Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Castle Howard Lakeside Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > York > Castle Howard Lakeside Holiday Park Reviews

Castle Howard Lakeside Holiday Park
Coneysthorpe
York
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO60 7DD
Tel: 01653 648316
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 160
Open: 01/03 To 31/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 66 Reviews
                8/10 from 66 Reviews

Photos (8)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  66 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: March 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: WWLL 60 reviews from this member

Experienced a fantastic visit to this site at Easter 2008. We were warmly welcomed by the site managers David and Lynn.

The view of Castle Howard is splendid and all pitches are truely lakeside.

There is a designated dog walking field and public footpaths lead directly from the village.

The toilets and showers were warm and clean and included in the pitch price.

A great site for a long or short stay.

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Andi_k 3 reviews from this member

Just come back from our 3rd or 4th trip to this site and nice to see that it is still the same. Its a fabulous place with plenty of nice walks to do around the Castle Estate. The staff are on hand to help out but dont seem very pleased if you just turn up on the off chance without booking, dont know why as the field had plenty of spaces. Will probably book in the future to avoid this though.

As other reviewers have said, the wildlife is fantastic, made the desperate 5.30am trip to the loo worthwhile, seeing plenty of rabbits, ducklings and a Heron on the way back.

We had a bit of a tent disaster and had to leave one day early but we have been offered a free night in the future instead of a refund which is absolutely fine as we will definitely be back again!

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Yeshouse 5 reviews from this member

Large tent field with beautiful old trees. When the corners of the field get filled up there are no horizontal pitches left but this was not a problem this month. Showers like a sprinkle installation on full power! No children play area, no shops nearby when you have no car, but Castle Howard is right next-door.

Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: James+Dee 4 reviews from this member

Originally booked to go to this site on the May bank holiday but due to a family death had to cancel at the very last minute.
We rang up to rebook and they gave us the pitch for no extra cost as a gesture of goodwill which was fantastic as they had no obligation to do so.
When we got to the site it looked great and lived up to our expectations. Really nice clean showers and toilets. Read a review saying that some people had to drive to them in rain but they're only a minute's walk away!
Though there is no shop on site there is one 3 miles down the road in Terrington, and there is also a farm shop at Castle Howard itself which you can visit without having to pay for admission to the house and gardens. There is also a fantastic real ale pub called the Stone Trough a few miles away in Kirkham, which does great food and a lovely pint of Old Peculiar.
On the site the wildlife was fantastic with swallows and rabbits and a lovely wake up call from the local ducks. The only thing I would warn people about is the water on site: it tastes very strongly of chlorine, so if you don't like that take bottled water.

Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: RubyShoesDay 21 reviews from this member

Booked to stay at the campsite over the may bank holiday. Sounded ideal on the website. Telephoned the site and had to pay by card over the phone, minimum 3 night stay £36. Nice location but lacked a little forethought in the organisation. When we arrived, the wardens office was shut, a note attached to the door said we should proceed to the tent field where the warden would be waiting. We drove into the field and spotted the pick up truck, walked up the the wardens truck at which point he drove off! Puzzled about what to do having not stopped here before, we went back to the wardens lodge, no sign of the warden! In the end we found a nice pitch and set up the tent. As it is not a small tent and is new to us, this took a good 40 minutes. The evening wore on, there is no shop on site so make sure you have everything you need. There is no lighting on the way to the toilet block so make sure you have batteries in your torch. We walked back to wardens cabin late evening to see what time it opened in the morning only to find a 'floor plan' pinned to the door with the names of campers on it and a diagram stating where we should be pitched. Needless to say, we were in the wrong place! It would have been better for the warden to stay in the cabin 'til hometime, then pin the floorplan up, rather than driving round the field with it in his pocket! 3 other tents were pitched in this time period which needed to be moved the following day! On the floor plan, the tents were pitched in the centre of the field in 3 rows one after the other all facing the same way.Not the way I like to camp. By the 4am in the morning there was no toilet paper left in any of the toilets but I know most of us campers go prepared for this!

The pitches near the lake are affected by wildlife noise - I know you will scoff at this but as a seasoned camper, who loves nothing more than to be in the middle of the countryside amongst the sheep and rabbits, the noise from the ducks was bad. It may be the time of year but the geese and ducks were fighting and hissing on the edge of the lakes and the tent field continually and as castle howard has lots and lots of fowl, it really is excessive noise.I know it sounds pathetic!

Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Merlinuk 4 reviews from this member

This site has mixed reviews, but I can only give it one, a good one.
We camped here over the Early May Holiday and had a lovely time. The site is well kept and the toilet and shower blocks are clean. Showers nice and hot. The block is a bit of a walk from the tent field, but depending on where you pitch its not that bad.
The tent field does slope a little and if your unlucky enough to be at the bottom you could get wet, this was not an issue for us. I can also imagine that a normal car might suffer a little in water logged conditions.

The site itself is only a short drive from the castle and offers superb views across the lake, which raises the only negative really. Mosquito's and midges. You are near a lake, and they do like people! Take a bug zapper and citronella candles if you want to survive relatively unscathed.

The warden is friendly and helpful and the option of a late departure (£3 til 6 pm) makes packing up a lot easier.

You are only a 15 min drive from Malton and 30-45 Min's from York. Plenty to see and do. And the coast is only about 45 Min's as well. Its a good base and the surroundings do leave feeling just a little bit grander.

Rates are reasonable and can be paid by card over the phone.

We will definitely visit this site again in the future.

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dave71 6 reviews from this member

My wife daughter and I visited this site just for a quick overnight stay. Considering it was the end of August the tent field was practically empty. The field is spacious and fairly level. The toilets were immaculate as was the laundry room, the warden (very nice lady) cleans thoroughly daily. £14 per night.
 
Site set in the grounds of Castle Howard estate with a large fishing lake (lots of midgies though)
 
No shop on site but the town of Malton is a 5 minute drive and has everything you could wish for, supermarket etc etc.
 
The local village Slingsby (2 miles south) has a pub which does meals, children welcome.
 
The only problems we encountered were traffic noise and wind. There seemed to be a lot of traffic late night and early morning (national speed limit roads on 2 sides of the field). The field is open to the elements from the west hence the wind.

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lily_Johnson 6 reviews from this member

We have just returned from our first camping holiday at this site and had a brilliant time.  We are a family with a 3 & 1 year old who (although there are no facilities for children) had a completely wonderful time.  Our dog did too! 
Site is set next to the Great Lake of Castle Howard and so there is plenty of wildlife around.  i.e. Ducks, swans, owls, rabbits, badgers, geese.  Blackie the black swan is a family favourite. 
The shower block and toilets are cleaned everyday to a high standard and there was never a queue for either. 
Ideal location for a holiday at any time of year as plenty to do in surrounding areas.  Things you must do with your kids - Chinese Restaurant at Amotherby (5 mins drive) bouncy castle and excellent play area in grounds lovely food;Scarborough Sea Life Centre great on a not too great weather day; Castle Howard itself is a good day out, Filey and Bridlington beaches are fantastic.  Yorkshire Lavender only about 10 minutes away and the kids loved running round the lavendar maze.  Yorkshire Maze a great day out too. Site Supervisors were great and approachable if needed. Enjoy

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Daydreamer 2 reviews from this member

First impressions. Friendly staff and clean site - not huge either. Has a site warden that you see every day. This was our first time in a tent with electric hook up and we were plonked in the middle of the caravan field with the road on one side and the bins on the other. So we stuck out like a sore thumb and seemed to be in the middle of everybodys way. Don't know why we were put on the caravan field, told the tent field was full, yet there were spaces free for hook ups.

No shop on site although supermarkets in Malton 6 miles away.

Laundry / wash room very small and poorly arranged. Only one person could wash pots at any time so often a queue and you were in the way of anyone wanting to use the washing machine/ tumble dryer. The toilet lights are on a timer, although we didn't see any notices telling you this, so in the night when you went into the toilet and the light was already on, it turned off leaving you in the dark trying to find the switch.didn't take a torch to the toilet as the exterior light gave enough light for us to get there and back without one. So press the light switch on your way into the toilet even if the light is already on. Showers and toilets in same block and it was all a bit cramped.

No specific play area but tent field was quite adequate except rules state NO BALL GAMES ! Close to lake and the noisy ducks and lots of other nocturnal wildlife. Noises a bit frightening on first night for our youngest but we were ok after that.

Quite a well situated site for York and the North East coast, plenty of things to do if you prepared to travel. Nice site as quite a small one and looked well run but we found that facilities were a bit lacking for us.

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Caravankitchens 2 reviews from this member

Just arrived back from a two day stay. We felt the website led us to believe that we would be overlooking the Lake to face Castle Howard, but it was not. We also got the impression that there was an onsite shop and onsite childrens play area but they were at in the Grounds of Castle Howard, which was a good walk or 5 minute car journey. I have seen a lot better tended campsites, however the toilet / shower facilities were clean.

The other group in our party stayed in the tent field, and it was a long walk to toilet / washing up facilities, in the rain some people were using their cars.

If the site had small play area, small shop, and another toilet block it would be much better.

Our kids loved walking round the site, where we fed the ducks, watched the rabbits, looked at the blackberry bush and horsechestnut trees with ripening fruit, and collected pine cones and acorns.

Previous     66 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4776 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019