Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Castle Howard Lakeside Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > York > Castle Howard Lakeside Holiday Park Reviews

Castle Howard Lakeside Holiday Park
Coneysthorpe
York
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO60 7DD
Tel: 01653 648316
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 160
Open: 01/03 To 31/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 66 Reviews
                8/10 from 66 Reviews

Photos (8)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  66 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Loughran 10 reviews from this member

Very peaceful site. On arrival we were guided to our pitch and given instructions about where we could/could not walk our dog. The warden was very friendly. The shower block was adequate. The end of the site nearer the statics was mainly seasonal caravans. We woke to birdsong which we really liked. No security bar to get in or out of the tourer area although there is one for the statics. Would prefer to see one. Not an easy site to get to, best approach is from Malton through Coneysthorpe. Saying that we will definitely return, hopefully this summer.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Eclectus 30 reviews from this member

Spent a week at this very remote but beautiful site in the castle Howard estate. Please take care to enter the site via MALTON and not via the main castle Howard entrance as there are 2 very narrow gatehouse archways, not recommended for caravans or motor homes for that matter. - did see one motor home attempt it and ripped off the awning from the side - my advice go via MALTON for peace of mind. Don't let this put you off going

The touring park itself is near the entrance shared by a park home complex. A camping field is also available. Pitches vary in size and are set next to the lake. The birds can be very noisy early morning and at night - in a caravan we did not notice but I dare say in a tent would be a problem. We were greater every morning by the tapping of duck beaks on the awning looking for breakfast.

There are a few seasonal pitches - sited on the far side of the park - toilet and utility block central - toilets I must add at this point were a bit grubby - showers were fine hot water plentiful. Really need to look at a bit of painting though. Chemical point and fresh water taps around the back and another tap near the camping field.

TV reception generally ok - satellite a bit off if you get near trees. T-mobile orange/ee was the only phone network I got to work there.

Lots to do and see locally - as part of the site fees got vouchers to go into castle Howard itself - well worth the visit (dogs allowed) there is a free car park and a farm shop /cafe/gift shop there too. It would take about 2 minutes in the car to get from the site to the car park.

Scarborough / Filey / york all within a 30 minute drive away

Nearest supermarket was in malt on (morrisons)- Monks cross is not much further with a huge Asda there as well as other shops

Pleasant walks around the area surrounding the site. Dog walk available within the park homes and certain parts of the lakeside.

Shame that there were no fully serviced pitches -

All in all a brilliant week (especially as the weather was fab) would give the site 10/10 if it wasn't for the toilet block - a real shame that it let everything else down on such a perfectly beautiful place

Would we go again - definitely!

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Roz Hart 2 reviews from this member

Just returned from a three-night stay at this lovely site. I took a tent and had a hook-up.

What a fantastic location!

Plus points - scenery, spacious pitch, location, helpful and friendly reception staff, peace and quiet (the ducks and geese didn't squawk during the night and the crows weren't overly noisy; the road wasn't busy 24/7)

Minus points - shower block always a bit grubby and one morning, the staff chose peak showering times to carry out maintenance. At busy times of the season, I think one small shower/toilet block would be woefully inadequate on a site of this size.

The positives outweigh the negatives and I shall definitely return here.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bertie300 20 reviews from this member

What a fantastic location. The views of Castle Howard are stunning.

The site managers are friendly and helpful, giving advice and information about the locality. A couple of very nice pubs about 3 miles from the site.

The site is clean, the pitches are generously sized and the wash room facilities are more than acceptable, warm, clean and plenty of hot water.

The local wildlife is very entertaining, the ducks are very tame and will eat from your hand, very cute!

A great site but be warned, this is a very noisy site, squawking, quacking and an awful lot of insects flying about! That's nature though eh?

At £18 per night for one tent and 2 people plus half price entry into Castle Howard you can not go wrong.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rider 1 review from this member

I researched many campsites looking for one which would be peaceful and quiet and in an attractive location. I actually spotted this one riding past it on a horse, and thought it looked lovely! On arrival the tent field was practically empty, a good sign, so I was optimistic about noise levels at night. However! I have never been in such a noisy site - and this was due to flocks of geese squawking, squabbling and flapping the entire night, and a surprising amount of traffic passing by on the roads, which had looked quiet but must be a main route into Malton. There was also music from somewhere going on late into the night, maybe there was an event on at the Castle. I don't know whether I was particularly unlucky, and perhaps it was very unfortunate timing with migrating geese but it was such a relentless intrusion I barely got any sleep for two nights. I'm assuming that this can't be the case in general as I'm sure other people would have mentioned it. It was a real shame as the site itself is very nice.

That aside the site itself is located in a pretty location next to the lake at Castle Howard. There is an area for privately owned static caravans, one for tourers and a large field for tents. All pitches are well marked, and there are a few electrical hook up pitches in the tent field.

The toilet and shower block comprising of four toilets and four showers in the ladies (I'm assuming there are the same number in the mens) is sited in the tourer area but isn't that far from the tents. Showers were nice and hot, and free. There is a 20p charge for hairdryer of which there are two but one was out of order. The lights go off periodically to save electric I assume, don't know if this would affect the hairdryer if you were using it. The weather was dry when we went and it was out of season so never any need for queues - however I could imagine if the site is full and the weather wet then you may have to wait and the floor would become rather muddy, as has been mentioned.

There are no facilities on-site such as cafe, shop etc but these can be found in the Castle Howard grounds a short drive away. Also no play area for children although the tent field is big enough, pitches are around the perimeter so the centre is left open. There is a path by the lake but small children would have to be supervised as it is deep.

I went out of season and was able to turn up without booking. You get a half price entry ticket to the Castle on booking in, I didn't get to use it though.

I would have given the site a higher rating had I been able to sleep!

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Girlyswot 7 reviews from this member

This is a great site in beautiful surroundings. We stayed on the tent field and Castle Howard provides lots of lovely walks.

This was a peaceful spot with good facilities and helpful staff. Lovely to watch the tame ducks potter around with their ducklings! For me, it was all good; spots for caravans or have a bit more space to yourself in the tent field.

Would recommend. We stayed here after a visit to York which we thoroughly enjoyed; Jorvik being the highlight.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kirk69 2 reviews from this member

We went to this camp site over the bank holiday which was my first camping holiday for 20 years. My children ( 10 yr, 3yr, 10 month old) loved it. Plenty of space for the children to play the toilets and shower block are nice with the water nice and hot. The utility room is a little small but again it's fine.

Staff lovely and helpful. No playground but that's not a problem due to the space for children to run around. Castle howard is nearby and if your a member of the historical houses association it's free to get in.

The shop at Castle howard is good for meat etc, it would have been nice if the site had a small shop to save you getting in the car.

Overall really nice. Thank you

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Steven-Iceton 1 review from this member

Lovely sunny May bank holiday weekend here, the pictures don't do it justice! It's right next to the lake of Castle Howard itself. Great site for couples/older families.

Turn right and first right again out of the site for a great walk on a sunny day. A map is on the wall of the site office. Follow the gravel track and take the path branching off to the right. It heads up to the mausoleum and lovely views. If you're feeling a bit naughty you can also hop over the fence here into the Castle Howard grounds for free.

Pros

Excellent proximity to Castle Howard.

Well drained pitches.

Quiet when it needs to be site.

Plenty of room. There was a large school party here and we didn't hear any noise at all due to the room.

Good hot showers.

Great walks straight from the site.

Friendly staff.

Cons

No supermarket or pub nearby

Shower cubicles a bit too small, water goes everywhere including on your clothes/shoes. As water goes everywhere it means anyone walking through the shower block leaves muddy footprints. This is why other reviews imply the shower blocks aren't cleaned regularly, it's not the case.

The traffic in Malton is a nightmare so plan ahead and stock up on food before you arrive.

Will return.

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Theparkins 3 reviews from this member

We stayed on this site for 4 nights over the Easter break, 2 adults, 1 teenager and a dog in our folding camper. We arrived out of office hours to find a useful map with our pitch location drawn on, on the office window, although better marked out pitch numbers would have been good!

Decent sized pitches, half grass, half hardstanding. Slightly sloping and the grass could have done with being cut although the weather had been a bit wet so that's fair enough.

Lots of goose/swan poo all over so we had to do a clear up before putting the awning up! Not a complaint, just a comment to be aware of when pitching up.

The caravan pitches were all taken and there was a fair few hard core tenters too, but the site wasn't at all noisy. Well, apart from the crows.

The big gripe with this site, the cleanliness of the toilet/shower block. Hardly ever seemed to be clean, the floor was always dirty and there was always a puddle on the floor of the first loo. Showers were hot though but I never once saw anyone else take a shower! The men's block was reported to be a bit grim as well.

All in all, the site was a good location for what we wanted, but we wouldn't return.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Janets65 4 reviews from this member

Stayed here over the bank holiday weekend when every pitch was taken, but didn't feel overcrowded at all.

Well laid out pitches for tents with plenty of room for tent, car etc. The toilet block, with free showers, were clean and tidy with plenty of hot water whenever we used them, and we didn't have to wait even though the site was busy. However, we did have to queue to use the rather small washing up facilities, but maybe that was just bad timing on our part after breakfast! Half price admission vouchers to Castle Howard, which we took advantage of, well worth a visit and within walking distance. The farm shop has a really good butchers counter (fantastic sausages!) and a well stocked deli counter. Overall a lovely site which we will visit again.

Previous     66 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2594 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019