Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Invercoe Highland Holidays

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Argyll > Glencoe > Invercoe Highland Holidays Reviews

Invercoe Highland Holidays
Invercoe
Glencoe
Argyll   (Browse area)
PH49 4HP
Tel: 01855 811210
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 60
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 121 Reviews
                9/10 from 121 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <10 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  121 in total, now showing 81 to 90                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: January 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Vcmac 7 reviews from this member

 Come here every winter and leave our van on site for 2-3 months as a base for winter climbing. The site is in a stunning location with superb views over Loch Leven and the mountains of Ballachulish. Behind the site sits the Pap of Glencoe.

The water at the stands is switched off during winter months to avoid burst pipes but there is a plentiful supply of water at the toilet block area. Pitches remain £20 per night including EHU for 2 people during winter. Toilet block is heated and always spotless, never busy at this time of year.

The shop is not open at all during winter months but there is a small local supermarket in Glencoe Village, further afield there is a Morrisons supermarket in Fort William. The Glencoe Hotel and Clachaig Inn are both close by for meals and both dog friendly.

Pitches may seem 'tight' in high season when the site is full but in winter you tend to have a whole row to yourself with the exception of Christmas and New Year.

The Ice Factor at Kinlochleven is worth a visit for the day, try out rock or ice climbing under the supervision of a qualified instructor, all equipment available for hire.

This site and area always feels like a home from home for us, the owners are so friendly and helpful. Cannot imagine spending winter anywhere else than Glencoe, and that's a huge compliment from someone who was originally a Campbell! 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Freyja 56 reviews from this member

 3rd stay on this site. The views are spectacular. We were on a hardstanding pitch at the waters edge with EHU and water. £20 per night caravan and 2 people, no charge for our dog. There is room for 10 units at the water side and the larger part of the park is on the upper tier, the pitches here are on grass. There are also 2 hobbit units for rent. Children's play park at the exit. Only 2 out of the 4 showers were working. They are push button adjustable showers, not a lot of pressure in them. No queues even thougn the site was nearly full. Site open all year. There is a jetty at end of water pitches for launching boats.Small supermarket 1/2 a mile away in Invercoe village. There is a hotel across the road which is doggie friendly. They start evening meals at 6 pm, snacks before that. There is a pub called the Clachaig about 2 mile down a single track road from the end of the village which serves meals. Its always very busy and very noisy !Morrisons 12 miles away in Fort William. Reception on site open 2 hours in morning and 1 hour at tea time. If its not open pick a pitch and pay later.A road runs along the side of the park but its not a problem, not too busy. Recycling bins at loo block. Barrier to enter the park, exit by another gate at far side of the site. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Galdeb69 7 reviews from this member

 The site is clean and had fabulous views, but our experience was that if you are a tent wanting EHU, then you will be put on the bit of grass behind a caravan so you can get to the hook ups, not ideal and if that caravan that you are pitched behind put his awning, up well your outdoor space is greatly reduced and all you are looking into is the back end of a awning.

The toilet block while clean up to eye level, when you are in the showers if you look up, all you see is tiles that need a good scrub.

There is a lovely tea room that also sells gifts within a 1/2 mile of the site, that is excellent if you don't want to cook. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Freyja 56 reviews from this member

 Wonderful site, had a pitch looking over the water. Been here twice before and loved it, clean loos and showers.Push button shower, adjustable but not much pressure.

Hard standing and grass pitches I noticed they've introduced cabins in the shape of a romany caravan. £20.00 per night for caravan and 2 adults hard standing with EHU and water. 15 mile fron Fort William.

Small shop in Invercoe village selling all the basics. Open 8 - 8. Recycle bins at loos. Kids play pork at exit.Covered barbeque area. Site full but very quiet at night.

Beautiful just to sit and chill out and watch the sunset. There is a jetty where you can launch a boat. We pre booked a water side pitch, had to leave a £30.00 deposit of which £27 is refunded.

Friendly staff, a man on a bike met us and showed us our pitch, if you haven,t booked you can choose a pitch. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jackiep12 1 review from this member

 Booked two Tent pitches for a week with electric hook up at Invercoe taking my daughter and boyfriend on their first real camping holiday together and it was excellent. They thoroughly enjoyed themselves.

Arrived late afternoon and once checked in at the 'shop' we were met by the owner and shown to our pitches. Advised in which situ it would be good for the position of our tents and said to just get ourselves set up and pay tomorrow then moved on. This was helpful.

We had a tunnel tent (Icarus 500) with canopy and although the pitches are roomy, it was a tricky bit of positioning to run the two tents together. We got a bench and table in between the pitches eventually which was great and we were quickly enjoying the views of the Loch and having a walk around.

Absolutely stunning scenery and always changing too as the weather changes. The midge was en masse and thankfully we had some head nets with us. Not many nights were spent sitting out at sunset I might add.

Looking out of the tent had us seeing the beautiful, if not eery Pap of Glencoe when the clouds were high enough.

Facilities were good and hot water always available in the shower and dishwashing blocks. There were no real queues for the showers and maybe we were lucky in that we'd tried to avoid peak times, ie 7.30-10am and 7.30-9.30pm. There is one hairdryer in the Ladies and felt that this could've been better if another one installed.

The facilities were cleaned and toilet paper etc re stocked daily and if there's improvements to note it is that the gents toilets could've been cleaner. I think this is more down to the user and not the campsite. My partner and son frequently commented on the mess being left by others and lack of the likely few not tidying up after them in the loos. The cleaning above cubicle height was sparce and the cobwebs and dirty grouting confirmed this and this was both in the gents/ladies.

The dishwashing area was kept really nice and there were plugs provided for each sink and also dish drainers available. Lots of room and with windows in the 'block' it made washing dishes rather pleasurable as you viewed the 'Pap' on one side and Loch Leven on the other!

All staff on site were friendly and welcoming and nothing seemed to be too much bother and the shop when open (8-10 and 3-5)was a busy place. I saw campers taking their phone and charger in there to be charged up and at no cost - this is handy to note if we were hillwalking and not taking the full on camping kit plus 'the kitchen sink'. The small things like that really make a difference.

The owner regularly went around the site to check how everyone was and as he was visible this made for a peaceful stay. We never used the washer dryer facilities during out stay but had visited there to look at what coins it took (50p for 10 mins) and there is a series of tourist booklets in there for you to look through.

Loch Leven is tidal and so it's great for kids (and adult kids alike) looking over the rocks for crabs and the like. I wish we'd taken our Kayaks as the Loch was ideal for this - unless the wind was up it was like a mill pond. Using the slipway would be easy even for a boat, plenty of room and not too long.

We left Invercoe site all saying that we need to come back again. Lots to do around here, the Glencoe Hotel was very reasonably priced for a meal, excellent rib eye steak, fish and chips etc if you don't fancy cooking. It was a nice place to have on your doorstep even for popping in for a pint after a climb up the 'Devil's Staircase and walk to Kinlochleven.

Although the site has idyillic views and is in an excellent location, the lack of public transport in the area was frustrating. A visit to the Nevis Range just beyond Fort William is recommended for mountain biking or a trip up the Gondola. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cueball 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 7 nights, 2 adults, 1 dog. We had a great time and would definitely return. The scenery is absolutely fantastic. The campsite is situated on the edge of Loch Leven with views to die for! Facilities were good.

The mensí shower block looks as though itís recently been refurbished. The ladies were a little dated. Showers were hot but not very powerful. We never had to queue for the showers. Plenty of toilets but perhaps could be cleaned more frequently.

Wash up area was adequate & undercover. Owners were very friendly & helpful. The campsite did get quite busy over the weekend and felt a little cramped. We returned one evening to find a tent pitched just 3 feet from ours.

Thereís a small shop on site which sold the main essentials. Thereís a shop in the village within walking distance and also a Co-op at Kinlochleven, 7 miles away. Glencoe Hotel in the village is dog friendly.

Location is ideal with plenty to see and do in the area. Tourist Information is approx 2 miles away. Fort William was only 15 miles away. We also visited Ben Nevis range. Be warned - the midges are fierce and will eat you alive! But don't let that put you off. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Monty the bongo 49 reviews from this member

 We arrived after an amazing drive through the valley and was told to choose our own pitch. The views over the loch and the sunset over the mountains were stunning.

The site looks well maintained and the showers and toilets were always clean if a little dated. Good shop on site selling th basics and the staff very friendly. Enjoyed a walk around the village and the local area. Had dinner in the local hotel which was good but the staff were miserable looking.

Great site made better by it's location 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Mick_a_bailey 13 reviews from this member

 Busy site, quite close together pitches. Beautiful location right on loch, now with own slipway. Toilets/showers adequate, always busy, therefore not always clean. On a bus route to Fort William. If Camping has an excellent covered cooking area. Midge machines seemed to work. Good level hard standing pitches. If you want the best view of the loch ask to go down on the area near the slipway, which is through the little gateway as you go towards loch front. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Vicki888 3 reviews from this member

 Spent one night at this site, and it was a highlight of a week round Scotland. The site is clean and the owners couldn't be more helpful.

We arrived while to shop and reception were shut, but the owner arrived as we read the sign and we were directed to a brilliant pitch with stunning views, and given excellent advice regarding the wind for positioning the tent. Our tent pole broke and the owner lent us a spare which saved our trip!

The facilities are clean, and plenty of showers and hot water. The hairdryers are 20p for a few minutes, and not very powerful, I needed 60p to get reasonably dry hair.

The midgies are fierce, even with the midgie machines, so would recommend strong repellent. The site was also very dog friendly, no problem at all to take my small dog.

There is lots to do in the area, and we wished we were staying longer than the one night. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cmcg 2 reviews from this member

 Fantastic site, toilet block always clean and well sized, shop competatively priced and well stocked, staff extremely helpful and friendly. Quiet site, curfew kept to and pitches flat and well spaced out. Covered bbq area with gas bbq's supplied fantastic for unsettled weather. Plenty for the kids to do with nice playground, plenty of space for them to play and clean, safe pebble beach for paddling and collecting shells. Would recommend and will definitely be using again. 


Previous     121 Reviews in total, now showing 81 to 90      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Invercoe Highland Holidays child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Invercoe Highland Holidays?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Invercoe Highland Holidays dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Glencoe      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Argyll

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 13/01 to 16/01
Largest selection of caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes in the North of England ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3360 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement