Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Acorn Wood Camping Caravanning Glamping Fishing

Campsite Search > UK > East Anglia England > Lincolnshire > Scunthorpe > Acorn Wood Camping Caravanning Glamping Fishing > Reviews

Acorn Wood Camping Caravanning Glamping Fishing
Darby Road
Burton Upon Stather
Scunthorpe
Lincolnshire   (Browse area)
DN15 9EB
Tel: 07816874205  or  07734717803
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 12 caravan/Mhome pitches & tents, space permitting
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 90 Reviews
                10/10 from 90 Reviews


Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (29)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  90 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Andycapp 3 reviews from this member

 My family and I spent 8 days here in July. This is most definitely one gem of a site. Spotless well kept and the owners were very friendly and so down to earth. I must say a big thank you to the owner for the time he spent with my grandson, helping him with his first fishing poll.

As has been said before this not a site for small children, only because there is nothing on site for them. At 15 per night you cant beat it, they could charge 20 per night and it would still be a bargain.

Will be back this year if we can, if not we will be there next summer.

All the best,

Andy 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Xtrailman 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed 4nights at this great little site, the owners Hieather & Martin could not do enough to make our stay memorable. Toilet block very good. Great fishing pond lovely setting. Village close by 10 min walk, shop, Chinese chippy, pub Will definitely be going back. Great location for getting around the area. Supermarkets in scunthorpe 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bernard8 10 reviews from this member

 I have waited until after our third visit to Acorn Wood before writing a review. The main reason being that when you think you have found the ideal site after 30 years caravanning you need to make sure that you aren't carried away on the tide of emotion.

Acorn Wood is a real gem from large hard standing pitches to the provision of washing up liquid in the superb toilet facilities it is impossible to find fault. Although not a fisherman the lake and summerhouse (with free tea/coffee etc)must be a joy for those who do. The other reviews say it all apart from if you are a churchgoer the Methodist church in the village offer a very warm welcome to visitors.

Heather and Martin are a delightful couple, nothing being too much trouble during your visit and they are also well respected within the local community. We`ll be back! 


Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Slim 66 1 review from this member

 What a nice quiet small campsite this is. Stayed here for 4 nights, The toilets and showers are spotless and even better than some hotels I have stayed in. Small fishing lake with a wooden cabin as well. Owners are very friendly and helpful. Had a great stay. Will come back and stay again at this site when am back in the area. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: CharlotteHndrsn 4 reviews from this member

 A wonderfully peaceful, well maintained site with kind and accommodating owners. Spotlessly clean and tidy, spacious pitches, summer house next to the lake, all combined with lovely weather meant we had the best experience. Good local pub at the Sheffield Arms. Only one minor point (and it is very small) is that both toilets are in the shower rooms, so if both showers are in use, things can get a bit urgent! Not much for small children to do, but it clearly states that on the website.

If I could give it more than 10 I would.

Thank you for making my first camping trip so special! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: The Furs 4 reviews from this member

 What a lovely and idyllic site. Just spent the weekend there and loved it. Heather is the friendliest host and the site is maintained to the highest standards and spotlessly clean. The toilet block is looked after with care and has some lovely touches. We had some family over for a BBQ who thought it was beautiful. Its only a few minutes walk to the lovely village of Burton on Stather. The Fishing lake whilst small and shallow is a lovely spot and well worth a few hours fishing as its well stocked. The Fishermans lodge is a lovely touch. Will definitely be going back. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Paddy01 12 reviews from this member

 Finally managed to get booked to Acorn Wood, all last year when we wanted to visit it was fully booked, this time we managed to get booked mid week.

We can fully understand why - it's an excellent site, still spotless from entering the pitching area to the facilities, . The fishing lake is still an attractive area to either enjoy the excellent log cabin with a drink and a book or to watch the anglers having fun.

Thanks again, we are surprised that they have still not managed to control the weather as unfortunately it also went on holiday.

Had a meal in the Sheffield Arms, they let us in the games room as we had the dog, but it's nice to see that you can go in a public house for a meal itch your dog - the food also was excellent, thanks.

All in all an enjoyable mid week break. Still not for younger children but our 2, 1 13. & 1 11 really enjoyed them selves with the younger fishing.  


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Garryand june 5 reviews from this member

 This was our first visit to this site, it is a 5 to 7 pitch Camping and Caravanning C L site, on arrival we were welcomed by the owner who showed us where our pitch was, which was very spacious, clean and level. The cleanliness of the toilets was second to none, there were 2 very spacious shower rooms, which included toilet, wash hand basin and shower. A stool was provided to sit on so you could dry and get dressed, very useful. In the shower block there was a sink for washing up. The owner also supplied the washing up liquid and tea towel, there were no washing machine or tumble drier, I never use them on sites so that did not bother me.

My husband likes to fish and as you go through the gate to the pond, it was like going into another world, there is a superb log cabin where there is tea and coffee making facilities, tea, coffee and milk supplied by the owners FOC. The log cabin has a leather settee and a cane suite where you can sit have a hot drink on the veranda, there are table and chairs for you to sit and look over the pool at the fisherman, it was so tranquil and sheltered from the elements. On the first day of fishing the owner came to introduce himself to hubby and gave him some pointers on how to fish the pond.

As we have a motorhome and put up an awning we rely on public transport, no worries there, there is a bus stop a few minutes walk which takes you into Scunthorpe where you will find all the usual shops and banks.

There is a small village only a 10 minute walk away, which had a pub, post office chinese take away shop/newsagent. The pub (The Sheffield Arms) served excellent food and reasonably priced and also allowed dogs in the bar, the chinese was also excellent and delivered to the site for 1. 00 on orders 10 or more.

All in all a cracking little site, and we will to back. We were there for 9 nights and quite easily could have stayed longer. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Olaf_IV 6 reviews from this member

 A brilliant little site. The amenity block is spot on. A pot washing sink separating two toilet/shower rooms that are a delight, and are actually bigger than my bathroom at home!

The site is well set out with hard standing for caravans & small grassy areas for those with tents. A lot of the campers I spoke to while there are regulars so booking in advance is a must if you want to stop here.

Through a gate & along a short wooded path is the fishing pond which is for use of those staying at the campsite. Didn't bring my rod this time but at 5 for a days fishing seems to be excellent value. For those not into fishing there is lodge with verandah situated beside the pond complete with fridge / tea & coffee making facilities together with a small selection of books / magazines for you to browse. Well worth a look if you come here.

Situated right on the edge of the village this site is approximately a 10 minute walk to the local shop / pub / club / Chinese take away. The area has a number of walks, the path to Alkeborough and views across the Trent / Humber / Ouse rivers well worth the walk.

Finally I must mention the site owner who is an absolute treasure! Thank you for an excellent stay and I hope to return some time in the future.  


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Sandram9898 40 reviews from this member

 I am really reluctant to leave a review, not because there is anything wrong with with site, it is just I do not want too many people to book, meaning I might not be able to get booked.

Owners are lovely and friendly cannot do enough for you. Pitches are a great size and hard standing which is a bonus for a motorhome.

There is a small fishing lake which my husband and son fished and caught some really great size carp. As mentioned there is a small lodge beautifully furnished out with tea and coffee provided free of charge.

The toilet block was immaculate with 2 toilets and showers. Really nice little touches such as hand wash and fresh hand towels. This is one site we will definitely be returning to if we are in the area. Tv reception a little weak but who cares when everything else is brilliant. Oh and by the way they also have wifi which was perfectly adequate for what I needed. 


Previous     90 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Acorn Wood Camping Caravanning Glamping Fishing child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Acorn Wood Camping Caravanning Glamping Fishing?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Acorn Wood Camping Caravanning Glamping Fishing dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Scunthorpe      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lincolnshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


55188 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement