Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Piccadilly Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Wiltshire > Chippenham > Piccadilly Caravan Park Reviews

Piccadilly Caravan Park
Folly Lane West
Lacock
Chippenham
Wiltshire   (Browse area)
SN15 2LP
Tel: 01249 730260
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 44
Open: 01/04/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 117 Reviews
                9/10 from 117 Reviews

Photos (10)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  117 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Adman 4 reviews from this member

 This was our very first camping trip as a family, and we were recommended Piccadily by a friend. It turned out to be a good recommendation. The site is small and quiet with only 45 odd pitches, each clearly marked. There is one toilet block, kept very clean with excellent showers and pot washing facilities. The play area was appreciated by our kids, although it is not positioned centrally, being at one end of the camp. The ground itself was level and easy to erect our tent on. The area is ideally situated for day trips to Bath and Chippenham, with the National Trust village of Lacock within a mile or so. A large supermarket is within three miles of the site. A number of the pitches had electric hook-ups, for those requiring them. A great little site and one we will definitely return to. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ladyjane 1 review from this member

 Stayed here for 4 nights. Had a lovely time. Owner very helpful and friendly. Campsite very nice, lots of space between pitches. Beautifully laid out with lots of trees and bushes. Facilities at very centre of site so not far to go in middle of night. Showers great, hot water at any time of day or night and hot air blower on during evenings a nice touch.

Water taps dotted around site, so not far to go to fill up kettle.

Lots of leaflets in reception for nearby attractions.

Lacock is a short walk away and is very beautiful. Bath and Bristol are car drive away and again good days out.

Nice play area for children with swings etc and also field for playing sport like rounders.

Separate dog walking field.

Overall site great only draw back is close to RAF Lyneham and planes take of regularly thought day. But did not spoil our break.

Many thanks to Mr Williams who was a lovely host. Would visit again and will be telling friends to go soon.  


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: L+JMorris 9 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely, well maintained, clean site. We spent two nights last weekend and were sad we couldn't spend longer. The toilet block was spotless as were the other facilities, and the owner friendly and helpful. There were no children on the site the weekend we were there - there is a small play area but probably only suitable for children aged up to 7yrs.

Lacock village is a ten minute amble away and Avebury about 20 minute drive. Being in Avebury the weekend before the summer solstice was an experience! We visited the Manor at Avebury and the gardens these were breathtakingly beautiful, they also had the first ever thatched wall we'd seen!

If you are members of the National Trust this area has a wealth of beautiful properties to visit, but a 'must' is Lacock Abbey and the grounds, the roses are heavily scented and everywhere, a real step back in time. The Abbey will also appeal to Harry Potter fans as part of the property is also (magically) part of Hogwarts!

We tried the 'Carpenters Arms' in the village, but found the reception less than welcoming,food looked okay though. We didn't bother to stay to find out. On the Saturday night we ate at the George Inn at Sandy Lane (a village about five minutes drive away). The meal, service and drinks were superb and would highly recommend it. On the Sunday we had lunch at the King John Tea Rooms, this was the highlight of our weekend! The cream tea was delicious and we could have ordered another round apart from the fact we were so full up!

It's a lovely area, we barely scraped the surface, we will definitely go back to this site. 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Melbrookes 14 reviews from this member

 Had a lovely long weekend here and could not fault the site- the warden was very helpful even helping us to manoeuvre the van.

The site was spotless and toilet block although small was very clean. Nearby lacock is wonderful and well worth staying here just to visit the village and abbey.

Lots of pre historic sites to visit in the surrounding area too 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Raddaran 5 reviews from this member

 I stayed here with my two oldest boys (6,7). The site is very clean, pitches are also level. The pitching area is shielded by high hedging so very good at keeping the bad weather at bay. Facilities are basic but clean, There are drinking water taps dotted around the site. There was one toilet block in the middle of the site, within 1 min walking distance from anywhere on the site. These were clean, there are also clothes washing and dish wash facilities, again very clean.

Childrens activities are basic, bit this is a small site, with only a soft play park, but good enough to keep the children interested while pitching.

Lacock is the nearest village. This is a natural trust village, and apart from a a big park, I had trouble finding stuff for the boys. The village shop and post office are only open part time, there are also no ATM facilities. There are three pubs and that's it.

In my opinion this camp site is for mature people or those using it as a base to explore. I would return with just adults looking for a sleepy site tucked out of the way. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Bob61 28 reviews from this member

 This site is probably one of the best I have been to. Very well maintained with flat, mown lawns, trees, and trimmed hedges.

The landscaping is such that each area only contains a few units in view of each other so that you never feel crowded. All large pitches, hardstanding or grass. The pathways between are tarmac thus very quiet underfoot.

Discreet lighting helps find the way at night and is not obtrusive

The toilet and shower facilities were always exceptionally clean and very adequate, with proper toilet rolls not those contraptions which dispense ribbon thin paper by the yard, if you can find the end. Proper taps that you can turn on and run as long as you need to. Soap dispenser and paper towels rather than hot air.

The owner is very helpful and friendly and takes you to your pitch after booking in. He seems to do most of the work around the site himself and obviously takes great pride in it.

There is a small play area with safe wood chippings covering the ground, and a small well kept field for games. Beyond this is a farm field and dog walking is allowed along the edge.

I have never found a perfect site yet but without the constant hum from the nearby main road this one would come pretty close. The site would also benefit from a small shop selling essentials since there is very little in Lacock itself.

Lacock is about a 10 minute walk away and is certainly worth the visit. There is a post office and stores but apparently they are struggling to keep it open and the post office is only open a few hours a week, unfortunately not on a Friday when I needed some cash. Fortunately the Red Lion Pub allowed cash-back.

The Abbey is well worth a visit but as always with these type of places quite expensive entrance fees. I was lucky on my visit because they had a National Trust free day.

I was not too impressed with any of the three pubs. They are all geared up for the service of food and are not really suitable for standing at the bar having a natter over a pint. Both the George and the Red Lion were very busy and I don't know if it was end of season blues but the staff didn't look very happy. Certainly no service with a smile. I found the Carpenters Inn near the church to be less crowded and they serve some good food at a very reasonable price.

I had booked for two nights but went home on the last evening for no other reason than there is only so many times you can admire the same old buildings in the village and neither the pubs nor the village had the atmosphere I would have liked to keep me there another night. Two days was enough. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: SarahHB 1 review from this member

 Have just returned from 2 nights on this site.

Site was lovely and one of the most level and spacious we have been to in England. We had a group of 3 families and were sited together on a lovely grassy pitch with hedge screening.

As previous reviews have said the toilet block and washing-up facilities were spotless. There were only 2 showers but didn't have to wait on either morning. (The site was probably 60-70% full). There were also 3 basins but no privacy screening for these.

The playground was well used by our families as our children are old enough to go off by themselves. However the children were asked not to play any ball games near our tents despite us having lots of space and they would not be disturbing anyone else.

The site manager was not keen on us putting up our shelter/gazebo. In the end we managed without it as the rain stayed off and the sun came out.

Whilst a lovely campsite we would probably not return as we found it too quiet for our children who likely to run around. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Glholiver 1 review from this member

 We struggled to find a campsite with availability for our 2 tents for a quick weekend away, and plumped for Piccadilly without really giving it too much thought.

We arrived early evening much to the relief of the owner, who was a little gruff, but pleasant enough, who showed us to a nice spacious pitch in a quiet corner with a bunch of other tents.

A quick explore of the site found a great little play area for the kids and a field for ball games and the like. The only slight downside is that the games area is a bit tucked away, so the kids are out of sight when playing.

The site is flat, very well kept and well laid out with pitches clustered around a central facilities block, which meant that the trek to the loos is never too far.

The toilet facilities themselves were excellent, with lots of hot water and little in the way of queues even though the site was full, and they were always extremely clean whenever we went in.

The real bonus for us was the site's location, which is a short walk to the National Trust village of Laycock, which is really pretty and well worth a visit. You have to cross a fairly busy A road to get to it, but it's no great hardship outside of rush hour.

There is a tiny bit of traffic noise from the main road if it's still or if the wind is blowing from the east, but you would have to be a delicate petal for this to bother you.

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay and would consider coming back in the future. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Karenjewell 1 review from this member

 Beautifully maintained site, felt quite private because of the positioning of shrubs and bushes. Peter the owner had a brilliant sense of humour and was very friendly. Facilities very clean and rubbish area kept very tidy. He was forever on the ball cleaning !

Close proximity to Lacock village which we found much larger than we thought it was going to be, an untouched historic village, beautiful. We had a delicious meal in the Red Lion and a cream tea in the hunting lodge. We also used the bakery and the jewellers ! and the small shop.

We were only there two days but wished we could have stayed longer we will definitely go back and like other visitors we met who had been going back for many years we would highly recommend a visit. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: GillH 15 reviews from this member

 Good level site with clean showers and loos, lots of hot water and free freezing of ice blocks. Allocated to a plot in the main area rather than the tent field which was very handy for loos but full at the weekend with caravans and motor homes.

Lacock is a lovely village and a short walk away, lots of National Trust places to visit locally too.

Good clean site and very well kept, lovely flowers, but probably look for somewhere more rural / quiet another time. 


Previous     117 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Piccadilly Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Piccadilly Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Piccadilly Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Chippenham      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Wiltshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


270 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement