Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Bridge House Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Gloucestershire > Site Reviews

Bridge House Campsite
Bridge House
Lechlade
Gloucestershire   (Browse area)
GL7 3AG
Tel: 01367 252348
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Pitches:
Open:

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 47 Reviews
                8/10 from 47 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Dog Walk 

Reviews:  47 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pldbr 2 reviews from this member

I am sorry to say, but after coming to this overpriced site every August Bank Holiday for the last 10 years, my family and our friends will be looking elsewhere next year. Over the last few years more and more rules have come into force which have removed the pleasant atmosphere that once existed. Although this site is in a brilliant location, I believe that is the only reason people stay here. The site is expensive and there are minimal facilities for what you pay. I have stayed elsewhere in the UK for 1/2 the price with better toilets and showers. The basins are too close together and the showers are small. Also there are only 4 showers (2 male, 2 female) for over 50 pitches. There are no marked pitches unless you use electric, your bbq must now be 18 inches off the ground and you can no longer keep wood burning in the bbq after cooking. As you are in an open field, it can get very cold in the evening and being able to use a fire to keep warm makes the experience much more pleasant. The site is in a brilliant position just being across the river Thames from Lechlade and you have easy access to the Thames Path and the pubs that run along it, but that does not make up for the shortcomings of the site and those that run it.

I am sorry but our experience this year with rudeness and no understanding means we will not be back.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jenny Rose 1 review from this member

Yes, the location is excellent, despite the noisy traffic on the adjacent road and Lechlade is a lovely, picturesque village with all the facilities you could want.

However, for years this campsite has urgently needed some serious investment, especially a new toilet block. The showers are pokey, dark and horrible. All the toilet cistern handles have been patched up with pot rivets. The 'hair dryer' is also antiquated. The Gents showers have poor water pressure and it's often impossible to control the temperature - often cold only. Timed lights switch off after a minute or so.

The entrance/exit needs to be widened and made safer, especially because of the adjacent busy road.

No receipt was offered at all and 20 deposit for one key fob is a bit steep. We didn't really feel welcome there and were glad to leave.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bob61 26 reviews from this member

I have forgotten the number of times I have been to this site. It is certainly one of my favourite sites and being only about 1. 5 hours drive from home it is quite convenient for the 'spur of the moment' camping trips.

Very little has changed since the first time I went there about 7 or 8 years ago and it is one of those lovely sites that has remained as basic but as comfortable as it can and held it's prices down. They charge per person which is good for me being a solo camper and I paid 8 plus 4 for EHU per night. Being only 5-10 minutes walk from the town and only a field away from the River Thames and the Riverside Inn it is in a prime location and therefore excellent value for money.

As other reviewers have said, facilities are small and basic but very clean and adequate with plenty of hot water. The camping field is kept decently mown but not like a bowling green. I noticed the last time I went that they were having rabbit problems causing little holes on the pitches and that has not improved although the holes are filled in regularly. On this occasion I noticed problems with mole hills on a couple of pitches closest to reception but a mole catcher was employed to deal with them. These are just small problems and pitches are generally very well maintained.

Since my last visit they have managed to sort out the EHU pitches so that all are in reach of an electric pillar. Previously some pitches had to use extension leads.

All in all a very clean and basic site but with all necessary facilities and with a fair and affordable tariff.

I did say I would give one of the town pubs a plug. The Swan Inn has recently been taken over by a new licensee who is trying to rebuild the business. As I walked in all 3 locals, the licensee and the lady behind the bar gave a cheerie 'hello' which was very welcoming in this day and age. They sell some good real ales and well worth a visit.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bellevueace 8 reviews from this member

I stayed one night at this site as I was attending a speedway meeting at nearby Swindon. The site itself is only a 5 minute walk from the center of Lechlade, on arrival the lady on reception was friendly and quickly booked me in and gave me all the information I needed, the key fob for the barrier and toilet/showers is a good idea. There is a medium sized field at the bottom of the path from reception and a smaller field where the warden is based. The pitch was spacious and the grass had just been cut, its very level so was comfortable. The toilet/shower block is on the small side but spotless clean and ideal for your needs, similar the washing up area. Even though the site is by a main road I wasn't aware of the traffic at all, it was a quiet site with no noise at all after 10pm. I spoke to the wardens and again found them to be friendly and pleasant. Overall I'm glad I found this site and the next time I stay here it will be for more than one night, its ideal for spending time around the Cotswolds and at 8 a night is great value. A good site I enjoyed my stay.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: 2 caravan crazies 2 reviews from this member

WOW! What an amazing place, the owners and staff are so friendly and helpful, the site is well kept and the toilets and showers are spotless. We have been there quite a few times, ideal for couples wanting a relaxing, get away from it all holiday. Close to local shops and there's plenty of take away's near by, there's also a frienldy pub on the other side of the bridge that does lovely food too.

Highly recommend Bridge House Campsite

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mrsmertz 5 reviews from this member

Just had a lovely 2 night stop here. Great handy location for Lechlade - literally a stone's throw. Plenty of room on the site. The showers and toilets, although a bit dated, were clean and tidy. Yes, as some people have said, there is traffic noise but it isn't that bad. The annoying yapping dog in another motorhome was more of a nuisance. Nice large area in the centre and generous sized pitches. We liked having the security fob and the idea of having it on a lanyard was good. We'd stay here again.

Previous     47 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Gloucestershire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win Duvulay Luxury Sleeping Bags worth 560!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 17 to 20 Jan 2019, Event City
Huge choice of the latest model caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes on display from over 200 exhibitors ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1931 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to 369 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to 780

Open Today's Window to reveal Today's Prize





0.0898