Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Castle Howard Lakeside Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > York > Castle Howard Lakeside Holiday Park Reviews

Castle Howard Lakeside Holiday Park
Coneysthorpe
York
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO60 7DD
Tel: 01653 648316
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 160
Open: 01/03 To 31/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 66 Reviews
                8/10 from 66 Reviews

Photos (8)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  66 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Weswee 8 reviews from this member

From calling this site to book I knew I'd made the right decision. The lady at the other end of the phone was polite, friendly and very helpful. The site itself is amid the most amazing scenery.
It is a car drive away from anywhere and there is no shop on the site but this only added to it's tranquillity and charm. This does mean that you need to take everything with you though. The reception is full of leaflets for things to do in the surrounding areas.

The pitches are generous sizes and well marked out. The shower block was immaculate the whole time we were there and never full, and the site was very busy. We didn't have to wait to use any of the facilities. There are 5 showers in the ladies, think hubby said same in mens. Approx 6 toilets, always with toilet roll, each with it's own hand basin and mirror and hook outside the stall. The showers were lovely and hot and like power showers. A little small so a bit tricky showering little ones, but not impossible. There were 2 hairdryers outside the showers, 20p a go. Didn't use so can't comment.

The pot wash, which was inside at the side of the toilet area had 2 sinks and drainers. There was an iron and board, 20p to use, which we didn't. There was also a washer and dryer, again we didn't use but others did so must have been ok.

There is a huge lake with great views of Castle Howard at the back of the site. You can fish in the lake, which was incredibly clear. Don't know how much it cost to fish as we didn't. A gap in the trees allows access to the lake, so not too much of a temptation for little ones. The ducks on the lake do not adhere to the quiet times, choosing to waken and become verbal around 4.30am! Not enough to keep you awake, but I am a very light sleeper so did notice it on the first night. The ducks do wander onto the site and will enter your tent, with or without an invite! They are not aggressive and will leave if you 'shoo' them away.

There are water points around the site.

The staff on the site are very friendly, there is always someone around doing jobs. There are bins conveniently located throughout the site and these are emptied frequently. No recycling system which I thought was a shame and wouldn't take much to initiate. The staff do a drive around the site periodically to make sure everyone is ok and behaving. They aren't intrusive but you do see them driving around, which we found reassuring.
There is a road directly at the side of the site but it is very quiet, especially at night. We had no trouble sleeping and neither did our 3 year old. It is a very child friendly site.

Castle Howard itself is 2 mins down the road, we didn't visit. £8.50 per adult plus cost of children just for the grounds we thought was a little steep. No discount for staying on the site, which we thought was a bit disappointing. The man on the front desk said some days they might knock you 50p / £1 off entry and some days they don't! There is a fabulous adventure playground for the kids but £17 for adults plus cost of kids for a playground was more than we were willing to pay.

Malton is a beautiful village with an abundance of local produce on sale and a Morissons. It is well worth a wander around. There is a farmers market on the last Sat of every month. We didn't go but it is very popular.

Whitby, Filey, Scarbrough and Robin Hoods Bay are all approx. 30+ miles away so make a lovely day out. We had a fantastic day out in Whitby, £2 each for 25 mins on a boat ride round the harbour. £5 to park all day we thought was good value for money. Lots to see and do in Whitby without breaking the bank. We love Filey so had a wonderful day there.
Robin Hoods Bay with it's steep winding streets was great. The beach is very dark and covered in flies. Though there were lots of families on the beach (further towards the sea) searching through the rock pools, which looked fun. The drive to these places is breathtaking. Some of the drive is very steep though so caravans / motorhomes have to take an alternative route.

This site is definitely worth a visit and at £17 a night with hook up it's great value for money.

Date of Visit: October 2008 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: NikkiDevine 6 reviews from this member

Great first camping trip! The staff were friendly and the site was lovely. Good sized pitch, electric hook up, plus powerful (and free) hot showers in a clean block. Good washing up facilities. Lovely quiet location if you are away from the (albeit minor) road, we backed on to the road which we would avoid in future.
Sadly no shop on site, they recommend the farm shop & cafe at Castle Howard which are superb but a 5 min drive away plus you have to pay to get in. Overall though a lovely spot - we will return!

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jonem1 1 review from this member

Just came back from 4 nights at this site. When we arrived we were taken to the tent field by a friendly member of staff and given our choice of the pitches. We found the field very pleasant with good tree shelter and views of the lake and surrounding countryside. There is plenty of wildlife around so be prepared to chase away a few cheeky ducks at mealtimes & watch the fantastic aeroBATics display every evening.

The toilet/shower facilities were excellent, kept very clean and close to the field. There was also a good washing up area with 2 sinks, washer, dryer, iron and ironing board. All the facilities are well thought out as the site caters for everyone.

The site doesn't just offer the house and gardens as attractions although they are amazing and must be visited. The site has a number of nice walks and is central to be able to do day trips either to the Historic City of York or to the East coast .

The small town of Malton is 10mins away so not to worry if anything is forgotten as they have a well stocked morrisons & other shops.

If there is a down point it is that the village no longer has a public house to visit in the evenings or any other to walk to for either a beverage or hot meal, the nearest being 4 miles away.

All in all a great time had by everyone and we

Will be definitely be going again.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Christopherjackie 7 reviews from this member

We have just got back from a great weekend at the Castle Howard Caravan site. We are already planning our next weekend there.

We arrived to be greeted by both managers who instantly knew who we were before we even said our names. The booking in procedure was so simple, we didn't even leave the car, mainly as we had paid up front the full amount. I would point out that when I booked the lady on the phone could not have been nicer.

We had a lovely pitch really close to the Great Lake. The toilets etc are located about 50 feet away so it didn't take long to get set up.

The toilet block was very clean and the showers were lovely, just like a power shower. If I had to pick a fault it would be that the shower cubicle was a Bit small for a gentleman of my size.

On the Saturday we went to Castle Howard for the day. Remember to take your booking form with you as it will save you a considerable amout on the entrance fee. This was a great afternoon as we walked around the garden and played on the play area at the castle. Our five year old totally loved the whole place and found loads of exciting areas to explore.

The Nursery garden centre adjacent to the car park at Castle Howard is brilliant and very reasonable from a price point of view. Dont miss it.

Our parents had visited the castle with us and they wanted to come back to the caravan site. This was no problem and even better no charge.

This site's main advantage over many others is that it is so peaceful and relaxing. Don't come here if you want a pub on site and load music. This is more for the relaxing caravanner and long may it remain unchanged.

The other plus is that they actually give you plently of room. A lot of sites will cram you in and have you touching your neighbour. Not this site. Well done and we will be back.

Not the easiest place to get to but manageable.

Very reasonably priced.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Michhaw 3 reviews from this member

Upon arrival had to wait about 15 minutes for the lady at reception to arrive so we could book in. Showed us to the field and let us have our pick of the pitches. Decided to pitch by the rather large tree at the bottom of the field. Had loads of space. Showers free and mostly clean but I found they were too hot and had no thermostat control so my 4 and 6 year old girls found it far too hot. Heaven for me though.
Lovely area. Right near the lake. The static part is excellently kept. Couldn't fault it at all. Yes the shops are far away but it is a lovely drive. Excellent value for money at £15.50 per night for 2 adults, 2 kids, tent and car. Beware though it does get very very dark at night. We were warned about this when we booked but thought yeah it gets dark everywhere but it really is dark! Especially under the tree.
Had a thoroughly lovely time and we managed to stay another night as it was so lovely.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Savvy 2 reviews from this member

We have just returned from this site having camped there for the Proms weekend. We were unable to get a hook-up as they were booked by March, we thought our June booking would be early enough! The booking-in procedure was smooth and the friendly gentleman at the site showed us to our pitch.
Even though the weather was mostly dreadful for August the field farthest from the amenities block had good drainage and we were not waterlogged. The surroundings are beautiful and at night very peaceful except for some ageing revellers who kept us young folk awake!
We were aware that we were three miles from the nearest pub and several from the nearest shops but one has to take this into consideration and shop in advance accordingly.
My only concern in thinking about using the site again is the lack of facilities. We think the site is more catered toward the static caravan and I must say this area was superb. Those of us who camp have four toilets / showers per sex and only two pot wash sinks. This is inadequate and sadly detracts from what could be a first class site.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sarahm37 3 reviews from this member

Stayed here in July. We were seeing meatloaf on the friday night at castle howard and made a long weekend of it.

Campsite was great. Showers / toilets extremely clean (and free). In the washing up room there was even washer / dryer / iron (you paid for these facilities) very useful to have on hand though. Ice pack freezing was available in reception (30p) per block, they also sold milk.

Campsite is in good location, right on the side of the castle howard lake, we paid £9 each to fish this for 1 day! very extortionate for the state of the lake, would recommend looking elsewhere locally.

Some nice attractions locally, lickering, dalby forest, scarborough to name a few.

Visit the farm shop at castle howard, we bought some of castle howard's own aberdeen angus steak which was reasonably priced and tasted amazing on the BBQ. You can visit the farm shop without paying entrance to the castle.

Would definitely consider this site again if we staying in the area again

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Dribblin 1 review from this member

We stayed at this campsite purely by chance. The greating was lovely and friendly and very helpful. We were next to the shower block but that was not a problem as the pitches are a good size so there was plenty of space. Showers and toilets are good and clean.
Ideally situated next to Castle Howard (which is lovely) and the surrounding hills for a good walk or bike ride. No there isn't a shop but we didn't need one as there's plenty of small villages around for you to ride / walk to.
I would definitly stay here again.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: LancsCC 5 reviews from this member

This site is perfectly located if you are attending a concert at Castle Howard, as we were. However, the downside is that they were full, with 90 campers and all caravan pitches full. We were unlucky enough to get a very wet and waterlogged pitch (no.19), which became even muddier over the course of the weekend, resulting in us being towed off by the Warden at the end of our stay. These pitches really aren't suitable for caravans as the ground is not free draining and the water has no where to go. The pitches with gravel seemed to be occupied by tourers in for the season.

The pitches are also very close together, resulting in the next door persons car being about 4ft from our caravan window. Not good by Caravan Club standards.

There are 4 toilets and 4 showers for each gender in a log cabin style building - clean but not a lot of room in the showers.

As others say, no shop or childrens play facilities on site, but great for a walk around the lake or up to Catsle Howard (15 mins onfoot).

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cazgh 3 reviews from this member

Stayed here over the spring weekend bank holiday break. It is a beautiful campsite and has a really lovely feel to it - although it is quite a basic site.

The toilet facilities are ok, the showers are hot and powerful but they could do with modernisation as you feel like you are at a festival and in a mobile unit.

There is no shop on site but there is one not too far away, although not within walking distance, and it isnt really for basics but does do some lovely homegrown fruits and also varieties of wine.

The campsite is regularly patrolled and feels secure.

Unfortunately our break was marred by a group of campers who really had no consideration for anybody else - shouting late into the night, and rising early - again shouting! The wardens made no effort to ask for quiet and this really let them down.

The dog field is quite small but you are ideally located in the Howardian hills and there are many walks around the campsite to keep the canine friends happy.

The location is very rural, beautiful countryside and right in the middle of the Castle Howard estate. Worth a visit despite some shortcomings.

Previous     66 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1696 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019