Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Little Bodieve Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Cornwall (East) > Wadebridge > Little Bodieve Holiday Park > Reviews

Little Bodieve Holiday Park
Bodieve Road
Wadebridge
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
PL27 6EG
Tel: 01208 812323
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 195
Open: 01/04/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 63 Reviews
                8/10 from 63 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  63 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Newbiecamper76 1 review from this member

 This was our first proper camping holiday. We stayed elsewhere on night 1, and then nights 2&3 at Little Bodieve.

The staff were really friendly from the moment we arrived and very helpful & knowledgeable.

The site itself is pretty flat (night 1 was on a rather steep gradient), well maintained grass fields with lots of trees. Its well back from the road so very peaceful. Sadly this site doesn't have sea views, but then this is reflected in the price - which was 1/3 of night 1's rate.

There were plenty of loos and showers to go around plus the showers were hot, powerful and - more importantly - free. (There was also a free hairdryer). Pitches with hookups were available but we didn't need one. BBQ's are permitted - there are paving slabs available to protect the grass.

The on-site bar was extensively stocked and the food was delicious and plentiful, plus great value for money. There was a good range of amusements - pool table / dart board in good condition. We don't have kids so can't really comment on facilities for them, but those we saw seemed to be more than entertained.

Handy location for Wadebridge - its a couple of miles from the town centre. Wadebridge itself is quite small but should have everything you need - lovely shops, pubs, restaurants, takeaways and a v small cinema.

All in all this was a really lovely campsite. For those on a budget it is absolutely perfect, for those not on a budget but still expecting value for money, you won't be disappointed. 


Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ellef 7 reviews from this member

 I camped at Little Bodieve for one night on a backpacking trip, and found it satisfactory - there is something a little eccentric about the place, but I can't put my finger on what!

With little campsite competition around the facilities are a little less posh than those of some campsites in busier areas, but perfectly adequate. The loos and showers work fine and are clean, and there are hairdryers available - an unusual touch. There is also a launderette in the shower block.

I arrived quite late in the day and set off early the next morning, so I can't vouch for most of the facilities other than to say the bar was the first one I found on my entire trip that stocked alcohol-free beer! Most welcome after a day's walk. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Helen246 5 reviews from this member

 Very well located site for the beaches, Padstow and surrounding areas. Site wise it is large, open plan and in general well spaced out, however, the pitches in the park area are a little cramped and close together compared to others.

The bar was ok but we found the food pricey, £5+ for a baked potato with cheese for our son. The shop sells fresh bread, newspapers and general items you'd expect.

Unfortunately half of the toilets in our nearest block did not flush but the main concern for us was the cleanliness of the showers and sinks / floor area. Many of the taps on the sinks didn't work and there is no power socket to use your own hairdryer, although there is one in the block wired in for public use.

All in all a fair site but overpriced (as the washing machines are £5 and £7 per wash!).  


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sheddistarr 2 reviews from this member

 We have just got back from a ten day stay here and were very lucky with the weather. Facilities very good if a little pricey for the laundrette but no more than can be expected. Swimming pool was good as was the splash slide that opened twice a day for an hour each. The pool was open from 10.30 to 17.30 off peak then closing time was 19.30 when we moved into on peak.

Play area was very good and enjoyed by many with never getting too rowdey at night. Toilets were regulary cleaned and showers always hot. As we arrived at the end of off season the bar and shop had limited opening times, but when we moved into the peak season they opened longer and daily.

Bar area was pleasantly larger than the photo's suggest and entertainment (peak season) was provided every night and was worth a visit.

Ideally situated if you was to (as we did) tour the surrounding area. A few miles from the site is Daymer Bay, not on the map but worth a trip for a nice wide beach with some dunes of you fancy that.

Little gem we found in the town of Wadebride is the Granary Restuarant. Fantastic food and service that defies its humble facade. A cafe by day with John the Chef making regular trips into the eating area to chat with the dinners. We were invited back to the kitchen to sample a freshly cooked toffee pudding that was to die for. We strongly recommend a trip here.

Over all the holiday was well worth the realativly cheap pitch price and we will be going back there again. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sevenfifty 2 reviews from this member

 This site is in a good location for exploring the local beaches etc. The prices for touring seem reasonable, but it is based on a per-person scale, so we were one adult and one child, and got a good deal. The electric is free but the hook-up is £3.00 how silly is that?

I was going to do some washing, as I had chosen this site for its laundry facility, two choices of machine one at £5 and one at £7 this did not include drying. Overall good site, old facilities kept in good order, a little cramped when busy. I wish they would put fly screens over the windows as the toilet/shower block was a bit infested at night with midges etc.

Could stay here again, but not for a long spell, as I like to keep on top of the laundry when away, great weekend stop over. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Joandmichael34 1 review from this member

 We have just spent 1 week here and it was great shower blocks clean and tidy well kept grounds pool and slide both looked after well.
 
As we have 3 children ageing from 2 to 11 the park was a great help all in all we would visit again the only down side I would say was the site only expects cash on cash point on site and no cash back available even thou you can pay by card to stay so make sure you always carry cash if staying here 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: GeoffandJen 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for one week at end of August. We were shown to our pitch and were told where we should position our jockey wheel. The ground which was to be our awning area was just mud (acceptable at this time of year) but it had a large puddle in the middle of it. I returned to reception to ask for some sand, but was told they use wood chippings. OK I said, can I have some of those please. NO was the response - we've run out. We were given a tarpaulin - which just allowed the water to come straight through so we ended up using a large sponge from our caravan to literally soak up the puddle into a bucket. Desperate just to get in our caravan we decided to connect the electric and have a cup of tea. But no this was not be! The electric hook up was two pitches away and our 25m lead would not reach. So back to reception. We were asked if we would like to buy an extension from their shop! Eventually we hired one from the site. I asked about having the grass cut around our pitch but was told we had arrived 15 minutes early. I offered to wait before pitching up - and was then told there was no-one who could operate the cutter on a Sunday! Not impressed so far. We decided to go for a wander around to get a feel for the place and make the most of it.
The playground for the children was good - our two boys enjoyed it and the central location meant it was very safe and visible from lots of pitches. The toilets and showers leave a lot to be desired. The toilet sinks had hot and cold water but no soap - so you could not wash your hands properly. The showers were good when they were hot - but that was not always guaranteed. The showers were also quite grubby and very dark.
We booked this site 8 months in advance as we wanted a peak time booking, so we had probably the best pitch on the site, thank goodness. As we wandered round - we could sense a real feel of claustrophobia - with very little space between pitches. There was a launderette on site - but we were disappointed with that - £7.00 to use the machine for a family wash and you had to pay for hot water to do a hand wash and pay for the iron too.
There is a shop on site - which has lots of toys for kids, plus milk and other essentials. One morning my 6 year old son wanted to be independent and buy croissants for breakfast. As were next to the shop we allowed this. However I had to go back to the shop to check he had not been overcharged - £3.25 for 4 croissants. Never again!
There is also a club on site which we did not use - but we did hear it - music very loud even after 11 at night. All in all not impressed with this site, other than it's location. We used the site only as a base and went out visiting wonderful places: Port Quin - unspoilt and beautiful, Port Issac, Porthcothan to name just a few. Will not be going back to this site - but will definitely visit this part of Cornwall again. 


Date of Visit: August 2005 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pb5691 6 reviews from this member

 We've stayed here 3 times now although the last time was 2004. Not that I've stayed anywhere else, just not been back to Cornwall since then. The pitches vary, so if the forecast is wet beware! There was quite a lot of surface water in some areas.
 
The site is friendly & clean. The facilities are adequate. Clean, but could do with an upgrade!
 
The shop stocks what you need, but can be pricey.
 
Didn't feel the need to use the small club / bar on site.
 
The swimming pool is small but refreshing but can get a bit crowded.
 
Younger children will enjoy the play area. 
 
The site makes a good value family holiday & is well positioned for exploring other parts of Cornwall.
 
I'd give the place 7 out of 10  


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bardencampers 4 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a 3 night stay at this site. Overall a nice site to stay at. The reception informs the warden of your arrival then he meets you and asks whether you would like to be near play area, toilet block etc. He advised us some of the pitches were very wet and not to pitch near the bottom of field or near hedge  at that time, and he also told us about a noisy party in another field and warned against that one! ( Very helpful!) If you didn't want electric hook up the pitches weren't numbered so you got a very generously sized pitch. Although most of the site had a small slope. 
The toilet blocks were dated and a bit shabby,shower rooms were not overly large, no bench  or anything, just a curtain and a couple of door hooks, they were cleaned once a day, although on arrival they were fairly muddy, due to the rain in the previous night, also there was no soap provided for handwashing in the toilets. 
The splash pool was open for an hour in the morning and an hour in the afternoon, it was not heated, but that didn't put the kids off!. The outdoor pool was heated, not all that big but was nice, although could have had more seating or loungers.
The on site shop was fine for most essentials,fresh nlocal eggs, bacon etc.And a good selection of wine! Each evening there was entertainment, we went up twice, they had childrens enteratainment first and then some sort of cabaret / quiz etc. after for the adults.
Washing up area only had (VERY!) hot water with very high pressure to the sinks, then you had to add cold using a single seperate tap by the door, which was a bit of a nuisance. There is also a mini crazy golf and a small pets corner and plenty of space for the kids to run around.
All in all not a bad site and we would possibly visit again if camping in that area. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tomo50 27 reviews from this member

 Why has there been no reviews on here since 2004? The site was full with a rally from EKC caravan club. We met people who had been returning for 15 years from Scotland!
Anyway really good site. Regularly cleaned facilities. Nice clubhouse with good entertainment. Small games room. Small but adequate pool (warm). Pleasant surroundings. Ideally placed for exploring the west country. Trip to Polzeath is a necessity! Pitches are sloping but should be able to level most vans. If I had any criticism it would be the charge of 20p for hot water to do handwashing! And the splash side pictured on their website only opening for 2 seperate hours per day! I'd give the site overall a generous 7 out of 10   


Previous     63 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Little Bodieve Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Little Bodieve Holiday Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Little Bodieve Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Little Bodieve Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Wadebridge      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (East)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet National Outdoor Expo 23/03 to 24/03
Held at the NEC in Birmingham, bringing outdoor enthusiasts all of the kit, tech, nutrition, activities and advice under one roof for a jam-packed weekend of outdoor inspiration Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4677 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement