Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Millbridge Farm

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > York > Millbridge Farm > Reviews

Millbridge Farm
Howden Lane
Naburn
York
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO19 4RW
Tel: 01904 656255
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 15
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 59 Reviews
                9/10 from 59 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  59 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: December 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: George678 10 reviews from this member

 Spent 4 nights here between christmas and new year during wet and windy weather.

Site is ideally situated next to a cycle path to York (which we didn`t use) but appeared well used.

There is a bus stop outside the campsite with a service taking you into York or to the retail park where there is a park and ride service. The bus even runs on a sunday. There is a time table in one of the portacabins. The park and ride is a 30 minute walk from the campsite on a path but as it is on a country road be aware it is a very dark walk in the evening.

The showers were very basic which we were expecting but they weren`t cleaned during our visit. The showers weren`t very hot and not very powerful.

Don`t let this put you off as there are more positives than negatives for this site. Owner very friendly and helpful. Pitches flat and well drained. 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Middletonfamily 1 review from this member

 Really great stay at this campsite with all the family. The showers and toilet facilities are basic as they were advertised as being but clean and tidy. The grass is level with good drainage so great for tents and caravans. Really friendly hens and sheep that kept the kids entertained. Fresh eggs for breakfast. The owner of the site was great, very accommodating and friendly. Pub nearby great for dinner. 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: BohemianCoast 2 reviews from this member

 Our second stay at this peaceful farm site. The main camping field is very flat and tidy; a second field was being grazed when we were there but provides additional camping next to the farm yard. Facilities remain basic but a big step up from last year in that there are now a shower block and toilet block, and a range of bins for recycling. All pitches have EHU.

It wasn't busy when we were there and the marked plots are a good size.

The friendly farmer sells the morning's free range eggs (the chickens roam over the campsite).

Village is about a ten minute walk with an agreeable, food serving pub, along with a playground and shop. The site is also very convenient for the marina. It's a short drive to York city centre. 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Wev4321 1 review from this member

 The site was great for us with the camper. Cycle path 30 seconds away and a scenic cycle into York right around the York horse racing track takes you into York city centre. Its a 5 mile trip. So make sure you take your bikes and padlocks to make this stay worth while.

You can feed the chickens right beside your van in the morning and eat the free range mixed eggs. Great breaki. Close to hand showers, toilets and washing up.

We went to Scarbourgh and down to Bridlington but thought it worth while going back to this site at night as its so hassle free and was only 1 hour back.

The owner helpful and friendly. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mick S. 37 reviews from this member

 I left with mixed feelings of this site.

The stay started bad, but improved over the weekend.

After a bit of a chat with the - very amiable -owner when he called round for the money, I got the impression he is basically learning as he goes along.

As we'd landed on him for a Bank Holiday, I was expecting the place to be full - and it was.

While there were only maybe 18 units (a mix of tents and tourers), how he'd shoe-horned some of them in was a bit concerning if I'm honest. We were stuck in a row of tents, on very small pitches - well small up to the ones full of tourers opposite, that were half as big again. On questioning this fact, the bloke told me he had reduced the sizes up our side to accommodate another tent on the end. Great! I got the impression he was trying too hard to fit units in - there were another 3 or 4 to appear outside the field on a spare bit of land over the weekend. It could have been down to greed, but I personally think it was more him not wanting to disappoint enquirers. Commendable on one hand, but did nothing for space and privacy for a lot of people on the other.

He spoke of great plans for new shower-blocks/loos (I believe the present portakabins in use at present failed on a couple of occasions whilst we were there), also the water pressure wasn't great. He also said all the pitches would be marked and fixed, but I just hope he gets the spacing and allocations right.

The location of the site along with the nearby attributes already mentioned, cant be faulted. Ill also add that the site is very well drained, which was just as well with the amount of rain that fell on us over two consecutive nights!

We were charged £20 a night over the BH + a quid for the awning. If I'm honest, I thought this a bit dear given the regular rate of £15. Adding 30% for a BH is OTT given the very basic facilities - which included a very poor CDP set up that was less than adequate, and wants addressing.

All in all, our overall stay was worth a revisit, given its proximity to York, especially if the 'grand plans' come to fruition. But, it wont be on a BH! At present, I just get the feeling the site has 'adopted' rules and regulations from other sites, but not really got its act together yet; no set pitch sizes, minimum 3 nights for a BH, despite people leaving/arriving throughout, extra for awnings, when some rehashed pitch sizes struggled to accommodate van + car let alone anything else.

I've rambled a bit, but feel some of the previous 'rave reviews' don't tell the full story. A regular week/end probably wouldn't throw up some the hicups, but busy times and BH's are a different story. That said, I wish the owner every success for the future plans he has, as he seems genuinely eager to please his customers. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Geoffschofield 2 reviews from this member

 Just got home after 4 lovely days at millbridge farm in naburn. Ten minutes after we arrived the owner came across shook hands with me and asked me if I had a good journey. We have been there 15 times now and every time he comes before the day is out to greet you. He never mentions the money and so I ask him how much I owe.

Its only a small campsite but looked after very well and the grass is always nicely cut. Water drains away very fast so we have never got bogged down even after hours of continuous rain (I have 35foot American rv and we always try to use hard standing but with the good drainage we are able to go in the winter)

50 yards from the campsite is the entrance to naburn marina where there is a cafe and bar and you can sit outside watching the boats go past on the river.

Just outside the campsite is the selby to york railway line which has been filled in and you can walk to selby if you want or york but keep alert due to lots of pushbikes coming past. It is a super site and we will be coming back every month or so for plenty years to come. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bernardthepug 2 reviews from this member

 My family and I visited Millbridge Campsite having read previous reviews which were pretty balanced, good and bad points. One thing that did concern me was the report that the washing, toilet and shower facilities were lacking somewhat. I made contact with the owner prior to attending who said that they had toilets and shower blocks now fitted and there was no problem. With us having a child and those basics now covered we continued as planned and arrived at the site. Upon arrival, there was a nicely cut flat grassed area which looked ideal, this however was not where we were located. Instead we were put on a smaller area next to the owners building yard, and on a field with very long grass. With having a dog and a child, when the heavens opened and the grass got wet, we were constantly wet for hours afterwards walking to and from the 'toilets'. On this subject, the toilet block was what felt like an old builders type toilet block on wheels, with limited toilets in use and NO warm water to wash your hands afterwards. The showers were as equally poor, with only two showers and one washing up sink, again inside an old portacabin.

The showers, were a whole new experience, in that warm water was a luxury and very hit and miss. My partner and I never had a full shower between us before either the lights tripped out or the water and boiler stopped working. If the water went off it was usually because someone was filling their water container, and when it did come back on, the boiler didn't work and ended up with a cold shower.

Upon speaking with the owner he is a very nice bloke, however seems to be oblivious to what's going on, or simply doesn't care. He did come out every time but in the end we ended up resetting the breakers ourselves as it was getting very repetitive.

On the plus side, the site is in a fantastic location, and if these faults are addressed and improved could be an excellent site. The owner has big intentions for next year, however, if the current prices reflected the current state of the site you wouldn't feel so aggrieved, but for £190 for two tents for four nights, with no hot water and poor toilet facilities, it seems a bit steep.

If you go there knowing it faults, you can accept them and have a great time. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: The maws 1 review from this member

 Just spent a fantastic weekend at Millbridge farm York. This site was very well maintained. Lovely flat field. The highlight of the weekend were a visit from the chickens especially when they came in the van. We can't wait to go back hopefully in the next few weeks. Would highly recommend this site. We had family and friends who both have boats on the marina, which is opposite the camp site, so we were in walking distance to visit them. 


Date of Visit: February 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Rpoulton 1 review from this member

 Lovely site. Close to York city centre / park & Ride / Café and village, though still quiet and feeling remote. Easy access from A64.

Marina next door with good supplies and café and licensed bar.

Plenty of room in the main camping area with electric hook up.

Transpennine trail runs next to the site which is paved and runs to York in one direction and towards Selby in the other.

A small child's play area would be a bonus.

Looking forward to the proposed toilet block being available which will make the site even better. 


Date of Visit: February 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Dogtooth0301 1 review from this member

 What a wonderful site. At short notice we were made very welcome. A very clean site and very secure. This was great for our daughter who really enjoyed the lovely animals and playing with other children in the hammock. The owners were extremely friendly and helpful. The village pub was easily within walking distance and served great food (the curry highly recommended). Also the site is right next to the cycle path which can take you all the way into York, however we only made it to see our friends in Bishopsthorpe. Thank you for a great stay. 


Previous     59 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Millbridge Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Millbridge Farm?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Millbridge Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near York      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2679 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement