Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Lower Lacon Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Shropshire > Wem > Lower Lacon Caravan Park Reviews

Lower Lacon Caravan Park
Soulton Road
Wem
Shropshire   (Browse area)
SY4 5RP
Tel: 01939 232376
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 270
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 145 Reviews
                7/10 from 145 Reviews

Photos (22)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  145 in total, now showing 101 to 110                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dawnlw 6 reviews from this member

 Great site with good facilities and children's play park. Kids went in outdoor pool a couple of times and enjoyed it. We went to jakks bar a few times and had a good time.
The onsite shop was handy selling essentials. I liked the little shed with a freezer where you can freeze your freezer blocks for free.

Campsite is in a good location for visiting various places in shropshire, would recommend iron gorge bridge, tar tunnel and blist hill victorian village. 


Date of Visit: December 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Travellinglight 6 reviews from this member

 We booked this camp site over the New Year -2008 - and arrived New Year's Eve about 2pm. We were welcomed by a very friendly member of staff to the secure site. She told us to wait a few minutes so that we could be escorted to the pitch. We were escorted to a pitch and everything was explained to us, he must have known we were novices. He even took the time to show my husband how to reverse!
The camp itself was very well run and very clean. The shower blocks / toilets were also clean and tidy. The entertainment was geared for children, as you would expect and the food was OK. And all this was out of season! 


Date of Visit: October 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dgeohegan 7 reviews from this member

 We stayed at the site for the beer festival weekend, we really enjoyed it. Everyone's very friendly & down to earth! Toilet & shower blocks were clean. Good family entertainment on the night time, we tried the takeaway weren't impressed, although the prices are not bad.

All the wardens were very friendly too.

We will be going back! It can be hard to peg down but the pitch we were on wasn't too bad. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dawn price 1 review from this member

 My family and our friends stayed here for the last weekend in August, I called the night before and there was no need to book for that weekend but I'm sure most weekends you do. We arrived on the Friday afternoon and was told we could use either field to put our tents up so we had a look at both, we decided on the large field as we had 6 children between us and thought more room for them the better!
We were pleased with the site as soon as we got there and realised how big it was, there was plenty for the kids to do and having the family club on their was an even bigger bonus.
The toilets were nice and clean the showers were ok, quite a lot of grass in the cubicle area but I suppose this can't be helped, plus they were free hot showers so don't want to grumble about that at all, there wasn't anywhere to hang your towel or clothes in the cubicle a little hook on each door would be good to have. I stood my son in the sink to wash him down as he is only 9months old, when I came to get him dry there was no baby change unit so I had to lie him by the sinks and get him dry there, (had a funny look of someone who wanted to brush their teeth but not much I could do about it really), so I also think baby change units should be fitted in both toilet / shower blocks.
We let our kids go swimming on the Saturday afternoon as the weather was ok and we thought it would wear them all out, it was so nice to be able to sit round the pool with them and have a well deserved pint!
We pre-ordered pizza and chips for the kids teas and we collected at tea time which is ideal, no waiting around, we thought the price of the food was really good and everything was nice and hot, excellent I would recommend this its so much easier especially with 6 kids. The shop is also very good and not too expensive either.
We packed up early on Sunday as it looked like rain and we all went in the cafe for a full English (adults) cheese toasties (kids) we all enjoyed the food and the service we received it was really nice clean and friendly.
When leaving we enquired about booking a static for the bonfire event they hold there but sadly it was fully booked, better luck next year, I would recommend this campsite to anyone its fantastic and we will be visiting again soon if the weather picks up! 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lisadurkin 5 reviews from this member

 In summary this site grows on you - from a tent camping viewpoint. I would describe it as a 'bit rough round the edges' and is in need of a good tidy up /more attention to detail, but we did enjoy our 4 night weekend stay. The biggest downside is trying to peg the tent in! Pegging into a concrete base - covered in only 4inch of grass with a large family tent(diablo 900) was a nightmare - we ruined 35 tent pegs! We did read it on the reviews but it was far worse than we imagined-rock pegs don;t help much. There is only about 4-5inch of grass b4 you hit concrete - pegs need to go in at an angle but its doesn't hold down . Just glad we were not expecting windy weather! Once we got over the 'pitching' experience, we then noticed there were loads of stinging nettles around the field we were in - with a 17 month old toddler who loves football - this was a nightmare keeping him away from the nettles. We feel the site should control & cut back the nettles in a family area. They were everywhere on the green field section. To top it off there were loads of wasps- which bothered us over the weekend - had to keep the tent closed at all times. But having said that once we got over the 'pitching' experience, nettles & wasps, we had a really good break and enjoyed the facilities. The animals on the site ( Lama's/alcapas & pigs/piglets - were very cute & entertained our kids). Jakks barn was great - good family entertainment & disco. The swimming pool was a bit dirty and needed a good clean /more paving round the sides of the pool would help. The toilets blocks and facilities were very good - well maintained. The site is quite noisy at weekends near to Jakks barn until 11.30pm as the music is still playing quite loudly until then - but it settles down soon after. Childrens park was ok - but could do with some TLC - the wooden ramp/play bit/slide is all rotten and dangerous. In general,the good points do outweigh the bad points but only just - would we return? Only if we wanted somewhere quite local and everywhere else was booked - but possibly - especially if they tidy /clean it up a bit. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Martyn404 7 reviews from this member

 Arrived at Lower Lacon on Fri 22 Aug 2008. Weather was dry but very overcast.

Receptionist was very polite & helpful on our arrival and drew us directions to our pitch site giving us the choice of 2 fields to use.

We had to pay a refundable 10.00 deposit for our electric barrier key. I feel more secure knowing that not just anyone can access the site by car. If you departed after 12.00pm on your designated departure day you would forfeit this deposit.

We were not allocated a pitch position but had to pitch in a vacant space. We chose the top overflow field as it was a bank holiday weekend and the site was very busy, the field nearest the amenities was almost overflowing.

The entrance to the field was wet and very churned up by cars. Tents were pitched on the outer perimeter of the field due to it being slightly waterlogged in the middle.

The position we chose (only because there was vacant space here.) was near to the railway and trains came past at regular intervals even during the night.

There was only one water tap in this field and it was near to the entrance, quite a walk if you're pitched at the top end.

The site always had a warden patrolling, and they were easily identifiable by their bright reflective red coats and were always ready to help. Warden mobile phone numbers were posted about the site.

The take away was reasonably priced and offered the usual fish, chips, burgers, chicken, tea, pop, & coffee etc. It closes at 10pm.

The shop was sited near to the entrance of the campsite and was furthest away for us, it reminded me of a little corner shop. It suited our needs. It closes at 8pm. More choice in Wem only a 10-15 min drive away.

This site definitely caters for children with its two little animal paddocks where the kids can feed and pet the piglets and other farm animals. There is also an open air heated swimming pool which was very busy during our stay.

We didnt use Jakks barn or the other bar during our stay, we preferred to make our own entertainment. We could here the music from the barn even at the top of the field.

The toilet block we used was fairly basic but kept clean, the downside to this was that it was closed for cleaning for an hour once each day. It would have been handy if there were hooks on the shower cubicles as there was nowhere to hang your clothes. It did get busy and queueing for 10-15mins for a shower was not out of the ordinary.

All in all we enjoyed our stay at this site and we would definitely go back for another stay.

8 out of 10 in our book for Lower Lacon. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bobysox 2 reviews from this member

 We loved this site. Difficult to peg but we were warned about this. Great facilities. Plenty of showers and toilets, very clean and plenty hot water. Good club for families and field for the kids to play footie/cricket etc also a childrens play ground. Pool was rather cold. Shop well stocked and all staff very friendly and helpful. Cafe and take away were a bonus for when I wanted a rest from cooking. Prices at club, shop, cafe all reasonable. Definitely going back 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bad100602 2 reviews from this member

 Fantastic for families very clean site. Toilets and showers immaculate, lots of hot water. Plenty of security , lots of very friendly park rangers on hand. Shop ok for essentials. Cafe open for sit in or take away until 10.30pm they do a great 12 inch pizza for a fiver great for the kids after a night in jakks barn. A really family orientated club entertainment inc dancing musical chairs play your cards right all aimed at the kids keeps them occupied for ages they even have their own bar to buy from. Club at top of site for adults only. Only downfall swimming pool was very cold although when asked they did say it was heated? Have booked again for end August for all what's on this site it is very reasonably priced 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jnewitt 6 reviews from this member

 This is a good site stayed here in June 08 very clean and staff very friendly. The toilet blocks we found were very clean and the pub had friendly staff. Also they have a barn where you can go with the children which has a bar and snooker tables. The cafe is cheap and the food was good. They have a childrens play area and a sand pit which was of good quality. The area had some good shops and there was a few pubs in town, altogether we had a great weekend here and will be going back again soon. 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: 2+2+DOG+AWN= 3 reviews from this member

 This site has lots to offer, good facilities, but all could do with a good clean up. Toilets not as clean as could be, showers the same. In brief the whole site looks untidy with old caravans with awnings that look like they have been up for years with moss etc on them, canopy near pool the same. All this just puts you off. Would make for a great site if clean. 


Previous     145 Reviews in total, now showing 101 to 110      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Lower Lacon Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Lower Lacon Caravan Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Lower Lacon Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Lower Lacon Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Wem      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Shropshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2085 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement