Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Invercoe Highland Holidays

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Argyll > Glencoe > Invercoe Highland Holidays Reviews

Invercoe Highland Holidays
Invercoe
Glencoe
Argyll   (Browse area)
PH49 4HP
Tel: 01855 811210
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 60
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 121 Reviews
                9/10 from 121 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <10 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  121 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: December 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Buttyboy 3 reviews from this member

 We arrived on 30th December to celebrate new year with a few friends. The snow on Rannoch Moor on the way up was a bit daunting, but that gave way to rain as we got nearer to Glencoe. And the rain never stopped for the whole of our stay! We never stopped as planned at the Green Welly at Tyndrum (excellent Cullen Skink!) due to the snow.

We have stayed here on 3 occasions now, rain every time! However, only a fool would come to this part of the country without waterproof gear, so all was well.

On arrival, the warden appeared from nowhere and showed us to our site, he said to call round once we were settled - all very laid back.

On 31st Dec the Owners organise a 'shin-dig' in the covered BBQ area. Campers turn up armed with their own booze, mingle in the party atmosphere, enjoy BBQ food and a fab fireworks display at midnight! There was also a charity raffle. Great effort by the locals!

The toilet block has improved since our last stay, its had a coat of paint and was nice and clean and warm. So nice to come out of a shower without shivering!

Glencoe itself is a nice wee village, the shop is indeed well stocked with a better selection of bottled Real Ale than the small co-op over in Ballachulish.

The view over the loch is fantastic, if you are lucky you will get a site right at the front. Stunning.

There is a playground on site, however as we have no children its not something I have given a lot of attention to!

Lovely dog walk behind the site. Forestry commission sign posted, it goes around a small loch which is lovely. There are further walks up the hill which offer fab views.

There is a hotel in Glencoe which is nice. There is a pub over in Ballachullish behind the co-op, however we haven't been in it so cannot comment on it!

No cash machine around, but you can get cash back up to £50 at co-op.

Nice site, bit expensive, but no hassle. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Allyo4vintage 1 review from this member

 What a start to my school holidays the drive to Glencoe was breath taking and to arrive at the campsite next to the lake and mountains surrounding you was just what I needed. The pitches are plotted out very clearly and there is loads of space for your tent and car without feeling too close to your neighboring tents. The facilities (shower, toilet, and washroom) are really clean and well maintain regulator. There is recycle facilities which is fantastic when camping. I can say they have thought of everything.

We also stopped in the hobbit for one night what an experience very novel idea equipped with TV, microwave and kettle was suitable for me and my partner but would be to small if you have 2 children(8 years and up) and 2 adults. As an alternative to camping I would stop in the hobbit again.

Over all you can tell the owners of the campsite really enjoy what they do they are very layer back approach to the campsite rubs off on you. We spent two days chilling on the campsite eating and drinking and loads of sleep

Itís got me thinking if I was to one day win the lottery I would want to own a campsite and model it on Invercoe

Thanks for the great experience 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Drews 1 review from this member

 We stayed for a total of 4 nights with perfect weather. Very friendly and relaxed site owner. Had reserved a couple of pitches for us, but made sure we were happy with the position of the pitch and was happy to offer alternatives if we weren't. Wonderful scenery, mountains all around, especially nice early in the morning.

No rowdy behaviour at all from other campers whilst we were there, with a good level of respect for each other. Toilets and shower block were all very clean and tidy - a bit busy in showers at 8am ish, but this is to be expected. Dishwashing area also kept very clean and there is a very useful (or I imagine it is useful - never used it due to good weather) boot drying area.

I was concerned about the general reports in the Highlands of midges, but the park midge discouragers seem to work well and we were not particularly bothered by them. Good location for Ben Nevis/Fort William and Glencoe is a lovely, historic village.

Slipway is helpful for getting onto loch, even if we were only using our rubber dinghy! Lovely clean loch, but I guess they all are? Communal barbecue area is a great idea when the weather is not good.

We didn't use the on site shop, but the local supermarket in Glencoe is surprisingly well stocked and very reasonably priced.

Overall we had a great mid week break and would definitely consider returning, despite the 9 hour drive 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Blake_family_65 4 reviews from this member

 Stayed in one the campsite's Hobbit Homes for 4 nights (not enough room for tent etc in the car!).

Campsite is medium sized, with amazing views of mountains all around and a loch. You never tire of these views and the weather was amazing with temperatures reaching 26 degrees!

One shower block, a small shop stocking basics and the campsite had a covered communal cooking area - great if it rains and you have no canopy to cook under.

The campsite had 'Midge Eaters' which kept the midges down and we never got bitten once despite the midge forecast being severe.

Owners are very friendly and quick to give advice on where to go and visit.

Late afternoon keep your eyes out for the fighter jets flying very low through the mountains and over the loch.

Will be returning despite the 5 hour drive there. Scotland is beautiful! 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Aust.tourists 69 reviews from this member

 This is a very big site with stunning views all around.

We prebooked and requested a waterfront pitch which we were lucky enough to get. We were right on the shore of Loch Leven and had mountains behind us.

There is a shop on site but is only open for a couple of hours in the morning and again in the afternoon. There is only one toilet block which we didn't use as it was quite a walk from our pitch.

This wasn't really an issue as we have a shower in our caravan and the view made up for the inconvenience.

The site is a 10 minute walk to glencoe hotel which serves meals.

Also 10 minutes walk to Glencoe village. TV, phone and internet reception was good 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MAKing02 1 review from this member

 Highly recommended!

Showers/block spotless, had to queue once for shower less than 3mins certainly not a prob. Small shop basic supplies, anything else take the lovely drive to Fort William.

Laundry and dishwashing also spotless. Liked the fact they were keen to recycle. Big communal cooking shelter for the ones with smaller tents. EHU available.

Owner very friendly and helpful. Location great, scenery amazing! Such a peaceful and relaxing site.

We were only there for 3 nights, we will be returning. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Macks 2 reviews from this member

 What a lovely site (and superb scenery)- well laid out with level pitches and very neat and tidy.

Toilets and showers were spotless, and there was always plenty hot water.

Only 'real' complaints were that reception and shop were open for only a couple of hours morning and late afternoon - and there was no phone in the phonebox! However there was a phone and shop - small though it was - in Glen Coe village about a mile away.

Although at £20 for 2 of us, it was a wee bit more expensive than we'd expected - but. We'll be back! 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Keithydee 21 reviews from this member

 Nice clean site, it was quiet when we went here, just a one night stop over, the owners are friendly. (he said it was extremely busy the previous week during the holidays)

The toilets and free showers are spotless and there is an on site shop and shelter for those with small tents to cook in when its raining.

Situated by the lockside it is in a lovely location. There is also a small playground on site.

The down side? well it was £20 per tent/ 2 adults and 3 year olds are also charged for so it isnt cheap by any means. There is a discount for single person occupancy (£16 per night), the electric hookup is included in this price.

The nearby Glencoe hotel serves food and drinks, average quality and tourist prices again though.

Would I visit again? unlikely as the cost is too high for a small tent, a large caravan pays the same so would benefit from the pricing structure more than a tent user. Marked down due to prices for a tent when you consider Scotland has a free access policy and you can camp free almost anywhere I would go elsewhere or wild camp. Good if your a campervan/ caravan user though! 


Date of Visit: February 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Spanner150 5 reviews from this member

 I can't recommend this site highly enough!

We arrived in cold and snowy conditions in February. What a wonderful surprise to find the toilet block was more than adequately heated with pristine toilets and showers and plenty of hot water.

The main thing to recommend this site though is the spectacular location, to wake up to the view across the loch is amazing!

Good food available within walking distance at the hotel.

Highly recommended 


Date of Visit: February 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: VL007 4 reviews from this member

 After reading all of the other reviews for this site, I feel we must have visited on an 'off' period. After spending a week touring around Scotland, this was the most disappointing site we stayed at. It was also the most expensive - £20 a night in low season, with no facilities open (reception / shop / staff). Don't get me wrong, I don't mind staying on sites with few or no facilities, but don't like being charged for them if they are not available! The site fee seems to be one fee throughout the year, so perhaps good value in high season

Water points were not working apart from at the entrance, but no notices or staff about to inform us of this.

I had to go over the the owners house three times before someone was in to take the site fee from me, and they were not overly friendly or chatty even then!

The shower block needs updating and either a good scrub or better, the tiles replacing. They don't warrant the 4* stars they advertise.

On a plus note, it looks like they are geared up for recycling which doesn't happen on many sites, and the setting is lovely. 


Previous     121 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Invercoe Highland Holidays child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Invercoe Highland Holidays?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Invercoe Highland Holidays dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Glencoe      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Argyll

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2674 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement