Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Royal Vale Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > North West England > Cheshire > Knutsford > Royal Vale Caravan Park > Reviews

Royal Vale Caravan Park
London Road
Allostock
Knutsford
Cheshire   (Browse area)
WA16 9JD
Tel: 01565 722355
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 52
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 61 Reviews
                9/10 from 61 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  61 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dijon46 8 reviews from this member

 Just had a weeks holiday at the Royal Vale Caravan Park. First impression very well laid out, grass cut short and toilet block new, clean and plenty of hot water, we did not use the washing up facilities but they were immaculate.

Tom the owner is very friendly always got a smile, willing to speak and have a joke.

The pitches are level and well set out with all mod cons of the service pitches. This adult only site was great as it was Spring Bank week with no children running around.

I would recommend this site if your wanting a quiet break.  


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sue2812 8 reviews from this member

 What a lovely site, a lot of thought was obviously given when planning the layout of this site as the pitches are offset and well spaced out and you are not looking directly into someone else's caravan which we have found to be the case on a lot of caravan sites.

The family who run the site are so helpful and pleasant they make you feel like a friend returning. The toilets etc are central and were spotless for the whole of our stay and are free.

We were given a map of the area by the owners which was very helpful. Next to the site is a public footpath which takes you on a lovely walk ideal if you have a dog.

We have not yet visited any local attractions but will do on our next visit which will be very soon. We have stayed on many sites some cc others private and would say this is one of the best 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Katrob 1 review from this member

 This is an adult only site and was extremely quiet and the surrounding area looked easy to find all the local attractions.This visit for us was strong winds and rain but we still found plenty to do. The owners are a family who were all easy to talk to and could not do enough for you and infact went out of their way to help with advice etc and yet were very relaxed in the site running. The site is well maintained and clean, infact pristine and this said we will return again. Cheshire has lots of local interest and the site has leaflets in the office, we went to Cngleton on this trip and plenty of shops and garden centres nearby. On that note I will say go and try and you will not want to leave. 


Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cwdc56768 8 reviews from this member

 First point, to pick up on an issue mentioned by earlier reviewers, is that the showers now have curtains to protect your clothes. And there are quite a number of hooks for all your gear which is very welcome. The CC tend to give you two hooks which are never enough.

Second point, on the water pressure, mentioned below, that is not as powerful as we are used to in the van, using our whale water pump, but it caused no inconvenience at all. Just remember it as, otherwise, you may start fiddling with your pump etc when on site assuming its your van's fault!

Anyway, to business. This was a bit of a last minute booking as we were travelling to Chester Four Oaks and fancied a stop over en route to visit Jodrel Bank. We found the site on the CC website and it is an affiliated site. Very pleasant surprise to find that it was an adult only site.

Approaching the site from Knutsford there is a sign indicating that it is 200 yds away. Actually, it's nearer to 100 yds from that sign so watch for the turning. Clearly signed on the left hand side of the road. You turn into what looks like a pub yard but which is now an equine goods centre. At the other end of the pub yard is the entrance to the site.

You come into the site and its aesthetic beauty hits you straight away. None of the traditional white chippings but sandstone chippings making up the roadways, blending very prettily with the lush green turf. Cars are to park on the grass leaving the hard standings for caravan and awning. That means that there is plenty of green on the site. Think that Laura Ashley must have added her input to the colour design of the site!

Soon as we pulled up a Gentleman came out to welcome us, gave us a brief resume of the site and the area. Things to do, places to see and details of a handy circular walk across fields from the site.

Each pitch is split 50/50 between a concrete base and sandstone chippings. Park your van up on the concrete and its spot on level. No messing about up and down levelling ramps. Hurrah!

Each pitch has its own drainage and drinking water supply. Take a good length of the grey waste drainage pipe or a selection of lengths and connecting pipes so that you can reach the drain. We used an aquahose connecting directly from tap to van so the water hog and waste hog stayed in the car. So, setting up was a doddle and quicker than usual. Now the cost for the site is above those charges we are used to from the CC, but you are getting that extra bonus of your own water and drainage.

Toilets/showers are central so there is not much of a distance to walk to get to the loos and showers. They are immaculate. Spotless and remained spotless throughout our time there. Whilst the toilets have washbasins (obviously!) there are no separate wash basins for those who like privacy when they wash (you know the kind of cubicles the CC provide). There are no electric razor points which I thought would have been useful. Still we have sockets in the van! Did I say that the loos were immaculate? Worth repeating.

You need the green stuff for your toilet and cassette, so don't bring the pink and blue. Their reed bed disposal system requires this eco fluid. The site does sell bottles of the stuff.

Whilst the site allows dogs there are no dog poo receptacles. Still there are plenty of waste bins in the 'bin' area. The site may benefit from some such bins but then they are not the most attractive features on a site, so maybe that is why we dog owners are directed to the bin area!

They do not have CalorLite, so if you use that take plenty.

If you like Garden Centres you are spoilt. A few hundred yards away to the north there is one and a very very short drive South finds another. This is the one to visit for coffee or a meal. Great selection of very healthy flowers/plants and shrubs. Another on the way to Tatton Hall (driving to the main entrance just north of Knutsford town centre) which also has a Bird of Prey Centre (opens at 11am).

We decided to stay at this site because of its proximity to Jodrel Bank which is a must for anyone visiting the area. 5.50 to get in although this rises to 6.50 from April for the summer. Tatton Hall was a disappointment. Unattractive Mansion House buried in trees rather than sitting majestically in the landscape in the way that Chatsworth does. 5 to park and free entry to the house if you are NT members. The grounds provide many a decent walk for your dogs though.

Knutsford is delightful. Never been before and the shops, in what I would call the old town, are well worth a wander.

All in all a site and location I would visit again. If you fancy Cheshire give this delightful spot a visit 


Date of Visit: February 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: The Gamblers 14 reviews from this member

 This was our second stay at Royal Vale and it won't be our last. Being just 30 mminutes from home it is a lovely, quick weekend escape.

Tom, Lewis and everyone are helpful and very proud of their site. Whilst they are not 'in your face' they are available should you need them.

Only slight disappointment during this last visit was the lack of water pressure in the gents wash basins. The showers were okay but just a trickle at all the washbasins.

Also, it was a shame the old Drovers Pub at the entrance to the site could not be reclaimed once again as a pub. Minor details for what is a lovely, peaceful site. We will be back a few times in 2012. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: November 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Elstead32 3 reviews from this member

 We have stayed at this site 3 times now, we use it as a stopover site between Scotland & Surrey, it's fantastic.

It's only 5 mins off the motorway yet the road noise is barely perceptible in the distance. All the pitches are flat level, we just drive on & off, so quick to pitch.

Once all the newly planted shrubs get established each pitch will have a lot of privacy, even so the pitches are well laid out & so no-one is looking into anyone else's windows even now.

The toilet block is new & shiny! Stunningly clean & nice & warm. The site owner is just wonderful, incredibly helpful, happy & enthusiastic.

There are some wonderful pubs nearby & we've had some great meals. We will be using this site again & again. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: BobandPam 14 reviews from this member

 We used this site to break our journey to the Lake District and again on the return journey. It is very convenient for the M6 and as it was such a good site, we stayed for a couple of days each time to look around the area.

The hard standing was super - a concrete base with gravel alongside which was even comfortable for the old dog to walk on. I can't say the same for all hard standings! There was also a nice grass area for each unit. The washroom facilities were situated in the centre which was a good idea and on entering looked absolutely fabulous, beautifully appointed.

However there was an issue with the showers - a notice was pinned up explaining that the clothes will get wet due to high pressure from the shower heads so leave them outside the cubicle! Chairs were provided but this is hardly convenient and could be embarrassing too. Supposedly the matter was being dealt with. However, I suggested to the owner that perhaps a shower curtain would help to reduce the spray and most certainly, some hooks for clothing/towel should be provided - there were none at all in the cubicles. A week or so later, nothing had changed. The water was very hot although as previously mentioned, you do have to keep pressing the controls to keep it flowing. What a pity that the design was not thought through a bit better as it lets down an otherwise fabulous wash room.

Washing up is indoors with super hot water and good lighting is provided around the site. Each pitch has a tap, electricity and drain. There is only one rubbish collection point, another would be helpful and no recycling yet but the site is new. The pub in front of the site was being renovated so not sure if it is still going to be a pub which would have pros and cons. The site is advertised as being on a river but we had to ask where it was! It was no more than a stream down in the dip, hidden by overgrowth. A lovely site, especially if the owner finds a way to make those shower cubicles user friendly. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Shineonyoucrazy 5 reviews from this member

 A lovely spacious park just off A50 near Knutsford.

Very welcoming wardens who are so helpful.

The toilet block is all brand new, clean and well appointed.

Pitches are hardstanding with electric hook-up, water and grey waste drain.

TV reception is good, mobile signal & WiFi also good.

Dogs are welcome and there is a handy footpath through fields just behind the park.

Shops in Knutsford and Holmes Chapel both about 10 minutes drive away. Pubs and take-aways there too.

Lots to do in the area - we will return. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: 2children 3 reviews from this member

 Just got back from a 2 day visit to this brand new park Royal Vale, what a beautiful park, all I can say is excellent.

Toilet / shower facilities out of this world,

The pub at the entrance is now closed but not a bad thing, with it being so close you might have had noise and we don't need that,

This being Adult only park it is so peaceful and tranquil,

There is a pub just 10 mins away that does really good food,

The staff/owners are so welcoming and helpful, there is absolutely loads to see around the area,

The only thing I think they need on park is a paper and milk delivery daily, as there is no shop on site and the nearest one is approx 1 mile away,

All in all a Excellent park, not been to one as nice as this park is 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Eclectus 31 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a week at this site.

Very nicely laid out though a few design faults with the pitch size and hardstanding for awnings as mentioned by previous reviewers. If you are planning to put up an awning make sure that you get your caravan on the concrete slab right up to the edge, else you will have problems pitching your awning. We put up a full size awning and the pitch was not big enough, had to put a foot or so on the grass with a kerb edge running through the awning. Don't let this put you off this splendid site.

Top Class toilets though showers need a review as they only stay on for a few seconds without repeatedly pressing the activation button and secondly there is no where to put clothes to stop them getting soaked in their wet room type design. This really does need some urgent attention. Hair dryers in the ladies were 50 pence a go.

Visitors are very much left alone by the wardens/managers, but I must say that some adherence to rules needs to be maintained. We took 2 dogs with us and as we always do kept them on leads, but we did come back after a day out to find some elses dog waiting for us outside our awning. There is a nice field at the back of the site for walking dogs but no dog loo bins.

There were no recycling bins (a bit strange since they have the david bellamy gold award) and no signs to tell you where the bins were located. The site is still very much in its infancy but need to sort out a few little problems if it is to excel. Would we return. Probably yes but the site needs to get its act together.

Oh the site is supposed to be adult only, so why we kept seeing the odd child running around I don't know.

All in all a good week, and a recommended site but still with some issues! 


Previous     61 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Royal Vale Caravan Park child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Royal Vale Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Royal Vale Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Knutsford      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cheshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3973 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement