Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Red House Farm Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > West Sussex > Chichester > Red House Farm Camping Site Reviews

Red House Farm Camping Site
Bookers Lane
Earnley
Chichester
West Sussex   (Browse area)
PO20 7JG
Tel: 01243 512959
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 75
Open: Easter To October 31st

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 44 Reviews
                9/10 from 44 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  44 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We regret that our site is currently closed until 08/04/2021 because of the advice and implications surrounding the outbreak of Coronavirus.

To enquire about a booking after 08/04/2021 or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Horse33 2 reviews from this member

 The campsite itself was beautifully clean. The pitches had plenty of space for any extras.

The facilities were very well kept and constantly being checked by staff. The lady that runs the park was very helpful and friendly.

They also sold some necessities which were great value for money.

They had children's karts which the kids loved. There were plenty of water points in close vicinity to all campers.

Overall a 10 out of 10 and cannot wait to stay here again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Grumpy man 5 reviews from this member

 Such a lovely, friendly site. Facilities nice and clean with plenty of space and extras to keep the kids amused (Go Karts available to hire for a small fee).

With Bracklesham Bay, East and West Wittering so close you have the pick of three lovely beaches with West Wittering being the pick of the bunch. Plenty of places locally to eat but our personal favourite is Billys on the Beach.

This site is so good, in such a beautiful area we booked our next stay before we left! Never done that at a campsite before. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Liz and Scott 3 reviews from this member

 Love this site. Try to come a couple of times a year, once with the family in school holidays and once on our own out of school holidays. Wonderful for kids as they seem to make friends very quickly and when the holidays are over it's perfect for grandma and grandad to relax! Love the area, Witterings, Selsey.

Toilets and showers are always clean. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Vickycu 1 review from this member

 Booked last minute after not being able to get into the big and well known campsites next to the beach, and so glad I came here instead. Was lovely staying here, even after all pitches in use it still didn't fill over packed and was plenty of room for the kids to play. Lovely and quiet. Owners were very helpful and as we didn't have an electric pitch, they let us use there electric and blow our bed up outside the office. They had a little sandpit for kids and the use of Go Karts at a tiny cost, which my son loved. Short drive away from West Wittering beach and a local Tesco and Co-Op. Would definitely come here again as just what we needed without that worry of it being over crowded and too noisy. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Heidihi 3 reviews from this member

 Summary:

Lovely, quiet, peaceful, relaxing, little campsite (approx. 40 pitches). Easy, natural site with adequate facilities for your basic camping needs

Full review:

Having decided very last-minute to have another short-break before the end of the summer holidays, we arrived in the area quite late (~4pm) on the most popular holidaying BH weekend of the year!

Being 'unseasoned' campers, we were still surprised to find all three 'Don't book, just turn up' sites chock-a-block. We then tried a couple of sites that take bookings, including Red House. Luckily, Red House had enough space for our little tent, and we spent three easy-going nights there.

Toilet block: ~8 toilets with paper (squares, not rolls), a hair dryer, 4 sinks with a nice handwash for each, mirrors a-plenty, paper towels, and a couple of HOT showers. Decent power, but a bit hot for my liking (can't adjust). 20p produces instant unstoppable 3-minute shower, but plenty room to keep clothes, etc. Dry on door hook. Had to wait for reception to open on our first morning to get some 20p pieces, and they didn't have many left.

Very basic kitchen with a couple of large stainless steel sinks, a microwave, and a bin. 10p for hot water, but cold is free. Not dirty, as in food/smells, but wouldn't hurt to hoover/sweep off the dead flies, webs, etc. From around the window areas. Youngest (11) was intrigued by the suction-cup-ended washing-up brushes stuck to the tiles, and managed to smack himself in the face with one as he pulled it off the wall. I thought that the addition of a kettle and maybe even a toaster would have been nice, but I suppose most campers are better prepared than us. My microwave tea was okay (oddly foamy. ).

Lovely to see that several dogs had brought their owners along. Plenty of surrounding fields for walkies, although eldest reported gate guarded by a 'bullish-looking cow' one time.

I agree with what another reviewer said about tents being further away from toilets than caravans. But I imagine it has something to do with the EHU. Distance of underground cables or something. ? The furthest tent pitch is about 18 or so pitches away from the toilets: ~3 min. Stroll. A nearby tap saved a few trips to the kitchen.

We made a little use of the games room, which is a shed containing a pool table (50p), a big stand-up Connect 4 game, and 3 arcade machines of some sort. Whilst wandering around looking for the games room, we found somewhere we soon realised we weren't supposed to be. It would be unfair to comment more on this, but a gate/door/lock/latch or at least a clear 'No entry' sign would be a good idea.

The beach in E. Wittering is shingle, but reveals sand as the tide goes out. We took our dog, and saw several other dogs there. Strong waves: many surfers/kite surfers.

West Wittering beach is reportedly an hour or so's walk away, but we never made it on foot as youngest can't keep out of the water; so I gave in and paid 8 to park at the huge W. Wittering car park on the last day, before travelling home. We had a fabulous time on the sandy beach for several hours, so 'swallowed' the parking fee.

Plenty of convenience stores, restaurants and take-aways nearby. Billy's on the beach: meals about 12, but they have a mobile cafe outside too with paninis for ~ 4, hot sausage rolls 1. 60, etc. The Boulevard does meals for 10. Didn't find a nice, cheap sit-down restaurant, although nearly ate at the Bracklesham Diner which seemed to have more reasonable prices, but they were too busy at the time.

The nights were wonderful. Children and the odd parent playing ball games, nerf-gun battles, etc. In the spacious field till late, smells and sounds of frying and BBQ food, gradually getting quieter as people went to bed. We fell asleep outside looking at the stars one night, although I awoke in the early hours to find myself alone: even the dog had gone inside!

The owner and his young lady assistant were quietly friendly, and pleasantly laid back. On the last day I asked when we needed to vacate, and he said whenever we liked. I'd gladly come here again, but youngest loves a playground and I think would have been a bit bored on occasion had he not found a friend to play with. He visited the little sand-pit briefly, and had a game of pool but otherwise thought there wasn't much to do. A rope swing from the lovely big tree near the sand pit, and a trampoline or two could be nice additions I feel. Shame there was no evening party I read about in an older review (or piped music/radio in the toilets), but overall, very happy we stayed at Red House Farm :) 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Campo17 7 reviews from this member

 Lovely quiet little campsite - basic but just what we needed. Clean toilet block and showers capable of handling the number of pitches. Nice flat large pitches - plenty of space to play ball games for kids. Within short distance of the Witterings and local amenities 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Fabandy 4 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely little simple site. Plenty of room for the grown ups and plenty of room for the kids to play. No shop as such and OK showers which thake 20p and that was long enough for me to shower.

Close to Chichester, Bracklesham and the Witterings.

The best bit is it only costs 20 per night with electric, so on that basis you really can't fault it. 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Clive the caravan 1 review from this member

 Thank Ted.

Just returned home from our second visit to your site this year.

Had a great time it was peaceful and relaxing the pitch had plenty of room to set up. Toilet and showers clean and tidy.

Great area to walk Buddy the beagle and plenty of wild life to look at.

I would recommend this site if you want to get away from it all.

We will be returning as soon as we can.

Steve & Jen. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Alan and marie 1 review from this member

 A basic campsite with loads of space only 2 shower cubicles in toilet block that are clean. I had a very relaxing

Time the only noise was children playing and that was no problem. On a whole well worth a visit. A lack of street lights ( no light pollution ) I could see the stars. On a clear night. It is just a short drive to the shops and beach which is pebble that does not allow dogs on. There are too many attractions to mention Portsmouth 20 miles away. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mike bond 11 reviews from this member

 We really enjoyed our short stay here. Its a quiet site run by friendly owners. It has a spacious open camping area with plenty of room for kids to run around. Big adjoining field if you have a dog. It wasn't too busy when we where there and the owners kindly allowed us to pack up under our own steam when leaving. The toilet block, despite being clean, is very tired. There is no doubt it needs updating but at 20 a night for 4 people including electric and awning I doubt you will find better value in this area. 


Previous     44 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Red House Farm Camping Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Red House Farm Camping Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Red House Farm Camping Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Chichester      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in West Sussex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6043 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement