Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Lower Lacon Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Shropshire > Wem > Lower Lacon Caravan Park Reviews

Lower Lacon Caravan Park
Soulton Road
Wem
Shropshire   (Browse area)
SY4 5RP
Tel: 01939 232376
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 270
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 145 Reviews
                7/10 from 145 Reviews

Photos (22)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  145 in total, now showing 91 to 100                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jay4jen 1 review from this member

 As first time campers we wanted something quite close to home in case everything went horribly wrong and were a last minute booking on this site. We were hesitant because of the reviews but after spending two days there do not understand what people are complaining about. We camped on the overflow field, plenty of room, no trouble getting the tent up, no bent tent pegs. The ground was dry and just mown. The surroundings were clean and well maintained.

We had a good walk all around the site, children's play ground was clean but our daughter (aged three and half) was more interested in running around and kicking the football. She quickly made friends with other children and there was plenty of space for them to play. We did not use the shop as bought every thing we needed with us and were very lucky that the weather was so fine so spent most of our time sitting outside enjoying the sunshine. The toilets are abit of a walk, but this is camping so would expect that. I do understand some of the comments about the toilets but that is down to the calibre of the people who use them. 30 minutes after they had been cleaned I had to take my daughter. The first five had been used and not flushed (perhaps parents should teach their children better) also one girl spent 15 minutes drying her hair (after getting out of the shower) with the hand dryer, blocking it from being used by anyone else.

Went to the children's disco, our daughter loved it and the air hockey table and pool table were in constant use. Drinks were cheap compared to what we normally pay and the little bar for children is great, with a good choice of drinks. The entertainment for children was lively. We were back in the tent by 9.30pm but our daughter really did not want to leave. There was just the general hum of conversations from other campers and by 11.00 everything was quiet. We were up a six the next day, very very quiet, the site was spotless again. The owners work hard at looking after this property and it shows. No it is not all brand new and super sparkly but is is well maintained and for 18.00 a night it is a bargain.

I can see us using this site again if we wanted a short break as it covers all the needs of a family. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sandipants 2 reviews from this member

 We had a lovely long week end here helped by sunshine of course but found the facilities for our 2 families total of 9 people to be excellent. 5 children aged 2-13 all enjoyed it lots. Toilets and showers clean, not a power shower but does the job! Play area has equipment for varyin ages so excellent for our gang. On site shop reasonable and a massive Co-op short drive into Wem itself which is a very pretty place. Good prices in bar and cafe. Recommend this site! 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: GScorpius 2 reviews from this member

 Pretty good site, we didn't have kids but plenty going on for those that do which made it quite a busy w/end.

Had an electric pitch close to first toilet block, nice and flat but oh so very stony as per other reviews but that didn't detract from us having a great time.

Everything was tidy including the toilets etc.

We thought the dog walk was fantastic, lovely mown grass through the tree's, its worth trying out even if you don't have a dog.

All in all a very good site. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Campwithkids! 14 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for 2 nights, midweek break, 2 adults 2 kids under 8.

We requested a pitch near park and charged extra 5 per night for the privilege( a little steep as it doesn't have a perfect view of the park!) So a grand total of 51 for 2 nights. Told it was a much larger pitch than others, but I wondered when we were there how small the others were then!

Pitch got extremely water logged, wellies a must. We ended up pulling camper near the road as we were truly swimming.

Some nice secluded areas at the back end of the park, with privacy from trees and bushes if you really want peace.

Park was good, kids loved it and there was a small 'woods' just behind us that runs through the middle of the site, this made adventures in the words of my 6&8 year old 'brilliant mummy!' They were small enough to keep your eye on them but big enough for them to have a great time.

Toilets: clean and warm, 2 blocks. Block nearest us had 8 toilets and 4 showers of which 1 was out of order. I'm thinking that when its megga busy it would be murder waiting.

Washing up facilities on this block were uncovered and a charge of 10p for a limited supply of warm water. Not impressed at all.

Shop seemed reasonable. Jakks Barn open but no entertainment in week, we were told there would be when I booked! Outdoor pool looked ok although we didn't use and the grass surrounding it was overgrown. Crazy golf kept us entertained for an hour. Animals about to keep kids amused. Takeaway was priced as you would expect although our 1.50 carton of chips was not value for money. Drinks reasonably priced 2.50 per pint with offers on also.

Our overall impression of the site leaves us with mixed feelings. This site has huge potential but considering it is main holiday season it looks like the site is coming to the end of the whole season. It looked shabby, overgrown and eery. We walked round the site and were amazed at how dirty the long stay caravans were. The lack of toilet facilities amazed us and the fact there is no height of season entertainment on at night. Lower Lacon has the right idea (on paper or screen) but fails to deliver when experiencing it up close. Overpriced per night am afraid to say. 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Soundlikehayley 5 reviews from this member

 We stayed Sat-Mon, three families with 5 kids between us aged from 9wks to 9yrs. We pitched together in the first tent field, near to the pool, shop & bar.

Positives:

Lots of space around pitches, good for large groups or friends wanting to pitch together.

Regular security patrols.

Good kids play area & woods.

Free hot showers, no queues.

Brilliant laundry room with industrial-sized dryer - especially handy for drying towels.

Walkable to Wem - nice little town with several pubs, we tried two and both had good beer gardens for the kids.

Negatives:

A bit grotty and tired in places - several 'shanty town' set-ups.

Showers may be free but it costs 10p for hot washing-up water (bizarre!).

Pool looked grim - we didn't dare let the kids use it.

Our visit was spoiled by a stag-night arriving loudly back from a club at 3am and shouting/swearing around the site for an hour. To be fair, the security patrol came around the next morning and apologised - it had been an employee's stag night.

Probably would try another site next time but perfectly adequate if you want to be in this particular location. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Melbel 2 reviews from this member

 This is a great site we will visit it again. The facities are all great here. Swimming pool clean. Toilets clean and also the showers. Near to the village of Wem with pubs a big Co-Op. Nice location. Jaks Bar great for kids if it rains they put games out for them. Very friendly and helpful. This is a site which has wardens patrolling, so after a certain time you don't get the nuisance families that make loads of noise and make it hard for everyone else. They soon tell them. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cockney14 3 reviews from this member

 Just got back from a great Half term week at this site. Two families of four on two large pitches with ehu (purple area) children aged 2-7.

On arrival we were booked in and showed to our pitches very efficiently, all the staff were friendly and helpful the rangers helped a family who were struggling to pitch in blustery wind and the hard ground. Yes the ground is hard we bent about 20 pegs but you are warned take rock pegs.

Some parts of the site are looking a bit tired could do with some tlc but nothing that a lick of paint and a quick clean up wouldn't sort.

We found the toilet blocks to be great didn't have to Q for a shower at all and there was plenty of hot water (a bit too hot for young ones). They are push button showers and they are free I agree they could do with some hooks on the backs of the doors, there were some stick on hooks but some campers had pulled them off.
They did get untidy at times due to older kids throwing loo paper everywhere but it wasn't long before someone was cleaning up even in the middle of the night midnight ish I think.

The play area was brill the children could all play and it was close enough for us to see from the comfort of a deck chair.

We ate in Jakks Barn 20 ish for four meals basic food but perfectly adequate the kids meals were a good size (just right). The Barn itself opened a bit too late for our children 7.30/8.00 pm depending on the day.We went in once and it was a good setup the older children onsite could go and be served at their own bar,they had pool and air hockey. Th Dj got all involved and really did a good job.

We ordered a curry from wem King of Spice, I would recommend it you can sit in or take away and the food was great. Nans are for sharing they are huge. Raf Cosford air museum was a full day out with free entrance (bargain)

Overall a great family site with something for everyone we will be going back 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Janex 7 reviews from this member

 Just returned after spending 3 glorious days at this park. We pitched, with 3 other families, in the large field at the backend of the site. There are no restrictions on where you pitch or indeed how big your tent is. Some people however did choose to pitch right in the middle of the field which made it a bit awkward when driving in and out but hey ho.

The facilities were good although we never went to Jakk's Barn. The toilet block was plenty big and mostly clean. They do however close them for an hour and a half each day to clean (two blocks closed at different times so there was always somewhere to go).

The kids absolutely adored the animals on the site: alpacas, pigs, chickens, rabbits, etc.

All in all we had a great time and there is plenty to do in the surrounding area. We went to Hawkestone Park (3 miles away) and had a fantastic day out. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ruane 10 reviews from this member

 Visited site on bank holiday at end of May . Family of 5, Arrived on Sat as we were booked to stay till Wed 27th. Arrived at 1pm told to proceed to non electric camping field. It was packed, people had just pitched anywhere with no supervision from the owners? We pitched near to the entrance to the field as this was only place where we could fit our tent. Very hard ground so went for some rock pegs from shop 40p each (very cheap).

Site very nice, plenty to do with pool, 2 club houses & play area. Toilets, showers closed for hour in morning for cleaning? 10p for hot water for washing up?

First night I was ready for bed @ 10.30. Club house not very far away loud live music till late, even though it said in rules of site quiet after 11pm?

Walked into Wem on one night (30 mins walk) went into first pub after level crossing, beer garden backs onto local play-ground good beer & kids played for a good hour. Going back to area in Aug, but I'll find another site.

Overall I would not recommend if you like a quiet site! 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Danfish 2 reviews from this member

 Did a long Spring Bank Weekend here. The place was crammed to capacity all weekend. Perhaps the best time to review how the site coped.

We had an electric hookup for our tent, so were in the 'Green' section of the site. Away from the main drag of the site it was fairly peaceful. All the pitches on site were reasonably flat - can't vouch for the tent fields though.

**Caravanners** The hard standings are little more than a car park under trees. It didn't look too inviting as people were having to sit in the roadway at the front of their vans - ask for a grass pitch - much better!

As other people have mentioned, the pitches are a pain to peg down on as there's a couple of inches of soil and then concrete underneath - take rock pegs (although we found acrylic pegs did remarkably well!) The pitches are a decent size, we got our 7mx5m tent on no problems and still had plenty of room.

There are only 2 toilet/shower blocks on a site that can accommodate so many people (approx 1000!). No more than 10 mens showers! As such the queues for the showers were horrendous unless you were up at 7am! Showers are basic - 30 seconds of water (usually warm). Not all cubicles have hooks in them, so try and take the absolute minimum with you! No mop to clear up after you, so the shower floors did get a bit of a state at times.

Be warned that you need to take plenty of 10p coins with you as you need to pay for the sink water to wash your pots - for this you get about 2/3 sink of tepid water. We gave up and boiled the kettle instead.

The takeaway on site does reasonable food - not the cheapest, but not too bad. The shop is very well stocked, although lacking in fresh fruit 'n' veg. The pool looked OK - didn't try that or the bar. Noise on site wasn't too bad to say that there were so many people, although we were pitched next to a noisy family group who were playing loud music until gone midnight - so much for the 11pm quiet rule!

Despite the negatives, the site is well maintained, the staff are brilliant and very friendly. The wardens patrol regularly and always stopped to say hello. We (me, wife & 2 kids under 5) enjoyed our stay. Ironbridge and Blists Hill are about a 45 minute drive from the site, which we though was a decent distance. I'd recommend this site - if we were in the area again we would stay there again. 


Previous     145 Reviews in total, now showing 91 to 100      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Lower Lacon Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Lower Lacon Caravan Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Lower Lacon Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Lower Lacon Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Wem      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Shropshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1861 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement