather was hot came home with a sun tan

Site was tidy clean just what you would expect from this site

Not a lot to do for kids on site

Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: CEW3A 23 reviews from this member

A very quiet site, though larger than our last visit April 2012. On a grass pitch this time; ground was soft due to recent heavy rain & snow, so got muddy where car tracks were.
Small toilet block consists of washing up sink & drainer directly opposite the door, complete with washing up liquid, bowl & sponge/j cloth to use.

On the window sill is a rack of tourist /takeaway leaflets & at either side is a unisex shower room with shower cubicle, toilet, sink & radiator. Just like being at home! Clean & well maintained too. No laundry facilities but for a weekend break that’s not a problem.

There is a path through the woods to a fishing lake & a lovely cabin with free tea/coffee (milk in the fridge) & comfy chairs, with plenty of magazines, books too, which can be swapped.

The owners, Martin & Heather, were very friendly & helpful.

Martin kindly drove the car onto our pitch & reversed the caravan into position & on Easter Sunday, Heather brought us 2 gift boxes containing cupcakes! Marvellous!

The caravanners on the next pitch also brought us 2 little chick gift boxes containing a chocolate egg each on Easter Sunday, and when we were ready to depart on Monday, used their 4 x 4 to tow our caravan off our waterlogged & muddy pitch –so kind!

A lovely site which we hope to revisit – just hoping for better weather!

Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: S64miller 33 reviews from this member

A small but perfect site, plenty of room around our pitch and all the amenities we needed. Heather was wonderful so friendly and helpful.

There is a fishing pond at the bottom of the site that has a great log cabin decked out with chairs, tea and coffee making gear, books, mags and games.

In the village which is probably a 10/ 15 mins walk is a Chinese takeaway, a convenience store and the Sheffield Arms pub. Although the weather was atrocious for our short stay we vowed to return and explore the area in drier weather.

The afternoon we spent in the Pub couldn't have been with friendlier people. Its a gem.

Date of Visit: December 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jean62 9 reviews from this member

Just spent the Christmas period here. First time we have been away in caravan over Christmas. Absolutely loved every minute of it. Will be doing it every year from now on.

Heather and martin made it all so special too.

Showers and toilets were lovely and warm and spotlessly clean as usual. Even put Christmas decos up which was a lovely touch. Such lovely host. Looking forward to going back in summer.

Such a hidden gem. Thank you Heather and martin for making our stay lovely and for our card and gift. Happy New year to you both.

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kmorto4 25 reviews from this member

Like to thank martin and heather for a fantastic week at acorn woods. Spent 6 days there, only rained once. The site was fantastic, clean, tidy. Toilets was spot less

The only problem we had while on site was caravan next door tripped there unit, that then tripped ours out. It was cold in the night didn't help matters, soon had the heating back on

Fishing was good never caught so many fish. Never got a tench but had carp roach perch of all good sizes

Hope to see you next year in our new van.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Chris Gray 58 1 review from this member

We found this site last year and leapt at the chance to come back this year! It is beautifully kept and Heather and Martin are brilliant hosts.

It is peaceful and even though we don't fish we love just walking around the pond looking at the abundant wildlife including a sparrowhawk this evening.

Will be checking the diary for when to come back again.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Geoleen 35 reviews from this member

We spent 4 lovely days here. It's a small site with 5 hardstandings and about the same of grass pitches with 10 amp hook up available. There is a smashing fishing pond and a log cabin with outside seating area for sitting and enjoying the views of the pond and the fishermen and women.

Inside there are free tea and coffee making facilities and comfy chairs and books and magazines to read for non fishers such as us. The shower and toilet facilities are lovely, spacious, clean and warm.

There are two self contained shower, toilet rooms with a wash basin with plenty of room to move and fully adjustable showers, no push buttons here. There are also washing up facilities in there. It's a very peaceful place where you can watch the bats at twilight and look out for the owl we managed to glimpse one night.

It's about a 10 minute stroll into Burton upon Stather where there are two pubs (one down the hill) a small shop and Chinese takeaway that delivers to the site. It's a lovely site with very friendly, helpful owners and other campers there when we were, were also friendly.

It has a lovely feel to the place and at £17 per night it's very good value. Much recommended.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Herbie 1950 3 reviews from this member

Just visited this cracking little site hidden away. Owners Heather & Martin very nice people and helpful.

Nicely laid out and the lake is nice for a little stroll. Well kept site and utilities very clean. Even made friends with the ducks, think its because they knew we had bread.

Overall we enjoyed our stay and have booked our next visit in few weeks time. Lovely place to relax with a vino or two

Previous     66 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lincolnshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over £399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2757 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth £399!