Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Lower Lacon Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Shropshire > Wem > Lower Lacon Caravan Park Reviews

Lower Lacon Caravan Park
Soulton Road
Wem
Shropshire   (Browse area)
SY4 5RP
Tel: 01939 232376
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 270
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 145 Reviews
                7/10 from 145 Reviews

Photos (22)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  145 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Brumiegazza 2 reviews from this member

 Great park for the family, have been to this site around 5 times now, and the kids always have fun.

Us adults always have a walk down to Wem, and all the locals always make you welcome.

Unfortunately this year it was quite windy, where we were pitched, shame everytime we visited prior, the sun was good to us.

On-site shop, was regularly visited by the kids, crazy golf, was used plenty.

Good security on site, making it a very safe site.

BBq's and pets allowed, on site entertainment was plentiful, however, on the Saturday night, the two guys playing didn't play much for the kids 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lizzie66 4 reviews from this member

 Stayed for three nights at this site over the bank holiday. This site could be such a lovely site if some thought and effort was put into it. It is a very large site situated in a lovely area.

Easy access and staff were very helpful, easy check in and warden ensured the pitch was ok. We stayed on the purple area, the furthest field from the entrance. We paid 10 refundable deposit for the barrier. The field was uneven in parts but the pitch was a good size, room for the van awning and car.

The toilet/shower block was quite far away and considering the amount of people on the site were not bad, but could have been cleaner.

The site is split into different areas, one being the family area which is off the main through road around the site. The position of this area on the site is an accident waiting to happen. This field is not fenced off and children were running onto the road and also riding straight out on there bikes.

There is an area fenced off where there are 'no dogs' shame they didn't change these areas which would make it a lot safer for children.

There was no lighting on the field where we stayed so very difficult walking the dog at night (take a torch)

The main thing that lets this site down is the seasonal caravans (not all I must hasten to add) Some of them looked more like residential not seasonal. You could not help but pass them as they are situated in full view of the road.

I don't think we will be going back to this site unless there are some changes made there. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Slates 3 reviews from this member

 Got back from a 3 night stay yesterday and as luck would have it enjoyed some very good weather.

For short weekend getaways we like to be no further than 40-50 miles from home, so this site fitted the bill nicely.

The site it self is easily accessed and well sign posted. Upon arrival we were greeted by very friendly staff in reception who made checking in effortless, the warden who again very friendly then showed us to our pitch, and offered help with our awning (lovely chap). The pitch we booked was a perfect size for our 6 berth caravan and awning, the ground is hard, so we'll be sure to use rock pegs next time.

There are many good points about the site

* Superb little site shop - Selling all your needs at competitive prices for a site shop

* Well spaced pitches, there was no feeling of being on top of one another.

* Good facilities for the children, play area, crazy golf and many animals.

* Adult only bar, great if you wanted a quiet drink & Jakks Barn for a drink with the kids in toe with entertainment

* Security, wardens often about and a barrier system in operation on entrance, barrier pass is 10.00 but refunded on return

* Take-Away and Cafe on site, seemed reasonably priced. But only used the Take-away on departure day for breakfast but extremely nice.

The only negative as far as I seen was that there's not really enough showers for the size of the site. Yes later in the day there was signs of a little mess, but I would say that's more to do with those who throw toilet paper about than the cleaners. Treat it as you would your home toilet and it will be more than fine.

The site is in close proximity to Shrewsbury, Oswestry, Market Drayton. We spent the day in Shrewsbury and had a great time looking around the old town and all it had to offer. Wem is the closet village and good for local things like Co-Op, Butchers, Chippy or Chinese. Or indeed a train trip to Shrewsbury.

This is a great site for us for a very quick getaways 1hr 20mins and as my little niece gets older will enjoy all the more.

Its now circled in our book for future visits 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dave040570 1 review from this member

 After reading the reviews on this site I was wondering what to expect from our stay with friends. We was greeted by friendly staff at the reception and given directions to our pitch. The pitches are not well marked so keep a lookout. A warden met us and was very helpful about the site.

We went into the family bar as it rained on the Friday night entertainment was ok and drinks was well priced.

A stray dog got into our tent early the next morning we phoned the warden and it was dealt with quickly, no complaints at all.

Showers are few but we were there on Easter bank holiday and did not have to wait at all. Toilets were a bit messy but I have seen a lot worse.

The pool needs some tlc but was not open, hopefully this will be sorted soon.

Kids loved the crazy golf which is still free of charge.

Wardens was great no noisy kids which was a great result after some reviews.

Pitch sizes are good with plenty of room as long as you book the right size no complaints.

Now would I go back, yes we will and are booking for a long weekend in a few weeks.

Overall this is a good site yes it can look a bit messy in parts but don't most places if you look for it.

