Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Castle Howard Lakeside Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > York > Castle Howard Lakeside Holiday Park > Reviews

Castle Howard Lakeside Holiday Park
Coneysthorpe
York
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO60 7DD
Tel: 01653 648316
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 160
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 81 Reviews
                8/10 from 81 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  81 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2023 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: SimSel 4 reviews from this member

 Loved the site itself, the fish and chip van on Friday night was good but only there from 6 till 630, the morning breakfast van was a godsend,

Toilets were very clean but the cubicles are very very small, as are the showers,

Bit of advice though if you think you're going to spend a few days fishing on their absolutely massive lake, think again, the fee is £7:50 for the duration of your stay (brilliant).

There are only 2 single swims ! And anyone who owns a holiday has priority on these, so if 3 of you want to go fishing, you're out of luck, other than this is was lovely and quiet and there are loads to places to fish in the local area,

We will return and I would recommend this site if you wanted to use it as a base camp to go out exploring the local area. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Cristo 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely site in terms of greenery and scenery. Loved the leafy surroundings and trees. Well maintained pitches but, as previously noted, far from flat.

Walk by lake sounded attractive but is quite narrow near the site, still pretty.

Facilities average although the site is attractive overall. Showers were cold by 11am.

Let down by VERY noisy group of campers in the field next to our caravan. Two nights in a row loud talking, drinking and swearing and music till 11:45-12:00 evening. Hard for my family to sleep. Really disappointed that this is allowed. Made it known to the management. Not peaceful / serene / upmarket as the castle Howard name / brand suggests.

Had a much more pleasant, quiet and family friendly atmosphere at other sites in York area. Stand out bonus is the 2 4 1 tickets for castle Howard. Overall a nice place but completely disappointed with the standards of noise. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Melton 1 review from this member

 The staff were friendly and helpful

There could be updates on the toilet and showers especially the disabled toilets

Bank holiday weekend there was not enough toilets or showers

There is no dog bins on site

Site is clean and tidy 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mdale1 2 reviews from this member

 Site is a perfect location,

The fishing lake though is very poor lots of large weeds around it so difficult to fish and not much fish caught so don’t bother taking fishing gear.

Walks are fabulous.

Sites disabled toilet needs TLC. 


Date of Visit: December 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Gemma-lu 8 reviews from this member

 We booked the campsite as we had booked tickets for the castle Howard Christmas event and wanted to be close by. We arrived later than planned but had rung ahead to to warn the site. The warden we spoke to was helpful, said that it wouldn’t be an problem for us to arrive late, and that they would leave details of our pitch in the window of reception as it would be closed by the time we arrived.

When we got there, we followed the instructions to our pitch and set up in the dark. We were lucky that our small van didn’t need any levelling, but some pitches clearly needed levelling blocks.

We explored the facilities block and found the water tap at the back of the block, along with the covered over Elsan point (they were a good three meters apart). There was an indoor washing up/laundry room at the front and then male/female toilets and showers Which we found to be very warm and clean each time we used them.

There is a motorhome service point which you need to pull in tightly to use as this is next to the main entrance/exit for the touring site, so sometimes there can be a bit of negotiating to get in or out of you are going at peak arrival or leaving times and a big motorhome is using it (or you are the big motorhome). Everyone was patient and helpful when this happened though.

When we woke up in the morning and opened the blinds we realised that we were pitched right next to a beautiful lake, which we hadn’t realised in the dark. We got regular visits from the ducks which was cute. The lake had a single track alongside of it which was perfect for walking our three small dogs (many people walked their dogs along the lake and were not stopped by staff, as mentioned in a previous review). My only gripe was that there wasn’t a path from the main road of the campsite to the gate leading to the lake, and so people walked along the edge of our pitch and the back of our van to get to it, but in the summer I’m sure they’d have walked across the grass a bit further away.

There is no wifi and very poor phone signal which we weren’t aware of and we had planned to work from our van on one of our days, so our plans were scuppered a bit. On the other hand, this meant that we had a quiet weekend and got to switch off a bit, which was nice.

We went to the Crown and Cushion in Welburn for some lunch and they had a nice selection of ales on. There isn’t anything within walking distance apart from castle Howard itself which is around 25 mins walk apparently, but we just went in the car.

If you speak to reception they can give you a 2 for 1 voucher on entrance into castle Howard outside of the Christmas Event.

We would go back, hopefully in the summer, so that we have more daylight to explore local walks etc. It is a nice little site, even in winter. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Yvonne 2 reviews from this member

 The site and facilities were great

However, the site managers let themselves down by their inflexibility. When we booked we asked to be put next to our friends but this did not happen. We asked if we could swap our pitch so that we could be near friends but were literally told “sorry, computer says no”. We were only there for 2 nights and the whole time we were there the pitch we asked to move to remained empty.  


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Niccyb 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed on hardstanding pitches.

Apart from its proximity to castle Howard, there is little to recommend this site.

1 - The reception staff seem to be perpetually indifferent and unfriendly

2 - The hardstanding pitches weren't landscaped with caravanners in mind (they are sloping side to side requiring more than a few levelling blocks)

3 - The stream running beside the pitches means there are a large number of buzzy and bitey flies around

4 - The toilets/showers need better cleaning (and preferably not by somebody filling them with their cigarette smoke while they clean)

Oh, and the fish and chip van sells pretty poor fish and chips.

Will we be back. No. Shame as it has potential. 


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Waynel 1 review from this member

 In my opinion it was a bit expensive for what you got. The showers and toilet block were out dated and could do with a refurb. There were people cleaning them but only surface cleaning. There were cobwebs everywhere. I did see some company cleaning the floors.

It was very very basic not even a shop for essentials. There is a farm shop at the castle but that's quite a way and a bit pricey.

There are millions of little midget flys. My husband got bit to death. We took a fold away fire pit to use to keep them away.

If you are using a caravan or camper van on the hard ground pitches be aware that the electric is quite far away so if you haven't got a long enough cable to go to reception for an extension.

We did days out like Scarborough that was only an hour away and flamingo land is about 15 mins away. We did visit the castle if your staying on this site you can get in free. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Louissa 24 reviews from this member

 Busy site, split between statics at one end, hardstanding for tourers in the middle and two large camping fields at the end.

The toilet block is central, which can mean a long walk from the furthest camping field - plan ahead! The toilet block - and the additional cabin for this year - were fine but weren't really cleaned enough for the amount of use they were getting.

Despite the receptionist saying otherwise on arrival, dogs are not allowed around the lake. There is an exercise field but as it's not enclosed, dogs have to stay on a lead.

There is also a field for children to play in but as far as I could see, there were no facilities - just a field on the far side of the statics. All the children on site played on the camping field instead.

The site allows groups - it was busy but generally fine when we were there but we didn't see staff keeping an eye on things so your mileage may vary.

A good location for castle Howard (obviously) but that meant the roads around the site were fairly busy at times during the day. Of an evening/overnight, they weren't busy but the traffic moved quickly so was loud.

A fine site but certainly not somewhere for a peaceful getaway, and perhaps to be avoided if you're camping and don't want a five minute walk for your morning wee. 


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Sb001j 7 reviews from this member

 Just returned from castle Howard camping site, and I am sorry to say we were also disappointed.

When we arrived we were allocated our pitch. Which just happened to be in a corner of the site quite dark over shaded by very large trees. Also the electric hook up point for our pitch was quite some way from the pitch, and was at the limit of our cable and this was only because we had to move the van over to make it reach.

When my husband asked could we please be moved he was told no, as they were fully booked for the weekend, we had arrived the Thursday afternoon. We appreciate that if the site is fully booked we could not be moved to another hard standing pitch but a compromise wasn’t even offered.

We would of parked on the other side of the fence on the tent field and put our electric through the fence, it would of been nearer.

Also the ladies toilet and shower blocks where not very clean, I actually showered in the Motorhome rather than use their facilities.

The other thing we found unacceptable was the Elson point was right next to the dish washing area, my husband was left apologising each time he went to empty the toilet cassette as someone always came to wash up, also there was a drinking water tap the other side.

I agree with another persons review that this site hopes that the castle Howard brand will attract people to the site, it probably does but I wonder how many would return.

It is a shame as this site is in a beautiful location. I would also say that the receptionist wasn’t particularly friendly or helpful. 


Previous     81 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Castle Howard Lakeside Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Castle Howard Lakeside Holiday Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Castle Howard Lakeside Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near York      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3296 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement