Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Finchale Abbey Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Co Durham > Durham > Finchale Abbey Touring Park Reviews

Finchale Abbey Touring Park
Finchale Abbey Farm
Durham
Co Durham   (Browse area)
DH1 5SH
Tel: 0191 3866528
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 41
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 168 Reviews
                9/10 from 168 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (14)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  168 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Harvey 1 review from this member

 Lovely and clean and well kept site. Lovely walks along the river, right next to 'Cocken woods' and 'finchale Abbey'.

Shower block was nice and clean and up today facilities.

Would definitely recommend. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: March 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Ggeiss 1 review from this member

 Our first outing in our motorhome and chose the perfect site to get used to it.

Friendly and helpful staff, facilities immaculate, great location and some nice dog walks from site.

Definitely would stay here again. 


Date of Visit: October 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Carolm 1 review from this member

 My husband and I came here for the first time.

Lovely site, good to be able to visit the abbey and to hear the water.

Very peaceful, excellent facilities. Iím sure we will be back. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Rjcr53 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely peaceful site with spotless facilities.

Adjacent to ruins of Finchale Priory which makes an attractive setting. Shop adjoining Priory.

Riverside walks very pleasant.

Handy for Durham although there is quite a walk along the road to get to the stop.

Not far to park and ride which is much easier although involves taking vehicle off site. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Sutonb 1 review from this member

 Lovely clean site we were lucky to have a flat pitch but a bit strange to have motor homes parked across front of us.

Lovely view of the Abbey and nice river walk.

Nice to see ducks etc wandering round site.

Didnít get chance to explore the area as we were only here for 2 nights and booked specifically to visit Beamish Museum which was about 10 minutes away by car.

The site gave us a voucher code for 25% off our entrance fee which was a bonus

Would definitely return. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Susiejane 25 reviews from this member

 I have only given 8/10 for location as there is a steep hill out of the site and not easy to walk up if you are retired. This meant that we had to drive everywhere including shopping for basics like milk and bread.

If there was a more substantial shop on site my score would be 10/10.

I did like that the Abbey was free to people on site.

I would recommend the site for visiting Durham. We also used it to go further afield to Lindisfarne and Cragside.

The pitches are good but not entirely level so chocks may be needed, we had our own but I believe there are some on the site to use too. 


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lovema 1 review from this member

 The area and site was beautiful.

We had read the reviews before booking and was aware of the hilly and uneven pitch comments, so when we booked we chose a pitch that was not on the hilly part, however when we arrived, someone was already on our pitch, the lady was not helpful, she went to find us a pitch and it was on the hill. There were no others she explained, as it was fully booked.

We managed with levelling on the caravan but the awning was impossible.

The toilet block a bit dated but sufficient.

Lovely walks along the river. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Topdeadcentre 5 reviews from this member

 Excellent small site, well organised and excellent facilities. All instructions for entry and pitch location sent by email due to covid. We where on level A, right in front of the abbey ruins on a level hard standing pitch.

Toilet facilities not far away in great condition. Some pitches are further up hill on grass and sloping.

Site is clean and tidy with plenty of space. Abbey ruins are free entry and are excellent with a small takeaway shop selling hot food as well as ice cream etc.

Staff are friendly and service is takeaway due to covid. As well as the abbey there is a river with a footbridge over giving excellent walks down both sides and access to the shallow areas to walk in the river. A popular local tourist spot.

Shops, supermarket and a shopping mall within 20mins drive. You can also walk from the site to Durham Cathedral, map is back of site map. Durham is less than 25mins drive 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Shirle 1 review from this member

 Absolutely loved it here. The setting is extremely picturesque and in an ideal spot for visiting many other places. The grounds and facilities were spotless.

Ann was extremely accommodating when making a special request to arrive early and cannot thank Jack enough for being a star while we were on site and helping with our trip to the cricket.

This is a little jewel and we will be returning in the future. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Woody3 1 review from this member

 First stay, hopefully won't be our last. Great couple of nights. Stayed there with our dogs. Lovely dog walk along the river.

Didn't use the facilities, but did have a look in the Shower/Toilet block and they where very clean and tidy. A bonus was the weather was great for our weekend. Look forward to returning.

I have marked down "Customer Service" down slightly. This was because we didn't see anyone from the site. But the information set was 1st class and to be honest there was no need for use to see anyone. 


Previous     168 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Finchale Abbey Touring Park child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Finchale Abbey Touring Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Finchale Abbey Touring Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Durham      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Co Durham

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2775 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement