Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Langstone Manor Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Tavistock > Langstone Manor Caravan & Camping Park Reviews

Langstone Manor Caravan & Camping Park
Langstone Manor
Moortown
Tavistock
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
PL19 9JZ
Tel: 01822 613371
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 40
Open: 17/05/2021 to 01/11/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 112 Reviews
                9/10 from 112 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  112 in total, now showing 101 to 110                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: 0001 10 reviews from this member

 We stayed at Langstone Manor in August 2008 and love the place. It was our first visit and there is no doubt we will go again.

The site is ideally situated for the Dartmoor National Park and has great access from North from the M5 and A30. For about the last mile or so you have to go up a single track road with passing places which is in places a good uphill, this in places tested our small engined car towing the caravan but it got us there.

The site is quiet during the day as most visitors go off site so if you are staying on the site or surrounding area you will have plenty of space. The pitches are of a good size and are well drained, now during our week stay we had proper rain for 6 days, that said the water drained away pretty well, plenty of hook up points and water/waste water points so you donít have to go on a journey to collect water. The friendly staff assisted us getting the van in and out at the end of our stay.

There is a shop on site which is open 9-10am they have a range of camping accessories and maps etc, you can pre-order the day before milk, newspapers, fresh croissants rolls etc, a great facility. If you need anything during the day they will open the shop if you ring the bell. Tavistock is located just 2 miles away and you can get everything you would need there, Morrisonís supermarket in town is good and had the cheapest petrol in the area. Plymouth is about 10 miles.

The site pub is excellent and is actually part of the old manor house, with the locally brewed ĎJail Aleí from just up the road in Princeton. Good seating is available and a TV also in the bar area. Next to the bar is a large lounge with comfortable seating, books, and family games, this is also open during the day so feel free to use it, itís a nice facility. There is also a game room with pool, air hockey and a few machines. Food is served in the bar and itís a decent menu and is reasonably priced.

The toilets and showers are very good, they are more than adequate, large and kept very clean, be careful as the floor are sometimes slippy in the wet weather but they do put non slip mating down. There are three showers in each block which seemed to be enough as even during busy times we didnít queue. A 20p token is needed for a 6 minute shower, these are available at the shop or bar. Wouldnít normally go to a site which charges for showers but in this case it is worth it and the 6 minutes is more than enough time even if you are showering a child as well. The same tokens work in the hairdryer and laundry facilities.

The play park is good with swing slide etc with an area to play and a play house.

We didnít take in the surrounding moor due to children and weather but I would recommend taking an OS map to get the most from the area.

The dish washing and laundry facilities are good and they have washing lines for you to naturally dry clothing which was a nice touch.

Mobile phone reception on O2 was excellent, as was the TV reception with a portable aerial on the caravan; the freeview box worked a treat also.

This is a dog friendly site and there were well behaved dogs with responsible owners, in 7 nights we did not see any dog mess.

The site is well priced and gives excellent value for money. There is a real good feel about Langstone Manor, a nice site and the staff go out of their way to make you feel welcome, more so than any site I have ever stayed at and I have been camping for over 10 years.

We visited Wembury beach (near Plymouth), Buckland Abbey (home of Sir Francis Drake), Castle Drogo, and Lydford Gorge which are all National Trust sites. If you are a member then there is a lot for you to do nearby.

Canít recommend this site and the hosts enough, go and visit! 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fernsider 9 reviews from this member

 What a fabulous well maintained camp site. The pitches are all level and of a good generous size some are also quite secluded. The site is very well drained,we arrived in the middle of a serious down pour,and there was no mud bath.
The shower/toilet block was kept very clean,you need 20p tokens for the shower you get a good 5mins of hot water with this. Any unused tokens were refunded. There is a small laundry room to,again £2 for dryer and £2 for washing machine. The manor house had been turned into a bar / restaurant opened at 7pm food only served till 8.30pm, there was also a games room plus a large lounge area with books and board games for every one to use. No under 12's allowed in here with out an adult.
The site is based on Dartmoor so there are some wonderful walks,direct from the site. Overall this is a wonderful,peaceful relaxing site. I cant wait to return to this site. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: C+TD 2 reviews from this member

 Fantastic Campsite! Very friendly staff, happy to help and answer any questions. Flat, well drained pitches, well spread out. The facilities were clean, and were maintained regularly, and there was plenty of hot water. The bar in the evening had a lovely friendly family atmosphere with a good menu to chose from if you wanted to eat. Being right on the Moor, there are loads of walks to go on without having to get in the car first. Close to Tavistock for the shops etc (10 min drive), and lots of good local pubs in the area too. Thoroughly recomend this site - can't wait to go back! 


Date of Visit: March 2008 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Jimmybus 5 reviews from this member

 Second time we've been here. Really friendly staff who are happy to help. Attractive site with plenty of variation so if you want a shady area you can have it or if you want a view it has a stunning one. Toilets clean and showers good enough. Nice to have chickens wandering around. Good bar on site as I remember from my 1st visit but this time it was just an overnight stop. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Elegant mess 13 reviews from this member

 I have just returned from a family holiday at this site. It was a last minute booking as I was concerned about reported waterlogged conditions at my previously booked site. And how lucky were we? Fantastic site, friendly staff with good local knowledge, and would do everything they could to accommodate. There are more pitches now, with a new field of levelled individual terraces, this has placed a strain on the toilet facilities, and on more than one occasion we were left with no hot water to wash the dishes with in the morning. The site is quiet, though not child unfriendly. There is an easy walk up to the Torr that overlooks the site, and all the locals are very friendly. The site shop sells gas, camping spares and a couple of books about the area, anything else requires a trip into Tavistock. If I were to holiday again in the area, I would look forward to a return to this very tranquil site. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cafrinwalker 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely site with good mix of tents, caravans and static. Small, which suited us. Pitches are smallish and close together. Ours was levelled with gravel which the kids insisted on bringing into the tent in handfuls turning the tent into a giant kitty litter tray. Our friends pitch was fine, but they wouldn't swop! Good, clean facilities. Constant hot water. The site is undergoing lovely touches with the landscaping, e.G. To give the pitches more privacy with hedges. Staff friendly and helpful. Would definitely warrant a return visit. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sootysnowball 2 reviews from this member

 We have just spent 5 days at this lovely site which is 5 minutes from Tavistock but is set in the middle of nowhere, the staff couldn't have been more helpful or friendly, we stayed on a pitch with ehu and managed to get our haven 8 which is 24ft long on the pitch at a angle plus a pup tent and we were allowed to park the car a few feet away on a spare piece of ground.The toilets and showers were spotless ,being cleaned and refreshed with toilet roll several times a day,the 20p tokens give you a 6 minute shower which is more than enough time for most people. The evening meals are £6.75 for adult portions,there is about a dozen choices to choose from, the bar is open every night and the games room open all the time. The site is a very quiet relaxed place to stay ,no noise after 11 o'clock. Well worth a visit! 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ally jewell 2 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a fantastic stay at Langstone Manor. The site is beautifully laid out, separated into several small areas.All the pitches are level and some have great views towards Cornwall. The site is lovely and quiet. The shower block is clean and modern, with excellent showers which operate using 20p tokens which are available from reception or the bar. There is a small laundry with washing machine, spin dryer, tumble dryer and iron. All were in excellent working order.

There is an on site bar which serves a very good, tasty and reasonably priced range of food in the evenings. The games room is open all day (though was rarely used while we were there). A large selection of paperbacks are available to borrow or swap. Board games can be borrowed from the bar.

The site is a 5 minute walk up a very quiet lane to the open moor. There are some great walks straight from the site. The staff on site were brilliant - all friendly and helpful. A wonderful site. We will return. 


Date of Visit: August 2005
Reviewer: Lee1974 1 review from this member

 Wonderfully peaceful campsite in pleasent surroundings on the edge of Dartmoor. Spotlessly clean facilities and friendly staff. Excellent and resonably priced food at the restaurant/bar. Would definatley recommend to anyone wanting a peaceful getaway.
 


Reviewer: Cheesy.paul 1 review from this member

 June 2005
Picked this place on a spur of the moment weekend away. And glad we did. Gorgeous setting and centrally located for exploring the surrounding area of Dartmoor, Cornwall etc. Exceptionally friendly staff make you very welcome in this small park. Nice touch is the mop in the shower/wc area to clean any mess you make - which everyone appears to do - as these are almost spotlessly clean! (Either that, or they have a great cleaner!!! :-D ) Only minor inconvenience was the farmer who decided to move his sheep into a field directly opposite our tent just in time for lights out... Other than that, this is a small, quiet park - with emphasis on peace and relaxation. Recommended!  


Previous     112 Reviews in total, now showing 101 to 110      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Langstone Manor Caravan & Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Langstone Manor Caravan & Camping Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Langstone Manor Caravan & Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Tavistock      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest W Midlands and Wales 03/07 to 04/07
Exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4689 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement