Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Piccadilly Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Wiltshire > Chippenham > Piccadilly Caravan Park Reviews

Piccadilly Caravan Park
Folly Lane West
Lacock
Chippenham
Wiltshire   (Browse area)
SN15 2LP
Tel: 01249 730260
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 44
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 98 Reviews
                9/10 from 98 Reviews

Photos (10)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  98 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Helen+Chris 8 reviews from this member

Small, clean and friendly well run site within walking distance of Laycock Village which is a beautiful little village used for filming period dramas such as Downton Abbey, Pride & Prejudice and Harry Potter.

The village has a few little shops and worth a visit. We also had a nice walk by the wilts & Berkshire canal to a pub called The Barge Inn which served nice food and also allowed us in with our Labrador with dog treats included.

Would recommend and booked to return in Sept.

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Hilary C 30 reviews from this member

What a lovely, clean, tidy site this is, the owner clearly takes pride in it. We were met by Peter the owner who showed us to our pitch and was very exacting about where our caravan had to be positioned. The pitches are quite close together.

The site consists of three large paddocks separated by hedges with a small children's play area and a large playfied. The dog walk is accessed by walking through the children's playing field which I suppose is ok so long as the dog owners clear up after their dogs but according to the literature given when we arrived dogs are not allowed to foul on the park however my dog hasn't learnt to read yet.

The dog walking field is huge, dogs are not allowed off lead and are only to be walked around the edge of the field. The facilities were first class especially the newer of the two shower blocks which also has two private wash basins although I suspect that if the site was full these wouldn't be adequate.

It is quite a pleasant walk into Lacock down the lane across the main road and up the lane opposite (tip, rather than then crossing the road turn left and you will have pavement to walk on). There are most of the major supermarkets 3 or 4 miles away in either Melksham or Chippenham.

We visited Castle Combe which was beautiful. We didn't find the owner particularly approachable, he told us he tolerates dogs and children, maybe it was his sense of humour I don't know.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Fen Marshall 13 reviews from this member

Like everyone else, we find this site excellent. We've stayed a couple of times as it's less than an hour from home and the neat, relaxed atmosphere is excellent.

Others have mentioned the pubs and the Bell, about a mile away past the Abbey, is worth a visit (take the car as the walk is a bit tricky across the narrow bridges). Walks on the Marlborough Downs are wonderful.

Just a great little site in a very pleasant part of England.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Harryajh 10 reviews from this member

What a wonderful site this is. We arrived to be met by Peter, who cares for the site with such love, and shown to our pitch.

The hardstanding is wide enough without having loads of ugly gravel on either side.

The facilities are very clean with two separate blocks at different areas of the site. Loads of hedges and plants make it very attractive and although it's not too far from the A350 there is no impact at all.

A short walk (crossing the road) takes you to the picturesque village of Lacock with it's tea rooms, pubs with lovely gardens and of course the Abbey.

Will definitely return. It's our favourite site so far.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Vivien15 2 reviews from this member

Just returned from a 3 night trip at the Piccadilly, a lovely campsite nice and flat and easy to drive into with the caravan.

The owner Peter was very helpful guiding us onto our pitch. Lots of places to visit here. here didn't appear to be any wifi, but free at the local pub in Lacock.

We will be returning soon.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Wilkins 21 reviews from this member

Thanks to UK Campsite for encouraging members to summit reviews on the sites they visit, really makes it easy to find the good sites for the area you are looking for.

I have to say that Piccadilly Caravan Park, lives up to all the positive reviews that are posted.

I arrival I was met by Peter the owner and what a wonderful host, a nice friendly gentleman, gave us a choice of pitches & even cut the grass before we pitch our tent.

All the pitches have plenty of space, nice and flat and all have electric hook up.

We pitched near the facilities block as my wife has arthritis, we used the smaller facilities block that had toilets, hand wash basins and both male and female had two showers in each.

The block was kept spotless at all times and was heated so always nice and warm.

There was an washing up room with four sinks, again kept spotless, with plenty of hot water.

There is also a much larger facilities block by the children's play area, we looked in and they were also nice and clean.

The site was split into five paddocks so it always felt you were on a nice small site, separated by lots of mature hedges and trees.

Piccadilly is well place to visit the many surrounding oldie world villages and towns, with Lacock within walking distance and Castle Combe, Corsham & Bradford on Avon just a short drive away, to name just a few.

There are plenty of supermarkets and food shops close by, so never a problem with buying your provisions, also plenty of restaurants and pubs, so you are spoilt for choice.

For the end of September the weather was so kind to us, warm and dry, we really had a most wonderful and restful week.

Thank you so much Peter.

We have been campers for over thirty years, we would not hesitate to recommend Piccadilly Caravan Park, we can assure you that you will not be disappointed.

Brian and Martina Wilkins.

Tonbridge, Kent.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Two plus dog 6 reviews from this member

First visit to this lovely site. Stayed three nights in our motorhome for purpose of being close to Lacock. It literally is just a ten minute walk into the village. Perfect location.

Was a bit concerned at previous reviews about the busy road you need to cross to get to Lacock. However, it's not as bad as it sounds, just be patient, it's not a dual carriageway, it's an 'A' road. We crossed safely with our small dog several times.

The site has well tended grounds. Nice views and has two toilet/shower blocks. One being newer than the other, we happily used both. Washing up facilities in the old block. All other usual facilities available. Plus they have a small enclosure as a children's play area.

Very friendly and helpful owner who will happily give advice and recommendations of local places to eat etc. We ate at two of his recommendations, The George and The Red Lion, both excellent food, would highly recommend. They have very friendly staff and are dog friendly.

Local buses run to other nearby towns/villages. We went to Chippenham, but much preferred Lacock

We would have no hesitation in staying at this site again and have already discussed a future visit.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: CunninghamP-L 10 reviews from this member

While touring, I stayed here for one night. What a lovely site, very neat. The site was quiet. Facilities were clean and warm.

The village of Lacock is a short walk away and it has some lovely old buildings. There is also pubs and restaurants as well as shops.

The site has a dog walk area although you can only walk around the outside as the middle section is not cut. My dog is only small and likes to play with a ball. She struggled to find it in the overgrown section. I would definitely stay here again.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: BRIAN FARLEY 1 review from this member

This site is ideally situated for walking to the National Trust Village of Laycock it takes about 12 minutes to get there.

Upon arrival we asked for a quite spot and was informed that everywhere was quite and would we please follow him to our designated pitch which was on hard standing right in the middle of another dozen or so campers even though there were large areas of dry flat largely unoccupied grassland pitches which we wear not offered.

I was told to back in to a certain exact position whilst being given pin point supervision it was as if I was going to remain static in my Motorhome for my entire stay.

The pitches were only just large enough and we felt quite crammed in and overlooked.

Normally you are given a choice of pitches unless a site is especially busy which this one certainly was not.

On the whole the site was OK but I certainly don't think it was anything exceptional.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Roger10 13 reviews from this member

A mixed sort of site really, owner friendly but very fussy about pitching exactly ' right ' and we saw why the pitches are rather narrow ( caravan/awning and about two feet of space to the next 'van ) which means you can hear everything from next door even when they are inside, which pitch you have is decided by the owner.

Toilets/showers are nice and very clean but could really do with updating, works out at about one toilet and shower per eight units !. You are charged extra for electric and although it is advertised as having wi-fi it is only available if you want to sit in Reception. Good play area and an area for ball games, dog walk is round the edge of a field and dogs have to be kept on a lead at all times.

Lacock is within walking distance but you do have to cross a very busy road, road noise is noticeable 24/7 but we didn't find it intrusive. Site has many trees and shrubs and is in the countryside although very few pitches enjoy a view.

The site would be greatly improved if the pitches were better spaced and wi-fi was as advertised ( not a lie that it is available but a bit misleading ), I also feel that if you are charging Caravan Club prices then it should be up to that standard.

Would I stay here again ? yes but not at the height of the season.

Previous     98 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Wiltshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over 205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5060 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019