Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Little Bodieve Holiday Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (East) > Site Reviews

Little Bodieve Holiday Park
Bodieve Road
Wadebridge
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
PL27 6EG
Tel: 01208 812323
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 195
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 41 Reviews
                8/10 from 41 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 10 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis 1 mile 
 Beach 10 miles   Watersports 10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  41 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Condorman 1 review from this member

We have just returned from a week's stay at Little Bodieve in a static caravan - wife and I plus two kids (5 and 8) and the dog.

The site is exceptionally clean and we found the staff friendly. Facilities include a bar with some evening entertainment, small games room, splash pool, kids playground, swimming pool and an on site shop which had a selection of chilled and dry food, some fresh bakery items and some kids toys etc. All were well priced.

Our relatives stayed in a tent on a pitch which was a good size and near the shower facilities.

Wadebridge is a pleasant town and we found Little Bodieve a good site for exploring the local area - we visited Port Isaac, Padstow, Rock, Lanhydrock, Bedruthan Steps and Harlyn Bay (good for surfing etc and flat for families) and all took a maximum of about 30 mins in the car.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Butterflies 60 reviews from this member

We chose this site as itís fairly close to the Camel Trail, if you walk into Wadebridge itís about 20 minutes down a steepish hill, there is also a bus service from Wadebridge to Padstow. We initially phoned to book a pitch but we were told that it wasnít necessary, and as it was a bank holiday weekend, we were slightly concerned. Once we arrived we realised that there was no need to panic as this is a large site and there were in fact plenty of pitches, plus their rally field also had lots of EHU points. Check in was straightforward and the owner is very nice. The grass was well manicured and we could choose where we wanted to pitch, later during the weekend the site filled up as families arrived for the half term holiday.

The toilet/shower block is a little dated, but all seemed nice and clean whilst we were there, with plenty of hot water. Particularly good was the very hot water in the washing up area, to wash our greasy fry-up dishes! There is a small shop and a bar, and a small heated swimming pool. The site also has free wifi.

Wadebridge itself, has a Co-op where you can pick up most supplies, and a selection of independent shops, and a few pubs.

We shall definitely return to this site.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Donz1985 2 reviews from this member

Great location for visiting beaches and cycling, good temperature water in the pool, lots of electric pitches available, good children's playground unfortunately that's where it ends.

There are 'site rules' which are not enforced, I saw more than one dog off lead free to come over and upset our dog (who was on his lead) there were young children unaccompanied in the pool so when supervising my children I felt if anything happens to the other kids I would be responsible for taking some kind of action to keep them safe, which is not fair, if the rules exist its up to the staff to enforce them.

The main issue I have which will stop me coming back to this site is the shower and toilet blocks. It's like taking a shower in someone's old shed or outbuilding! They are impractical, the showers are so small with one hook so there is no chance of your clothes or toiletries staying dry. As for trying to get dressed in there; don't bother. The button in the shower dispenses 7 seconds of water (yes I timed it!) which is either burning hot or burning hot with cold intervals! Completely useless! The shower blocks are cleaned regularly but still maybe a deep clean is in order as it's the beginning of the summer season and there is clearly thick layers of dust on the back of the toilet door wooden fixtures plus tonnes of cobwebs with some complementary flies, yuck. The site owners need to realise, when you're camping the one comfort you want is a warm clean shower (not a shed) with a dry area and plenty of hocks.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jackie Grosch 1 review from this member

What a fantastic campsite. It's ideally situated for touring the area. The staff are really friendly and helpful. It's family run, so only one barman, generally, but he worked his socks off and was always friendly and the food was hot and well prepared.

The facilities were excellent. Showers were always clean and hot. Plenty of dish washing space. We didn't use the pool, but it looked fine and was kept clean and there is a separate splash pool slide, which isn't open all the time, but looks great for the kids when it is.

I will definitely be considering re-booking when we next visit Cornwall.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: JCWB 6 reviews from this member

We were greeted and shown to our pitch upon arrival. We were situated within the rally field which is very well set out with quite large pitches. We had plenty of room but I can only think it may be quite difficult to get your caravan into position if these pitches are all taken as there is only a narrow strip to drive to your pitch on. This is primarily a family site so expect children during the holidays. The toilet and shower blocks were cleaned each day but look slightly dated. There is a huge play area for the children with plenty for them to do and large green areas for them to do basically anything. There is an outdoor swimming pool and water slide which had kids in them each day. There is a well stocked shop for most of your provisions but if you prefer a large supermarket there are enough close to hand to satisfy most people. The bar area was frequented by adults and children. The site is well looked after and very tidy throughout. There is a dog walk at the far end of the site for those who choose to bring their pets along. It is around a mile into Wadebridge so if you want to walk there it is around 20 minutes. There are enough shops, supermarkets, and bars but beware of the Bridge on the Wool. We paid just short of £20 for 2 pints of bitter, a medium glass of red wine and a bottle of cider, not exactly encouraging you to stay in the pub in my opinion. If anyone fancies an Indian takeaway though, the Spice Guru is not cheap but I have not tasted food like this anywhere. The bhajees are superb, and the chicken jaupuri I had with rice and a nan was simply devine with tons of taste. The beaches in the area are great for water enthusiasts, you just need to choose the right one as they were quite full and at times there was not enough parking places close enough to the beach. Harlyn bay was our best choice with plenty of parking close to the beach. £4:00 to park your car at most places, well priced if you have a car full. Dogs are allowed on some of the beaches so you need to check first before you travel to them. Most beaches are around 7 miles from Wadebridge so be prepared to travel. All in all a good holiday destination.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Shelleyjustice 6 reviews from this member

It has been 10 years since I last visited this site. Very little has changed. The site consists of a couple of fields with hookup. A section for tents and a number of statics. It has a children's play area, splash pool which is open at certain times of the day and a small swimming pool which was lovely to make use of at the end of a warm day. There is a small but well stocked shop, a bar which serves food ( we didn't eat there but it looked popular) and a games room for children.

The wardens are the same as 10 years ago, friendly family run site.

Wadebridge is centrally situated for easy driving to most of cornwall, Newquay is only 15 mls away, Padstow 6mls and if you don't want to drive you can cycle the camel trail.

The toilets blocks are basic and are as I remember them from the previous visit so could do with modernising but water was hot and I didn't have to queue. The gents was not always as clean as my partner would have liked.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Sunnygunny 13 reviews from this member

We chose this site for it's proximity to the Camel Trail.

Staff on site are very friendly. The site is geared for families which of course means you should expect plenty of children in the school holidays. Our corner pitch was used by everyone as a cut-through so a strategically placed windbreak is a must. It was a bit of a distance to reach the power hook-up but fortunately we had a long lead.

The toilet and shower facilities are plentiful and functional but would benefit from some updating. However this is balanced by the site fee which was not as high as most we experienced during the holiday.

Wadebridge is lovely little town situated roughly halfway along Camel Trail. Little Bodieve is just under a mile from the trail and the route to get you there is OK for adults but not so safe for young children as you have to cycle along normal roads into Wadebridge to pick it up. Once on the trail it's about 7 miles in one direction to Bodmin and about 6 miles in the other direction to Padstow.

There is a bus stop outside the site entrance which we used to visit Port Isaac. It's about a 35-40 min journey which also takes in Rock and Polzeath. The helpful lady on site reception provided a bus timetable.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Coxy66 2 reviews from this member

My family (Linzy, Ella, Megan, Molly and me Dave) stayed here for 10 nights but enjoyed it so much we decided to stay another 2 nights. We met 2 lovely families next door Daz/Michaela and kids Rowan and Esmae and Andy/Angela and kids Ewan and Grace and Eve the choc Labrador. Top People. My kids haven't stopped talking about their kids.

The site is located just in the right place to explore Cornwall, if you want to keep fuel cost to a minimum. All the beaches are fantastic and close by. The only problem was we didn't have enough time to explore them all. Cornwall is a beautiful place and this is a good base to stay.

The shower blocks have loads of hot water and are regularly cleaned. They are however dated but this doesn't bother me as long as they work and are clean. There is a playground for the kids with swings and slides etc. My kids loved this and there were tears whenever we retrieved them. There is also a water shute with pool for the kids and a swimming pool. The Pool is clean and quite busy.

The Bar is adjacent to the pool, this is handy as there are poolside seats and tables so you can let the kids loose and relax with a drink and watch the football on TV. There are 2 Pool tables a Darts Board and a Table Tennis table in the Bar. The bar serves Burger&chips, Pizza curries etc. (good value). Drinks include Rattler cider, lager and local St Austel beers (cheaper than pubs).

There is a handy small shop on site that sells News papers, milk, tinned food etc but Wadebridge has a Lidl, Tesco and Co Op, so we mostly bought in town.

The pitches are big enough to fit a caravan, Awning and a car on. You can get Gas refill at reception. All the staff are polite and pleasant and the site is great value for the money and I would recommend it.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tynansdad 1 review from this member

I visited with my four year old son for one night which turned into two as we had such a good time. Little Bodieve was exactly what we were after and, having read some of the reviews on here, I was pleasantly surprised by how good it was.

The camp was fairly busy with caravans and electric hookups but there were only a few tents around, possibly due to the recent poor weather putting people off.

The shop was pretty standard for a campsite and was open all day each of the three days we were there.

The toilet and shower block was basic but very clean, well looked after and has everything you could need. There was a laundrette attached but we did not use it. The washing up facilities were as expected in a clean and covered area.

The was a very good play park for younger children. My lad played happily for a good hour as I set the tent up and as it is in the middle of the camping fields, is easily seen from much of the site.

The pool was better than I expected - we would have used it much more had we got in there earlier. It is a no frills, rectangular pool and fairly small. However, as it was only 5' deep, at the deepest part, I was y for my lad to play as I got in and out as I pleased.

The bar was only open from about 5:30pm onwards and stopped serving door at 8pm but this was just what I wanted. We didn't eat there anyway and were out most of the day either off-site or using the pool or playground facilities. The bar area was pretty modern, well staffed and was the perfect place to chill out for an hour or two before bed!

If you want an all singing, all dancing, entertainment filled campsite them you'll need to look elsewhere then this isn't for you. This is a great place for people who are looking to visit North Cornwall but want a nice chilled out site with good, well looked after facilities that put it above similarly priced sites.

We shall definitely be returning.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: PaulB111 2 reviews from this member

Very Disappointing Campsite in a lovely area. As a family with 3 children we picked our site very carefully, and Little Bodieve looked ideal, a splash pool for the kids, a 'large' swimming pool for adults and a water slide, as well as a well stocked shop, clubhouse bar and restaurant to satisfy all the family. A little more expensive than we had planned but worth it as we had all we needed on site. Marvellous.

The 'splash' pool for the kids is actually no more than a landing pool for the slide, far too small for children to play in and because of this too dangerous for risk of injury from people coming down the slide. The slide and 'splash pool are only open for an hour twice a day so wasn't much use to anyone anyway. The 'large' adults swimming pool is the size I was expecting the children's splash pool to be, and because of this it was overcrowded even though the campsite was less than 1/2 full. My children spent half an hour of one day in there and didn't want to go back.

The Clubhouse was closed during the day and food was only served for a 2 hour period in the evening.

The washing up facilities have no cold tap and the water coming out of the hot tap is so hot you can't even dip your fingers in momentarily to pick up anything in the water, my son burned himself helping me wash up.

The area of the site is lovely, the surrounding countryside is great, the Camel Trail is superb for cycling and the town very pretty, it's just a shame that Little Bodeive have clearly spent as little as they can get away with in order to advertise that is has these amenities.

We brought our issues up with the campsite and were treated with contempt by the older lady at reception.

Previous     41 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (East)

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3568 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019