Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Langstone Manor Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Devon (South) > Tavistock > Langstone Manor Caravan & Camping Park > Reviews

Langstone Manor Caravan & Camping Park
Langstone Manor
Moortown
Tavistock
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
PL19 9JZ
Tel: 01822 613371
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 40
Open: 19/03/2022 to 29/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 147 Reviews
                10/10 from 147 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  147 in total, now showing 91 to 100                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Proxewa 7 reviews from this member

 We have visited on several occasions and are always struck by friendliness of the staff and of course the stunning location. The refurbished amenity block is of a very high standard, and pitches all have a good view, with statics well screened. The approach road is narrow but quiet. Prices in high season are slightly over our budget but they don't charge for dogs which is a big plus if you have 2 of them! Can't comment on the bar, food or games since we didn't make use of them, but it's nice to know there's a bar nearby if you fancy a change. We will have no hesitation in returning. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Specialkaren 2 reviews from this member

 My husband and myself with our two border collies have stayed at Langstone Manor for the last 3 - 4 years in our touring caravan. Although the roads are very narrow approaching it which may be a bit challenging for the extremely large units, we manage ok with our 4 berth caravan, just take it steady slow and watch for the sharp bends.

The reception staff have always been very friendly but not intrusive.

The facilities are excellent and I particularly like the environmentally friendly slant on how the park operates ie use of rain water gathering for toilets, solar panels for heating and light flues in toilet block to reduce use of electricity lighting. The facilities are not dark however as they do use electric lighting as well.

The washing up facilities are always clean and hot water available. Although sometimes you have to be a bit patient for this to run through, I suspect more so when the site is busy. It is also inside, good for those wet Devon nights.

The showers are large and again very clean with a good amount of hot water in between the button pushes.

Overall superb stay and would recommend it to all. 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Iwilladams 1 review from this member

 Stayed for two nights and I must say what a FANTASTIC campsite. The first night we went for a drink in the bar and met the site wardens, lovely couple who let us borrow their halogen heater for our tent as it was going to be a cold night (it was)! The site itself was immaculate, toilets/showers better than home! Food good, bar good, dog friendly, could not ask for more. Being on the edge of dartmoor the views, walks etc were amazing! Recommend this site to anyone and will certainly be back. Ian, Gemma, Kai, Mia and Jimmy Dog! 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Thomsr01 13 reviews from this member

 We have been staying in a pod at this campsite. To be honest, it is not really our type of place. We found it very difficult to travel to, you access it through narrow lanes. Whilst there is a bar on site that does food it is only open between 19.00-21.00 and food is only served for the 1st hour. They do not do a light menu and all food are meals priced between £8-£9. The reception is only manned for 2 hours in the morning and whilst you can ring a bell at other times to get someone to provide you access, the time we did it was not greeted with enthusiasm. I suspect that this is a great site if you are a serious walker, or a family that is looking to explore the Devon area, but for my husband, myself and our dog Skittles it just didn't hit the mark.  


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Shelleyneil 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed in one of the bigger pods (Saddle Tor). Two adults and two kids. This was bought for us by a relative for Xmas! We arrived on site in the rain! Great start to our little break. We were shown to our pod and left to unpack. Very welcoming staff and overall we had a wonderful time. Staff were all very helpful and polite. Staff went above and beyond their daily duties.

Very clean, tidy, trusting holiday park, one of the best that we have stopped at.

Little did I realise, my boyfriend (as he was at the time) had already rang ahead and arranged for the staff to put flowers and a bottle of my favourite wine in the pod. Such a lovely thing to do. The staff had actually put balloons, flowers, chocolates, wine and a congratulations card ready for our arrival! I didn't understand until my boyfriend got down on one knee and proposed! My boyfriend is now my fiancé! I said YES! The staff had bought chocolates, extra flowers and a card as a congratulations gift for us. Not many places would do that! What a lovely thing to do. We had our photo taken with our balloons, flowers, glass of wine each and the kids. First proposal at Langstone Manor apparently!

Anyway, back to the review - the games room was ace, the kids loved it. The air hockey table was our favourite, we spent a fair few quid on that! We ate the first night we were there and it was beautiful. Good hearty meals served in a warm and inviting dining room. Kids loved it as there were loads and loads of toys to play with. There are even books for you to borrow. I borrowed a book thinking I'd get chance to read it over the three nights we were there - nope, not with the games room being as good as it is. I think it's so nice to have such trusting people running a holiday park. There was none of this booking the books in and out, its all very trusting.

Toilets and showers were always clean and tidy. We used the bathroom for our two young lads, clean clean clean. Very impressed. Washing up facilities were brilliant too. There's even a coffee machine in the washing up room - it didn't work one night, money was taken no drink given, we weren't bothered about the money but told the staff so they could put a sign on and they gave us the money back. Bin areas were big and well signed. Emptied regularly and not smelly like some bin areas have been. The children's play area was really good. Our littlest lad loved the 'wendy house'.

Overall we would highly recommend Langstone Manor. Staff are all very friendly and genuine. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Autocrazy 4 reviews from this member

 Wow what a find this site is! The location is perfect for exploring Dartmoor and places of interest. The site itself is second to none, pitches have views over Dartmoor, the planting around the site is superb and as for the showers and toilets they rival many 5 star hotels. The staff are friendly and very willing to help in anyway they can. The food in the restaurant is excellent and reasonably priced. All in all a holiday to remember, can't wait to visit again! 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Roxyox 3 reviews from this member

 We have been visiting this site for over 20 years and it has always been pleasurable. Immaculately positioned just on the edge of the moor yet within easy reach of Tavy.

Set in the grounds of an old house, the entrance to the site through a field of mobile homes can be a bit off putting, but the camping fields are superb.

On this visit we were delighted to find a new toilet block. When I say this is of Caravan Club site standard you will understand. As the old block was the only negative we ever had, we now think this site is near perfect.

There are glamping pods, caravan rentals and holiday apartments available on site for un equipped travellers.

All South moor and Devon attractions are easily accessible from Tavy. For foodies the Peter Tavy Inn is a must, and good fare can be had at The Whitchurch Inn, both within a reasonable walk, or there is good food and ale available at the site bar.

Our boys loved the site when they were young, and they now come with their wives.

I cannot recommend this site enough. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Specialkaren 2 reviews from this member

 Excellent site to visit approximately 10 minute drive to the edge of pretty town of Tavistock. Open moorland just outside site entrance where your dogs can romp off lead under supervision, as there are sheep and ponies roaming free.

Caravanning facilities are excellent. Superb washing up facilities under warm cover (very good for typical Devon weather). Superb toilet block facilities and they are a very green site, but these green facilities do not stop them being very good. Lots of hot water. Staff are extremely friendly but not in your face.

My husband and I and our 2 dogs had a wonderful stay at the site and we will be returning. Thank you to the staff  


Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Vanman88 1 review from this member

 I booked over the phone with a polite and helpful staff member.

On arrival the site was very quiet; only a few other vans. The lady at reception was friendly, helpful, assisting with taxi details. We were given a large pitch which was lovely slate aggregate above traditional 'hardcore' - superb attention to detail as this was quiet, comfortable with bare feet and pleasing to look at. The site is in a magic rural location, a short drive from Tavistock but in the heart of the moor. The washroon facilities were simply perfect, spotless and fully functional and maintained to a very high standard. Really very very good. Just can't wait to go back.

The site is actually on a slope, which gives great views, there is a children's play area - enough to keep them happy for an hour or two here or there. All very good - a delightful stay on a lovely site. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Lobelia 2 reviews from this member

 We had a lovely 10 days here. The site is reached by turning off the main Tavistock to Princetown road onto a narrow road for a mile or so, there are passing places and we have never encountered a problem here but driving a bit slower and being aware is probably wise as other drivers can come along these lanes quickly

The first area as you enter the site has mobile homes on it, nicely sited and tucked away surrounded by trees and gardens, some to rent and some owned as holiday homes. We had stayed in one of these a couple of years ago and were delighted with it. There are also cottages to let and flats in and adjoining the main manor house. This is ideal if you have extended family eg grand parents who prefer not to camp. There are also some camping pods which looked great.

The site has three main areas for camping, a 'hidden' shady area, a walled garden and a terraced area with beautiful views, there are some hard standing pitches in each of these areas. All the pitches were flat, and were a variety of sizes. Even though there had been lots of rain before we visited, the pitches had all coped. The wardens were very helpful and friendly and looked after the site well.

Langstone Manor has a safe protected feel. The walks from the site are great, you can leave the car at the site and be on the moor in minutes. Its a brilliant site for dog owners, there isn't a dog walk on site but you are only a short walk from the lane outside. A nice touch was doggy waste bags and bins at the two entrances/exits.

The Toilet block was immaculately clean all the time with large roomy showers, vanity basins and toilets, in the cooler months it is heated. There was also a separate bathroom for a small charge (you get key from reception) which is ideal when you have children. There is a separate washing up room and laundry room. The Laundry room had one hand washing sink (small charge for hot water) and two washing machines and tumble dryers, can't remember exact charge for these but it was reasonable. Iron also available.

The manor house has a bar and meals are available, there is a large room with lots of books local information etc and board games. There is no late evening noise on site. There is a wooden built children's play area with bark floor in the middle of the mobile home area which is suitable for younger children but is not in an area where you could watch your children if camping. This site is ideal for all age groups, most of those staying when we visited were adults who like walking and the outdoor lifestyle, or just sitting outside their unit relaxing enjoying the views and peace and quiet. The weekend saw more families arrive for weekend camping trips.

Nearest shops are at Tavistock, which is a nice small market town. There are lots of places to visit from this site, some good National Trust properties close by. But best of all the wonderful moors.

We are looking forward to our next visit. 


Previous     147 Reviews in total, now showing 91 to 100      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Langstone Manor Caravan & Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Langstone Manor Caravan & Camping Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Langstone Manor Caravan & Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Tavistock      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3533 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement