Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Invercoe Highland Holidays

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Argyll > Glencoe > Invercoe Highland Holidays Reviews

Invercoe Highland Holidays
Invercoe
Glencoe
Argyll   (Browse area)
PH49 4HP
Tel: 01855 811210
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 60
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 121 Reviews
                9/10 from 121 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <10 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  121 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Grapefruitmoon 23 reviews from this member

 We stayed in a POD (Frodo) for one night midweek during the Easter school holidays. The Pod has a fridge, microwave, kettle, heater, TV and a handheld hoover! It cost 39 for the four of us which I thought was good value, considering it would have cost 26 with our tent! It was a bit of a squash though, with the four of us, and the beds are narrow and short. Would have had more room in the tent. There is a large decking area with tables and chairs which was great. Can hear cars as they pass on the road behind the pods although there weren't many. The views around the site are spectacular especially as we were there during blue skies and sunshine and the mountains had snow.

The site is smaller than I expected and is popular with caravans and camper vans. There is a C&CC feel to the place. The toilets are spacious and very clean. The showers are fabulous - plenty room, hooks, shelves, stool, adjustable. Our kids spent some time in the playground. Space for football. There is a stony beach just outside the campsite which is good for skimming stones. Across the road and into the forest there is a lovely walk up the hill and around the Lochan. The folk museum in the town is small and quirky.

The 'owners' were polite and friendly. The shop was shut.

Probably wouldn't come with the tent as it's too expensive and a bit clinical for our taste. However would recommend the Pod and great setting and access for large campervans and caravans. I think would be good for campers with very young kids - the babychanging room looked good and well equipped. 


Date of Visit: February 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Argyllie 11 reviews from this member

 Fabulous view down Loch Leven to the Morvern hills in the background. The site is at the waters edge, it is clean and tidy with well spaced pitches.

The toilets were clean but somewhat dated when we visited. The site fees are pricey.

Glencoe village is a short walk away and has a well-stocked shop. Continuing past the village shop, the road takes you to the entrance to the grounds of Glencoe House where you can take one of the scenic walking trails up to Glencoe Lochan. 


Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Briary 14 reviews from this member

 Have passed this area often over the years on the way home from further north and always say we must visit this site sometime. Well I wish we had visited sooner because what a gem this is! Spotless toilets and showers, great pitch, very friendly staff and fantastic views from every window!

Safe Cycle routes a plenty and has many interesting areas within walking cycling or car distance. Bus service we believe to be excellent too. Wifi available for small charge. Loved this site and will definitely return. Many thanks. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Kateandjames 52 reviews from this member

 Great site with wonderful views over Loch Leven and close to the village of Glen Coe (10 min walk) with shop, museum, cafe, hotel and massacre memorial - not much else though which was a bit dissapointing. The national indoor climbing centre is about 6 miles down the road.

We were able to choose our own pitch and selected a full service pitch on the hard standing at the bottom of the site, though we were right on the loch edge it did get a bit smelly when the tide was out.

At 21 per night out of main season this was the most expensive site we stayed on in a 3 week tour of Scotland.

Toilets were very clean apart from the ladies showers which could have done with a good hose down.

There is a covered outdoor eating / cooking area, laundry room and motorhome service point.

Forest walks around Lochan can be accessed direct from the back of the campsite, where there is a lovely mirror lake, trails through the forest and great view points from above.

For great views it is also worth walking up towards the Pap, you don't have to go all the way, a 10 minute up hill walk gives great views over Loch Leven and up towards Glen Coe. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Beve 2 reviews from this member

 Great campsite, best we saw in the area! Surrounded by Mountains and a Loch. So picturesque and breath taking. Great facilities, a shop- although only stocks few food items it did stock lots of camping equipment and fun activities. The usual showers, laundry etc. A play area for the kids within eye distance. And a large picnic/BBQ under cover area.

We viewed two others off the main road but this one was by far the best. Short drive from Fort William on route to the beautiful waterfall and gorge of Glencoe (were you can park, view and climb around, I highly recommend this. )A co-op is just a minutes drive away.

This campsite actually have 'midge catching machines!' You only get the biting midges inland we've found over the years and not by the coastal areas and for this inland site to provide respite from them is fantastic! In fact the only time the midges bothered us was when I began cooking outside! We did buy & take some midge spray before we went to Scotland and that helped deter the mini monsters. It was fascinating to see the site has a clear reflection barrel of the midges they catch! So you can actually have a look at them too! Great talking point!

This is a green site & was also doing a great deal to re-use n recycle almost everything you disposed of! Which wins awards with me. Including collecting your bottle tops for the Hghland Air Ambulance which is a fantastic idea.

I recommend this site on you visit to Scotland. You could spend your whole holiday here! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Alicia77 7 reviews from this member

 We stayed at Invercoe for 8 nights and we really did not want to leave - it's a truly remarkable place.

We had an EHU tent pitch and the 360 degree mountain and loch views were just breathtaking.

The kids loved crabbing at the loch everyday, collecting shells on the shore and we took the dinghy out too. There is also a play area with swings and a climbing frame.

We had a great week of summer weather and enjoyed many local walks and visited Oban, the Nevis Range and Fort William.

The campsite has lovely clean toilet and shower facilities. Showers are hot and free and we never had to queue. The use of a hairdryer is 20p. There is a toilet suitable for baby changing/toilet training.

There are plenty of bins and water taps and even bins for recycling. There is a laundry too. The shop/reception is open from 8am-10. 30am and 3pm-5pm.

We enjoyed having a BBQ most nights soaking up the amazing backdrop and watching the kids play until it went dark.

Without a doubt we will return for our summer holiday next year but will definitely stay for longer 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Antony Thompson 1 review from this member

 What a great Campsite!

As first time campers my daughter and I were not sure what to expect from a camping holiday, but we needn't have worried, as I can't really think of any significant ways in which this site could be improved.

Located on the shores of Loch Leven the site has fantastic views of the surrounding Highlands and even has it's own slipway onto the Loch. The view as the sun sets across the Loch really has to be seen to be appreciated.

On arrival we were offered a nice pitch at the far end of the site, near to an electrical point. All sizes of tents, caravans and motorhomes were in evidence, and though August is obviously a busy year the site didn't feel crowded.

There are plenty of refuse and recycling points dotted around, and after getting our tent up I had a look at the facilities, which include a small shop (reasonably priced and stocking the essentials), toilet / shower block (with hair dryers), laundry room, dishwashing room, drying area and a covered picnic area.

Throughout our stay we never had to wait to use any of the facilities, (though around 8am seems to be the peak time for the showers) and they were always kept very clean.

Iain and Lynn, the site owners, are often to be seen around the place, (Iain on his bike!) and are happy to answer any questions, but don't intrude if not needed.

Overall, I was delighted by the site - it was clean and well run, and offered everything that I can imagine anybody camping would want. Talking to some of the other guests, many had been returning to this site for years, and I can't think of a better recommendation than that - and we will certainly be returning next year. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Vantango 11 reviews from this member

 After the spending a very damp afternoon in Fort William, we finally found the campsite, which we felf was quite poorly signposted.

Welcomed on arrival by the owners & allowed to choose any pitch. We selected one right on the loch which had breathtaking views. Very pretty site. Pitches well spaced. Very quiet too. Toilet blocks clean & lots of hot water. Well stocked shop.

Walk into Glencoe village and got some information about the best places to eat. We were directed to the Laroch pub in Ballachulish. Had a splendid meal followed by a live band playing folk music. A great evening. We then walked the mile back to the campsite.

Lots of walks, activities & the Glencoe visitor centre near by.

Would definitely go back if in the area again - only one thing

Beware the midges! 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Caro71 6 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for 2 weeks a the beginning of June. Spent the two weeks very smug due to the weather. Arrived at 10:30am after travelling overnight to be welcomed onto the site and shown to our pitch.

The pitch was level, big and well drained (it rained on our last day)

The toilet facilities were spotless with four free showers, six sinks, a pay hair dryer(20p)

The washing up area had six sinks with a further sink for hand washing undercover. Also there was washing machines and tumble dryers that worked from tokens from the shop. Also WiFi available for a small charge.

The shop was basic stocked and opened twice daily Am and PM. Iain was a good site manager walking or riding his bike several times during the day and was very good to talk to about any issues.

Noise was respected at night except by two separate nights when small groups arrived and thought that 2am was acceptable time to chat, but iain saw to it the next morning.

The site overlooks Loch Leven and seems to have good views from wherever you are pitched. Also the Pap is behind and can be walked from the site there and back in about 8 miles. There are low level walks too from the site around the Lochan accessed from across the road.

The Nisa is about 1/4 mile away and co op in the next village and the supermarket in Fort William 12 miles away.

The TIC is available in Ballachulish, but in the laundry room is loads of leaflets for things to do and see. A perfect location to explore Glencoe, Glen Etive, Glen Nevis but also Mull and Skye via ferries are also able to explored.

So much to do so little time we are definitely back next year. 


Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bonnie + Clyde* 10 reviews from this member

 Stayed just one night at this campsite. Great scenery and beautiful location. Owner pleasant! We had to just pick a site ourselves as the owner was out when we arrived. He came up later in the evening and gave us advice as to where the local pubs were that allowed dogs. Big area that you can cook in etc if raining. Shower block clean, showers nice and hot, shop not open until Easter. Great walks for the dog. Site into re-clycling. Play park for kids. Will return for sure! My favourite site so far. 


Previous     121 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Invercoe Highland Holidays child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Invercoe Highland Holidays?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Invercoe Highland Holidays dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Glencoe      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Argyll

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 13/01 to 16/01
Largest selection of caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes in the North of England ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3522 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement