Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Lower Lacon Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Shropshire > Wem > Lower Lacon Caravan Park Reviews

Lower Lacon Caravan Park
Soulton Road
Wem
Shropshire   (Browse area)
SY4 5RP
Tel: 01939 232376
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 270
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 145 Reviews
                7/10 from 145 Reviews

Photos (22)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  145 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: NickyJ 1 review from this member

 Just returned from a 2 night stay on a non electric pitch. Went with a large group of friends and stayed on the Family area. As the ground was very waterlogged at the rear of the family pitches, we could pitch our tent wherever we wanted and take up as much space as we needed and not stick to the marked spaces which was good for us as we had just bought a porch for our tent and wanted to try it out but weren't sure whether it would all fit into the space provided.

Upon arriving at the site we were greeted by very friendly reception staff and were directed to our pitch by the warden, again a very friendly chap. You have to pay a 10 deposit for a parking barrier key.

When going round the site to our pitch, we did have to pass a 'variety' of caravans, some with really dirty awnings which did make the site look very tatty. These could really do with being cleaned or tidied up as initially it did put us off. We were pitched right next to the playground which was ideal for my little girl as she was on there all of the time we were there and we could see her from our tent.

My little girl also regularly fed the sheep and alpacas, which the shop sold food for at 30p a bag. The wardens also take the children round showing them the animals. We weren't too far away from the toilet block either which was kept very clean.

Showers were free but were luke warm but this didn't really bother me. Washing up facilities were OK but again, luke warm water which you had to pay 10p for. We didn't eat at the cafe or go to the entertainment on site so cannot comment about that. Shop was very reasonably priced.

We ordered a chinese and indian meal and had it delivered to the site which was brilliant. Would use site again but only if going in a group. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tonitoni 2 reviews from this member

 We arrived at the site for a weekend and decided not to let the weather put us off. Arriving at the site we were checked in by friendly staff and shown to our pitch near the 1st toilet block.

We set up and had a cuppa and then decided to take a walk round the park. A great deal of seasonal caravans with the most stained awnings and decrepit caravans, why let your staff and site down with this is beyond me.

The park had animals dotted all around around the site. It was nice to see the children feeding them and they were very well kept. You could buy feed at the shop for 30p a bag.

We did not use any of the bars as we are non drinkers. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Heva79 1 review from this member

 A group of 3 families came to stay here for 2 nights, we had 5 children in all, the weather wasn't good but the children found plenty of things to do.

The shower block was clean at all times and so was the site it's self.

The staff were all friendly and was on hand when needed.

The club house was ok but could do with having a little more entertainment for both children & adults.

The shop was well kitted out and prices were good too.

The crazy golf is fine, the pool could be a little warmer in colder weather and the park could be updated.

The animals were great and the children enjoyed seeing them.

This is the first time we have been to the site and we will be going back. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dobson04 8 reviews from this member

 Just returned from the Jubilee bank holiday weekend camping trip. 3 night stay at lower lacon caravan park, overall we had a pleasant stay, however there are some ground issues when pegging your tent or awning, due to the rock hard ground, be prepared to purchase rock pegs before you arrive.

A 10 payment is required on arrival for the car barrier pass (refunded on leave). On arrival the site looks a little tired around the edges and some areas could do with an uplift e. G. Kids playground and crazy golf section. Privately owned areas are dilapidated and run down which spoils the look of the park.

A warden arrived shortly after finding the pitch which wasn't very well signposted, he informed us of the rules of pitching as to avoid the children being run over by the cars leaving and entering the park. The access points for cars are straight past the children's playground (go figure) some of the public areas are overgrown and need tending (nettles are an issue) along the main route.

The facilities were just adequate, although queues formed for showers on the 2 days we were there (at least a 30 min wait) it was bank holiday though. Showers were lukewarm at best and the tiled floor was freezing. There were limited facilities for the amount of people on site, another toilet and shower block is required. There is one family bathroom available which we used to bath our 2 small children (20p for lukewarm water) which we thought was cheeky when you have already paid the site fees (76. 50 for 3 nights, non-electric). There is also a charge for washing up (10p) for lukewarm water.

We didn't sample the food or entertainment when we were there so couldn't comment, we did pop into JAKKS Barn for a quick drink, a revamp is required, looked like a school dining hall.

The on-site shop was reasonably priced and you could purchase your basic essentials there. Tried to purchase replacement gas from the shop, to find they had only limited stock, however their is a texaco garage about 2 miles away which sells replacement gas in wem.

All in all we did enjoy our stay, it was convenient for us (39 miles) ok for a short break, but wouldn't visit for an extended holiday. Wem is a quiet village, with limited activities locally. May return in the future. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kevinw58 6 reviews from this member

 This is quite a large site with a mixture of tents and tourers in the same areas. We arrived during what looked like a quite busy period, there were vehicles backed up to the main road waiting to be booked in.

When we finally got to reception we were dealt with quite quickly but there was a large queue that had formed, so how long other guests had to wait I can only guess. We were given a map guiding us to our pitch and were told that someone would be waiting there to help us. There wasn't! The grassed pitch was quite uneven and the water point was directly behind us so there was a constant stream of people for water.

There seems to be quite a lot of seasonal/ semi-static tourers their with the awnings left up. Many of them were covered in algae and had long grass surrounding them which, along with the somewhat haphazard arrangement of the pitches gave the park a bit of a scruffy 'refugee' feel.

The camp, and entertainment is definitely geared for young families and the children's play area could do with a bit of maintenance. One of the swings was broken, and the see-saw was stiff and brayed like a donkey due to lack of oil, which scared the grand-daughter; small things like this make the difference in my opinion.

We went to Wem for some food, a nice little town but didn't seem to be a lot to do there, just a few streets of shops and fast food outlets.

Still, the showers and toilets were very clean in spite of the crowds and our 4 year old enjoyed the 'agadoo/superman' disco cheese. All the staff we spoke to were friendly too.

Definitely not one for those seeking a relaxing break as it's rough and ready, and made for the loud crowd; there are gangs of teenagers roaming around till all hours as well, but it is what it is and if peace and quiet is not a priority, it does have something to offer. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wein 3 reviews from this member

 Well we stayed at this site from Friday till Sunday. Check in was ok. The toilet and shower facilities on the site were spot on.

We went for breakfast to the cafe on site and have been ill since. They seem to use very old chip fat and fry the eggs in it and our clothes smelt bad of stale fat. Many people complained about the standard of food sold. We were warned by some seasonal caravan owners to steer clear of the cafe we should have listened to them.

The Barn where the children could go in was reasonable. While walking round some of the touring caravans which are seasonal could do with a good clean as it lets the site down.

The outdoor pool area needs a good clean and the umbrellas have seen better days.

The animals are well kept.

One thing I will say is the owners may make a lot of money so why let standards slip? They could make this site so good. They leave very very old caravan falling apart for all to view.

Would I go back. Hell no. The health inspectors need to look into the kitchens. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Chickpea757 4 reviews from this member

 Stayed over Jubilee week, so it was extremely busy.

Good points:

Kids liked seeing the sheep, alpacas, pigs etc.

Large pitches.

Not so good points:

Very boggy top field (not their fault as it rained continuously!)

As a result of the weather, the toilet blocks were very muddy and constantly covered in grass.

Bad points:

Freezing cold showers!

Whole site needs a good clean and tidy up, could be really nice if a bit more effort was put in to sprucing it up.

A lot of the season pitched caravans were covered in green algae which just made it look scruffy.

Not the best layout to the site either, with a road throughout it.

Didn't see any members of staff around the site after check in - we couldn't even find out pitch at first as it was sprayed on the grass and had come off. Luckily other campers helped us work it out.

Overall, I don't think we would return to this site. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Terryhelen 2 reviews from this member

 Just spent a weekend there with the Grandsons.

The toilet facilities were clean and good hot powerful showers although you had to keep restarting by pressing the button.

We chose hardstanding but we ended up moving to the grassed area as the hard standing needed a good sweep, you couldn't help but walk it in, the grassed area was lovely and spacious.

Friendly Ducks walking around and fenced animals on the site, lovely countryside, we would visit again but like previous reviews. The permanent stay caravans at the beginning of the site loked run down and untidy

We visited the castle and regimental museum in Shrewsbury which was only 2. 50 admission and kids free

Shop was very well stocked and staff very friendly. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bournster 13 reviews from this member

 Hi all, just had a three night stay at this park and it can be summed up in one word really, excellent.

To put this word into context, it will not be everyone's view but as we saw it, the staff were knowledgeable (and if not sure knew someone who was) polite and friendly (even down to ground keeping staff!),

the shop was well stocked with more than sufficient provisions at a reasonable price too,

there is a crazy golf course on the way into the site, this is not fantastic but a deposit (refundable on return of clubs) is all you pay so free.

The outdoor swimming pool is a little on the cool side but relaxing and has a paddling pool for toddlers, it is situated next to one of the bars and drinks from the bar can be taken to poolside which has a grassed area around it, the bar itself is pleasant with pool table and tv.

Further into the park is 'JAKKS' bar and cafe which is spacious and had a disco each night we were there, the food at the cafe we found to be ok and a good price.

Dotted around the park are fenced off animal enclosures (mostly Llamas) with a variety of other animals too (pigs, sheep, etc).

The shower blocks are decent and regularly cleaned with enough space in the shower block we used to hang your clothes and had a wall hung seat separated from the shower with a curtain.

Although the site was not full plenty of the 'static owners' and 'season caravan owners' were on site, and they all seemed a friendly bunch which makes the park feel like you belong. The rules are quite strict but seem to be adhered to which made this site nice and relaxing.

If anything was to let the site down it would be the fact that there is not a lot to do within walking distance, the town of Wem is approx 1 mile walk and has plenty of 'eateries' (take-away and pubs) also a large co-op, parking is free for 1 hour and 10p for 2 hours!

If you don't mind the drive there are other attractions that are reachable but on the other hand if you just want a nice relaxing break then this is an excellent site. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jonjo12 2 reviews from this member

 Lacon is situated in Wem which in itself is a nice town. It is ideal for a base for Whitchurch or Ellesmere. We had a great pitch with electric which was close to the toilet and shower facilities.

We arrived on the Saturday of the Bank Holiday and the Park was very full which proved a problem with keeping enough toilet roll in the toilets and keeping the facilities clean.

The wardens regularly patrolled up and down the site which was very reassuring. The swimming pool and club are fine and the cafe did takeaways as well as all day breakfast inside which were ok.

Reception were very helpful and the shop was adequate. After paying quite a high price compared to other sites paying 10p for hot water to wash up with I felt was extreme.

As the site was full we did have to queue for washing up and also for toilets and showers at times and it seemed the Park could not cope with so many people.

Once the majority left on the Monday the Park was peaceful and If we did go back again we wouldn't go when it was a Bank Holiday unless more facilities were provided to cope with the masses. 


Previous     145 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Lower Lacon Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Lower Lacon Caravan Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Lower Lacon Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Lower Lacon Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Wem      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Shropshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1835 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement