Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Snowdonia Park Brewpub & Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Site Reviews

Snowdonia Park Brewpub & Campsite
Waunfawr
Caernarfon
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL55 4AQ
Tel: 01286 650218
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 25
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 86 Reviews
                7/10 from 86 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Dog Walk 

Reviews:  86 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Lorfal 21 reviews from this member

I note itís been a while since anyone sent a review. Iím sorry to say that mt review is not a favourable one.

Toilets very basic, old and in need to work. Situated in what looks like old dirty barn.

Showers are over the rail track can only be described as not useable. Very dirty indeed, so bad walked in and walked right out.

Thankfully we were only there one night.

We were on a hard standing, Water close by but there is no drain under stand pipe. Ground is what looks like slate chips, powdery, covers your feet in a grey powder which drags into van. Turns to grey sludge under standpipe. Not pleasant at all.

Rest of site laid to grass and does have nice views, locale is ok.

Pub is a throwback from the 70ís, not a huge deal, but it looks as if it could do with a bit of TLC.

Staff seemed pleasant and helpful.

Not worth the money. Very overpriced at £24 a night for such poor facilities.

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Saragriff 2 reviews from this member

Site in lovely spot but food not up to much. Pub also had no atmosphere at all and seemed more like a social club. I quite liked the microbrewery ale but other half didn't, t. Showers across the bridge over the railway line. Basic but adequate

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Leedsalix 1 review from this member

I have very mixed views about this campsite. Our first night at the site was possibly the worst night camping I have ever had in 40 years. But the rest of our stay once we had moved pitches was quite nice.

The pitch we were given initially was right next to the main road into the area. Although not a very busy road, tractors and lorries ploughed down it and the tent billowed every time a vehicle went past. During the night this wasn't great as our heads were only about 3 metres from the road. On the other side of us was a fence and on the other side of it, 2 cockerels and 3 small dogs that yapped the entire night. We got very little sleep. I think it a bit of an insult that the owners of the site could expect anyone to sleep here.

The area is very scenic but this corner of the site was under trees, quite dark and had no view. We quickly realised that we would have to pack the whole tent up into the car and ask to move pitches the following morning.

Luckily, even though it was bank holiday weekend, we were able to move pitches when the pub opened at 11am. The site has two fields - one either side of the railway line. We moved to the field further away from the road. But this field is very boggy and a number of vehicles had obviously been stuck in it shortly before we arrived. We found a spot on the railway embankment that was slightly sloping but not boggy and enjoyed the rest of our trip.

The facilities are fairly basic which is a shame. The main toilet block is not very old but has not been maintained. We saw no evidence of it being cleaned during our 5 day stay so it was quite dirty and in need of some deep cleaning and redecoration. The washing up area has space for lots of information about the area, leaflets etc. But there was barely any.

The pub was OK - the beer was good but there were a couple of large and very noisy family groups who intimidated the rest of the customers. It was very disappointing that staff did not intervene and ask them to have a bit more respect for their other customers.

Having the railway come right through the middle of the site is brilliant and our toddler loved watching the trains come through. But it is an expensive trip out (well over £25 for a return to the far end of the line) so it's worth bearing this in mind if you are visiting.

This area of north Wales is great - but there isn't much within walking distance of the site which means you are always in the car.

Overall, the site has a lot of potential and it's a shame it isn't better maintained. If we were visiting the area again I would not stay here but would look for somewhere with better facilities and views.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Simonmorris10 1 review from this member

Ok overall a great site that could be better, its a great setting in Snowdonia, a nice sized site with plenty of space we paid for electric pitches upon arrival a drunk young coulple had pitches on our pitch and gone to sleep! We went to the pub and the staff asked then to move.

The pitches are large in the first field with good natural drainage, as we were with another couple with young children we were given great pitches 21&22 these were very secluded and had a large area for the kids to play and to park both cars.

The steam rain stops at the middle of the two camping field which the kids loved, the pub is nice and the real ale's are great but the foods not brilliant just basic pub grub!

As other campers have mentioned the cockerel and dog at he back of the site are a pain but bearable, there is plenty to do in the local area and the train that passes though will definitely be something that we will do again.

The main downside is the showers and toilets witch are grubby and basic, they need an overhaul again bearable dbut basic.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Makkuro Kurosuke 1 review from this member

We used the camping facilities at Snowdonia park campsite and enjoyed a few reasonably priced drinks in the pub however we can't comment on the food as we did not eat there. We were generally very happy with the current site however there were a few pros and cons which you can see below:

Pros

Quiet clean campsite

We had the luxury of the entire lower field to ourselves (group of 8 so maybe they wanted to keep us out of the way!)

A river running beside which a few of us took a dip in (yes, it was very cold!)

The ladies toilets and showers were in a decent condition, as you expect in the campsite

Very close to one of the trails up mount snowdon

Friendly groundsman

Freezer in the laundry room (no fridge)

Laundry room with a plug socket and sink for washing of bowls et cetera

Train station on site

Lots of leaflets in the pub to give you ideas of different things to do in and around the area

Cons

The laundry and plug sockets are operated by token rather than included in your stay, which you can purchase at the bar for 1 pound each, when we asked how long each token lasted for with the plug socket the answer was that they didn't know, we subsequently found that this lasted about 20 minutes

The token machine above the plug socket meant that if your plug extends upwards as many phone chargers do it won't actually fit in the socket, meaning that you can't charge anything with that sort of plug socket, so be sure to bring an extension cable if you have any devices like that.

The men's toilets were reportedly a little untidy, with a variety of deceased and living arachnids sharing the space (not the case in the ladies which were fine)

The only other point to note was when pitching our tents we found that in some areas the ground was very rocky, so be sure to bring a mallet to stake the tent pegs in as you may have difficulty otherwise.

Would definitely stay again.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Cornescj 2 reviews from this member

Very nice site with beautiful view of the mountains and has the Welsh Highland Railway Station. The site is split into two; toilets on one side of the track, and toilets showers and laundry on the other. With access with a foot bridge over the railway. Decent size plot, Electric hook ups available, There is a pub on site with hot and cold food, dogs are welcome in some areas of the pub, ideal if you are wanting to go off on the train for the day as you can be off the train and in your van in around 2 mins, family room, I will definitely stay here again

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: John deere 1 review from this member

Starting with the positive:

The site is well located about 10 minutes drive from the local town and a similar distance from other local attractions.

In general the site is nicely kept and fairly attractive place to stay.

The on-site facilities are adequate/functional however basic - toilets, hot showers and laundry facilities are available. There is a generous distribution of water and electric available among the 30 odd pitches.

So far so good.

HOWEVER, what sounded like what can only described as a puppy farm is located about 20 feet from our pitch in an isolated farm barn. Constant and sustained overnight dog barking and crying which filled the site resulted in a few hours of sleep and unfortunately spoiled ours and numerous other people's stay.

When raised with a member of bar staff it seemed to be a well known issue, which I find surprising.

In conclusion, I feel that this is potentially a perfectly adequate camp site, however I feel it was let down on this occasion by factors that may not have been under their control and hope that these issues are sorted before any lasting damage is done.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Trailertenters 1 review from this member

Very nice small site beautiful view of the mountains and has a working vintage train station and stream train. The site is split into two; tiolets on one side, tiolets showers and laundry on the other. We stayed on the main part of the site and your given a pretty decent size plot their was plent of ten berth tents there and you don't pay any extra. Car park for extra cars which you don't have to pay for. Electric hook ups available and no limit on power. There is a pub on site, family room(dogs r aloud)pub area (adults only and teenagers) restaurant(no dogs) so felt they catered for most families. Food was served in all rooms so you could eat any where in the pub. Food was nice and filling, on site bewery and the ale is lovely. Friendly staff they make you very welcome. I will definitely stay here again as in a prime location.

There isnt a play ground on the camping area but there is a small one next to the pub; there is plenty of areas for the kids to play using their imagination. Tiolets are cleaned daily and showers have codes on to stop anyone using them. Showers were good nice big shower heads, temperature variates but that's understandable; but plenty of room to get changed( would help to have a cubicle for just washing) petrol station not far from site which is good. Ideal for walkers and train enthusiasts.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sox500c 11 reviews from this member

A pretty decent camping/caravan site comprising two fields separated by a miniature railway line. The railway doesnít run at night so no issues regarding train noise and the road is pretty quiet at night too. Some noise from local dogs and cockerels but nothing major, and the lambs that were wandering freely were a bit loud at times, but they do a good job of keeping the grass short.

We were in the back field, over the railway line, and some areas of the field were quite soggy. Access is across the railway line through two gates, or over a footbridge if you park in the pub car park. There is a small river at the back of the field so you do get midges hanging around waiting for a human meal.

Showers are free, which is a bonus, although the temperature can vary a little and it got a bit too hot for comfort on occasions. Toilets are ok but need a bit of maintenance to bring them up to standard. The toilet paper dispensers like to fall open when you least expect it and the automatic light sensor doesnít reach into the cubicles, so you can find yourself plunged into darkness if you hang around for too long, same lighting problem with the shower cubicles. Two toilets, two sinks and three showers in the gents, same in the ladies.

There is a washing room with 2 sinks, a freezer, a washer and a dryer. Washer and dryer are on a coin meter but the freezer is free to use for guests Ė handy fore re-freezing your ice packs or chilling your beer/cider.

The pub has its own micro-brewery, so if youíre into your real ales it is excellent. The food is reasonable and there is a family room for campers with younger children.

The narrow gauge Welsh Highland Railway has a station between the two camping fields, so you can travel to Caernarfon in one direction and Porthmadog in the other. Tickets are a bit pricey but children under 15 travel free.

The site is very close to Snowdon if you fancy some exercise, or take the train to the summit if you prefer.

I can recommend Dragon Raiders Activity Park near Criccieth for a 45 minute taster session on an off road Segway, there is also a paintball park and the Bear Grylls Survival Academy at the same location Ė booking in advance is recommended.

Caernarfon Castle is worth a look and the centre of Caernarfon has a market and some nice individual shops.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mark Palmer 9 reviews from this member

What can I say about this site without sounding harsh? Not a lot!

This is by far the WORST campground that I have ever stayed in, and being ex military, I've lived in tents in Iraq and Bosnia!

POSITIVES.

The was plenty of hot water.

The beer in the pub was good, and the food was reasonably priced.

Close enough to many of the main tourist attractions of the area, with fantastic scenery.

A petrol station is approximately 2 miles way, turn right out of the site. It has a large Londis shop attached to it.

The nearest camping supply shop (Gellert) is in Bedgellert approximately 8 miles away, for anything that you may have forgotten to bring with you. It is very cheap too! Turn left out of the site.

NEGATIVES.

Ground was far too soft considering that there had been hardly any rain, the previous occupants of our pitch had their car bogged in, leaving deep ruts in the ground.

The site allows large groups of visitors, so noise can be a problem. Prior to our arrival, there had been a group kicked out because of fighting at 0300, leaving behind their rubbish and tents which were cleared up 2 days after our arrival! During our stay, a large group arrived and set up a village that created a lot of noise until roughly midnight. (Not good if you have children!)

There are 2 toilet blocks, but only 1 shower block (situated on the lower field) comprising of 2 toilets and 3 showers for the entire site. The shower block was filthy and cramped, there had been a bucket of scum filled water sitting around for 3 days before it was emptied by one of the campers. The walls and shower curtains were covered in mould, due to the fact that the extractor fans did not work in either the gents or ladies block. The lights switch off after approximately 2 minutes, meaning you have to shower in the dark. On our penultimate day of 7, somebody decided to leave a special package in the shower, despite the fact that the toilet was less than 1 metre away, by the time we left, it was still there.

The toilet roll was not replenished during our stay, not that it mattered, as it was like John Wayne. (Rough, tough, and doesn't take s*#* off anyone. )

The toilet door to the gents area was beginning to stick, so even as an adult, I struggled to open it. My 5 year old boy couldn't manage it.

Unless you want to take out a mortgage, don't use the laundry facilities, 4 tokens for a 30 minute wash (which didn't clean any clothes) and 4 for the drier (which was filled with sand and just warmed the wet clothing, but didn't actually dry them!) tokens are available from the pub, at the price of £1 each! There are 2 large sinks for cleaning your dishes, you could use these to wash clothes, but you would have to take a universal plug with you as there are no plugs for any of the sinks.

There is no fence line on the lower field to stop small children from going near the deep, fast flowing river. Luckily, my kids listened to our instructions not to go near the water, but that didn't stop other kids from the top field.

There is no elsan disposal on the lower field, meaning you have to hike over the railway bridge with any waste to the other field, to empty any toilet cartridges. (Roughly 300 metres. ) the disposal point is in serious need of attention, the lid is made of rotting plywood, and is very flimsy.

There were no apparent signs of the facilities being cleaned at all, the staff in the pub were told, but obviously they didn't care. There were a few people that were so disgusted with the site, that they left after 1 night!

There are only 2 electric hook up points on the lower field (supplying 4 users) 1 by the toilet block, and one adjacent to the track by the railway entrance. If you require electric, ensure you have a long hook up so you don't have to set up too close to other tents.

Previous     86 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over £885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth £119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3319 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019