Just one last reminder. Don't forget the rockpegs 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Fionna 6 reviews from this member

 This could be a good camping/caravan site if more effort was put into it. First impressions weren't good. Upon driving round the site to our pitch - Purple - People have 'sited' their caravans complete with awnings and these were very unkempt - green mildew was visible on caravans and awnings making us think they had been there quite some time.

Upon reaching Purple area, the ground we drove on was extremely bumpy and a very long way to the Waste, Chemical and Shower block. I think they need to enhance their site by placing at least 2 more Utility Areas.

We paid a top price(nearly 30 per night ! ) for bog standard facilities. The pitch we were allocated was very generous, ground not too bad for the pegs the odd rock now and again. We were opposite the Llamas on 37.

We heard some road noise from behind our pitch, but nothing untoward, the dog walk was directly behind the pitch and this was fine but not advisable to walk at night as some people didn't have the decency to pick up after their pets. Perhaps if they put some waste bins on this walk area it would encourage owners to dispose of their waste correctly.

The 'Club' is situated on the left hand side just after the reception. Yes - that's the bar.

Now onto the site facilities - toilets - only used them once and yes I suppose if your desperate they are fine - but could do with being cleaned twice a day and monitored.

The Chemical Waste I have been told - as there is no way I would be emptying it - was disgusting - there is no hose attached to a tap to wash the area down after emptying the cassette. People even left the area filthy with their waste. Surely the Site wardens should monitor this area as part of their shift.

The shop had a number of caravan spares and the usual immediate items you require, but if you want a newspaper - you need to get there prompt as I believe they send someone into town to buy a selection of papers and first come first serve.

We wont be visiting this site again - I would say this was the worst site we have ever pitched on - and we have been to quite a few. But if you don't experience sites like this, then you wouldn't appreciate the sites where owners put the effort in. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JudithB 11 reviews from this member

 We booked in here for the August Bank Holiday and were allotted a pitch in the top field (non electric) I was a little concerned that this seemed a long way from the facilities but it turned out to be a good move.

We picked this site mostly for the area in which it was situated as my daughter and son in law are familiar with the area and wanted to show us around. We didn't spend a lot of time on the site itself.

The site is huge and we never did explore the true extent. It has to be a good 3/4 of a mile from the top field to the reception area where there is a shop, crazy golf, swimming pool, and warden's office.

At the top end of the site is JAKKS bar and takeaway. There is a field for ball games and kite flying etc. There are pigs, Llamas a donkey and pony in residence here too. To the rear of JAKKS Bar there are some toilets and a cubicle with washbasin should a shower not be required.

JAKKS was quite lively on an evening and we did pop our heads round the door briefly on Saturday night but the noise and type of entertainment on offer was very holiday camp and not to our taste. Having said that we were not bothered by noise in the evening.

The campers in our field were mostly families and noise levels were low.

The wardens are great and very helpful but we were told that we had to pitch tent, car, tent, car due to fire regulations. However as we had two pitches next to one another and shared the cooking it did seem a little too fastidious.

We did erect our kitchen and windbreak between the two tents and no-one challenged us. We didn't put up our extensions and luckily the weather held for us. The pitch was big enough to do this and contain a family car too. We paid 19.50 per night.

There are two shower blocks and previous reviewers have referred to these as top and bottom blocks. The 'top' block is actually half way down the site together with a laundry and pot washing facilities. It was 10p to wash up in hot water but only two of the four meters were working.

There were no waste bins around the pot wash which meant that food scraps and other waste from washing up had been left in the sinks sometimes or just discarded on the grass nearby. This area needs looking at more closely to improve things.

The showers and toilets were modern and clean. Yes, there was toilet paper on the floor and this was probably due to the dispensers being stuffed tightly with toilet paper and it ripping when being pulled out. On the plus side there was never a lack of toilet paper. The sinks in this block had soap in the dispensers and hot water to all. Strangely there was only cold water to one of the five and I find brushing my teeth in warm water a little odd but had to whilst this was in use.

The showers are in sloping quarry tiled cubicles and there are a sufficient number in my view. There was a wait at busy times but it was not too long and if you time your morning shower right you can have the pick of the row. The water is hot and free. There is no mop and bucket but I think you can manage without (particularly if you take off your shoes first) and is probably a good idea in a site of this size.

There was also a hairdryer of the type with a large open ended flexible pipe. I am not sure how much it was to use it as I did not partake.

There is a family bathroom in this block which my daughter used for her little boy who prefers baths. She had no complaints. My son and son in law registered no complaints about their facilities.

The bottom block is almost at the front entrance. We called for the toilet one day and it seemed a smaller block and we thought ours was better. It was clean and modern.

The crazy golf was well used. The pool seemed to be shut and we were out and about so didn't use the shop. Entrance to the site is by coded card for which a 10 refundable deposit is required. On leaving day there is lady at the gate taking the card off you and supplying the refund thus preventing a log jam. Well organised I felt.

In the area the nearest hole in the wall is Wem which also has a couple of pubs and The Old Rectory which serves food. I found a Tesco in Ellesmere. In Oswestry there is a Morrisons and Sainsburys.

As previously mentioned we used this site a gateway to other things and visited Llangollen with its canal and horse drawn boats, lots of shops and cafes and steam railway.

Up the valley is a watersports centre where you can canoe, white water raft and kyack. My daughter had previously visited this and said it was suitable for all levels including beginners. We also went around the horseshoe pass for the views.

We also visited Chirk Castle and Gardens and had a lovely day there. Just outside Chirk there is an Aqueduct which straddles the English/Welsh border and we were quite happy to while away half an hour walking across from one country to another and watching the canal boats emerge from the tunnel.

We also visited Whittington which has a pub called the White Lion close to the Castle ruins. We had a lovely meal here and although we were not invited to sit in the conservatory with other guests dressed for Sunday lunch (we were in our day tripping gear) we were made to feel welcome and given a nice table in another room. The meal worked out around 10 per head plus drinks but the food was delicious.

After lunch we explored the grounds of the ruined castle next door and found it well kept and very pleasant. Ellesmere is on route to the places we visited and there is a large lake with a park and boats for hire.

Although we enjoyed our weekend we think on balance the site was a little large for us and probably wouldn't return. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kamifa 1 review from this member

 This was our first camping experience, therefore it was important that it was a good one. Lower Lacon did not disappoint, the staff are excellent, the facilities are great and the site is great. The shop is priced realistic as are the bars making the whole experience affordable as well as enjoyable.

The toilet/shower blocks are nice and clean and maintained on a regular basis. The facilities for the kids are about right, although, despite being there in high season there was very little offered in terms of entertainment for them which was a little disappointing.

The site is large and offers space for all types of campers. The site is patrolled in the evening by the on site wardens, this was good to see. The only criticism that I have really is that some attention should be paid to the pool area as this lets the site down.

The pool is advertised as heated which it is not and the floors could do with a good power washing and a lick of non slip paint. If I was marking the site out of 10, I would give it a big nine. We will defo be visiting this site again. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: TheGrizwalds 1 review from this member

 When we arrived at the Site, right opposite Reception was Mini Golf complete with a family of Ducks.Very cute. Checked in fine, receptionist was friendly and helpful, allowing us to pick our pitch from all available. Unsure of directions she asked for a warden to meet us at the chosen pitch. The Warden too was helpful and gave us directions to nearest shops in Wem and the quickest way to Shewsbury.

Putting the Tent up took longer than usual due to the ground being very rocky. Do take rock pegs. A neighbouring camper lent us their hammer to get our pegs in.

Toilets were very clean as were the showers, but they did get muddy as the day went on especially over the weekend. We found that the nearest showers and toilet block were closed daily at 11am till 12.30pm for cleaning, so it was a 5 min walk to the other side of the site to the other block. My other half went for a shower at 10.15am on two occasions and was told at 10.45 that he shouldn't have been in there as they were getting cleaned!

We went to Jakks Bar once, the prices of the drinks were reasonable. A singer was on and lots of children dancing. No seats were available inside so we sat outside which was bustling with lots of Teenagers, we drank up and went back to our tent.

The on site shop was also reasonable and had the usual items. It did tend to get busy with crowds of children either in or outside. The animals are lovely touch, and very cute. A nice Site, better suited to families with younger children, or couples my two teens were bored

Would go again, maybe earlier in the season. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nickycwtch 5 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a weeks camp here as part of a group camp for children with special needs and their families. We had sole use of the orange area on the top field which does have EHU. The pitches were large and flat and clearly marked.

The site was a little run down with lots of very 'weathered seasonal pitches'. The pool was drab and needed a bit of sprucing. We didn't use as it was too cold and there was question over whether it was properly chlorinated. Crazy golf was also pitted which made competitive playing tricky but as it was free, ideal for the kids.

There are two toilet/shower blocks which are a bit of a trek from top field but it was a good trade off for nice pitches (other areas looked very uneven!). The toilet blocks were always clean and tidy and I didn't queue once.

The cafe/take away was reasonably priced and food always nice. The shop was well stocked and prices as you would expect.

We couldn't fault the staff who bent over backwards for us all week.

No road noise but lots of trains pass very close by! 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Claire5567 2 reviews from this member

 A decent site if you have kids or dogs, we pitched on the rally field which was fine, plenty of room per pitch.

Pool does look scruffy if you look over the fence but is ok on closer inspection.

Had a dog so had to sit outside of bars but don't mind. Thought prices were vary fair compared to other sites we have visited. All prices displayed on website which we thought was excellent and therefore no surprises.

Toilet blocks clean and adequate, did not have to wait for shower.

Warden was fantastic and it is nice to now that someone is patrolling the site.

Not 5 star but we had a good time and will be returning as dog and daughter thought it was great! 


Previous     145 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Lower Lacon Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Lower Lacon Caravan Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Lower Lacon Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Lower Lacon Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Wem      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Shropshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1696 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement