Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Finchale Abbey Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Co Durham > Durham > Finchale Abbey Touring Park Reviews

Finchale Abbey Touring Park
Finchale Abbey Farm
Durham
Co Durham   (Browse area)
DH1 5SH
Tel: 0191 3866528
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 146 Reviews
                9/10 from 146 Reviews

Photos (14)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach 10 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  146 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Glasgo34450wjz 1 review from this member

We booked for 2 nights our first visit to Finchale Abbey won't be our last, it was beautiful area campsite very well kept.

My husband and I will surely return and have told family and friends how wonderful it was.
via mobile

Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Clappersgirl 4 reviews from this member

This is a beautifully-situated peaceful site adjacent to the ruined Finchale Priory which you should spend the time to explore.

We had chosen the G1 pitch which we found to be at the back of the site and elevated so that we had a wonderful view over the Priory. It was, however, virtually within the Park Homes, more to their detriment than ours I would think as we were facing the other way.

This little village of homes, not holiday accommodation, is for the over 50s and adults only, and apart from cars driving in and out you would hardly know they were there.

The site was only about half full during our midweek stay so was extremely quiet. The facilities were 5*, spotlessly clean and very warm (it wasn't the best of August weather). Lots of hot water at all times, 4 toilets, 2 washbasin cubicles, 2 shower cubicles and a large wet-room with shower, basin and toilet, presumably for the disabled. That was the ladies, the men's was similar, I am told, apart from some urinals instead of toilet cubicles.

The showers, alas, were push button, but at least you got about a minute with each push. My problem with them is that you cannot change the water temperature or the position of the shower head. No problem here as there was plenty of room in the cubicle to avoid the initial cold water.

As previously mentioned, a few more hooks in the shower would be welcome. There was just one on the back of the door, and one cubicle had an additional hanging rail. But full marks for a shelf in the actual shower plus a shower tidy, so somewhere to put all your bits and bobs.

We were on a fully-serviced pitch, our own water and grey waste drain. It was also very level so no chocks needed. The whole site is very well-maintained, grass cut and well planted.

There is a café and little shop which we didn't use, more for the visitors to the Priory, and Wi-Fi available in reception, again not used.

There is a steep hill out of the site and it is a walk of at least a mile down the quiet road to the bus stop outside the prison. There is a bus once an hour which goes to Durham via the Arnison Centre, an out-of-town shopping area with Sainsburys, Lidl (or was it Aldi?) Next, M & S. McDonalds etc etc. Useful, but nothing exciting to be seen there.

We walked into Durham and found it took us nearly an hour and a half. It is an easy walk and we walk at an average speed so we reckoned it was a bit over 4 miles to the centre of Durham and a welcome cup of coffee. Durham is quite compact and very interesting, sitting in the loop of the River Wear.

We enjoyed the Cathedral and the nearby visitor centre which had a good film about the history of the city. Plenty of cafes, restaurants and pubs and a proper indoor market. On another day we caught the bus into Durham and then another to Gateshead, the 21 which took ages as it stopped at virtually every bus stop. Get the X21 which is a bit quicker. We passed the Angel of the North on the way.

We visited the Baltic Centre in Gateshead which has some excellent art exhibitions and which has a good café, but missed seeing the swing bridge do its swing. Back in Durham we took a taxi back to the site and were surprised at how cheap it was, £10. The same distance would cost us a minimum of £16 back home.

We enjoyed our stay but probably would not return as we have now visited Durham and restricted as we are to walking or the bus we did not think there was a great deal more that we wanted to do.

Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: SmedmorDCH 10 reviews from this member

A very quiet well run adult only site,

As others have stated bit of a slope,

The toilet block has a code system,

We stayed here to visit Beamish open air museum, the site has discount tickets for this and other places of interest,

There is a small shopping centre a mile away if that.

And as others have said the sited caravan/lodge residents travel too fast through the site.

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Other Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Tedthebudgie 40 reviews from this member

Stayed in one of the two camping pods for one might on the way up to Scotland. Price was £40 which is about average.

Pod was clean and had two single beds with mattresses. Couple of chairs outside.

Very clean. Modern facilities.

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Custard15 16 reviews from this member

This tucked-away touring park is a wonderfully quiet adult-only haven, overlooking the ruins of Finchale Priory and the sandstone cliffs of the river Wear. However, you need to bear in mind that nothing is in walking distance (except the prison), so plan your food / drive out).

The site is dog-friendly (with dedicate dog walk area). The downside for campervans / motorhomes is that some pitches have quite a slope, so ramps are likely to be necessary. But I noticed that they have some spare chocks available to borrow (though I'm not sure if they have anything for vans, just caravans).

However, all the pitches or of a good size and have easy access to the hook-up - and you don't really feel neighbouring pitches are over-looked.

The residents of the wooden cabins behind the touring park seem to buzz around quiet a lot and don't appear to see the need to keep their speeds down, but it is a kid-free area, so not the end of the world.

The facilities block is a really good one. Code controlled access, which make sense given how many people visit the neighbouring priory and walks. They are nice and warm, clean and spacious, with an accessible wetroom plus two further showers, wash cubicles (one with hair drier) and toilets – more than enough for the number of pitches.

Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Phoebs 3 reviews from this member

This was an excellent site, beautifully maintained, situated in picturesque countryside with view of Abbey.

Very peaceful and friendly place, and conveniently situated for visiting Beamish and Durham. However, there are also plenty of lovely walks on the doorstep.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Archie Bargee 26 reviews from this member

Lovely site, peaceful and, in theory, adults only - but because it is next to a private 'holiday village' this means that the children staying there trundle up and down the site road with bikes, balls etc. Cars belonging to the people there started rolling out of the site before 6am as well.

We chose badly when it came to the pitch (from the website) we didn't realise that it was sloping in both directions and needed to do a bit of clever shuffling with the ramps to get almost level, we were allowed to change pitches for the next night which was a great relief.

The loos and showers are good, though more hooks to hang clothes on (and more shower seats possibly?) would help, good to have a door code but the catches are a little tired so the doors don't always close properly making the security obsolete.

All in all a site we would return to if we are in the area again.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: ArtieMiss 6 reviews from this member

We did wonder about this 'Adult only' tag, not having read any reviews beforehand. But thankfully is was just so that there's no screaming children running around! The first thing that stuck me about this site is the security! we arrived about 5pm and couldn't get in.

Thankfully a kind lady that lived there arrived soon after and let us in. You need a security code for everything! I don't know about you, but my memory ain't great so I had to write them down and made sure the notes were with me at all times.

That said, it's a beautiful, well maintained site next to a river with Priory ruins too. Very picturesque. The washing machine/tumble dryer were free to use once you got a hold of the key to the door from the office. The toilet block was fine.

The only down side to our stay here was the water pressure, it was very poor! Great that this site was so close to town though for eating and purchasing a much needed duvet!

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Baker 13 1 review from this member

Second visit to this wonderful relaxing site, a great place to relax and unwind as you are set amongst the old ruins of the Abbey and the pitches are spacious that add to the calmness.

The facilities are very good and clean and the owners/staff friendly and welcoming so will definitely be returning soon.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Graham Price 1 review from this member

If your looking to get away from it all for a quiet relaxed stay at a beautiful location with excellent amenities - look no further.

Finchale Abbey really does fit the bill and is definitely at the very top of our list.

Very friendly club site staff where nothing is too much trouble in helping you enjoy your holiday break.

Graham & Julie Price - Durham

Previous     146 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Durham      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Co Durham

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans – plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3792 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019