Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Acorn Wood Camping Caravanning Glamping Fishing

Campsite Search > UK > East Anglia England > Lincolnshire > Scunthorpe > Acorn Wood Camping Caravanning Glamping Fishing > Reviews

Acorn Wood Camping Caravanning Glamping Fishing
Darby Road
Burton Upon Stather
Scunthorpe
Lincolnshire   (Browse area)
DN15 9EB
Tel: 07816874205  or  07734717803
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 12 caravan/Mhome pitches & tents, space permitting
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 90 Reviews
                10/10 from 90 Reviews


Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (29)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  90 in total, now showing 81 to 90                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Minicabber 1 review from this member

 Iíve got to say from the start that this is the first ever review I have ever done on a campsite as this was the first ever time I have been camping.

If campsites were a lager (as the TV advert goes) then this must have been made by Carlsberg.

Not having any other camping experience I have nothing to judge this site by and I just hope that when I go camping somewhere else that their sites are half as good as this.

I had read reviews about this site and I have to agree with them all Ė this is a little gem.

We arrived at the site and were met by martin who gave us a quick guided tour and showed us to our pitch. We had only been there half and hour and we were laughing along with some other guests.

Because we were complete novices to this and because we didnít arrive on site till nearly six pm it was nearly nine pm by the time we finished setting up tents and getting sorted. Thought I would have slept like a log all night but whether it was excitement or the chirping of the birds I awoke at four thirty the next morning and what a great time of the day. I got up, walked the dog around the site and near the pond, what a fantastic log cabin, where you can make a hot drink and just sit and relax.

The only problem we had was that we were only going to be staying for 2 nights so we had to try and cram in as much as we could.

On our second day there we managed take the dog on a five mile walk around the local area, spend four hours fishing in the sites very own pond. This also happened to be my sonís (10 years old) very first fishing trip which he caught at least a dozen and have a good bbq.

Going back again soon, already booked it.

Fantastic first camping experience. 


Date of Visit: October 2009 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Flashgordon 14 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a short Autumn break at Acorn Wood. This was my 1st visit and all that I can do is to endorse the comments already made about this little gem of a camping / caravan site.
Yes, the brand new toilet block is now finished, as the site is licensed for only five units the toilet block is quite adequate, with two self contained domestic bathroom type rooms, each with a W.C. Shower and sink, centrally heated and very very modern, there is also a pot washing sink included in this building.
The pitches are enormous, there is no question of being close to your neighbour. The site also boasts its own fishing lake, which is the pride and joy of Martin, your host, the lake is well stocked and a very tranquil place to be, there is also a fully equipped wooden chalet overlooking the lake, this chalet has tea and coffee making facilities, and easy chairs as well as the usual outdoor tables and chairs and bar-B-Q facilities.
The owners of the site, Martin and Heather, are amongst the most helpful and genial hosts I have ever met on any campsite, a pleasure to meet and nothing seems too much trouble for them.
The site is in the village of Burton upon Stather, which boasts a Chinese take away, a Pub, a post office and a small convenience store. It is also on a Bus route. Acorn Wood is the place you have dreamt off. 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Carperjake 10 reviews from this member

 What a lovely little site. This was our first ever trip camping, we'd done a bit of research on the area and decided to visit 2 local sites before committing to choosing one. We chose this one as it's smaller and more intimate than the other site we chose (we'll still go there too though).

We were met by the owners and found our area easily, they even offered us an EHU extension if ours didn't reach, it didn't so we were very grateful to borrow it. The site is lovely, very clean and tidy with a very good looking little fishing pond. I'd not taken any fishing gear as this was an acclimatisation trip, even so I'm fairly confident of winkling a few out when we return, we will be going back.

The toilets and pan wash were spotless and very welcome. The local Chinese is fantastic, I'd heard it was good before but nothing prepared us for how good the food was, well worth a visit. Be aware though, they don't take cards!

If there was one minor thing it was that the floor wasn't flat. A real minor thing and if you have a caravan or camper van it wouldn't matter. There's not a lot for kids to do as there's no play area but our boy makes his own entertainment anyway but if you are expecting massive kids play areas you will be in for a little shock.

Booking is needed here as it is such a gem it does get full up. But if you get a pitch then you are in for a really relaxing weekend. We may well see you there as I can see this site becoming a regular fixture for us. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kosb2446 5 reviews from this member

 This site by far is the best site we have had on our three week holiday.The owners where helpful and friendly.The site has a fishing lake and

Log cabin the toilet block was spotless.The site is well situated for the coast and surrounding area.It is only a pity that it is to small to take more tents and caravans.And it is certainly value for money. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Keanos 3 reviews from this member

 I wish I could put what an awful campsite this was to stop anyone else booking it all up! What a wonderful campsite, people, facilities. We were welcomed wonderfully and directed to our lovely pitch next to the wood. Over a bridge and you entered the most beautiful lake with fishing facilities. The log cabin was very impressive. There was enough going on to ensure my 12 year old was never bored. As mentioned previously if you like an all singing, all dancing campsite, this would not be for you but if you want relaxation, nice people and excellent facilities this one will be right up your street. Don't all rush to go there though because we want to book up again, very shortly! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Timps53 4 reviews from this member

 What a gem of a site the new shower/toilet block is an asset to them and kept spotlessly clean.

A short walk into village great pub sells food excellent value shop that sells everything.

Nice walk down to the river Trent.Bus runs through village.Good walks for all abilities and safe cycling.

Heather and Martin could not have been better hosts and the fishing lake and log cabin are so peaceful campers can use the cabin and they even provide tea,coffee etc and there is a fridge handy for chilling the wine .

We will be returning in the near future the best of luck to both of them

Price has gone up to £12 with hookup from £10 but still excellent value for money. 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hmiles 9 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a couple of nights here. Firstly a word of warning if you are looking for an all singing all dancing site with games room, swimming pool etc look elsewhere, but if you want a fantastic site that is quiet secluded and very clean this is the site for you.
The welcome I received was one of the warmest I have ever experienced. The log cabin was furnished to a standard that is beyond reproach. The fishing lake is easily accessible and as a starter pond for young anglers, it is teaming with small carp, roach, rudd and crucians. There are some larger carp my best was six and a quarter pounds. The owner claims there are some doubles but although I saw the odd large shadow I failed to tempt them.
The new shower block is well under construction and should be open soon. The toilet and washing facilities were spotless. I will be coming back as at the moment this is one of those little gems that are increasingly hard to find these days and I plead to Heather not to go down the route of over commercialisation 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Vinny C 1 review from this member

 What a little gem! If approaching from Scunthorpe, bear right at the Sheffield Arms rather than turn left and look for the free range eggs sign about a mile on the right. This one is not well signposted.

A relatively new site, the facilities are clean and well maintained, and the fishing pond and chalet is a magic garden in itself.

At £5.00 per night for a two man tent this is a little treasure not to be missed!

Ps. Shower block still under construction but due to open shortly. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Debbieha 7 reviews from this member

 Acorn Wood is a lovely little site. We visited the wet weekend of 16/17th May. The owners Heather & Martin are really welcoming.
The field itself is small and probably holds approx. 6 vans? Currently there is no shower block, it is well under construction however and looks likely to be finished in the next month or so, there are toilets available.
There is fishing on site priced at £5 a day (hubby caught a couple of 6-7lb carp), there is also a really lovely log cabin situated on the banks of the fishing pond with tea and coffee facilities, books, easy chairs, and a large BBQ that you can use, a nice place for us fishing widows to read and watch the fellas fish!
We will definitely return to this secluded, quiet spot, hopefully in better weather and make use of the log cabin and BBQ! A five minute drive takes you into the village which boasts a shop, PO, Chinese takeaway and pub. 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Killermike 2 reviews from this member

 This is an immaculately kept, relatively small campsite set in the village of Burton. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Unfortunately, I visited just before the new shower block was completed.

In addition to the camping area, the site features a picturesque fishing area complete with a well appointed cabin.

The village itself features a shop, a Chinese takeaway and a couple of pubs.

I look forward to visiting again.

8/10 overall, but probably deserving of a higher score now that the shower block is complete. 


Previous     90 Reviews in total, now showing 81 to 90     Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Acorn Wood Camping Caravanning Glamping Fishing child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Acorn Wood Camping Caravanning Glamping Fishing?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Acorn Wood Camping Caravanning Glamping Fishing dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Scunthorpe      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lincolnshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


31193 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement