Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Woodside Ridge Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > Co Durham > Durham > Woodside Ridge Caravan Park > Reviews

Woodside Ridge Caravan Park
Woodside Ridge
Town Kelloe
Durham
Co Durham   (Browse area)
DH6 4PJ
Tel: 01429 883849
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 22
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 69 Reviews
                9/10 from 69 Reviews


Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (20)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  69 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Roxy2015 1 review from this member

 This was a last minute weekend break for ourselves and we certainly were not disappointed. The directions to the site on the Web site are very user friendly and we found the place no problem at all. On entering site I was instantly impressed by the lay out. All pitches are grass to accommodate both tents and caravans. We pulled up at reception and we're immediately greeted by Caroline the owner she is lovely she she showed us to our pitch and explained where everything was. We had a pitch in the middle section of site at the top and it had plenty space to put our awning and peg out our 3 furry babies whom travel with us always. We had fantastic view of whole site. There is a small children's play area more suitable I would say for under 10's at the bottom of middle section the rest of this section was kept clear for ball games ect. Apart from our 5 pitches at top of this area The rest of the pitches are conveniently place around outside area. This is great for keeping an eye on the children playing. There is small shed with books ect to read also on sale are fresh eggs no on site shop, however there are takeaways in area that will deliver to the site and shops are just a short drive. There is a reletivley new shower/toilets and wash area at top of the site which I have to admit are the best I have ever seen they are kept emaculate by Tina. As you come into site you can go through a gate to a lovely picnic area and then for lovely walk through the woods our 3 dogs loved it. This site is small but has lovely feel and still being improved on by owners Graham & Caroline. I have to say they have done themselves proud. They are lovely people who cannot do enough for you. If you just want peace and relaxation you will love this site. We do not live to far away and will definitely be making a return hopefully on a regular basis. Thank you for a fantastic wk/end. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: M12mtr 1 review from this member

 Lovely camp-site - perfect for a our small party of 2 dads and 4 young children.

The hosts were very welcoming and friendly - and they made us a pitch together next to the play park - perfect for the children whilst we relaxed and prepared a BBQ.

The park was not over-crowded and the space available was great.

The toilet block and showers were immaculate. This camp-site is only 20 minutes from home - but a world away for the 4-7 years olds - a fab time and would definitely return - thank you Woodside ! 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Claredave 3 reviews from this member

 What a lovely site. Had a rare weekend off work and a wedding to go to in Kelloe so combined it with a weekend away in our caravan.

The owners were lovely and friendly and if you saw them they always stopped for a chat and made sure everything was ok.

The facilities were fantastic, really clean and you even get to listen to smooth radio in there.

There's a small children's playground which was being well used by the children there (ours are grown up now).

There's a lovely wood to walk your dogs in as well.

We were given a welcoming pack when we got there and it was full of information and a few rules. The rules were really just anything you would expect and do anyway.

Will definitely be back especially as they take tents and we want to have a weekend away with some friends who have a tent. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: NannaB 41 reviews from this member

 After booking at another site twice and having to cancel due an operation then on the way up a broken clutch, we happened on this site on UKCamp Site and so pleased we did. As it was the week before the Bank Holiday we didn't think we would get a site but we did and after a 5 1/2 hour journey in driving rain we were greeted by Carolyn and Graham who took us to pitch 14.

The toilets and showers are scrupulously clean with piped music. There are two toilets and a shower in the ladies and a toilet, urinal and shower in the men's. There were approx 18 pitches occupied at the Bank Holiday weekend with a mixture of caravans, motor homes, tents and a tent trailer and the toilets were always clean. There is an under cover sink for washing up, two water taps and the usual spotlessly clean area for toilet waste The pitches are a decent size and planting in between which when mature will give you a bit of privacy.

There is a shed with information about the area though some is a bit out of date so do what we did and bring back more from your journey out. There are also eggs for sale in another small chicken shed. There is a sheep and a pony in the back field and woods next door for the energetic. Although there are wind turbines just over the hill we only heard them once. The peace and quiet is deafening lol. There is a play area at the entrance. The gates are locked in the evening so you feel quite safe here.

Hartlepool Maritime Experience is really interesting and the free museum is about pirates so the kids should enjoy it. Beamish is a nice place to go but you need good walking shoes or catch the old trams and buses going round. We went to a High Force which is past Barnard Castle. 2 to park and a 1 admission. Good path going to it and I took my walker as I am disabled but I was determined to see it. It would be tough pushing a wheelchair back as it's mainly a shingle path. Barnard Castle is a really busy town but good to wonder around. As we have another week here we intend to go back there to the Bowes Museum and Raby Castle then Durham Cathedral.

Unless you get off the major roads you will find it hard to find somewhere to eat. The Royal George in The Village, Old Shotton does great food. On Sunday the main course is 7. 95 and we had wonderfully cooked roast beef and pork. I can also recommend the mushroom starter and the sticky toffee pudding. We went to a garden centre in Shotton which is not the same village and had mince with dumplings for 5. 95.

What we liked is it's not far from the sea or from any inland attraction you want to visit. All in all and despite the bad weather we had a lovely time and can really recommend this camp site and the area. 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gillibn 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely site. Quiet yet close to amenities. Fantastically friendly staff. Beautiful, new toilet block.

Fresh eggs available. Local pub in village very friendly - will even give you a lift home if you fancy a drink.

Staff always available to recommend local walks, places of interest & places to eat and drink.

Thoroughly recommend. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Vintagekate 4 reviews from this member

 I can't fault this site, we loved it! Very small in terms of not many pitches (18), but lots of green space and pitches are lovely and spacious so no cramming in between neighbours. There is a little play park in the middle of the lovely grassy field in the middle so the children can play safely in full view from (I think) every pitch. Added to this there is a lovely little wood with a couple of picnic tables and space for den building adjacent to the site (children must be accompanied here) for playing and dog walking. The new little toilet block is spotlessly clean and very pleasant, and the shower takes only 20p (can't comment on how good as I didn't use it).

Add to this the wonderfully friendly pleasant owners and its a fab little retreat within minutes of historic Durham. We didn't leave the site, and yet our girls came home tired and muddy, and the adults so relaxed. Love it! 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sibrown 1 review from this member

 We booked this site very last minute, whilst looking for an Easter break not far from home. We are also looking for sites for quick weekend getaways.

On arrival at the site we were greeted by friendly members of staff who helpfully instructed us how to access reception staff. We think the pitch we were allocated was probably the best on the site but all others were equally very well proportioned and positioned. The family who own and manage the site are very friendly and eager to make your stay as comfortable as possible. The newly installed shower block is immaculate and in my 10 years of caravaning have never accessed a better equipped chemical toilet facility (Andy and Flo do help make light of the circumstances).

Thanks for having us, we will be returning. 


Date of Visit: February 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lindaj12 4 reviews from this member

 We visited the site to book our pitch for the season before the opening date.

During the closed period the owners have been VERY busy! There are more electric hookups but better still beautiful showers in the toilet blocks😃😃

This is a lovely site with the most helpful owners we have come across Nothing is too much trouble Hope they have an amazing season 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dianek123 1 review from this member

 Thank you for a lovely weekend

We have stayed here on various occasions really nice site.

Owners are very welcoming and friendly and do anything to assist you.

The site does have a lovely toilet block but no showers at present but are looking at getting some installed.

The site does have a play area for children.

Easy access to Durham and surrounding area for shopping.

We can't wait to go back to this lovely site. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Scottish stevie 1 review from this member

 Nice and friendly staff gave friendly welcome on arrival and

Good size pitches on We'll kept grass.

Extremely clean toilets and washing up

Facilities

Good size of grass for the kids and ME to play around

On with the slide and swings.

And if you like walking and fishing this is the place to be.

Will definitely visit again. 


Previous     69 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Woodside Ridge Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Woodside Ridge Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Woodside Ridge Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Durham      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Co Durham

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


59388 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement