Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Woodside Ridge Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Co Durham > Durham > Woodside Ridge Caravan Park Reviews

Woodside Ridge Caravan Park
Woodside Ridge
Town Kelloe
Durham
Co Durham   (Browse area)
DH6 4PJ
Tel: 01429 883849
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 20
Open: March To January

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 43 Reviews
                10/10 from 43 Reviews

Photos (24)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  43 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Cathy202865scr 1 review from this member

 Friendly couple were welcoming.

The cost for what facilities were there was expensive compared to other sites and their prices and facilities we stayed at on the rest of our trip. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: John+Brenda 17 reviews from this member

 Came with our daughter & great granddaughter who is 3yrs old.

What a fantastic site spotless clean could not any fault site at all.

Toilets closed due to covid-19 but that was no problem.

My great granddaughter loved it great walks in nearby woods.

Only few caravans on site our 3yr old was the only child on site.

The couple who own the site are absolute gems.

There is a shop with drinks machine & books, games, dvd. To borrow

Ideally situated for Durham, Beamish etc leaflets in shop

We will definitely be coming back to this site. 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: TimCESmith 43 reviews from this member

 We came here straight from Cropredy festival. That had been windy, wet and raucous, everyone crammed in so closely you couldn't guy properly: a mass of amateur pitching threatening to become airborne.

Ah, the peace at Woodside Ridge! The well kept grass! The absolutely spotless loos and showers!

It's a small, rectangular site of about an acre on a gentle slope, well sheltered by woods and yes, a ridge to east and south. Pitches are arranged around the outside, with a play / rally area in the middle. There is a climbing frame with slides towards the bottom. The open arrangement makes the site feel very spacious, whilst there's some low planting to separate pitches. About two thirds of the pitches had seasonal touring caravans on them, with tents and motorhomes coming and going.

The views are of pleasant, undulating farmland - full of interest at harvest time - but dominated to the west by four large wind turbines. You can hear these - a sort of low, whiny hum - at night if you concentrate. I'm a bit of a spod and spent ages watching them, trying to work out the management parameters (drinking gin, natch). Lovely.

The ground is well drained but there'd been such torrential rain before we got there that it was still soggy when we set up. It did firm up nicely over our brief stay, however. Facilities are very good: beautifully clean and meticulously maintained. There's one rather feeble shower per sex in the nicely heated block.

There's a key code to get in, and then you have to pay 20p per four minutes. Seating and plentiful hooks do make this a pleasure however, with no stalking about on tiptoes worrying about athlete's foot. If you need change, just ring the bell at reception and they will be happy to help.

The single washing up sink is also fabulous: a double drainer with tons of room and good, powerful hot water. Recycling is comprehensive and nicely organised by the entrance. There are barriers on a key code for security.

The owners are a lovely family and very welcoming. Durham is very nearby and wonderful. We could have happily spent a week at this site, but on this occasion were moving on to Northumberland. 


Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Katal28146vlp 1 review from this member

 The campsite was fantastic. We had a lovely greeting on arrival,

The facilities were spotless,

The children's play area was great, and overall we had a lovely night stay.

We will definitely be returning! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Charlo21642aw 1 review from this member

 We came to the site on Saturday 24th August with the intent to stay for 1 night, however the campsite was so good we changed our visit to 2 nights.

Facilities were outstanding - short walk from any pitch to toilets and showers. Graeme (owner) was so friendly and nothing was a trouble to him.

Walks near by were perfect for us with a dog and our 4 year old loved playing in the park with the other children, we felt really safe letting him go around the campsite on his own.

We will definitely be back 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kate Coleman 1 review from this member

 We have just visited this site and was pleasantly surprised, the photos don't do it justice. Toilet block is immaculate in fact the whole site is maintained brilliantly.

The owners are very friendly and helpful. Also another bonus is the local takeaways deliver. Parmos not great though (obviously too far from teesside lol)

Only negative thing is, I think 26 per night is a bit steep as it is a small site and not a great deal for the kids to do. Should only really charge the adults as part of the price not 2 year old and small children. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Robert1962 2 reviews from this member

 Great campsite. Really helpful owners. A fairly new site with loads of potential. Close to a fishing lake.

Easily to get to off the a19 near peterlee. Loads of places to visit close by but we just chilled out and enjoyed the surroundings.

As the time passed by the weekend went too quick, so we are already planning a return visit. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Reliant 4 reviews from this member

 My cousin and I camped here on our recent cycle trip and this really is a great site with lovely well-kept facilities. A special area has been made available for cycle-campers at the top of the site conveniently close to the loos and shower facilities ( being able to listen to music in the bathroom is a lovely touch!) The tent pitch even has a handy bike rack and the turf is good and easy to peg. I was even provided with an extension lead with which to charge my phone in the tent and the owner is kind and helpful. Everything is neatly laid out even with whitewashed stones indicating the entrance path to the loos for night time access. Thank-you for a comfortable stay and nice welcome! 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: OscarBB 1 review from this member

 What a little gem of a site. Last minute booking with our new tent and the owners were very accommodating. Very clean site, the facilities were immaculate. Large pitches which was great for us. I also have to comment on the other campers, very friendly, the children were so polite too, they all made friends very quickly and entertained themselves, it was lovely to see. This one is definitely a keeper 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Doncaster76 12 reviews from this member

 2 night midweek stay in late August. Owner was very pleasant and helpful. Facilities well maintained and clean. The woodside walk was a great feature for dog owners like myself. For 38 for 2 adults for 2 nights including EHU, I think it is good value.

However, there are couple of negatives. Pitch on arrival had a nice dog poo in middle which I had to clean up - after reading another review on here before I came, I know this isn't an isolated incident. Maybe check the pitches when they are departed and enforce dog rules better?

Secondly why charge for a shower? 20p is not much but would just be easier to increase pitch fees by a small amount. Charging for showers in my opinion is unnecessary and outdated.

Lastly, during my stay with maximum 7 pitches occupied the limited number of toilets was fine (1 toilet, 1 urinal and 1 shower) - but I personally would not return to this site at a weekend or peak time. To be honest, I think it is site more suited to families - kids seemed to love playing in large field in middle with kids play area.

Location wise it was great for Durham, the coast and Stockton. 


Previous     43 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Woodside Ridge Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Woodside Ridge Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Woodside Ridge Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Durham      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Co Durham

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1381 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement