Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Castle Howard Lakeside Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > York > Castle Howard Lakeside Holiday Park Reviews

Castle Howard Lakeside Holiday Park
Coneysthorpe
York
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO60 7DD
Tel: 01653 648316
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 160
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 71 Reviews
                8/10 from 71 Reviews

Photos (8)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  71 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Sb001j 3 reviews from this member

 Just returned from castle Howard camping site, and I am sorry to say we were also disappointed.

When we arrived we were allocated our pitch. Which just happened to be in a corner of the site quite dark over shaded by very large trees. Also the electric hook up point for our pitch was quite some way from the pitch, and was at the limit of our cable and this was only because we had to move the van over to make it reach.

When my husband asked could we please be moved he was told no, as they were fully booked for the weekend, we had arrived the Thursday afternoon. We appreciate that if the site is fully booked we could not be moved to another hard standing pitch but a compromise wasnít even offered.

We would of parked on the other side of the fence on the tent field and put our electric through the fence, it would of been nearer.

Also the ladies toilet and shower blocks where not very clean, I actually showered in the Motorhome rather than use their facilities.

The other thing we found unacceptable was the Elson point was right next to the dish washing area, my husband was left apologising each time he went to empty the toilet cassette as someone always came to wash up, also there was a drinking water tap the other side.

I agree with another persons review that this site hopes that the castle Howard brand will attract people to the site, it probably does but I wonder how many would return.

It is a shame as this site is in a beautiful location. I would also say that the receptionist wasnít particularly friendly or helpful. 


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Denisebr 13 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for two nights as convenient for visiting castle Howard. Small site situated next to a large lake on the castle Howard Estate.

Access relatively easy. On arrival we parked opposite the Reception and after checking us in the receptionist asked us to drive through the field entrance where she met us and directed us to our pitch. Some pitches are under trees.

We were No 25 by a wall above the main road into the village, but not bothered by traffic noise. There is also a separate tent field beyond the touring field.

Site has all usual facilities, but we were requested to use our own due to Covid 19. Plenty of water points, chemical disposal and roller grey disposal behind toilets.

Motor home grey drain very small and difficult to access. There is also a large static caravan area on site. Friendly and helpful reception staff.

Taxis from Malton readily available. Long walk along main road to castle Howard. Cost £22 per night. 


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Amied1 1 review from this member

 We have just returned from a 3 night stay at Lakeside and I have to say we will definitely be returning!

We were a little nervous about going as itís the first place we have all been as a family and we were certainly put at ease as soon as we arrived! Everything was in place to protect everyone!

Toilet & shower block was the cleanest of all the sites we have ever stayed on! Hand sanitiser available. We thought it was a great idea to have the portaloos on the field in order to free up the toilet/shower block.

Even the portaloos were clean and hand sanitiser ready outside for everyone to use!

A lovely family friendly site that we will definitely be returning to! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Burgon 1 review from this member

 Pleasant welcome, directed to the camping fields & told to pitch our tent anywhere, with car next to our tent.

Facilities are basic but functional. Portaloos added to the camping field, also had soap, toilet roll & hand sanitiser available.

Other campers were friendly & mainly adhered to the social distancing, as they could.

Would visit again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Barsar 48 reviews from this member

 I was so looking forward to staying at this site after 3 months in lockdown. Sadly I was disappointed.

After a warm welcome by the receptionist we selected our own hardstanding pitch. The pitch was fine and the ground was well maintained. The site is in a good location adjacent to the great lake.

There were only 2 fresh water taps which were screwed to wooden posts plus 2 drainage points, one was raised on a concrete plinth and impossible to lift a 40 litre waste tank. The other was a surface type drain. These service 160 pitches plus countless tent pitches.

The sanitary block was in dire need of refurbishment. The paths were covered in last Autumns leaves and the exterior walls covered in cobwebs. The floors inside were so dirty you would not want to use your towel again if it dropped on the floor. The website said there would be additional cleaning after the Coronovirus, but we did not see any evidence of cleaning for the first 4 days.

There is a tent field adjacent. The site had no security and is staffed between 9am and 5pm.

We were told that most people stay for a couple of nights only. I can understand why.

I believe you get what you pay for. At £27 per night this site is a rip off.

I made a formal complaint to the site manager in writing and was told that they had hoped to refurbish the facilities this year but this had been postponed. He did not disagree with any of my comments about cleanliness.

The site clearly hopes that the castle Howard brand will draw people in and indeed it does. It did me. But be prepared to be disappointed. There are many much better, cheaper, cleaner sites within 10 miles at Slingsby, Hovingham and around Helmsley. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Spyder27 11 reviews from this member

 Lovely little site tucked away at the side of the lake opposite castle Howard. Probably a thirty minute walk by road but I think there is a walk direct from the site to the Home cross country (at least I think we saw some walking that way) You cannot get via the path around the lake.

Tourers are pitched amongst the trees right by the lake. I hope you like nature as the dawn chorus is plentiful lol. There is a decent toilet and shower block, maybe not the most modern but lovely and clean. There is no shop on site so come prepared. We had EHU and there was an Elesan point plus grey waste disposal, what more do you need.

We certainly intend coming again as it is less than an hour from home so ideal for weekend breaks. PLUS we got a two for one voucher for castle Howard from the site which makes the cost extremely reasonable. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Storeman_uk 7 reviews from this member

 Nice quiet site with a large field for tents and motorhomes. Pitches are an ok size but I would have preferred slightly bigger. We didn't opt for EHU and as such found the standard pitches are furthest away from the facilities but not too far as to be inconvenient. The gents had ample facilities and although the site wasn't full there were a lot of tents with a lot of people I didn't have to wait to use the toilets or showers.

One reviewer was complaining about guard dogs and makes it appear that the dogs are on the campsite. I'll clear this up - the dogs and handlers only patrol the grounds for the Castle Howard estate NOT the campsite. The estate is closed to the public from about 5:30 - 6:00 PM so I don't find it unreasonable. As for there not being a dedicated footpath to the estate - well this person wants to be spoonfed everything. It is no hardship to walk up the road to get to the estate. In fact it makes a pleasant walk especially in the early evening. It is well worth walking past the estate to the first of the archways over the road just to look at the building.

The staff are friendly and they keep the place clean. The toilets are cleaned daily - probably multiple times but I met and spoke with a very friendly and pleasant cleaning lady each morning around 6:30am. The chipshop van on Saturday does a decent fish & chips but get to reception early as the queue grows quickly. The van staff are very efficient though and get through the orders quickly. Everything is cooked to order so no soggy batter or chips due to being kept warm.

The east coast resorts are all within an hour or so's drive as is York. There are other attractions around with leaflets available in the office. 


Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mrmotorx 89 reviews from this member

 Bank Holiday weekend, traffic is always bad at best around the A64 however with the tour de yorkshire as well I was surprised at how quick we arrived at the site. Sat nav got us to within the last 200 yards (common sense needed here a little bit), I rang before hand to book in and the very nice lady on the phone explained that if the office was shut, there would be a map on the door with our pitch number on and name on, this suited us perfectly and went to the office midday to pay the balance.

Site itself is more than adequate for a long weekend Its quiet but large enough for kids to explore, we walked up to the castle which at a steady walk took us 30 - 45 mins and a wander around the few gift/farm shops had a cuppa and walked back. We didn't bother paying to go into to castle grounds. Toilets were very clean, showers were hot and empty and electric never tripped out. Location is great very close to york, scarborough, brid and east coast.

Approach to site (for us) was straight forward, A64 from york side, turn left after (tinnard curry house/ just after dual carriage way starts. Then just keep going, we did come across an arch way in the middle of road 11'3' height I think and was a little unsure if we had gone wrong, Nope just carry on through that and keep going towards the castle. Site is a little passed the castle. When we left the site with caravan hitched up I was advise to go 4-5mile out of my way ( right out of site) towards malton, then right at the T junction, this actually takes you onto the A64 slip road and was great and very easy to do. I didn't want to cross two lanes of a dual carriage way and have to set off and get upto speed with a 27ft caravan behind me.

Very good site ( be brilliant with a little play area for kids) clean tidy well run and great location. Well done to all staff we will be back. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mechanic7 4 reviews from this member

 Just spent a week here, lovely site, clean toilets and showers and the staff very pleasant and helpful, we came with friends from NZ who loved the site and surroundings. Castle Howard was a bonus as we got a discount price ticket and you get 2 visits in one week with it so if you missed anything you can go again free. If you don't like wild birds and pigeons waking you early with their songs then go in the large field, likewise if you don't want the ducks round your caravan don't feed them, most people accept this and it is in the country with a huge lake on site so its part of your camping holiday. Downside is the approach road from the A64, 2 narrow arches to go through, I went from Malton and found it easy. In all I would return again no problems with site for us. 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Laughts 1 review from this member

 Friendly staff upon arrival, helpful advice on locale. £18 for a couple per night with hook up was a bargain- hard standing and plenty of space. Unlike previous reviews, I found that the toilet block was clean, well decorated and of a good standard- absolutely no complaints here. Walks around lake were wonderful- shame you can't walk all the way to Castle Howard, but considering how much security they need there, I am not surprised. Cheap access with vouchers from the campsite to the Castle (£9. 50 each for two days within a week) was incredibly good value. Only disappointment was there are no pubs within 3 miles, but the quiet location (apart from the morning birds, LOL) with the lake walks with fantastic views of the Castle and a bottle (or two) of wine more than made up for it. I will go back again! 


Previous     71 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Castle Howard Lakeside Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Castle Howard Lakeside Holiday Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Castle Howard Lakeside Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near York      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest W Midlands and Wales 03/07 to 04/07
Exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5216 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement