Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Castle Howard Lakeside Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > York > Castle Howard Lakeside Holiday Park Reviews

Castle Howard Lakeside Holiday Park
Coneysthorpe
York
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO60 7DD
Tel: 01653 648316
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 160
Open: 01/03 To 31/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 66 Reviews
                8/10 from 66 Reviews

Photos (8)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  66 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Luv2camp 4 reviews from this member

It is a nicely secluded site with all basic the amenities you need. Will go again. You need to take your own food with you or go to castle howard where there is a brilliant butchers and farm shop. There was not much on site for the kids to do so I would not personally take small children with us or teenagers. There are a lot of places to visit nearby and it is situated in a beautiful area with a large lake on site with swans and ducks. There are shady pitches and sunny pitches on the site. An ideal site for the more mature people.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Magic m 7 reviews from this member

Our third visit to the site, we went on the 10th stayed for 4days and 3 nights. Fantastic!

Take bread for the ducks as they come calling in a morning for their breakfast to be served, the toilet and shower block hasn't changed still no where to put anything, so take a plastic skip to put and keep your clothes and towel dry, and you wont have any problems with wet clothes.

There is loads of wild life to watch while having your meal. A our all 8 out of 10 which is really good for us, we will be going again

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: British bronco 7 reviews from this member

Excellent site to use as a base. So much to see and do in the area. The site suited OH and myself down to the ground, but nothing for kids if you want a play area or a shop either, but a ten minute drive into Malton will bring you to a Morrisons.

For touring caravans and Motorhomes there look to be super pitches with close proximity to Toilets, bins, water etc. If you're in a tent without EHU the camping field is set aside just a little.

No water taps in the field but just by the entrance leaving a short walk of 150m. Toilets are around 250m away but are reasonably clean although on the dark side inside as they are under trees!

Have a nice view from the camping field which you don't get from a caravan, across the lake to Castle Howard itself.

On our last night the house was illuminated and a spectacular firework display took place overlooking the lake.

All in all I would like to use this site again as the location is excellent and the fee was very reasonable.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Steve_run 3 reviews from this member

I was running the Castle Howard 10K race on the Sunday morning and decided to go camping for the first time in 11 years.

This is a nice clean and tidy campsite, with a large flat field for tents, a clean toilet and shower block and no issues with hot water.

Kid friendly site, large field to play on and enough room to get about.

There is a local pub 3 miles away in Terrington that serves good pub food.

Discount entry offered to Castle Howard, it has several restaurants and an adventure playground

Will definitely stay here again.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jeanette 67 5 reviews from this member

We went back to Castle Howard after our first visit last Sept. We went with a group of us who had never been before to this wonderful place. The campsite is well maintained and clean, the shower block toilets are clean and warm, just maybe need a few more as a queue was often found.The site itself is fantastic being so close to Castle Howard, the grounds are fab and easily reached by foot, a great day for the family come rain or shine.

We and all our group enjoyed this place and will return a gain in the future but have been busy exploring new sites in the UK.

A great place to stay if in tent or caravan, one down side is the fishing in the lake was dire, so hubby says but that didn't bother me!

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Julia Dooley 4 reviews from this member

Having spent the Bank Holiday Weekend at Castle Howard we found the site to be a wonderful location over looking the lake.

This was our first visit the shower and toilet units are very clean one problem was people were driving in their cars to visit the blocks yes they are a little distance away, this did not bother us.

The answer could be a second shower and toilet block is needed in the camping field. An ice cream van visited the site on the Friday and Saturday evening and a Chip van visits on the Saturday.

The site does not have a shop no need really a farm shop is located at Castle Howard which has a fantastic range of local products. In fact we spent two days in the Castle Howard grounds the house is restored with the most beautiful decorations, the staff are only to happy to converse historical facts.

We were a large party including many children and nothing was to much trouble to them. The woodland trails,a boat ride and tractor ride, the adventure playground all must be recommended.

We will revisit again next year the site is peaceful with lots of playing room for families.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: AJaneG 1 review from this member

We have just returned from spending 4 days at this campsite and had a fantastic time.

It is ideally located in a beautiful setting with breathtaking views of Castle Howard and its grounds. The site was extremely quite, and the children on the site seemed to find enough to keep them occupied with the large playing field and lake.

The staff are extremely helpful and friendly - 10 out of 10 for customer service. They will freeze ice packs for 30p each and gave us great information about cycling routes and places to visit. Everyone on the site was extremely friendly too. Plenty of hot water and kept clean by the staff daily.

We enjoyed some fantastic cycling and running in the surrounding countryside - turn right out of the gate, go through the white gate and follow the gravel track right around the back of CH. We did this at sunset and the views were amazing, we also got some fantastic photographs of the back of CH, the Mausoleum and the Temple of the Four Winds with no-one else around. The cycle back down the main road can be a bit hairy if you're not an experienced cyclist as its downhill all the way and there are surprisingly a lot of cars.

On arrival the reception staff gave us 1/2 price entry tickets to Castle Howard with a free return within one week - worth every penny and a must visit. The farm shop at CH sells everything you need for a picnic and the meat was amazing (fresh from the grounds). It's a very child-friendly place with a fantastic play ground and knowledgeable guides. You can visit the farm shop, cafe and garden for free.

The nearest pub was in Terrington (3 miles, friendly but quite expensive) - we visited York and thoroughly recommend Oscars for homecooked, fresh, good value food, 15 miles - 25 mins drive, and after 6.00pm only £2.00 to park right in the centre.

The only suggestion to improve this site would be a small shop selling basics - although tbh we managed fine and combined our trips to CH and York with trips to Sainsburys.

We'll definitely return and would recommend this to our friends.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: MartinJWhite 5 reviews from this member

Arriving on a Monday for a two night stay in August, we expected the site to be quite busy, but were pleasantly surprised. The camping field was quite large and there were only about six other tents there.

The setting is fantastic, in a peaceful spot in the grounds of Castle Howard. There is a beautiful lake right next to the campsite which you can take a walk by. We went for a walk beside the lake with a our two young children, who were excited to see, ducks, Canada geese, swans, butterflies, dragonflies, rabbits and even a vole.

There is no children's' playground, but the wide open field allowed them plenty of space to play without bothering anyone. Most the other people camping there had children, and they all found new friends to play with.

The shower / toilet block on the site is fine with plenty of hot water, and was kept clean.

We had a great day at at Castle Howard itself. Get there early, as there is a lot to do and see.

The nearby town of Malton is very nice, with lots of distinctive local shops. We had breakfast there twice; once in a bistro for a full English, and once in a great independent coffee shop.

We also had a great day out at Flamingo Land, which is about a twenty minute drive away, and a trip up to Teesside to visit family.

We had intended to stay two nights and then move on to another site, but decided to just stay put for four nights.

As we left on Friday morning the site was starting to fill up for what looked like a very busy weekend. That coincided with a concert at Castle Howard though, so I don't know if weekends are always that busy.

Castle Howard campsite is a lovely little site in a great location. We will probably go back again next summer, and have recommended it to friends.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Aconiston 3 reviews from this member

Enjoyed 4 night stay. Excellent shower block with 4 showers and 4 toilets in the ladies, two 20p hair-dryers. The block is quite a walk from the middle and far side of the field, but not a problem. There is a laundry and washing up room. Blocks can be frozen at reception for 30p. This is a very relaxed no hassle site with beautiful walks through the estate and also along the side of the lake. There is a farm shop up at Castle Howard itself, nothing on site except a mobile fish&chip van on Saturday evenings. The country road is constantly busy, surprisingly so through the night, so there is some noise.

All in all though it is an excellent place to stay.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Wynyardlad 3 reviews from this member

This is a lovely quiet site toilet and shower facilities good but showers could do with another hook and a stool to enable you to hang your clothes 1 is not enough.

Site is clean and well looked after and staff are friendly.

Just make sure you take everything with you if like me once parked I don't move and there is a shortage of shops unless you walk to Castle Howard 20 mins where you can get a few groceries like meat and fresh veg.

We enjoyed visiting Castle Howard itself where we showed our receipt from the camp site and got a 2 for 1 offer, a good saving and an enjoyable day.

Not a lot on the site for children to do could do with a play area for the kids to enjoy themselves instead of using the tap near the camping field to enjoy themselves with, bless em.

Asked at reception about walks in the area no leaflets available.

Previous     66 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6430 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019