Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Lower Lacon Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Shropshire > Wem > Lower Lacon Caravan Park Reviews

Lower Lacon Caravan Park
Soulton Road
Wem
Shropshire   (Browse area)
SY4 5RP
Tel: 01939 232376
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 270
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 145 Reviews
                7/10 from 145 Reviews

Photos (22)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  145 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: November 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Pcb123 11 reviews from this member

 Just had our first visit to Lower Lacon and we couldn't have been happier. The weather wasn't too good but the staff were very welcoming and helpful. The toilets always clean despite the weather. There are two toilet blocks the top one has private wash cubicles but the showers are very basic ie no shower curtain and only the hook behind the door for your clohes. The lower one has pull down seats and curtains in each shower, both are a bit dated but as I said always clean. The adults only bar by reception is very nice and the lady behind the bar was lovely. The large entertainment club J.A.K.K.S is ideal if you have children and it is next to the cafe/takeaway. It is a family run site and it shows. It was Halloween w/end and the staff joined in with dressing up and everyone on the site seemed to have a really good time at the disco. The village of Wem is 5mins away, it is small but has everything you need as does the shop on site. It is ideally placed for visiting north and mid Wales. We are definitely planning on going back next year. With a bit of luck the pigs mightn't be as shy in the warmer weather. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Vonnie 123 5 reviews from this member

 Just arrived home from our second visit to lower lacon, not much I can say except its brill, even better than last time, some of the untidy seasonal vans have gone. (they didn't bother us ) but the park looks heaps better, toilets are spotless, showers are hot, and in the new block there is a bathroom, pity I only saw this the night before we were leaving, kids were having the time of their lives in the heated outdoor pool, its a site well worth a visit, we only went off site once, and that was to get the dog a new harness, everything you need is catered for. Staff are so friendly and helpful nothing is too much trouble. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jacksmum04 1 review from this member

 Have used this camp for a couple of years now. Each time it gets better. We were part of a large group and all the staff made us feel very welcome.

Toilets and showers are cleaned on a regular basis, the staff can't take the blame for the mess other campers leave! Never had a problem with the showers or toilet roll. Floors will get dirty due to the nature of the good English summer! Wet grass = muddy boots.

The shop is well equipped with basics and prices are pretty much what you'd expect from a camp shop. Cash machine does charge but that's in the hands of the machine owner, not the camp.

Haven't used the burger bar but the food at the cafe is freshly cooked to order. Ok you may have to wait a while but that has to be better than getting dried out food. Prices again are ok.

Kids love the animals. Playground is good and safe. Swimming pool warm enough and certainly clean.

Overall a good family camp, with adequate entertainment. Local facilities are good and the reception supplies details of parks, golf, museums etc.

So if you want a camp with friendly staff, animals for the kids, a pool, and a clubhouse, Lower Lacon is one of the best in my opinion. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Medusa 1 review from this member

 Having just returned from our 4th year at Lower Lacon I think it's time we shouted their praise.

We camp as part of a large (Rally sized) group who have very specialised needs. 60+ families all of whom have disabled Special Needs children. We need hookups, ramps, level access, and most of all friendly support.

We have had all this and more. Nothing is too much trouble for the lovely owners, they have gone out of their way, year after year to make our annual camp an amazing time. The wardens are friendly and exceptionally helpful.

The facilities are good. Plenty of showers (two sets of shower blocks at each end of the site), a useful shop, a great pool for when the sun shines, playgrounds, crazy golf and a decent indoor club for damp evenings!

The cafe is very reasonably priced too and it's lovely to pop over for a coffee and breakfast !

Wem itself is quiet, though adequately equipped for shops. There are plenty of attractions near enough. We were delighted to discover Monkey Forest this year!

We intend to go back for many years to come! 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Hippysara 2 reviews from this member

 This is our third year visiting Lower Lacon and I cannot express how great the site is. The whole staff are friendly and go out of their way to accommodate us. The facilities are always spotless and are of a high modern standard.

The site itself is beautiful you honestly feel in the middle of nowhere with such a peace I have yet to find elsewhere.

It's perfect for families with loads of play space, swimming pool and park. The on site shop is always stocked and reasonably priced too. My kids really love the animals and can't wait to see them each year.

If you fancy a holiday in this beautiful area I highly recommend Lower Lacon I know we will be back next year for sure. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Riley-Kydd 1 review from this member

 We have been camping as a family now for a few years and we really enjoy it. Showing the kids how to camp and giving them new experiences is really important to us.

The eldest is 10 and the youngest is 11 months and we were very unsure about going far this summer with the baby (in-case we need to return home).

We live in Wrexham and the site is only 20 miles away which is really good if we needed to return home.

Anyway, never been before and we or I was very worried about the site as we have read some reviews but once the kids found out it had a pool I had to book it. Ok once I found out.

The site feels very safe and when we arrived on the Tuesday it wasn't that busy. Come Friday as you expect it started to become quite busy but I didn't feel it was a bad thing, had a village feeling to it!

With the on-site shop, the outdoor pool, friendly staff, bar / family disco and the child entertainer on-hand to keep the kids busy was really good.

The kids wouldn't leave the pool once they found out water-polo was being played.

Park for the kids was quite large and spread out, they made lots of friends around the swings.

Toilets / Showers, better than any we have been in. Showers are spacious and always kept clean.

Site shop sold the basics, Milk, Bread and little things you might need or forgotten.

We had to replace our 4. 5 gas bottle for the gas stove and was really shocked to only pay 15 on site.

The only thing I really would like to see improve is the on-site butty trailer that sells chips and burgers. I'd like to see it updated selling Fish & Chips in the evening, especially if its raining!. As it stands its a little run-down, only has a limited menu and closes around 4.

We all loved it and will be returning over and over again!

Thank you to the staff for such a lovely holiday. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Callie968 57 reviews from this member

 Pretty bland as a site to be honest, we booked the largest pitch available (purple) and I felt the purple area was cramped pitch sizes are ok but not what I expected very open no shade very non descript really.

Toliet block ok, showers were push button and very hot it would of been good to have a temperature gauge to turn it down but it was one temperature only which is probually why everyone was washing their kids in the sinks ! it was too hot to shower for my 9 year old I could just about bear it, toilets took a lot of wear and tear no handsoap in 2 of the 3 dispensers from Friday until Monday when we left they were still empty, toilet paper all over the place and basic & grubby only cleaned once betwen 6am - 7. 30am then nothing until the next day. As there are only 2 blocks and its a large site I don't think this is sufficient feel cleaning them at 11pm ish like most sites would mean they would of faired better over the day

Pot wash back of the toilets is outdoor grubby and unkempt very basic

Park good for kids but wouldn't entertain older than about 10/11 year olds max, NO SKATEBOARDING ! yet everyone was on bikes, scooters and roller skates so I didn't understand that rule

Swimming pool and bar nice, pitchers of beer 10, an ok shop you could get the basics, wine very inflated prices though, cashpoint that charged 1. 50 but friendly helpful staff and a book swap on reception

Very quiet after from about 10pm ish due to regular patrols from the wardens to keep all in order which was good

Animals dotted around the site looked a bit forgotten to me but kids liked them

Some noise from the railway line

Didnt venture out but apparently Wem and Whitchurch and Ellesmere are nice

Basic games room and bar where you can take the kids with entertainment

Nice and flat so good for the less mobile, the park is covered in neglected seasonals but it didn't bother me as long as its not my caravan that's green and falling apart I am not bothered it didn't effect my break so don't know why some reviewers complain about it

All in all weather was great staff friendly there are a lot of rules and I think for the price they charge its not somewhere I would bother revisiting it needs an update in my opinion to warrant the price. I imagine high season in the kids holidays it would be rammed and the pool being wih small could be over subscribed and I don't think the toilets would fare well at all 8 showers for the whole site could be a nightmare ! 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: York Alty 3 reviews from this member

 We are a family with a 10 year old and two teenagers, and we know how tough it is to keep them all occupied etc. But this site didn't meet our lower end of expectations.

The golf is unplayable as the course is concrete with huge divots on it. It is free, so it'll pass 30 minutes of your time. The pool was clean, but there were people smoking which is just not on in front of children in my opinion. Despite the signs there were glass bottles in the pool area. I would also suggest that a 17:00 closing time is too early in the peak summer holidays. The light is good enough until at least 19:00.

The staff were good, reasonably stocked shop where you can order papers. The wardens do a great job as it was always quiet after 22:00 - well done them.

The Games Room and JAKKS bar are in the wrong location, we didn't use the take-away cafe at that end of the site so no comment on that.

The toilet blocks would be a long long walk from some tents, and whilst they were kept fairly well they really should and could have been better.

The washing-up area is in very poor condition, costs 10p for a basin of hot water which I find odd - it's free for a shower!

The animals were well cared for, but one animal that wasn't welcome was the number of wasps that were to be found all over the site. I know of a family who were camping elsewhere in Shropshire that were also afflicted by wasps so this may well have been beyond Lower Lacons responsibility.

Would I go back? - probably not.  


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Bryan1324 16 reviews from this member

 On approaching the site the gate is wide enough for large trailers or caravans to be easily taken onto the site. There is a pull over area for new arrivals outside the Shop/ reception.

The staff are all very friendly. The shop is well stocked the prices in the shop vary (Tin of beans 90p. Expensive, Pack of unsmoked bacon 1:09. Cheap) Caravan parts & Accessories as expected on the more expensive side.

The site is Large and has two Bars, One near reception the other at the furthest point away from reception located by the takeaway kiosk. Used takeway on first night (Surprisingly good).

On arriving at our pitch at 6. 30 pm on the purple area, it was a bit cramped, there was an extremely large group 10-15 families already out drinking, blocking off the road with chairs organised in a big circle They were loud from the start and this carried on through both of the nights. They turned their music centre on at 6. 30pm, as they had more drink, their music was turned noticeably louder. Their children ranging from 1yr to 13yrs were aloud to run around the campsite screaming & shouting in between tents/ caravans etc without being restrained by their parents. In the handout it clearly states 'No noise nuisance after 11pm'.

At 1am the warden came and told them to be quiet and turn the music off, this lasted until he drove away. I then had to go out and speak to them as their noise had woken my 2yr & 5yr old children. The next night was worse, the Warden did not come around at all and their noise and music went on until gone 2am.

There were too many kids & adults using the pool at one time. The rules stated 'No inflatables' saw a girl with the biggest inflatable ever, bumping into small children. 'No food or drink on paved areas', with the bar next door there were plenty drinking on paved areas, the noisy group were there in a big circle at the end of the pool taking up a lot of space.

'No skateboards' plenty of kids on scooters, rollers blades & bikes, with some young kids playing chicken by riding in the centre of the road obstructing vehicles that were trying to get past (Warden had to intervene).

The showers had plenty of hot water but were not the cleanest that I've used, Hot water at communal wash area is gained by placing 10p into a slot meter.

The design of the Waste water point is not the easiest for emptying Waste Master/ Water Hogs. Had to lift the waste container about 15 inches from floor to empty it. 40l of water is heavy. The Chemical disposal site also right next to waste water, I would guess from the state of waste water point that some have got confused and emptied their toilet waste down it.

Quite grubby around waste points & communal washing up area.

Playground ok, crazy golf ok,

Overall I'm not at all impressed with this site, We only saw the Warden once all weekend, I know that the other group were there to have a good time, but at the expense of all of their neighbours. Not good. I did ring the office number (out of hours) continuously in an attempt to speak to the warden, but the phones rings out. Campers are not given a number to ring in case they need to get hold of the warden urgently. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mandistoke 1 review from this member

 Stayed for 2 nights end of June 29th. Had The largest pitch which was on the orange section. Large electrical hook up, Very clean and spacious, right next to jakks barn where night entertainment was, It was not noisy even though you were only next door. Ideal spot!

Toilets very clean, staff very friendly.

Pool was open as it was warm weather, very clean and the kids loved it whilst the adults could sit back and relax with a drink, Felt the children were very safe!

Would recommend this place 


Previous     145 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Lower Lacon Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Lower Lacon Caravan Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Lower Lacon Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Lower Lacon Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Wem      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Shropshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1630 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement