Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Castle Howard Lakeside Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > York > Castle Howard Lakeside Holiday Park Reviews

Castle Howard Lakeside Holiday Park
Coneysthorpe
York
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO60 7DD
Tel: 01653 648316
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 160
Open: 01/03 To 31/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 66 Reviews
                8/10 from 66 Reviews

Photos (8)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  66 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Motorhome-Mark 13 reviews from this member

The site simply has it all. The location is so incredibly peaceful, especially when you consider it is part of the ever popular Castle Howard estate. Okay - we visited midweek, but still. There are plenty of walks / trails, plus obviously the house and gardens to visit.

The staff meanwhile were lovely, especially the lady who told us she could see Castle Howard from her loo in the village! Seriously though - staff were not only helpful, but so enthusiastic and friendly too.

Back to the site - its clean, spacious and is adjacent to a pleasant and larger static site. It backs onto the Great Lake (of the stately home) and thus, creates a lovely natural environment for all kinds of birdlife. The heron was the highlight of our stay.

Didn't see any of the problems mentioned by the person below - toilets were spotless and were cleaned once if not twice a day. Didn't see a scrap of litter either.

Will definitely return - one of the best sites we have been to. So relaxed and friendly.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Detectivepufferfish 4 reviews from this member

Lovely campsite. Good facilities. However could do with a childs play area near the tent area. The place was clean and good hot water.

There is a beautiful walk around a lake where my kids enjoyed feeding the swans and ducks.

There was a bit of traffic noise where we were placed in the camp field and a lot of holes which I had to fill prior to pitching my tent.

Other than this I would recommend this campsite to others. Top tip would be to take a football or other like item as we managed to get a football match up and running between the adults and the children in the tent field. Good fun.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jlewisjones 3 reviews from this member

This site is located in North Yorkshire in An Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty (AONB) in the grounds of one of England's grandest Baroque mansions, Castle Howard. Which was the filming location for the 1981 TV serial and the 2008 Miramax Films version of Brideshead Revisited. The site is located next to a lake which over looks Castle Howard.

As a location the site is wonderful but unfortunately during our seven day visit the shower block was only cleaned out once and the hot water never got above lukewarm.

The camping field was not litter picked and the site offered no recycling facilities.

The problems with the showers not being cleaned were reported three times to the site staff but no action was taken.

If the showers were clean and site had hot water I would love to return but not until these issues are addressed.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Westwick 4 reviews from this member

Expected a little more from this site with it being near Castle Howard and thought it expensive for what it was. When we arrived the office was closed so we took ourselves off to pitch allocated (left on door for us).

Electric supply was so far away our lead wouldn't reach and there wasn't anyone there to help. We found another free pitch and set up there. We had family staying in a tent but they were so far away from us we mostly drove to and from one another. (They had to drive to the toilet block in a morning as so far away from their tent) We just didn't get that 'good feeling' about this site at all.

Pitches also under huge trees so very dark and bleak feeling. Nothing much to do here for our children either. We were woken early with cars driving past our van (maybe campers going to the toilet!) so all in all not a site we would recommend.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Ragdoll22 3 reviews from this member

After reading the reviews made by other people we where really looking forward to visiting this site, castle howard is in the most beautiful area the gardens are magnificent. The wardens were really nice people

The area around the campsite is beautiful a 2 minute walk and you are at the side of the great lake with swans, ducks and a lot more besides we did not have children with us but watching the faces of the children there was a treat, could of been the first time they had seen such a view. It was about 1 mile to the house itself so an easy cycle ride or walk.

The thing that let the campsite down was the cleanliness or should I say the lack of it. We were there for 3 days should of been 4 but the need for a clean hot shower sent us home as there was no hot water, a lot of people where complaining about this, and people with kiddies found it difficult because the showers were so small

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Chappie 3 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a week spent on this site and I have nothing but glowing reports. It is a wonderfully peaceful place with superb views of Castle Howard across the lake.

Facilities were excellent staff really friendly, pitches were fine and not too close. There is the small village of Terrington approximately 3 miles away where there is a General Store and an excellent pub serving delicious meals and Malton is approx 5 miles away where there is a Morrisons and numerous place to eat.

A few minutes down the road from the site is Castle Howard itself and in the courtyard there a is a Bistro and a Butchers and other small shops. All in all we had a really relaxing stay and I for one can't wait to return.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Capel curig 7 reviews from this member

Stayed at this site for a weekend to do some mountain biking

Campsite owners were really friendly with nice spacious hardstanding pitches. This is a quite peaceful site with nice facilities and showers and toilets clean.

Surrounding area is stunning with excellent mountain biking and walking.Lovely little villages we biked through all with nice tea shops

Tis is a good site for exploring this part of Yorkshire with Pickering Thornton-le-Dale within a short drive. York is only about half an hours drive away and Scarborough about 1 Hours drive.

There is a lovely lake to have a nice evening stroll round which is a haven for all kinds of birds.

I would definitely return to this site.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Philipkathy 1 review from this member

This was our first camping trip with our young daughters. We booked the site having read very positive reviews and have to say that they are totally correct! The campsite is really lovely. We stayed on a pitch next to my sister and her family at the bottom of the field overlooking the lake with the breathtaking view of Castle Howard.

The showers and toilets were kept immaculately clean by the staff who ran the site extremely well and were very helpful and friendly. The washing up facilities were kept clean and we never had to queue to wash up or shower over the weekend. The pitches were spacious and even though there were a few people in the field on the Saturday night, you never felt on top of each other.

There is no shop but we did drive the short distance to Castle Howard itself where there is a good butchers and you can get milk, cheese, etc. Malton is not far so if you need a bigger supermarket, there is a Morrisons there.
There is no playground for the children but ours loved playing boules, rabbit spotting and walking by the lake feeding the ducks. The site is very dark on a night with no lighting so a torch is a good idea to avoid falling over your feet!
I would definitely recommend this site as a perfect relaxing break and will not hesitate to return.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Magic m 7 reviews from this member

We have just come back from a weekend here. The weather was warm and very humid, but to get to the most important information, the campsite is beautiful, and very well kept. The couple that run the site couldn't be more friendly and helpful if they tried.

They don't have a shop, club or play area for kids, but that didn't bother us at all. They have clean toilets and showers and they also have a laundry room. The grass is well cut and flat perfect for our unit which is a tent with electricity. Our stay this time was spoilt by other campers in their tents who stayed up till 3am drinking and laughing as loud as they could. Will we be going back , YES . Hopefully this was a one off incident.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rich47 2 reviews from this member

Just spent 2 nights at this site and the location is superb, minutes away by car from Castle Howard and its glorious surroundings.

Friendly wardens showed us to our pitch which was a very good size and the whole site looked well kept. Amenities were warm, clean and adequate in number for the length of our stay, not too sure when site is completely full if the toilet block would be big enough.Also depending where on the field you were, the block could be quite a walk.Litter bins provided in the field would be a good idea as these were next to the toilets.

Top side of field has a very gentle slope and quite a noisy road bordering it, although a pair of ear plugs sorted that out. The bottom side is flat and also away from the traffic.

A lovely lake(to fish in)separates the campsite from Castle Howard which can be reached on foot in about 20mins.No on site shop but Morrisons is 10mins away in Malton.The nearest pub is 3 miles away.

Site rules seemed to be flaunted though, with numerous ball games going on which are supposed to be prohibited. One noisy group were spoken to about loud music and this quietened them down but the 11pm 'curfew' was ignored with several noisy groups going on until 2.30am. Not a site for quiet couples unless I suspect you go in mid-week and in term time. Dogs were gererally well behaved. At £13 per night non-electric we would definitely camp here again but as stated in mid-week.

Previous     66 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2598 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019