Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Finchale Abbey Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Co Durham > Durham > Finchale Abbey Touring Park Reviews

Finchale Abbey Touring Park
Finchale Abbey Farm
Durham
Co Durham   (Browse area)
DH1 5SH
Tel: 0191 3866528
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 155 Reviews
                9/10 from 155 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (14)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  155 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: January 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dayman 1 review from this member

 We didnít manage to get to finchale due to covid but we are so looking forward to seeing it soon as

It looks a lovely place down by the abbey and river 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: MNW7 3 reviews from this member

 Good site next to the Abbey. Pitches well spaced but most require levelling ramps, wooden blocks provided if required by friendly helpful staff.

Located next to the river with scenic walks along the river and into Durham.

Would visit again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Pennine Plodder 24 reviews from this member

 I feel I should place a caveat on this review. This was a visit during Covid and everything was contactless, so other than folk heading for the facilities nobody spoke other than a greeting!

Lovely clean, quiet site. The only sounds were the A1(M) in the distance and the ducks, chickens and guinea fowl.

The negative for me, the pitch was on the hillside, not level in the slightest. Once vaguely levelled, the jockey only just touched at the front. I was congratulated by others on being able to park on the pitch! Thank heavens for motor movers. Do not select anything beginning with T.

When I came away, I had to bring everything down on to level ground as hook-up was not happening on the hillside.

The site had gone to the trouble of tarmacing the pitches, it seems a shame that the pitches are not level.

My first visit to the area but I would certainly return. 


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Philpo 1 review from this member

 Very nice clean well kept site, good for dog walks, nice river walk, near shops, town and plenty tourest sites.

Site very hilly but wood available

No one on hand when arrived which would be nice but lovely place will go back 


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Flearn 11 reviews from this member

 Excellent site in a beautiful location.

Priory ruins and a river within a few yards of the site.

Very clean toilet blocks.

Shop at the Priory sells ice creams, sandwiches and drinks.

Some pitches are on a awkward slope so you just need to look at how you pitch.

Great site for relaxing or walking to Durham(4mile), cycle riding (steep hill getting out of campsite)

Very friendly staff. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Northerngal33 6 reviews from this member

 Lovely clean site, cant comment on facilities as closed due to Covid19. Never spoke to a member of staff at all, social distancing taken To the extreme, I'd have thought a welcome would have been nice but nothing from them at all.

Abbey stunning.

Very poor on walking routes though which was disappointing for us.

Not too far into Durham if you're driving, park and ride available on route. Bug shipping centre close by for if you forget something.

I'm not sure if we would return as rather bored after 2 days of nothing to do and nowhere to go. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: February 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Andrea 1 review from this member

 Nice quiet site with good facilities. Walk in the woods and along the river very good to let the dog off, but there is an allocated dog walk on site too.

Small cafe and shop. The ruins of the priory are very interesting which are open to the public.

Would recommend to friends. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Louissa 19 reviews from this member

 A last minute booking after rain changed our touring plans - and what a find!

A lovely site, in the crook of the river next to the old priory - perfect. Room for perhaps 20 tourers (although there is a large static village beyond the touring site so there are more people around). It was fairly expensive - £25-30 per pitch - but unlike some other places, I felt it was justified.

The warden was very friendly and helpful. There is a small cafe and shop on site too.

The facilities were brilliant - clean and modern, including accessible toilets/showers. In the ladies at least, there are two sink cubicles for privacy while washing; one with a hairdryer.

There was a short (on lead) dog walking area on the site - around the orchard. The grass paths are kept short but amongst the trees, it's more natural - which meant it smelled very interesting to our dog! (She was also fascinated by the guinea fowl wandering around the site :)) Over the river (via a footbridge), there is a public woodland which was suitable for an off-lead run -- and there are some doggy-paddling spots in the river too.

We found the site very quiet - but almost because of that, we could hear the road noise (the A1) when we were outside. This wasn't a problem really, just a small note. 


Date of Visit: October 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Steve3 2 reviews from this member

 Okay, first things first, this is a most beautiful location, with the river Wear and ruins of Finchale Abbey. The staff we met were very helpful and compared to some sites, it's very easy to get to.

However.

The hardstandings for the caravan and camper pitches are far from level meaning it's impossible to put an awning up. The first pitches we were offered were at the top of a hill on a bank, I would love to see how anyone with a twin axle caravan could actually pitch there.

If there is a "restaurant" on site, we never found it, there's a tea room but that's not a restaurant.

The so called on site WiFi is seemingly not on site, not great if you're away but still need to keep in touch with work, one of the reasons for booking was for WiFi.

Were we the only ones to keep our dogs on a short lead or a lead at all? And what's with the free range birds that sit outside at dawn squawking?

The largest struggle at this site really was the angle we had to put the caravan at to get it level combined with the swampy grass to jump down onto, our ageing dogs needed to be lifted to get in through the door as it was so high off the ground. 


Date of Visit: September 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Glasgo 1 review from this member

 We booked for 2 nights our first visit to Finchale Abbey won't be our last, it was beautiful area campsite very well kept.

My husband and I will surely return and have told family and friends how wonderful it was. 
via mobile


Previous     155 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Finchale Abbey Touring Park child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Finchale Abbey Touring Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Finchale Abbey Touring Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Durham      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Co Durham

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet New Forest Caravan & Motorhome Show 21/05 to 25/03
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1136 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement