Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Blackberries Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Wiltshire > Site Reviews

The Blackberries Camping Park
Farleigh Rise
Monkton Farleigh
Bradford On Avon
Bath
Wiltshire   (Browse area)
BA15 2QP
Tel: 07791 562580
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 20
Open: !st March Till Mid December

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 56 Reviews
                9/10 from 56 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (9)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  56 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Barbarajp 1 review from this member

A lovely site. Quiet, calm and peaceful. Well situated for visits to Bath and surrounding areas. I easily made bird watching trips to Slimbridge and into Wales for Newport Wetlands. Beryl, Adrian and Tom are very welcoming and helpful. Some pitches have been improved since last year. This is my fifth year and I will return. Thank you!

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Cazzamowbs27 7 reviews from this member

Little bit shocked that others have rated this place so highly. It's very expensive and the facilities are shocking! Two showers for the whole site and they are old, in sheds and in need of tlc. Nobody on site when you arrive just a note stuck to a shed door telling you where to pitch. No explanation of where to find water point/bins etc. Most of the time no staff are around, they appear every so often, so if you have an issue there is nobody to help.

There are a number of glamping pods and tents which looked nice but for a Touring van or tent the pitch price for what you get is shocking! If the price reflected the facilities then we would be prepared for what we got, but it didn't, and we were very surprised at how poorly maintained the place is.

Save your money, book somewhere else!

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: HelsG 3 reviews from this member

This is a very cute campsite with some very pretty pitches for tents. Sadly we didn't get one of those - the site was busy. Make sure you tell Beryl the size of your tent - the first pitch they allocated us was far too small. Arriving late at night, in the rain, didn't help but we couldn't avoid that. We finally were given a pitch in the main site which was nice enough. The stone pathway running through the main site suffered with the rain though, and a large motorhome was stuck until a fellow camper with a 4x4 managed to pull them out. The loos and showers must all now be unisex as I didn't see any male and female signs. They are basic wooden portacabin type huts, but clean and stocked with loo roll. Loved that firepits were at each pitch - had a great BBQ on ours. We sadly didn't find the dog walking areas off-site and only saw a lane, which we didn't want to risk.

The washing up station was quite a walk from the main campsite but there were loos and a shower nearby. Very few bins on the site - we only saw one large bin at the site entrance. Some signage may be useful too - people were asking where the water taps and chemical toilet emptying stations were but we couldn't find them.

The glamping pods looked fabulous and each had their own little area surrounded by hedges or trees, so you'd feel you were there on your own.

We didn't have electric hook up and paid 25 per night for a couple, one tent and a dog. Perhaps slightly overpriced considering the facilities. I think once you've been here and know the pitch number you like and book that specific place, it's a great little site. Pitch 5 by the front entrance and very near all facilities is a great pitch. Slightly up the lane is a pitch in the woods and that looked great too.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: WestonDave 3 reviews from this member

Had a quick one night stay here as its close to home and we wanted to test our new tent before a big trip. Seemed daft to put it all up just to take it down again so we picked this site as it was near our home in Bath and allowed fires.

Site was pretty quiet when we were there - between two bank holiday weekends so only two camper/caravans on site and us.

We arrived and were offered a choice of pitches - chose one near the toilet block which had its own little fire circle at the back. Nice flat ground - no obvious problems putting pegs in etc.

Its a nice quiet location on a back road that only really goes between two small villages so doesn't get much passing traffic. Some woods for the kids to explore, and apparently a bat colony living in an old military pill box in the middle of the site (you can't go in as that would risk disturbing them). There are camping pods on site and a bell tent. There is one big main camping field and then a few smaller locations dotted around.

Toilet block is clean with plenty of hot water - two sinks for washing up outside also fed with hot water. I can imagine when the site is properly full only having one toilet each for males and females could be a bit of an issue. It wasn't for us but them I suspect there were only about 10 of us in total on the site.

The couple running the site were very friendly - offered us marshmallows with our wood for the fire, showed us around etc before leaving for the evening. Possibly when its busier they'd stay around more of the evening but we were the last in so no real reason for them to stay. They weren't fussy about what time we left the site on the Saturday morning as they didn't have anyone coming in and knew we were dealing with a new tent that we'd need to work out how to get back in the bag etc.

Bath and Bradford on Avon are both close by. There is a pub in Monkton Farleigh just down the road and also down in Bathford. Nearest decent sized supermarket would be Morrison's in Bath although there will be other smaller shops if you prefer in places like Bathford, Batheaston and Larkhall (good butchers there and a really good old style hardware shop where they'll almost always find what you need tucked away in a drawer somewhere!). Bath is home so hard to sell it to those visiting - traffic is horrific, parking costs an arm and a leg. You'd probably be better driving into Bradford on Avon and getting the fairly regular train into Bath and back. The site itself doesn't lend itself to cycling because of its hilltop location but if you can get to the Kennet and Avon canal at Batheaston or Bradford on Avon you can do a nice circuit round including the Two Tunnels path (an old railway line).

All in all for us - mission accomplished and we may well go back just for the fun of it. Probably only take the small tent in future though - putting up a big 6 man tunnel tent for one night is hard work!

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sammey12 1 review from this member

Had a lovely few days on this site the first week of Easter, lovely friendly owners, site clean and tidy and close enough to Bath city centre, The site reminded us of sites in France. We will be visiting again soon and will recommend to others. Toilet and shower facilities are limited at the moment but didn't cause us an addition and these are being increased now approval has been given which will further enhance the site. With additional facilities we would give site facilities 10 out of 10 if kept to the same standard. Value for money is good for Bath area but can seem more expensive compared to other areas.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Trollerman 3 reviews from this member

Lovely little site in a quiet rural location and very handy for Bradford-on-Avon and Bath. Helpful owner who has worked hard over the last three years to create a well cared for site out of a large bramble patch! He was happy to advise on local walks and the nearby woods are a delight.

The pitches are large and fairly level with plenty of EHUs and most seem to have a fire basket - mixed blessing if your neighbour's smoke is blowing your way!

The limited toilet and shower facilities were sometimes a problem but they were always clean and the water was free and hot except at really busy times.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Oellph 5 reviews from this member

We visited this site over the August bank holiday and loved it. The owners are very friendly. The site is small but has lovely pitches of great pitches, pre-pitched bell tents and pods. There are two lovely goats in a small enclosure that the kids loved to pet and feed. The site has wooded areas around it which were also great playgrounds and each pitch has a handy fire bucket. Whilst of no use for cooking, it's great to sit around in the evening. We felt safe lettings the kids run free. There's no playground though.

There is only one toilet and one shower for men and the same for women but we didn't find it a problem. Owners have a fridge/freezer in the reception hut and you can exchange freezer blocks.

Bath is a short drive away and Bradford on Avon is very close. Definitely recommended.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Karenmcphee 3 reviews from this member

We stayed at this site for 3 nights before going on to Cornwall.

The owner greeted us on arrival, showing us to our allocated pitch, which was opposite the enclosure housing a couple of friendly goats.

The pitch was level with ehu, and as it was a small site the water, waste water and toilet/shower facilities were all close by. We didn't use the showers but the toilets were clean and well stocked with loo roll. There was one toilet each for male/females.

Bradford on Avon is a pretty little town, although there's not much in the way of shops/restaurants. We cycled along the canal path into Bath for the day returning, with our bikes, by train for approx 4 each.

It was a lovely, peaceful site and good for a short stay.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Castel 1 review from this member

Lets start with the positives first. The owners are very pleasant, after arriving shown pitch, then owners left for the night. They live 3 miles away, told any problems ring them, A young couple arrived who had a booking so rang them on the mobile number left on the shed, spent a hour doing this so just pitched up. So this goes to show that truthfully any major problems you are on your own, the site it is in the middle of countryside no houses around for about a mile.

Facilities there is just one shower and one toilet although clean each for men and ladies, in another shed type building. O. K. If campsite half empty, while we were there I counted in tents, caravans and their pods etc 32 people, so in the mornings leads to people queueing. A couple of sinks for washing up, no washing of clothes facilities ie. Sink to do hand washing or washing machines and another shed cum information leaflets etc. I felt the price was expensive bearing all this mind. I mentioned this to the owners who reduced my fee from 75 to 70 for the three nights. We are not the all singing and dancing type of people oap's but felt this site was overpriced for such basic facilities. Although the owner informed me that we are close to Bath.

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: TheFourAllens 1 review from this member

Lovely little site with immaculate toilet and shower facilities, albeit it only one of each for both men and women. We stayed in a cosy, homely pod for three nights as part of a larger group which included two tents. All necessary items were included in the pod plus some - very kindly, we were left a complimentary bag of wood, marshmallows and skewers. Adrian, the owner, was very welcoming and helpful. The fire pits were a delightful touch, more bags of wood were available on site for a reasonable price. Setting was peaceful and rural without being isolated - we could walk to the Muddy Duck, a lovely not too posh gastro pub whose owners made our party of eight, including four children, very welcome. All in all, a super break, we will definitely return!

Previous     56 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Wiltshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over 885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth 119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


131 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019