Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Acorn Wood Camping Caravanning Glamping Fishing

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Lincolnshire > Scunthorpe > Acorn Wood Camping Caravanning Glamping Fishing Reviews

Acorn Wood Camping Caravanning Glamping Fishing
Darby Road
Burton Upon Stather
Scunthorpe
Lincolnshire   (Browse area)
DN15 9EB
Tel: 07816874205  or  01724 721682
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 10 caravan/Mhome pitches & tents, space permitting
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 71 Reviews
                10/10 from 71 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  71 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: And F 1 review from this member

 Great site and location. Fantastic hosts. Heather and Martin are a great couple. They can't do enough for you.

The fishing is lake is an added bonus. Brilliant fishing.

Can't wait to go back 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Sparker97 1 review from this member

 We visited for 2 nights for a break away and booked into the birdshed, which as it states is very small however we were well aware the amount of room we would have prior to arrival - I would recommend people taking this into consideration before booking, however like I said we were fully prepared for the size of the shed so had no surprises upon arrival.

Heather and her husband are absolutely lovely and couldn't accommodate us enough, we saw them daily around the site and they were very welcoming, they allowed us to use a communal fridge to store any fridge items as the birdshed doesn't have a suitable fridge.

This campsite is an absolute gem for if you want to go away and do absolutely nothing, its peaceful and we enjoyed sitting by the lake and watching the anglers.

The only recommendation I would make which is very minor is an upgrade on the cutlery provided in the birdshed! However this is minor and by no means ruined our trip.

We are looking forward to returning and trying out the other camping pods situated upon the site! Lastly the highlight of our stay was watching the 2 ducklings running around with their surrogate chicken mumma which was the cutest thing ever :) 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Shezza1 1 review from this member

 Being complete novices at caravanning was a little nervous being the first time out and recently out of the Covid lockdown, this site was an excellent choice,

The pitches are large and easy to manoeuvre onto, Heather and Martin are very approachable and friendly,

The site is very peaceful, well looked after with a beautiful pond and spotless shower block.

Burton is a lovely village with two pubs ( in non Covid times) a shop, takeaway, a great children’s park and some lovely walks along the hills and to the wonderful Normanby Park.

We will definitely return. 


Date of Visit: March 2020 Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Vonneylove 1 review from this member

 We stayed a night in the glamping pod at Acorn Wood, it was a first for us an a fantastic experience.

The pod is beautifully designed, very comfortable and considering the cold weather we were kept snuggly. Everything has been well thought out with a fridge, toaster, kettle and microwave alongside seating inside and out. A comfy fold up bed is your sofa for daytime.

The site is a wonderful oasis of calm, close to the village amenities with lots to do and see in the area. I would highly recommend this place.

The owners are very friendly and welcoming. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 21 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Donna56 1 review from this member

 Brilliant site lovely owners, nice and quiet.

The pond is great for fishing, plenty of good fish to catch and a lovely area to sit and relax at the cabin or on the grass hill.

This is a great place to go we go all the time and its our little paradise 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Albomatty 7 reviews from this member

 What can I say, a wonderful site with lovely hosts. Had a couple of good fishing sessions caught plenty of small carp.

The glorious weather has helped. Heather came round and gave everyone on site an Easter gift as did the lady in the caravan next door.

Excellent facilities for a small site, we shall be back. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 12 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Kmorto4 27 reviews from this member

 Just arrived home from acorn woods after a 12day stay. The high winds made the trip home was very interesting. Site was clean and tidy

Toilet was spotless

Fishing was good, the first day I must of had over 30carp plus bream, it just got better as the days went on

The only issue I had was the ducks on site, over 30 ducks made fishing hard at times, made using some baits a no go. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kmorto4 27 reviews from this member

 Another holiday at this great site 3rd time we have been a warm welcome from martin and heather fishing was good

Weather was hot came home with a sun tan

Site was tidy clean just what you would expect from this site

Not a lot to do for kids on site  


Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: CEW3A 25 reviews from this member

 A very quiet site, though larger than our last visit April 2012. On a grass pitch this time; ground was soft due to recent heavy rain & snow, so got muddy where car tracks were.
Small toilet block consists of washing up sink & drainer directly opposite the door, complete with washing up liquid, bowl & sponge/j cloth to use.

On the window sill is a rack of tourist /takeaway leaflets & at either side is a unisex shower room with shower cubicle, toilet, sink & radiator. Just like being at home! Clean & well maintained too. No laundry facilities but for a weekend break that’s not a problem.

There is a path through the woods to a fishing lake & a lovely cabin with free tea/coffee (milk in the fridge) & comfy chairs, with plenty of magazines, books too, which can be swapped.

The owners, Martin & Heather, were very friendly & helpful.

Martin kindly drove the car onto our pitch & reversed the caravan into position & on Easter Sunday, Heather brought us 2 gift boxes containing cupcakes! Marvellous!

The caravanners on the next pitch also brought us 2 little chick gift boxes containing a chocolate egg each on Easter Sunday, and when we were ready to depart on Monday, used their 4 x 4 to tow our caravan off our waterlogged & muddy pitch –so kind!

A lovely site which we hope to revisit – just hoping for better weather! 


Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: S64miller 40 reviews from this member

 A small but perfect site, plenty of room around our pitch and all the amenities we needed. Heather was wonderful so friendly and helpful.

There is a fishing pond at the bottom of the site that has a great log cabin decked out with chairs, tea and coffee making gear, books, mags and games.

In the village which is probably a 10/ 15 mins walk is a Chinese takeaway, a convenience store and the Sheffield Arms pub. Although the weather was atrocious for our short stay we vowed to return and explore the area in drier weather.

The afternoon we spent in the Pub couldn't have been with friendlier people. Its a gem. 


Previous     71 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Acorn Wood Camping Caravanning Glamping Fishing child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Acorn Wood Camping Caravanning Glamping Fishing?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Acorn Wood Camping Caravanning Glamping Fishing dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Scunthorpe      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lincolnshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5651 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement