Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Bridge House Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Gloucestershire > Lechlade > Bridge House Campsite Reviews

Bridge House Campsite
Bridge House
Lechlade
Gloucestershire   (Browse area)
GL7 3AG
Tel: 01367 252348
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 53 Reviews
                8/10 from 53 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  53 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Jeremy 2 reviews from this member

 This site has everything I needed.

Plenty of space.

Hot showers.

Clean toilets and shower room.

An area for washing up cooking stuff.

Friendly staff. 


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Doroth 1 review from this member

 Lovely site and so convenient for Lechlade and the Thames walking path. We had a fantastic welcome too.

We stayed on the adult only part of the site which was close to the showers, bins etc.

There was some road noise but it was tolerable.

We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and will be returning. 


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Hotta2 1 review from this member

 Easy to find, just off the main road and just a short walk across a field to Letchlade. Although all

Pitches are grass, the site is well drained and flat. Shower block small but clean. Washing up and recycling facilities available.

The owner is very friendly and check in is quick and easy. Electricity and water is on hand. Good location for touring the Cotswolds. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Johnsh 1 review from this member

 Very enjoyable stay, great location and spacious site.

Full marks for general site security, upkeep and covid safety measures.

Will certainly be back again. 


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Compto 1 review from this member

 Very nice quiet site. Owner was very friendly and helpful as were our fellow caravaners and tenters!

Lovely walk along the river to a couple of pubs and The Swan Hotel in Lechlade was so welcoming and food was fab

Would stay again 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Mike walton 3 reviews from this member

 Excellent location. Couple of minutes from Thames path and then into Lechlade.

Very secure site, clean toilets/showers with clever Covid arrangements.

Access a little tight for larger units but swing wide on entry. Ideal for solo travellers as charged per head not per unit.

Will visit again when in that area. Superb walking routes but bus service disappointing. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pldbr 2 reviews from this member

 I am sorry to say, but after coming to this overpriced site every August Bank Holiday for the last 10 years, my family and our friends will be looking elsewhere next year. Over the last few years more and more rules have come into force which have removed the pleasant atmosphere that once existed. Although this site is in a brilliant location, I believe that is the only reason people stay here. The site is expensive and there are minimal facilities for what you pay. I have stayed elsewhere in the UK for 1/2 the price with better toilets and showers. The basins are too close together and the showers are small. Also there are only 4 showers (2 male, 2 female) for over 50 pitches. There are no marked pitches unless you use electric, your bbq must now be 18 inches off the ground and you can no longer keep wood burning in the bbq after cooking. As you are in an open field, it can get very cold in the evening and being able to use a fire to keep warm makes the experience much more pleasant. The site is in a brilliant position just being across the river Thames from Lechlade and you have easy access to the Thames Path and the pubs that run along it, but that does not make up for the shortcomings of the site and those that run it.

I am sorry but our experience this year with rudeness and no understanding means we will not be back. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jenny Rose 1 review from this member

 Yes, the location is excellent, despite the noisy traffic on the adjacent road and Lechlade is a lovely, picturesque village with all the facilities you could want.

However, for years this campsite has urgently needed some serious investment, especially a new toilet block. The showers are pokey, dark and horrible. All the toilet cistern handles have been patched up with pot rivets. The 'hair dryer' is also antiquated. The Gents showers have poor water pressure and it's often impossible to control the temperature - often cold only. Timed lights switch off after a minute or so.

The entrance/exit needs to be widened and made safer, especially because of the adjacent busy road.

No receipt was offered at all and 20 deposit for one key fob is a bit steep. We didn't really feel welcome there and were glad to leave. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Bob61 28 reviews from this member

 I have forgotten the number of times I have been to this site. It is certainly one of my favourite sites and being only about 1. 5 hours drive from home it is quite convenient for the 'spur of the moment' camping trips.

Very little has changed since the first time I went there about 7 or 8 years ago and it is one of those lovely sites that has remained as basic but as comfortable as it can and held it's prices down. They charge per person which is good for me being a solo camper and I paid 8 plus 4 for EHU per night. Being only 5-10 minutes walk from the town and only a field away from the River Thames and the Riverside Inn it is in a prime location and therefore excellent value for money.

As other reviewers have said, facilities are small and basic but very clean and adequate with plenty of hot water. The camping field is kept decently mown but not like a bowling green. I noticed the last time I went that they were having rabbit problems causing little holes on the pitches and that has not improved although the holes are filled in regularly. On this occasion I noticed problems with mole hills on a couple of pitches closest to reception but a mole catcher was employed to deal with them. These are just small problems and pitches are generally very well maintained.

Since my last visit they have managed to sort out the EHU pitches so that all are in reach of an electric pillar. Previously some pitches had to use extension leads.

All in all a very clean and basic site but with all necessary facilities and with a fair and affordable tariff.

I did say I would give one of the town pubs a plug. The Swan Inn has recently been taken over by a new licensee who is trying to rebuild the business. As I walked in all 3 locals, the licensee and the lady behind the bar gave a cheerie 'hello' which was very welcoming in this day and age. They sell some good real ales and well worth a visit. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bellevueace 8 reviews from this member

 I stayed one night at this site as I was attending a speedway meeting at nearby Swindon. The site itself is only a 5 minute walk from the center of Lechlade, on arrival the lady on reception was friendly and quickly booked me in and gave me all the information I needed, the key fob for the barrier and toilet/showers is a good idea. There is a medium sized field at the bottom of the path from reception and a smaller field where the warden is based. The pitch was spacious and the grass had just been cut, its very level so was comfortable. The toilet/shower block is on the small side but spotless clean and ideal for your needs, similar the washing up area. Even though the site is by a main road I wasn't aware of the traffic at all, it was a quiet site with no noise at all after 10pm. I spoke to the wardens and again found them to be friendly and pleasant. Overall I'm glad I found this site and the next time I stay here it will be for more than one night, its ideal for spending time around the Cotswolds and at 8 a night is great value. A good site I enjoyed my stay. 


Previous     53 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Bridge House Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Bridge House Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Bridge House Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Lechlade      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gloucestershire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 13/01 to 16/01
Largest selection of caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes in the North of England ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3499 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement