Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Linton Lock Caravan And Camping Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Site Reviews

Linton Lock Caravan And Camping Site
Linton Lock Marina
Linton On Ouse
York
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO30 2AZ
Tel: 01347 844048
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 28
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 68 Reviews
                9/10 from 68 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  68 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Ratty 188 reviews from this member

This site is located next to the River Ouse and is great location for chilling and watching the boats go by. It is a small site with around 20 pitches, all with electric available and all flat.

The check in was quick and by a friendly chap, who showed us where all the facilities were and left us to it. We pitched up and checked out the on site licensed cafe. The food was reasonably cheap and looked good, although we did not eat there. They had a few beers / lagers / wines and soft drinks on offer and very well priced too.

As stated the site is next to the canal with the lock in view and the sound of gushing water all day and night is very relaxing and lovely to watch. Being on the canal you can walk for miles and miles in each direction and there is a good dog run either side of the site along the canal path.

The local village does not have much but a pub / curry house (in one) and a small grocers / newsagents. The curry house was delicious and we enjoyed a meal there on the Sunday night. It is about a ten minute walk from the site to the newsagent and pub.

The toilets / showers are accessed by a key fob, so nice and secure and keeps people out, but the campers. The showers cost 1 but last for ages and are nice and hot. Toilets clean and well maintained.

The site is just North of York so you have all the attractions of the area to enjoy, but if midweek you need to drive to them, as too far to walk.

Overall a great site and one that we would return to. 17 per night for campervan, awning, electric and 1 adult and 1 child. 5 refundable deposit for the toilet key fob

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Beci26 1 review from this member

We have just returned from a visit to the site with our little boy and thoroughly enjoyed the peaceful sight. The owners were very helpful and suggested different pitches that would suit our needs and this allowed for us to have a pitch away from the road with ample space for our little one to run around safely away from the road and other cars.

The pub was friendly and reasonable with a children's menu, and serves food until 9 and drinks till 1.

Showers and toilets are clean but basic, one of the showers does not fit the holder though, although I was assured this was going to be fixed.

All together an enjoyable and peaceful holiday, with beautiful surroundings of the river, waterfall and the lock.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: 01blondi 3 reviews from this member

What a gem of a site. 2 nights 4 Adults and 3 Children. This site has fantastic views and beautiful surrounding areas. Plenty of places to fish and some lovely dog walks. A well stocked shop only 10 mins walk.

The owner of the site is really helpful. The pub on site is lovely, the owners make you feel so welcome, pub is open from 9am right through to 1am. The pub is well away from your pitch. Drinks are very reasonable and so is the food. Food looked very good and is served till 9pm and if you want breakfast they do a breakfast in the morning.

The toilets and showers are very clean, the male toilets have been refurbished and the women's are due to be done this winter but to be honest this is not a problem as they are kept very clean ( you will see a few people have complained about the toilets but let me tell you we have seen much much worse ).

The kids loved the lock and enjoyed helping. We have had a fantastic weekend and will definitely go back again.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: MickeyNE 4 reviews from this member

Arrived early Friday afternoon and was met by the owner and directed to the pub / cafe for a drink.Straight after drink our caravan (Holiday let) was ready and we got straight in.Excellent prices for the two statics,the 4 berth is 150 per week for four people and the six berth is 275 per week.

Surrounding area has two villages Linton on ouse and Newton on ouse. Linton is a 10 min walk and it has a shop that sells basics, reasonably priced.There is a nice dog walk across the fields to the shop.

On site there is a pub / cafe reasonably priced Fosters 2-50 a pint and John smiths 2-40 a pint at time of this review.You can also help operate the lock and get talking to plenty of passing boat people.Excellent site if you like fishing by the way.

All in all we had a very nice time here and it is very handy for York (9 miles away ) and Leeds.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ice962 1 review from this member

Situated right on the river Ouse. Very quiete and pleasant sit and the owner is very friendly. Small bar on site and they have now started doing meals. The prices for meals are good and the food was very nice. Small village shop about a mile away has all the provisions you need and there is also a pub doing Indian food. The next village along at Newton on Ouse has 2 pubs. We had a meal in the Blacksmith's Arms which I would highly recommend.

All in all. A very pleasant site and well worth a visit

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Nicolaborth 3 reviews from this member

Just come back from this site. Lovely views across the lock. Nice and clean site. We stayed in the static caravan (holiday let)

Very handy for rawcliffe bar park and ride to go into york. On site pub is very nice and clean, prices on site fosters 2. 50 pint, john smiths 2. 40 pint, cans of coke 70p, brothers strawberry cider 2. 00 a bottle and bulmers 2. 00, a cup tea 1. 00, coffee 1. 20

Phil the owner is very very friendly, he is always around the site. The pub owners, Laura and Will, are very friendly too.

Nice walks into newton on ouse and linton on ouse,

Very good site if you like for fishing, very nice and quiet site

Pub open Mondays 6pm till 10pm Tuesdays - Thursdays 9am till 11pm. Friday, Saturday and Sunday 9 am till 1 am

We had a fantastic time here. Would recommend this site to anyone and would definitely go back again

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Spraffer 5 reviews from this member

Pleasant site with stunning views and nice walks to nearest villages, owner is friendly and helpful. A small licensed cafe overlooking the lock provides good food and drink at a decent price.

No playground for kids and the site had a claustrophobic feel to it with very close pitches and cars been allowed to block other users in. Confusing layout on arrival with reception furthest away from entrance. Noise a problem early morning & late at night.

Toilets/shower block not big enough to serve the site (male block has 2 showers, 1 toilet and 2 urinals) and costly at 1 for a shower. Only cold dishwash available

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Louise Bailey 1 review from this member

Nice site, given pitch next to hill which acted as a 'wind tunnel' feel we would have had a better time if pitched closer to the canal and didn't feel the the tent was going to blow away.

Showers 1.00. A five minute walk to toilets from our tent. Lovely walks near by for our dog. We walked to Benningborough hall one day definitely worth a visit.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Stanjackie1993 1 review from this member

It is peaceful, lovely surroundings by the water. Plenty of walks for our old English sheepdog. Showers were 1.00 a go but you got plenty of hot water for your money. Although this week the pub and cafe were only open from Friday 6pm and not midweek it is my understanding that this is soon to be rectified.

Phil the campsite manager, come barman, come anything he needs to be, is a wonderful polite pleasant happy man. Wendy the cook is an absolute marvel in the kitchen, nothing was too much trouble for her and her food was outstanding and again a very happy pleasant person.

Phil's dad is also a very happy pleasant man. All round an excellent bunch of people who run an excellent campsite. Will definitely be returning a few week-ends here and there.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Leakay 5 reviews from this member

This is a really relaxing site with only toilets and showers (1)there is a washing up sink next to the water tap but it is only cold. The field that we were on had 12 pitches all with views of the river. There is nowhere for kids to play.

The village is about a 10 min walk where there is a pub, York is about 20 mins away. You need to have any provisions with you as the nearest store is 10 miles away. The site does have a cafe but is only open at weekends (maybe longer in peak). You pay a 5 deposit for the fob to the toilet and showers which could have done with cleaning more. If you are camping at Linton you are allowed to fish for free

Previous     68 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in North Yorkshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3430 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019