Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Acorn Wood Camping Caravanning Glamping Fishing

Campsite Search > UK > East Anglia England > Lincolnshire > Scunthorpe > Acorn Wood Camping Caravanning Glamping Fishing > Reviews

Acorn Wood Camping Caravanning Glamping Fishing
Darby Road
Burton Upon Stather
Scunthorpe
Lincolnshire   (Browse area)
DN15 9EB
Tel: 07816874205  or  07734717803
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 12 caravan/Mhome pitches & tents, space permitting
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 90 Reviews
                10/10 from 90 Reviews


Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (29)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  90 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Bestyman 48 reviews from this member

 A really nice and well kept campsite that ticks all the boxes.

Location is great with pubs and shops a short walk away

Owners are friendly and helpful.

Pitches are large

Toilets and showers are spotless and heated. Some toiletries provided.

A small fishing lake that's easy to fish.

Reasonable price to stay.

Dogs welcome at no extra cost.

It`s a quiet site that's not really suitable for kids. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: JenBerris 2 reviews from this member

 This site was very pretty and immaculately clean. The owners were very friendly and thoughtful, they called us when we were on our way to warn us of any difficult roads to take the caravan down. They greeted us on arrival and showed us around. Nothing was too much trouble. The fishing lake was delightful and even though we don't fish we enjoyed chatting to other guests in the lodge by the lake. We liked feeding the fish that came to the top to eat. The village nearby was pretty and the people friendly. We would recommend this site to anyone. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Patdenise 1 review from this member

 The facilities on site are very good, clean and well equipped The owners are very friendly and helpful. Communications during and before our stay was very good.

The site is a must for people who just want to relax and spot the wildlife. The fishing pond, even for us non fishermen, was a delightful place, with a log cabin to sit in or on its verandah and enjoy the view with a complimentary tea or coffee!

The area has two pubs within a 10 - 15 min walk and some good woodland walks.

We will be going back to explore more 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dozgladman 1 review from this member

 As all previous post say, What a cracking little site. We did some research before we went as it was our first time putting up the new tent and didn't want to venture too far from home. Heather text us to see if we were still coming due to it pouring it down. On arrival Heather was there waiting for us and offered us a choice of pitches. There were already some motorhomes on site and we chose a secluded spot near the entrance. The toilet/shower block was absolutely spotless as well as the whole site, which is a credit to them.

There is a lovely log cabin overlooking the fishing pond with tea and coffee making facilities, we didn't take any fishing gear but you are still welcome to use all the facilities.

We tried the chinese in the village and it was lovely. As mentioned in other posts there isn't a lot to do on site unless you just want to chill or relax (which is what we did). Overall a belting little site that we will be definitely be visiting again and really soon 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: CEW3A 31 reviews from this member

 My husband & I stayed here 3 nights with our children aged 15 & 13, trying out our caravan for the first time, having progressed from tents, and I must say that this was a delightful break. The site was very quiet. When we arrived there was only one other caravan, but a motorhome arrived later in the day & another caravan the next day. The later arrivals were there for the fishing; we weren't, but we did look at the very picturesque lake & the log cabin. The cabin has comfy seating, books to read, a fridge & tea/coffee which is free to use, (though we didn't)just a request to wash the cups up afterwards.

The toilet/shower facilities were excellent, like the bathroom at home! There was an outer door into the heated block which faced the washing up sink (complete with washing-up liquid etc) and then at either side is a heated room with toilet, sink & shower. For a site as small as this, just two toilets & showers were adequate & it was rare for anyone to queue.

There are no facilities for children if they do not like fishing, but ours brought books, DS & we have a selection of travel board games anyway.

There is a light above the toilet block & on the EHU stands, but apart from that, it is pitch black at night & very quiet, apart from animal/bird noises. We heard a screech the first night (fox?) & an owl on other nights. Mallard ducks & also a couple of chickens appeared on site & took an interest in what we were doing!

There is a Tesco superstore 4 miles away, near the motorway junction (M181) but the village high street has a shop for essentials, a pub, a Chinese takeaway, a teashop etc. We didn't use any so I can't comment.

Scunthorpe is 4 miles away & has a cinema, Pizza Hut, a sports centre, museum etc so things to do if the weather's bad.

This site is not the sort of place we'd spend a fortnight's holiday, but for a short break, long weekend etc I'd recommend it, and it's not too far for us to travel. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Stefzen 1 review from this member

 Just fabulous! Lovely people, lovely site in a lovely village. Only 7 pitches so ideal for a peaceful break. Not really suitable for kids as very little for them to do (which is a blessing!) First time here but won't be the last. Stayed for 2 nights much needed r& r slept like a log! Hubby disappeared fishing so he was happy. He caught more fish in 1 day than in the last 10 years The shower block is spotlessly clean with constant hot water. The log cabin is a great idea with facilities for free hot drinks too. The village Chinese takeaway delivers speedily & is very good. A pleasant 10 min stroll to the papershop takes you past some stunning properties Thank you, your site is a credit to you both. (but please can you possibly get a licence for sunshine!) 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bevsem 4 reviews from this member

 Heather was there to greet us when we arrived (although they do explain they are not always available on site every bit of the day) and showed us to our spacious grassed pitch area which covered the tent (6 berth outwell nevada xl), car, trailer and windbreaker rather well.

The pond area was lovely. Big fish. We didn't go fishing but my hubby sat with Steve (another camper) and learned a lot about it. There is a lovely summer house next to the pond that we sat with a cuppa on the first day.

The toilet/shower block is lovely and it was a joy to have the washing up facilities in the same block in between the two toilet/shower rooms. These are unisex which I didn't like at first but at the end of the holiday I could see the logic.

They were kept very clean. There are no facilities for kiddies on the site and obviously the pond area is a very natural weedy/flowered area with no fencing around so Heather and Martin stress to everyone when they arrive to please be careful of it.

There is a playground area about a twenty minute walk from the site turning left at the entrance. There isnt room for kiddies to cycle around as the campsite is very small (which we liked). There isnt much to do around the area outside the campsite, without having to travel a distance by car.

The walk into the tiny village takes around a 15 minute steady walk. There are two pubs although one is like a working mens club. The chinese is very nice and not badly priced.

The cafe in the village is lovely but with basic bistro snacks - don't go if your expecting a large fry-up for your money for breakfast. Its not that kind of cafe. And the local 'newsmarket' sells the usual newspapers, essentials like milk, bread, etc.

We went to 2 industrial retail parks as they were only a 20mins drive away in oposite directions. (only because the weather unfortunately wasn't great and we couldn't really sit out in the sun). These included Dunelm, NEXT, The Range(a large garden center / camping type hypermarket)etc.

Would definitely go back but outside of harvesting time. I think the price is great for the area and amenities that were available (12 night). 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dewsburyem 3 reviews from this member

 This was a lovely campsite and we had a relaxing weekend. The owners are lovely and seem to do everything they can to make sure your stay is as enjoyable as possible.

The toilets are immaculate and cleaned regularly and very good showers. They even provide tea towels/liquid for washing your pots (not many campsites I've been to do this!).

Nice spacious pitches in the orchard and you're not too close to anyone else.

The cabin by the lake was nice to sit and relax in and hot drink making facilities were provided free of charge also. This was nice to sit in when we had a heavy downpour too!

I would recommend this site if you want a nice relaxing stay but not a lot to do for children. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sighsee 1 review from this member

 Just got back from a 2 day break at this lovely site. Heather and martin are very nice people and the site as well as the toilet block and lakeside lodge are spotless. Fishing there is in the style of Mr Crabtree. Ive not had so much fun float fishing in years. Fresh eggs are available for a small donation on site There is a post office and a small shop along side a welcoming pub with hot and cold food and three traditional ales. All within a mile of the campsite. I will be returning as soon as possible. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jeff22 1 review from this member

 Well just back from 4 nights at Acorn Wood and I only wished we had booked longer, This small family run site is set back off the main road and so is very quiet and peaceful,

the newly built shower rooms and toilets are heated and kept very clean and tidy at all times.

Around the site are various well kept flower beds with plants and flowers growing around the site. A gateway into the trees leads to what can only be described as a secret garden with a fantastic wooden lodge with all the facilities you could want and is open for all to use, the lodge over looks the fishing lake which I think is just the perfect size for the site. 7 pegs with an island in the middle and a catch is guaranteed.

The owners of this site are very friendly and always take time to stop and have a chat (a very big thank you to them).

The nearest pub is about a ten min walk but the Chinese take away do deliver to the site for just a pound. 


Previous     90 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Acorn Wood Camping Caravanning Glamping Fishing child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Acorn Wood Camping Caravanning Glamping Fishing?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Acorn Wood Camping Caravanning Glamping Fishing dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Scunthorpe      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lincolnshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


56398 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement