Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Castle Howard Lakeside Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > York > Castle Howard Lakeside Holiday Park Reviews

Castle Howard Lakeside Holiday Park
Coneysthorpe
York
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO60 7DD
Tel: 01653 648316
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 160
Open: 01/03 To 31/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 66 Reviews
                8/10 from 66 Reviews

Photos (8)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  66 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Spyder27 11 reviews from this member

Lovely little site tucked away at the side of the lake opposite castle Howard. Probably a thirty minute walk by road but I think there is a walk direct from the site to the Home cross country (at least I think we saw some walking that way) You cannot get via the path around the lake.

Tourers are pitched amongst the trees right by the lake. I hope you like nature as the dawn chorus is plentiful lol. There is a decent toilet and shower block, maybe not the most modern but lovely and clean. There is no shop on site so come prepared. We had EHU and there was an Elesan point plus grey waste disposal, what more do you need.

We certainly intend coming again as it is less than an hour from home so ideal for weekend breaks. PLUS we got a two for one voucher for castle Howard from the site which makes the cost extremely reasonable.
via mobile

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Storeman_uk 7 reviews from this member

Nice quiet site with a large field for tents and motorhomes. Pitches are an ok size but I would have preferred slightly bigger. We didn't opt for EHU and as such found the standard pitches are furthest away from the facilities but not too far as to be inconvenient. The gents had ample facilities and although the site wasn't full there were a lot of tents with a lot of people I didn't have to wait to use the toilets or showers.

One reviewer was complaining about guard dogs and makes it appear that the dogs are on the campsite. I'll clear this up - the dogs and handlers only patrol the grounds for the Castle Howard estate NOT the campsite. The estate is closed to the public from about 5:30 - 6:00 PM so I don't find it unreasonable. As for there not being a dedicated footpath to the estate - well this person wants to be spoonfed everything. It is no hardship to walk up the road to get to the estate. In fact it makes a pleasant walk especially in the early evening. It is well worth walking past the estate to the first of the archways over the road just to look at the building.

The staff are friendly and they keep the place clean. The toilets are cleaned daily - probably multiple times but I met and spoke with a very friendly and pleasant cleaning lady each morning around 6:30am. The chipshop van on Saturday does a decent fish & chips but get to reception early as the queue grows quickly. The van staff are very efficient though and get through the orders quickly. Everything is cooked to order so no soggy batter or chips due to being kept warm.

The east coast resorts are all within an hour or so's drive as is York. There are other attractions around with leaflets available in the office.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mrmotorx 89 reviews from this member

Bank Holiday weekend, traffic is always bad at best around the A64 however with the tour de yorkshire as well I was surprised at how quick we arrived at the site. Sat nav got us to within the last 200 yards (common sense needed here a little bit), I rang before hand to book in and the very nice lady on the phone explained that if the office was shut, there would be a map on the door with our pitch number on and name on, this suited us perfectly and went to the office midday to pay the balance.

Site itself is more than adequate for a long weekend Its quiet but large enough for kids to explore, we walked up to the castle which at a steady walk took us 30 - 45 mins and a wander around the few gift/farm shops had a cuppa and walked back. We didn't bother paying to go into to castle grounds. Toilets were very clean, showers were hot and empty and electric never tripped out. Location is great very close to york, scarborough, brid and east coast.

Approach to site (for us) was straight forward, A64 from york side, turn left after (tinnard curry house/ just after dual carriage way starts. Then just keep going, we did come across an arch way in the middle of road 11'3' height I think and was a little unsure if we had gone wrong, Nope just carry on through that and keep going towards the castle. Site is a little passed the castle. When we left the site with caravan hitched up I was advise to go 4-5mile out of my way ( right out of site) towards malton, then right at the T junction, this actually takes you onto the A64 slip road and was great and very easy to do. I didn't want to cross two lanes of a dual carriage way and have to set off and get upto speed with a 27ft caravan behind me.

Very good site ( be brilliant with a little play area for kids) clean tidy well run and great location. Well done to all staff we will be back.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mechanic7 4 reviews from this member

Just spent a week here, lovely site, clean toilets and showers and the staff very pleasant and helpful, we came with friends from NZ who loved the site and surroundings. Castle Howard was a bonus as we got a discount price ticket and you get 2 visits in one week with it so if you missed anything you can go again free. If you don't like wild birds and pigeons waking you early with their songs then go in the large field, likewise if you don't want the ducks round your caravan don't feed them, most people accept this and it is in the country with a huge lake on site so its part of your camping holiday. Downside is the approach road from the A64, 2 narrow arches to go through, I went from Malton and found it easy. In all I would return again no problems with site for us.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Laughts 1 review from this member

Friendly staff upon arrival, helpful advice on locale. 18 for a couple per night with hook up was a bargain- hard standing and plenty of space. Unlike previous reviews, I found that the toilet block was clean, well decorated and of a good standard- absolutely no complaints here. Walks around lake were wonderful- shame you can't walk all the way to Castle Howard, but considering how much security they need there, I am not surprised. Cheap access with vouchers from the campsite to the Castle (9. 50 each for two days within a week) was incredibly good value. Only disappointment was there are no pubs within 3 miles, but the quiet location (apart from the morning birds, LOL) with the lake walks with fantastic views of the Castle and a bottle (or two) of wine more than made up for it. I will go back again!

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Monkey13 1 review from this member

Refer to Nick777 comments as they are pretty accurate. We have 4 children ranging from 2 to 9 and have just returned from a 3 night easter stay. It was our first camping endeavour with all the children and we had a fabulous time. Yes, the campsite and facilities are basic but they have everything you need (toilets, warm showers/ water, a washing up and waste disposal area, space for the kids to kick a ball around) and a stunning setting. We were really pleased with our stay and will definitely return. A great start to our camping adventures.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nick777 1 review from this member

Just returned from a 3 night stay, had a great time. We were in the tent field, it wasn't busy at all, only about 4 or 5 other tents at any one time, we had loads of space. No noise at all from other guests, it was well respected, the birds and ducks do get a little noisy at times, but the site is next to a lake, it never bothered us at all, I'd rather have animal noises rather than noisy guests.

The shower block was ok, I didn't see staff clean it, but other guests seem to respect it and keep it clean, no issues at all.

There isn't a lot on the site itself, no shop, or park which was a shame as I would give it top marks if it had a park, there is a big open space for kids to play though.

Castle Howard is well worth a visit, we spent a full day there using the vouchers, which gave entry for 9' and 6 for kids. You can also visit again for free within 7 days so worth thinking about if you're there a few days, even just to use the park for the kids as it's big.

We visited Scarborough and York, easy travelling distance.

Overall a great site, would definitely go again.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Neil684 35 reviews from this member

Although Castle howard is a glorious place, we will not be returning as we do not believe we are at all welcome there.

We stayed at the estate campsite in our motorhome for 4 days in July. Whilst the campsite staff were friendly and helpful, we were seriously disturbed by the threatening signs displayed at the campsite entrance to the effect that 'entering after hours (unspecified) would result in deployment of guard dogs. ' Similar signs were displayed on the campsite gate leading to the lakeside.

Since these signs would only be visible to walkers on the campsite, it would appear that the Castle Howard Estate would like to discourage walkers. This conclusion was borne out by the poor, missing and downright misleading signage and poor maintenance on public footpaths just outside the estate. Our conclusion was also confirmed in discussion with a local resident.

In the same vein, we were disappointed that there is no walking route from the campsite into the estate except by walking along the road and entering the car park, thus confirming that the estate really doesn't want walkers.

Finally, although the 'guard dog' signs suggest you have a security problem, we were extremely surprised to find no management presence (or even contact nos. ) after office hours. It is extremely unusual to find a site like this totally unmanned out of hours especially as we saw many people entering and cruising the site after hours, and in one case, using the showers then leaving.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Baboonbum 5 reviews from this member

I booked this site mainly because of the Castle Howard proximity and fishing with my dog on the lake, Castle Howard is a must see and it only costs 9 per adult as it is discounted when you book your pitch, some folk have suggested going through Malton to avoid the gateway into Castle Howard but I would suggest going out of your way to experience this entry, for me it was magical. I was disappointed at the fishing aspect as I was only allowed on a certain place on the lake because I had my dog and it was thick weed for about 40 ft from shore, the swans had cygnets so a sign stopping dogs going to the main walk was in place. The toilets and showers are tired but functional, the shower was powerful and hot, the water disposal was easy and clean. Wood pigeon cooing as some folk have commented on wasn't to bad, you are in the country folks so nature can be heard. York and Scarborough are well worth visiting but parking expensive 6 for 3 hours, there is no shop on the site and nearest store is Malton 5 miles away also a place to seek out and walk about is the village of Terrington, this could be the set for Emmerdale, it will be someday, all in all a nice peaceful site, but thank goodness Castle Howard was so close the place where Brideshead Revisited was filmed is a must see

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: AliBe 2 reviews from this member

Had a 3 night stay here for the Bank Holiday weekend. The site has a large grass field for tents which wasn't very busy whilst we were there. There are some electric hook ups for tents available if required. In terms of space and location this site is great. Plenty of space for children to play ball games etc and located very close to Castle Howard where you can visit the courtyard cafe, giftshop and the deli. Within easy driving of the coast, York, Malton and Helmsley.

The shower block was ok and only just adequate. Very grubby, never saw it get cleaned. 4 toilets and 4 showers in the Ladies. I would imagine that when the site is full you will have to queue for the shower/toilet.

I must agree with other reviewers that the bird noise is some thing else! But you are in the middle of the countryside!

Previous     66 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near York      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5988 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019